2023 Toyota Veloz Malaysian review – seven-seat MPV with 1.5L NA, Safety Sense; RM95k, worth it over Alza?

The Toyota Veloz was launched in Malaysia last October and replaces the Avanza in the local line-up. Now built on the Daihatsu New Global Architecture (DNGA) platform, the all-new MPV is deemed as a more upmarket offering compared to its close cousin, the Perodua Alza.

With a price tag of RM95,000 on-the-road without insurance, is the Veloz worth the premium over the Alza? What are the differences and how does it stack up against comparable rivals in the segment like the Mitsubishi Xpander? That’s what Hafriz Shah attempts to find out in our video review of the Veloz.

The Toyota MPV is powered by a 2NR-VE 1.5 litre naturally-aspirated inline-four petrol engine that makes 106 PS (105 hp or 78 kW) at 6,000 rpm and 138 Nm of torque at 4,200 rpm. This is mated to a CVT with seven virtual speeds that sends drive to the front wheels, which is a significant departure from the departed Avanza that was rear-wheel drive and had a four-speed automatic gearbox.

Only one variant of the Veloz is offered here, and it comes standard with LED headlamps, LED DRLs, keyless entry and engine start, three drive modes (Power, Eco and Normal), a seven-inch multi-info instrument cluster display, black semi-leather upholstery, a wireless phone charger, ambient lighting, a 3D panoramic view monitor and a front dashcam.

There’s also the nine-inch Display Audio touchscreen head unit that is connected to six speakers and has support for wireless Android Auto and Apple CarPlay, which is something that is uncommon in most cars in the market.

Rounding off the kit list is the Toyota Safety Sense suite that includes autonomous emergency braking, all-speed adaptive cruise control, lane departure warning, lane departure prevention with steering assist, lane keeping control, front departure alert, adaptive driving beam, blind spot monitoring, rear cross traffic alert and pedal misoperation control. The usual passive safety systems (VSC, traction control, ABS) and six airbags are also standard.

After watching the video and going through the gallery below, what are your thoughts of the Veloz? Is it worth the nearly RM20,000 extra over the top-spec Alza AV? Share your comments with us below.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Aiseh, no other topic to write?

• Dah Menang Semua on Aug 10, 2023 at 2:27 pm

Veloz missing these…
      -factory tinted
      -360 camera button at steering
      -gearup foot lighting (+300)
      -saved 20K

Velo gained these…
      -taller body
      -exterior temp display
      -ambient lighting
      -extra 20K

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • FireAce on Aug 09, 2023 at 1:00 pm

I think the bigger question is, other than DNGA (Daihatsu) platform, is the engine & gearbox Toyota’s? How does these Daihatsu parts affect the durability of the car?

Toyota is well known for bulletproof car if taken care properly and for many people that buy Toyota, this is a very important criteria.

• Proton oh Proton on Aug 09, 2023 at 1:56 pm

Lol from FB, even with T.Avanza people will recognize as Alza.

• Peppa on Aug 09, 2023 at 2:18 pm

No. Not even worth to wear the Toyota badge.

• perodua tan on Aug 09, 2023 at 2:27 pm

the Telescopic adjustable steering wheel ALONE, is worth the premium.

• jamal on Aug 10, 2023 at 9:00 am

also +apple car play and android auto.
      There alone worth a lot to most people.

• abe jo on Aug 09, 2023 at 3:10 pm

nowadays if car like this travelling 100km/n at 3000rpm. it the things of the past like proton wira , iswara.
    ,, before purchasing the car make sure test drive it to know the character of the car. the least is 2500rpm at 100km/h . produa should look into this , lots of the time we are on good road / highway system .so 3000rpm per 100km/h is inapplicable

• RicoT on Aug 09, 2023 at 3:20 pm

The design/built quality for Veloz is not worth RM20k extra! Firstly, the Veloz only special door handle at the driver and front passenger side are not designed with rounded edge like the rest of the door panels common with Alza. The assembly/parts quality is so bad that it misaligned, exposing the sharp edges or gaps between two joining parts. Secondly, body panel misalignment. Driver right side fender panel joining the headlamp juts out more than the passenger side. Body panel rattles annoyingly. Thirdly, window visor cause turbulence around 70-90km/h and ticking sound near B pillar. Wind down the window a bit and the sound is gone. I reckon it is only worth, at most, RM10k extra over Alza.

• Mcd bababapapa on Aug 09, 2023 at 4:19 pm

definitely worth the extra over Alza. Telescopic steering wheel, higher ground clearance, ambient lighting etc. These are worthy upgrades compared to Aruz vs Rush, which had very very minimal differences but yet about 20k in price difference as well

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
  • Justice on Aug 09, 2023 at 6:36 pm

Not worth as it’s being built by perodua not Toyota…better save more money and buy corolla Cross g spec..genuine toyota platform

• Winner Ong on Aug 09, 2023 at 8:58 pm

Many prosper wishes to my fans this is for loser car not winner like me so don’t complan too much because my level is higher go and make money buy Conti pupil call you boss. Thank you for support my komen to my fans but no need to say hi to me if see me ok until you driving Conti car. Don’t be Senti mental and take personal ok wish you better fortune.

• I think is not worth at all.

• CunNia on Aug 10, 2023 at 10:10 am

Better buy Alza since this is from P2, a national car company. Kita tolong syarikat M’sia la. Why need to buy from Toyota as this is a Japan company. Lagipon syarikat P2 is a local company that create jobs to Bumiputra and locals. So conclusion buy Alza better to help grow P2. Azla is good performance, efficient engine and value for money.

• gkl83 on Aug 11, 2023 at 8:42 am

Buying Veloz should helping P2 too right as coming out from same factory I thought?

P2 at least finished the base car (assumed at least 80% of overall built?) before pass over to Toyota division for the better finishing and also 2nd QC before handover to consumers.

• Tok Lidi Bawang on Aug 11, 2023 at 1:32 pm

good, stay stupid.
      hidup melayu.

• Alphard wannabe on Aug 22, 2023 at 9:25 am

What is that stop & start integral time function for? any different with the annoying eco idle?

Aside from those gaya gaya cosmetic thingy, rm20k u get
    a once or twice in a lifetime telescopic steering adjustable, pride of toyota logo, wireless phone charger and over rm80k car only have dashboard temperature display. Im buying alza h rm68k since i dun have a wireless charging phone plus hate and never use ACC and LKA.

• Test driven both the Perodua Alza AV and the Toyota Veloz and I ended up buying the Veloz.

Toyota markets the Veloz as “premium crossover” (go have a look at the Toyota’s website), and I can feel the premium-ness of the Toyota Veloz over the Alza AV. I feel that I am getting more value than the RM20k price difference. The Veloz can only be priced at RM95k because Perodua is assembling it.