Vietnam to ban bikes in Hanoi by 2025, experts call to improve public transport first – should KL follow suit?

A plan to ban motorcycles in Hanoi, Vietnam by 2025 should only be contingent on the availability of adequate public transport infrastructure, say the country’s transport experts. The proposal – mooted as far back as 2016 – by the ruling Hanoi People’s Committee aims to reduce congestion in core districts in the city by 2025, reports vnexpress.net.

Phan Le Binh, a traffic planner, urged Hanoi to consider if the city’s public transport infrastructure is adequate to meet demand in four years’ time. “It means there must be designated areas to limit or ban motorcycles, instead of having a carpet ban in entire districts. Only when public transport can meet 60-70 percent of travel needs should Hanoi ban personal vehicles,” he said.

Phan cited the example of Yangon, Myanmar, where a motorcycle ban increased the number of personal cars, worsening traffic jams. “Car prices are going down, meaning people will buy more, but a car takes up five times the space of a motorbike. There is also no guarantee that banning motorbikes will help relieve traffic congestion,” said Phan.

“Hanoi should provide a solution to convince people to switch vehicles. That is the issue to be debated about, not just a motorcycle ban,” said Nguyen Van Quyen, head of the Vietnam Automobile Transport Association. He added Vietnam’s capital city should look into diversifying its public transport, such using smaller buses in narrow streets and encourage walking and cycling by providing bike lanes and maintaining sidewalks.

Hanoi, a city with a population of eight million people, has a vehicle population of 6.4 million, including 5.6 million motorcycles. The plan sees motorcycles banned in all districts through which the third ring road passes and on three major roads – Truong Sa, Hoang Sa and National Highway 5 and will be expanded to all districts within the fourth ring road after 2030.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• 4G63T DSM on Apr 22, 2022 at 1:19 pm

Vietnam bans motorcycles? Probably never.

I won’t drive in Saigon, but no qualms riding a scooter there. In fact I feel safer riding there than here.

The light rail project in Saigon has stalled so many times that it is yet to see the light of day despite 10 years in the making.

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Apr 22, 2022 at 4:57 pm

Should ban drunk drivers…revoke their licence and banish from this country…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
      • Gomorrah on Apr 22, 2022 at 6:31 pm

I support only if it is all inclusive – no/not enough child seats, exceeding rated occupancy, tayar botak, brek tak makan, dangerous driving whether drunk or not/hisap dadah and drive. All leave the country. Bagusnya.

• shibby on Apr 22, 2022 at 1:44 pm

It was Najib and Co. that united all crony owned star / putra / monorail all under one roof and integrated it with bus. Furthermore , his gov initiated MRT 1,2,3 , ECRL and HSR all to benefit the public.

I hope i won’t have to stomach shameless PH supporters comments saying things like ” aww , public transport is so bad, how to ban bikes, …aww , our pbulic transport is like 3rd world country etc “…

Because it is people like you who voted wrongly that we are in this mess

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 24
    • Bryan on Apr 23, 2022 at 8:30 am

Who is the shameless who are criminal and being called bossku?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
      • Dredd on Apr 23, 2022 at 11:22 am

The judge with conflict of interest. Dredd disproves cases of mistrial.

• Gomorrah on Apr 23, 2022 at 11:34 am

So then who to blame for the poor public transport/Intrakota fiasco? Who voted wrongly then? Is the mess 4 years in the making or 40?

• Angry Voters on Apr 23, 2022 at 2:49 pm

Who to blame? PM4
        Who voted wrongly? Us. We thought PM7 could fix problems of PM4, mana tau…

• Brilliant idea
    Ban motorcycle and increase car usage.
    Traffic jam solved

• the driver on Apr 22, 2022 at 2:47 pm

Stupid decision. Transport of the future – motorcycles – saves fuel, saves space, saves the environment. Only alternative is to increase public transport but that involves huge cost and doesn’t make the last mile.

• bieight8 on Apr 22, 2022 at 3:01 pm

Should ban by 2023…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • I am no analyst but it was always my understanding that the proliferation of bikes corresponds to the country’s economic status. It just makes fiscal sense to ride a bike than owning a car, for a significant portion of the general population that is. This is of course, a complicated matter and we cannot just drill it down to a single contributing factor. So, no. An outright ban is illogical.

• Logical Deduction on Apr 22, 2022 at 7:33 pm

If your logic is assumed to be correct, then Vietnam should be more prosperous & richer than USA. Why reality not jive with your logic?

• Readers on Apr 27, 2022 at 9:05 pm

His statement is clear. Fiscal sense. At individual level, that is.

• ROTI CANAI on Apr 22, 2022 at 7:35 pm

no bikes? prepare to be ho chi minbed all over again

• Dong Gor on Apr 22, 2022 at 8:37 pm

I put all my money on the table including the underwear I’m wearing now, that this ban will not happen in 2025

• If ban motorcycles, then what will happen to GRAB riders??

• Aniki on Apr 23, 2022 at 10:21 am

Seems like most still refer bikes on the road… They never think about safety and fatality over the years on the road caused by motorcyclists. I know most not afford to buy a car but I also own a bike and nowadays bike not cheap as well. At least RM3k to get a new and cheapest while most still buying over RM5k bikes and even RM100k+ also got. They can get a second hand car instead but still prefer bikes and i think this is a common answer from those still prefer bikes: hovering at high speed during traffic jam and using emergency lane. They never considerate when car driver want to change lane and always blame car for changing lane… If there is no bikes on the road, the traffic might be more smooth as car drivers no need to hesitate when saw a room to change lane due to slow drivers in front. Always blame car drivers change lane but they never knew they are still causing traffic using a smaller size vehicle to cut here and there… So think for the safety on urself and families rather than just thinking to skip the traffic. I also wish Malaysia can ban bikes on the road but seems like they are promoting here and there by putting “special car park” in front of the traffic light… Do you play bowling?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
    • Readers on Apr 27, 2022 at 9:01 pm

Great. Now the bikers need to buy cars, and the street will be filled by cars. When you stuck in a traffic, you will blame the government. Will you not?

Many people use bikes to go to work. Do you know one of the primary factors that drives the economy? Efficient and sufficient transportation infrastructures. Does Malaysia have that? I doubt so. Untill then, bikes are here to stay.

And the bikers can kiss you goodbye while you are scratching your head thinking why you are in your damn car being stuck in a traffic.

• Nak ban motosikal kat Malaysia?. Ni idea paling tak berakal ni. Kebanyakkan orang Malaysia menggunakan motosikal untuk kegunaan ke tempat kerja dan untuk bekerja. Cer ban orang yg memadu dalam keadaan mabuk.. haaa tu bagus..

• Rebel on May 08, 2022 at 12:27 pm

If gov can provide a transport system faster, cheaper, easier to park, then I am for it. Else gov can go fly kites