2022 Proton X70 MC launching on June 9 – new X70 to get SE wheels, 1.5L three-cylinder turbo from X50?

Proton has started its teaser campaign for the 2022 Proton X70 MC, with an official launch date of June 9 confirmed. If you haven’t look at the calendar lately, that’s Thursday this coming week! The X70 MC – Proton-speak for minor change – will be bolder and sleeker, according to the company, with a design that will “level-up your driving experience.”

The single teaser image so far shows the same 19-inch wheels previously used on the X70 SE from 2021, which was limited to 2,000 units. It appears the multi-spoke design will now be available on the updated lineup, presumably on the Premium variant(s). Just as a reminder, the fancy wheel design was first introduced on the Geely Boyue Pro back in 2019.

Before you get excited that we’ll be getting the Boyue Pro look to go along with the wheels, however, do remember that this is merely a minor change rather than a major upgrade. Expect it to look largely the same as the existing Proton X70, which itself has been mostly unchanged since its initial 2018 launch (bar the logo change in 2020).

In fact, there’s no guessing or speculation required at all, as the real thing has already been spotted on a trailer out on public roads. A short video shared on the Proton X70 Owner Club Malaysia Facebook group shows the SE wheels on Jet Grey, Space Grey and Snow White X70s, which mark them out from the 2021 SE that was only available in Ocean Blue and Ruby Red.

So clearly what we have here are the updated 2022 Proton X70 MC and beyond the wheels, you’d be hard pressed to see any visual changes on them compared to the existing models. Look really close, and perhaps we may be looking at updated gloss black diffuser inserts around the exhaust outlets. Going by the same theme, expect more of the same finish on the front grille and bumper inserts too.

A more significant update may be lurking under the skin, of course. It’s pretty much an open secret now that the 2022 X70 will be offered with the same 1.5 litre turbocharged three-cylinder engine from the X50, having already been sold in that configuration in export markets such as Pakistan and Nepal as far back as late-2020.

2021 Proton X70 SE

It’s yet unclear if the whole range will use the smaller engine, or if the existing 1.8 litre turbocharged four-cylinder motor will be retained for specific (top?) variants. For comparison’s sake, the 1.5 TGDi engine makes 177 PS and 255 Nm of torque, while the 1.8 TGDi offers 184 PS and 300 Nm. Both engines will be paired to the same 7DCT wet dual-clutch transmission.

What may make a comeback is an AWD option, having been dropped from the lineup with the introduction of the X70 CKD range in early 2020. This is likely to be paired to the 1.5 litre engine option, as the driveline combination is already on sale in certain export markets mentioned above.

So, are you looking forward to the 2022 Proton X70 MC? Not long to wait now for full details, including the all-important pricing (don’t expect it to run far from the current range of RM90k to RM116k with SST exemption). As usual, stay tuned to paultan.org for full details as soon as they are available. For now, what do you think of this so far?

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• KiasuSingaporean on Jun 06, 2022 at 12:48 pm

X70 pump petrol will pay and not run away kah

• Aikon on Jun 06, 2022 at 6:23 pm

X70 1.5 sell here below rm99k

• Jom Global on Jun 07, 2022 at 8:34 am

https://paultan.org/2018/12/12/proton-x70-suv-launched-in-malaysia-rm100k-124k/

with SST – 1.8tgdi it’s RM99k – RM123k.
        w/o SST – 1.8tgdi it’s RM89k – RM115k.
        with SST – 1.5tgdi it’s RM89k – RM115k?

Geely Haval is preparing to fight with incoming Chery, BYD, Changan and Haval. All launching in Malaysia soon.

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Jun 07, 2022 at 11:20 am

Proton please explain…

X50 in China already ditched “3-cylinders” turbo for “4-cylinders” turbo. Why are we still getting more the 3-potters?

• Right? on Jun 07, 2022 at 10:49 pm

Malaysia = Dumping ground. Plus they need us to cover their development cost.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • Singaporean Malay on Jun 06, 2022 at 9:19 pm

The Kia Sorento diesel guy paid already lah

• Malaysianearning3x on Jun 07, 2022 at 12:42 pm

Why pay parking summons, just run away will do. LTA can’t do anything to us.

• I’m a bit torn on how I feel about the X70 as a whole. It feels like our national pride flagship SUV; but on the other hand, it’s not truly an all-new model engineered locally (only the RHD conversion is, along with some styling cues). That along with the unfair advantages Proton had and continues to enjoy relative to other foreign manufacturers just leaves a bitter taste in my mouth, like we’re being force-fed this as our nation’s pride when in fact Proton is no longer truly local.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 11
    • We just need to admit that a market of 1mil TIV a year cannot sustain a local brand developed and engineered domestically. Look at Australia and where Holden is now?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 5
    • Merrick on Jun 06, 2022 at 5:43 pm

A promise is a Promise to them, and i optimistic they will make their own homegrowm model, but for now they need s lot of revenue, profit, and amortisastion first ….

I’m expecting in 2027, and i hope i was right ….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
      • Ramesh on Jun 06, 2022 at 9:37 pm

The function of Proton from day 1 – Proton Saga.
        it’s a car that’s larger and more comfortable than Civic and Corolla of 1980s. We are Proud.

