2022 Toyota Veloz open for booking in Malaysia – replaces Avanza, wireless Apple CarPlay, RM95k est

No sooner than the order books open for the new Perodua Alza did UMW Toyota Motor follow suit with the Toyota Veloz. The more upmarket seven-seater MPV sibling replaces the Avanza in Malaysia after 18 years and over 178,000 units sold.

As with its twin, the Veloz is assembled locally – almost certainly under contract by Perodua – although it will be quite a bit more expensive. Whereas the Alza is expected to top out at around RM75,000, the Toyota carries estimated pricing of RM95,000 on-the-road without insurance, inclusive of the sales and service tax (SST). Buyers have less than a week to put down their order and take advantage of the SST exemption, which will grant them a slightly cheaper price.

Thai-market model shown

To justify the higher positioning, the Veloz will get several unique touches over the Alza. On the outside, this means a more “premium” design with a chrome strip running all the way under the clamshell bonnet, LED headlights with sequential indicators, a large hexagonal grille and T-shaped chrome accents for the LED fog light surrounds.

Elsewhere, the Veloz gets chrome window trim, full-width taillights, triangular cutouts in the bumpers and the standard fitment of 17-inch two-tone alloy wheels. Exclusive to Malaysia is a two-tone colour scheme with a black roof for the Silver Metallic and Blue Metallic paint options, costing an additional RM1,300. Single-tone White, Red Metallic and Metallic Bluish Black are also offered.

Inside, the Veloz is differentiated from the Avanza in other markets (and the Daihatsu Xenia in Indonesia) via additional silver trim, particularly around the steering wheel, centre air vents and centre console “rails”. The latter feature integrated ambient lighting, which can be found on the door cards, too. The dashboard is also slightly different, with fake stitching.

There are also some extra equipment on the Malaysian version, not least of which is the fitment of a nine-inch freestanding infotainment touchscreen. This, amazingly, comes with wireless Apple CarPlay and Android Auto connectivity, paired with a Qi wireless charger – on a sub-RM100,000 car! Like the Alza, the Veloz gets a seven-inch digital instrument display and an electronic parking brake with auto brake hold.

Safety-wise, the Veloz features the Toyota Safety Sense suite of driver assists that should be identical to the Alza’s Perodua Smart Drive Assist (PSDA). This means it will likely include not only the confirmed autonomous emergency braking and adaptive cruise control but also lane centring assist, lane keeping assist, blind spot monitoring, front departure alert, pedal misapplication control and matrix high beam. Six airbags should also be standard.

Under the bonnet lies the usual 2NR-VE 1.5 litre naturally aspirated four-cylinder engine. While the output figures have yet to be revealed, they should be similar to the Vios and Yaris, which put out 107 PS at 6,000 rpm and 140 Nm of torque at 4,200 rpm. Drive is sent to the front wheels through Daihatsu’s Dual mode CVT (D-CVT) with a seven-speed sequential mode.

GALLERY: 2022 Toyota Veloz in Thailand

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Vincent on Jun 24, 2022 at 12:43 pm

The launching is mean to boost 2022 Perodua Alza sales..hahaha !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 19
    • Civic Turbo 2018 on Jun 24, 2022 at 7:46 pm

+20K just to buy accessories +LOGO
      75K from range-topping Alza

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 19
  • Hacker on Jun 24, 2022 at 2:10 pm

The last row is not meant for people. None of the pics portray 7 people in the car. It is meant for seat

• The last row is mean for two cats or two dogs.

• my 2005 Odyssey feels more squeezy than this.
        I want to trade in to buy this for my retired life.

• I sat on the 3rd row of the new alza, definitely for cats and dogs.

• Ijazah on Jun 24, 2022 at 2:12 pm

Looks practical and comfortable compared to Honda HR-V 1.5L.
    5 seater DNGA Cross with 498L boot space.
    Simpan 2 seat folded flat flat.

This more spacious and comfortable to my Toyota Sienta, vios based, non-DNGA yet.
    Kasih booking dulu,
    If u see SST tax saving for Rush, it was about RM5,000!

