2022 Perodua Alza video teaser #5: MPV’s headlamp, taillight, grille and wheel design shown before launch

Perodua is back with yet another teaser for the 2022 Perodua Alza, which should be making its launch debut soon. In the new short clip, we are shown a few design elements of the seven-seat MPV that is the sister model of the latest Toyota Avanza/Veloz and Daihatsu Xenia.

Starting at the rear, the all-new Alza’s taillight clusters have an identical shape to those found on the Avanza and Xenia. The lighting signature looks similar too, but the Perodua MPV appears to have a chrome strip accompanying a body-coloured trim that links the clusters, just above location of the number plate.

On the other end, the Alza gets its own grille design with an insert featuring small L-shaped motifs that also integrate the front camera. The Perodua badge is placed just ahead of the bonnet shut line, with the bottom half extending into the grille from its place on a black trim piece. This look is more reminiscent of the Xenia, as both the Avanza and Veloz have a much larger and more prominent front grille by comparison.

Also seen at the front are the Alza’s headlamps, which appear to be Adaptive Driving Beam LED units that are standard with the range-topping 1.5AV. These come with an LED light strip at the top of each cluster that form positioning lights, while also doubling as sequential turn signals. The headlamps appear to be unique to the Alza, as the Indonesian-spec Avanza and Xenia have a subjectively less “premium” look to them without the LED light strips.

Another detail shown are the wheels, although their diameter is not clearly shown. The largest available wheels for the Avanza and Xenia in Indonesia measure 16 inches, while the Malaysian Veloz gets 17-inch units as standard. As for the interior, we’ve only been given glimpses, but we should expect the Alza to be a little different from its sister models.

All variants of the Alza, including the base 1.5X and mid-spec 1.5H, will come with a 1.5 litre naturally-aspirated four-cylinder Dual VVT-i engine and D-CVT. Estimated pricing starts at RM62,000 on-the-road without insurance for the 1.5X, rising up to RM68,000 for the 1.5H and peaking at RM75,000 for the 1.5AV.

You can find a spec-by-spec comparison here based on what we know so far, and once again, we should expect more teasers to be released as we near the launch date. Liking what you see so far?

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• tapsoba on Jun 28, 2022 at 12:10 pm

I’ve placed a booking on the H variant because I personally don’t think this upgrade on the AV worth the extra 5k.

2022 Perodua Alza 1.5AV – RM75,000 est
    Adds on:

Mechanicals
    Electronic parking brake with auto brake hold – I’m all for newer, advanced tech but for this, I’m still preferring the old way.

Interior
    Semi-leather two-tone seats – something that I can pay outright to any car shop. Not worth to include in loan.

Safety
    Adaptive Cruise Control – Not required; where I live, this will just be a waste.

Lane Keep Control – Not required; only for those who don’t concentrate when driving.

Blind Spot Monitor – Not required; I’ve been driving for years using all 3 mirrors plus a quick look at the side before changing lane etc.

Rear Cross Traffic Alert – Not required; As above.

360-degree panoramic view monitor – might be useful but if this is the same as the one in Xenia, they have to improve a lot before I would consider it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 11
    • Shawn on Jun 28, 2022 at 1:43 pm

Alza, 3 spec.
      3 different group of people.

You also can say the X spec is better than alot 2010-2022 SUV/MPV.
      Some SUV still doesn’t even have AEB.

Ironically,
      X – good Perodua spec
      H – good Toyota spec
      AV – good Lexus spec.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • All these are EV cars features.
      but without slow electron refuel.

• hazri on Jun 28, 2022 at 3:15 pm

bear in mind, some car price above 100k dont have all the features. corolla cross (no epb & ah). adaptive cruise control (even conti like mb, bmw, audi only have passive cruise control). so the top specs price at 75k (same price as city & vios low specs) but get all the features is a good bargain.

• Iretsh on Jun 28, 2022 at 3:32 pm

Why AV-H= RM5K? not RM7K

• tapsoba on Jun 28, 2022 at 6:20 pm

Ahh you’re right.. cause H is 70k in Sabah.. and AV is 77k.. I’ve mixed up the pricing. Wow, so that’s a lot more.

• Cipai on Jun 28, 2022 at 4:13 pm

Talk east talk west… just one of the safety feature safe you from a potential accident already pay for itself lah. Whats 5k nowadays… barely enough for a double digit number plate. H is the worst choice… you want cheap, go for X then you see alot more savings.

• tapsoba on Jun 28, 2022 at 6:29 pm

Well, I think you’re wrong. For me, one of the feature I really look forward is the drive modes. Anyway, I’m currently just booking it for the sake of 0 sst. Once the car in showroom, I’ll definitely have more time to see and test drive before I sign any loan. If it doesn’t meet my expectation, I can just cancel the booking.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
        • Sohai on Jun 30, 2022 at 7:52 pm

Why say people wrong? Is an opinion and everyone is entitled to theirs.. but one thing you are definitely wrong is that, you can’t change your booking after 30JUN and still enjoy SST rebate. GOod luck with your choice. If you need more time with a 5k decision, you might just end up paying 5k for SST instead.
          Oh, drive mode is something that not a lot of people use because, is just not a very useful thing.

• tapsoba on Jul 09, 2022 at 1:37 pm

Yes, I even said “for me”, not for everyone. So I’m stating that for me, that’s a wrong opinion. About the SST rebate, you think I don’t know that once I cancel the booking the rebate will void as well? When did I say that I still expect to get the rebate after I cancel and book for a different car, when? “Oh, drive mode is something that not a lot of people use because, is just not a very useful thing.” well, is that an opinion? How many is a lot? And how would you know it’s not useful? Usually, when people said “not a lot of people use” without mentioning their own use experience, that means that’s just hearsay.

So, could you stop assuming things.

• Iretsh on Jun 28, 2022 at 10:15 pm

From H drops to X , not a lot of savings also, ~6K only.

• Zhafri on Jun 28, 2022 at 12:26 pm

Teaser #10??? Then it will come out from hiding…

• Sohai on Jun 28, 2022 at 4:05 pm

Dont think it has that many things to tease. Next one probably showing it has spare tire…

• Can’t wait for this Lexus vibe.

Berbaloi to trade in my 2005 Odyssey.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • newme on Jun 28, 2022 at 12:42 pm

Really P2? Since when P2 stoop so low as Proton?