But Finally, due to homegrown.
        A Saga now fell to A-segment sedan. Still Proud?

Hope to see Proton CKD with 90% local parts by 2027. Benefit the whole industry in Malaysia, Job Opportunity for B40 to be specialized workers and earn more.
        If CKD but parts import from China, then meaningless.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
        • Merrick on Jun 08, 2022 at 2:56 pm

Hey, you know that Saga, Persona, Iriz, and Exora are 90% Malaysian, that’s great and yes it benefitted a lot for Industries in Malaysia.

Look, there is a Reason why it became an A Segement, question is do we as Malaysians can afford a C to E Segment saloons with the same price as this a
          A Segment saga ? Do most Malaysians want it ?

Do they want a car ? Or do they need a car ?

While yes, i’m a bit dissapointed but i also realize it’s Logical, i don’t hate this saga since they changed from the CVT to more reliable Hyundai made 4AT, and the fact that Saga recent facelifted actually improving Saga’s quality …

Btw, i support Proton to localize their entire Geely based models parts to 90% localization, if that’s the reason so spare parts availibility are adequate …

I hope they do …

• i dun get why both P1 and P2 dun add epal carplay or android auto. at least add them as upgradable options la…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 25
    • P2: So if that is how you feel about X70 then am I joke to you???

• Jeffrey on Jun 06, 2022 at 1:05 pm

Their X50 and X70 have spare parts issue and they still dare to launch a facelift model? Those who are buying new car, please know that these two models are notorious for no-spare-part issue.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 7
    • Merrick on Jun 06, 2022 at 5:47 pm

Maybe this time, they will explain (i hope) didn’t they said that in the late of June they will have an adequacy for spare parts ?

https://paultan.org/2022/03/25/proton-spare-parts-shortage-fix-fast-moving-and-accident-repair-parts-to-be-stocked-up-by-end-of-june/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • Katheryne Wong on Jun 06, 2022 at 8:13 pm

Last time, people complaint on VW spare part issue. Today, VW is now better, and already improved on spare parts availability. Now Proton is even worst, 1 year+ to wait for spare parts! But the funny thing is people still wanna buy Proton,LOL

• Resurgent Ajibkor n Hamidikor(RAH) on Jun 06, 2022 at 9:44 pm

Protong has a new tag..WDGAD
      You know what it stands for?
      “We dont give a damn” whether the delivery is 9 months or the warranty spare parts take 3-4 months to arrive.
      Book a new X50 or X70 at your peril.

• Wee Ka Siong Sr on Jun 06, 2022 at 9:51 pm

The X70 is so much heavier than the x50,and P1 is downgrading to the 1.5Turbo? P1 fanboys,be prepared for a heavy petrol bill.This revamped X70 will drink petrol like u drinking coke.

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Jun 06, 2022 at 1:30 pm

X50 in China already ditched “3-cylinders” turbo for “4-cylinders” turbo. Where are we still getting more the 3-potters?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 9
  • Knightrider on Jun 06, 2022 at 1:53 pm

Syok sendiri, but anyway thats Malaysian affordable SUV below 100k wherever autopart have many issues didnt solved

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 6
    • Resurgent Ajibkor n Hamidikor(RAH) on Jun 06, 2022 at 9:58 pm

Proton ‘s service centre philosophy :
      ” Kami akan memantau spare parts ETA”
      ” Kami sedang memantau”
      ” Kami sedang sedang sedang memantau”
      ” Sorry,memantau selama lama nya..China invades Taiwan”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 21
  • Proton always does this stupid syiok sendiri “teasers”, with not much substance to back it up. Looks like Geely didn’t manage to change the culture that much.

Remember the so much hyped-up Accordana? They put a huge black box with the car inside, as if it’s going to be greatest car on earth.

Remember when they spent millions to do the logo change from the star to the current tiger? So many campaigns teasing it.

Proton – DO IT. No need to say you’re going to to it. And then giving something lacklustre anyway. Get hopes up then fail to deliver. Always.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 12
    • onli the CEO changed. Proton culture is still there and DRB still own majoriti 51%, they got the say.

• Ajib tai kor on Jun 07, 2022 at 10:52 am

Yep..u damn damn correct.DRB is controlling shareholder.The culture from bailout years have deteriorated from bad to worse.They r using Dr.Li as puppet to get China SUVs.With Cam pro Saga,Persona,Exora..they need bailout multiple times .Geely may pull out one day when enough is enough.

• Phaser on Jun 07, 2022 at 4:07 pm

You should go to PROTON with your CV so they can hire you as marketing director instead of lamenting their failures in a comment section. Am sure they would be willing to listen to your alternative solutions.

• Ajibkor & Hamidikor on Jun 07, 2022 at 5:34 pm

The Roslan dude already shivering if I apply.

• Smoke Gets In Your Eyes on Jun 08, 2022 at 8:26 am

Hahaha oh wow such delusions I see why this dude thinks Russia is winning the war! You must be smoking something really good. Please share.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • Tortilla on Jun 06, 2022 at 2:15 pm

The way to improve X70 handling:

1. Reduce engine weight – 1.5 3cyl is used. Instead of 1.8L 4 cylinder.
    2. Use lower profile but R19 – 225/55R19 > RM650 each. >RM2.6k each set?