• Toyota. FanGal on Jun 24, 2022 at 2:37 pm

Toyota is better than alza cos it’s branded products. But may have 10% sales ni. Due to its pricing. Top up a bit can get hrv. Or cross.

Regards
    Good luck

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 17
    • Cross and HRV are not same segments as Veloz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • both are from the same Perodua factory in Rawang, using the same workers assembling the same engine, same gearbox on the same chassis.

what nonsense are you talking about?

• Susanne on Jun 24, 2022 at 4:06 pm

I gonna urged my Husband to trade in the Nissan Sylphy, to this.

We wanted a spacious, practical SUV.

• Contradiction on Jun 24, 2022 at 4:12 pm

Toyota again with their stupid strategy of selling a car who has a cheaper twin on sale at the same time. Just ask how many Rush were sold as compared to Aruz. On the road it is rarer than a Ferrari.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 17
    • But the space is a bit wider, more premium, come with LED fog lamps than Alza

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • Up to you... on Jun 24, 2022 at 8:17 pm

Are you sure stupid strategy?

They have their targeted customer or should I say for B40 (Perodua) and M40 (Toyota). Simple.

• Cashier on Jun 25, 2022 at 9:53 am

Unless you mean a single lonely man, not yet married but salary dah RM4k.

B40 household is below RM4850/$1.150k, per family..
        A family of 2 to 3 kids, B40…
        Mostly buy good value, well maintained new / used car up to RM40k for movability, then use it for 9-20 years.
        If B40 each parent also need to drive, then mostly struggling to pay for 2 Saga/Axia brand new.
        Each car expenses easily RM12k/year, RM1k/month.
        We have seen how ppl compared RM1000 Grab monthly to Axia Monthly ownership.
        Installment + maintenance + insurance + petrol + toll + parking.

Finally, even
        car > RM100k only affordable to T20, household >RM11k, rm5,5k/parent.
        >RM200k, EV only affordable to T01, with expensive tyres to support too.

• Toyoda on Jun 24, 2022 at 10:59 pm

Toyota not stupid. Go check who owns perodua share. Rush n veloz r just there to make aruz and alza look to be worth ur money.

• Casual reader on Jun 25, 2022 at 12:17 pm

You dont make urself stupid just to make ur brother look better dont you. So why would Toyota, an international brand, do that?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
      • Azgarffield on Jul 21, 2022 at 9:00 am

The “Casual Reader” must be someone with a love-hate relationship with Toyota. Love the brand along with the reliability that comes with it. Yet, hate that it has a local sibling that takes advantage of the national car status and cheapens the Toyota brand.

For God’s sake, buy a proper Toyota (minimum Corolla). Veloz was really primarily developed by Daihatsu, the small car expert among the siblings; thus DNGA rather than TNGA. In return, it is Toyota who then is taking the advantage.

Ever heard the concept of a “halo car”?. Perodua is exploiting that to the max, even though the related Toyota models are only the cheapest of cheapest they have in their stable. Yes, they’re assisting Perodua for fact that they bring in money for the group overall.

• 2022 liao bro….pls google. Alza is purely base on Avanza.
      Veloz is a more premium vers of Avanza.

Just watch from youtube.

Btw , Rush look more premium than Aruz.
      *cant afford Rush? then Aruz. Ez…

• yusrykru on Jun 29, 2022 at 12:22 pm

Alza or veloz, toyota still win, u the loser, coz they take ur money hahaha

• Tortilla on Jun 24, 2022 at 4:28 pm

It looks like a DNGA Corolla Cross.

