Works ministry needs RM3.4 billion to repair federal roads in Peninsular Malaysia – completion by 2023

The works ministry says it needs an allocation of RM3.4 billion to repair damaged federal roads throughout Peninsular Malaysia, reports Bernama. According to works minister Datuk Seri Fadillah Yusof, the funds will be used for resurfacing, adding another layer or building new roads, with the works expected to be completed by 2023.

“We are aware that a lot of priorities have to be considered before the allocation is given, which in some cases, is insufficient like the RM68 million required to repair federal road FT004 of the East-West Highway. We are not blaming the ministry of finance but that is the challenge we are facing. However, we will find ways to improve the situation in the short and long terms,” he said.

“My ministry has identified the roads, not just in Perak but throughout Peninsular Malaysia, that need to be repaired after five or seven years as the original layer could no longer cope with the traffic volume. Imagine the condition of the roads if these were built 40 years ago like in Gerik,” he added.

Fadillah explained that in most cases, the short-term measures taken by his ministry is to resurface the road before building another layer or a new road at the identified damaged stretches of the federal roads. According to the works ministry, there are over 17,830 km federal roads throughout the country up to now, including in Sabah and Sarawak.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Jun 23, 2022 at 10:00 am

Get it from UMNO ex-leader and their free salary ministers. Rakyat is not paying a sen for it.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 20
    • Rakyat Malaysia on Jun 23, 2022 at 11:49 am

Let the road get damage we should not care. After al under DAP only their members, T20, & cronies will get to use the road for their cars while us rakyats have to walk on foot. Rakyat Malaysia is not paying for their privileged convenience.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 108 Thumb down 20
      • BN Penipu on Jun 23, 2022 at 1:50 pm

When are you going to stop your lies? 60 years still use the same technique. Rakyat Malaysia have heard enough.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 23
        • Fake News on Jun 23, 2022 at 8:00 pm

Are you calling PaulTan fake news? How dare you!!! Get outta here!!!
          https://paultan.org/2022/05/31/driving-a-car-in-malaysia-should-be-made-a-luxury-not-a-necessity-says-dap-assemblyman-liew-chin-tong/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
          • BN Penipu Nonstop on Jun 24, 2022 at 11:00 am

Oh come on, not this again, nothing new from BN kah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
          • BN Syok Sendiri on Jun 24, 2022 at 3:01 pm

BN troopers self like their own comments hundred times for what? Mau tipu PT readers? Who would belip?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
        • DAPHenipu on Jun 24, 2022 at 8:07 am

When are you going to stop your lies? 60 years still use the same technique. Rakyat Malaysia have heard enough.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
          • Hello, we’re not 60 years lah, mau tipu pun guna otak lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
          • Lets See on Jun 25, 2022 at 10:40 am

From DAP website:
            “Formed in October 1965, Democratic Action Party (DAP) Malaysia was formally registered six months later on March 18, 1966 as a political party…”
            So you guys are already 57 years old. Your leader had been ruling since until tua kerepot. Stop lying. People had enough of your antics. The Sultan in frontpage news everywhere have had enough of your antics. Bertaubatlah

• Ghani on Jun 25, 2022 at 2:43 pm

Johor Sultan have enough of Opposition after 60 years telling lies, being treated like an adopted son while we Malaysians are being treated like secondary citizens. It’s only PH ministers and troopers receiving big salaries that don’t have enough of it. Thank you Sultan for having the courage to say it loud.

• Afeeq Hasan on Jun 23, 2022 at 2:34 pm

Rakyat Malaysia try to not mention DAP challenge *gone wrong*

I hope you realize the DAP guy was misunderstood, and even if not – it was one guy out of the entire party. Look at the state of Penang and compare it with other states like Kelantan before talking lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 18
        • Penang: successful, prosperous city

Kelantan: lepak 1 corner, water issues etc etc
          (no offence for normal pipu, talking about gov.)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
          • Lets See on Jun 25, 2022 at 10:36 am

Penang: successful prosperous city by Gerakan under BN.

Kelantan: Been in Opposition hands since 1990.

Moral of the story: Return back to BN Federal Govt hands.