Fuel consumption also better than 1.8 turbo 4cyl.
    Can compared to how X50 1.5tgdi daily drive consumption.
    X50 and CR-V 1.5 CVT common daily urban drive around 10km/L.
    Heavy traffic Jam/short distance drive is different story.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
    • A car user on Jun 06, 2022 at 7:57 pm

Smaller engines do not guarantee lower fuel consumption, especially if it is underpower.May even consume more fuel than bigger engine because it need to work harder at higher RPM and engines normally less efficient at higher RPM.You cannot compare a smaller car with a bigger car using the same engine & expect the fuel consumption to be the same.

• Tiew Tee on Jun 06, 2022 at 2:20 pm

I dont mind the 1.8 engine. I dont mind have to pay extra for the road-tax. But I do mind the lack of Andoid Auto/Apple CarPlay in this car. Also ACC until stop, pls.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 29
  • Auntie on Jun 06, 2022 at 3:33 pm

X70 > HR-V.
    Can put bb/child seats with balance space.

X70 Boot – 512L
    HR-V City Cross – 319L
    Avanza Cross – 499L

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 11
  • Orang malaysia selalu kena tipu dengan accessories and body kits…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
  • Better value than Renault Koleos R19 and Volvo XC60 R19.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 14
  • Come On Proton ! Don’t give up i know those who are commenting here and those who like to make a fun of your name as being a lackuster, ugly, problem maker, and has a lot of problem with after sales (spare parts, availibility) ….

If you guys want to succeed then improve more will ya ! Especially with spare parts availibility issue , and i hope on the late of June, this type of problem will getting an improvent ! Come on now !

Hey, i hope this MC1 X70 will also get an improvement on quality and durability, cause that’s what i expect more than a exterior-interior look lol ….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 15
  • Boy Racer on Jun 06, 2022 at 9:19 pm

Seems like the X70 is also getting the Saga treatment.

• ROTI CANAI on Jun 06, 2022 at 10:24 pm

mana spare parts?

• Aikon on Jun 07, 2022 at 7:58 am

I’m guessing they could intro the 1.5 to supplement the 1.8. Like the X50 which has 2 performance levels, the separation could be 1.5 for lower X70 variants and with a maybe slightly lower entry price too. The 1.8 could be reserved for top variants.

• newme on Jun 07, 2022 at 10:27 am

Proton teasing X70 MC.

People paid booking fee still waiting to be teased with their actual cars while existing owners are being teased for not having spare parts.

• Ain’t that great! People book for old version but now they will be surprised to get a new improved version! What a nice surprise!

• newme on Jun 09, 2022 at 9:11 am

They have the history of launching a car with 4 disc brakes and replaced 2 rear brakes with drum in their “improved” version.

• Just buy Myvi and be happy.

• Jezza on Jun 07, 2022 at 2:16 pm

Last time i drove X70, the thing that puts me off is the underpowered when fully loaded pass 2+ tons. Climbing Kulim-Jeli route felt lethargic, compared to CRV TCP and obvs the 2.2 CX5.
    Now they changed it with engine which has less PS and Nm?
    Come on Proton that car needs 200hp++ and 350nm to handle our people. I can’t imagine the FC with this new underpowered engine.
    Unless X70 had gone on serious diet, the petrol bill is going to be higher. 1.8 to 2L charged is much more.
    Tbh X70 is almost the perfect package, adds start stop low speed follow ACC, better infortaiment and better powertrain, its almost perfect. The handling already solid man

• X70 Buyer on Jun 08, 2022 at 8:32 am

X70 is made for comfort rather than outright power, as most SUV are since you shouldn’t be expecting a 2+tonne car to drive like a Porsche. In contrast when I floor my company CRV engine, I find it loud & harsh. It is just not made for this car to go that fast. For the overall drive my X70 is far better for use compared to the CRV.

• MC = mid life crisis ^^

• Vijay on Jun 08, 2022 at 2:01 am

I have been waiting for my engine mounting,till now no stock.Betul betul menyesal beli X70.Dont have proper spare part now want to introduce new model.All morons running the show..

• Vijay on Jun 08, 2022 at 2:02 am

I have been waiting for my engine mounting,till now no stock.Betul betul menyesal beli X70.Dont have proper spare part now want to introduce new model.All morons running the show..Its my views

• Mohd fadzli abdul khir on Sep 08, 2022 at 1:37 pm

I had my x70., reg VDQ xxxx. Still new less than 100k mileage. Now am having to replace another gear box. With all the sufferings , to wait and repair .is it worth it to own another proton? Now iam asking for relief car while waiting for proton to resolved warranted issue. Whatsapp is useless, you need to confront them with emails etc so that its visible and have trail. Proton had good technical staff, but it seems like management only for profits. Let’s see how it goes.

Months ago I had to fork out money to resolve my exora. Case still active and may have to hire lawyers to resolve those issues. But again, you have to put your money upfront. Is it worth it?