1. EPB
    2. wireless Apple Carplay, Android Auto equiped.
    3. More hi-tech than Corolla Cross 1.8G, Innova 2.0.
    4. Faster than Nissan Serena 2.0 CVT which 14.1s to 100km/h

Properly Modern, Well Rounded for Daily/Balik Kampung Drive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
  • YB Albert on Jun 24, 2022 at 5:05 pm

With a price differential of 20 grand,who on earth will not book the Alza,instead of this 95K Velox?
    With 20 grand..one can visit any top car spa..boost up the sound system plus plenty of accessories according to one’s whims and fancies.
    With 95K,I can get top specs Alza plus a used Myvi 2010.
    In covidian times,make our hard earned cash count.Buying by impulse is never prudent now.Only due diligence will do.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 18
  • Sohai on Jun 24, 2022 at 6:47 pm

This one show so much more… not like alza hide this hide that… and is confirmed having Apple car play.. one up against Alza

• No more Rush Aruz?

• cikai indo made toyota.this is no world car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
    • Meanwhile….. on Jun 25, 2022 at 2:26 pm

Meanwhile honda design more like third world country car, not just indo honda also no world car

• I’m starting to think Toyota intentionally sell the veloz here for more money so people can see for themselves that the Alza is essentially a cheaper Toyota. They’re just here to boost Perodua’s image.

• Seribu on Jun 25, 2022 at 12:01 am

Like top spec but better quality

• Eagle Eye on Jun 25, 2022 at 7:10 am

Aruz is a SUV while Alza/Veloz is a MPV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • I miss Metramac on Jun 25, 2022 at 1:45 pm

D-CVT better and smooth than 4AT

• Roger on Jun 25, 2022 at 4:58 pm

should i cancel my xpander booking over this?

• Sohai on Jun 26, 2022 at 2:15 pm

Depends.. Xpander has very good leg room for a 7 seater and very good suspension setup. this one not so sure as we can’t see it yet..
      kit count this is higher with more safety features, always a good thing.
      And the look department could also decide which one you like more.

• Salam on Jun 27, 2022 at 7:36 am

Xpander 2 airbags, is comparable to Exora 2 airbags.
        Xpander launched to compete 1st Gen Rush and BR-V, not the 2nd gen Rush, Aruz.

Comfort wise, Veloz is better than Toyota Sienta.
        Xpander looks MPV instead of Cross.

There are rumors Mitsubishi Kuda coming to rival Toyota Veloz, later.

• What kind of stupid marketing is this by Toyota. RM20k is abig amount for a T instead of P2 badge for the same car. Toyota should went for hybrid or EV version of Alza to makebthe difference.

• Sohai on Jun 26, 2022 at 2:20 pm

It is not exactly the same. The packaging is different.
      The after sales would be different. And I think is enough difference for the 20k. People spend more just to change the look of a car. And who is to say a badge for 20k is not worth it? Just tell those people who spend 20k on a number plate alone.
      If to you is the same, then the choice is easy for you.

• The name says for itself

• MarkX on Jun 27, 2022 at 7:55 am

DNGA Corolla Cross – the Veloz,
        Already cheaper than a TNGA Corolla Cross by RM35k for better interior display, and exterior lighting and self driving driving technology.

Can’t wait to see real car.

• Vios 1st gen on Jun 26, 2022 at 10:03 pm

Paid 20k extra, atleast dun have the unwanted eco idle and ASA.

• Jom Global on Jun 27, 2022 at 8:12 am

Vios is waiting DNGA from Ativa I.e. DNGA Yaris Cross to be scaled to Sedan.
      Veloz is the DNGA Corolla Cross.

At Thailand, Veloz is 875k baht/ RM113k but don’t have ACC.
      If you add ACC for Thai market, RM120k/950kalso.
      Closed price with TNGA Corolla Cross Thailand 1.8Sport, which also has ACC, RM122k/989k baht now.

Malaysia here you are lucky here because CKD by Perodua,
      maximum local content for best value, boosted economy and supply chain.

It’s already RM20k cheaper than Thailand.

• Honkauyu on Jun 28, 2022 at 4:52 pm

Engine platform transmission might be same as alza . But others 10% may contribute to better refinement and comfort. Kasi test dulu be

• Bzaman on Jul 09, 2022 at 8:31 pm

Ugly, but it will sell bcoz its T.