• Misunderstood? How? It appears to be very clear cut they want to limit cars as luxury items and these are typically in the realm of the rich. What about us regular joes whom need it for work? That is the problem with DAP, they know how to talk about the problems but never give solutions. An exam paper has more value that them.

• Copy Paste on Jun 24, 2022 at 11:07 am

mds on Jun 23, 2022 at 12:08 pm

Cars are not essential and will add burden to people by resuming SST exemption that will create more traffic jam. Now, please support how to resolve food prices including chicken

https://paultan.org/2022/06/22/government-should-extend-sst-exemption-to-all-cars-that-are-registered-by-march-31-2023-says-fmccam/

• From the web on Jun 25, 2022 at 2:31 pm

June 24, 2022
            KUALA LUMPUR – The government is not ending the subsidy for cooking oil but reverting to the original pricing mechanism before the Covid-19 pandemic struck, says Datuk Zuraida Kamaruddin.

The Plantation Industries and Commodities Minister said there had been some misunderstanding over the issue.

“The original subsidised cooking oil, which amounted to 60,000 tonnes a month, or 720,000 tonnes a year, will remain and will be sold in 1kg polybags.

• Yazid on Jun 23, 2022 at 4:29 pm

diam la bodoh, kau berambus lebih baik

• Lets See on Jun 25, 2022 at 11:50 am

PH troopers self like their own comments hundred times for what? Mau tipu PT readers? Who would belip?

• Just_Malaysian on Jun 23, 2022 at 10:02 am

I’m pretty sure the contract is probably 10% of the total RM3.4B….

• RyanT on Jun 23, 2022 at 12:10 pm

Masuk pockets kao kao

• kucing hitam on Jun 23, 2022 at 12:56 pm

maintenance work is an ongoing thing, where got the completion date by 2023one?..do you mean witrh all those billion ringgits they can only maintain the road until 2023 only? after 2023 ask for more money again? tak masuk akar

• Mokmok on Jun 23, 2022 at 12:59 pm

If it’s a dream come true in the future please, please, please shut down the company which permitted their lorries with extra-extra load to operate. Revoke their trading licenses. Rakyat paid 3 billion for the road quality and they simply abused it and making money in the process.

Potholes, uneven potholes patch and sunken tarmac are not new to us. It’s time to put an end to this matter or we will need another 3 billion in another year logically.

• What the f? Figure pluck from trees is it? How are we suppose to believe you when your minister mention that to change the Bukit Jalil grass will cost 4 times more than TMJ did at Johor stadium? Rakyat don’t trust any minister due to personal interest. Be transparent lah!

• pomen on Jun 23, 2022 at 1:47 pm

3.4 billion but the tarmac only can stand for 6 months…hahaha

• kenot on Jun 23, 2022 at 2:26 pm

the question is how much the cost to repair the road from 3.4billion?

• Gomorrah on Jun 23, 2022 at 4:30 pm

Yala always tampal tampal tampal on top of damaged road instead of resurfacing it properly like you see in other countries, no wonder potholes always come back. What sort of uneducated nonsense is this still talking about adding another layer? Charge billions for it and yet the problem will recur.

Then don’t enforce the law when you allow all these companies to build highway upon highway, LRT/MRT etc on top of existing federal roads and not rectify the damage they cause afterwards. More slipshod tampal here there everywhere and the road becomes worse than a rally stage. Where are the fines? What about the JKR compliance procedures that have to be followed? Also no enforcement of heavy vehicles exceeding maximum load rating for a particular road. Build a road rated for cars/light vehicles and then surpised pokemon face when the potholes form after massive lorries etc start using it.
    Talk rubbish punya politician.

• Pakora Singh sidhu on Jun 23, 2022 at 5:06 pm

Billions billions only I thot trillions n trillions bez need to bring aliens from other space to repair roads
    Definition of billions needs to repair roads its self showing clearly **MASSIVE CORRUPTION & INCOMPETENCY **SPEECHLESS I’M

• Ringgit King on Jun 24, 2022 at 10:02 am

We actually need 800mil if the 2.6billion was returned.