2022 Toyota Veloz launching in Malaysia on October 18 – 7-seat MPV; Alza’s upmarket twin; from RM95k est

UPDATE: The Toyota Veloz has been launched in Malaysia.

UMW Toyota Motor (UMWT) will launch the Toyota Veloz tomorrow on October 18, 2022, the company confirmed on its official website as well as social media pages. The seven-seat MPV, which replaces the Avanza and has a close twin in the form of the Perodua Alza, has been open for booking since June 24 this year.

As of September 8, UMWT says 5,200 bookings have been collected for the MPV, which currently has an estimated price of RM95,000. Included in the price is a five-year, unlimited-mileage warranty, and buyers will have five colour options to choose from, including Red Metallic, Metallic Bluish Black (still a cute name), White and two more with a black roof – Blue Metallic and Silver Metallic.

Based on what UMWT has revealed so far, available equipment for the Veloz include Toyota’s Pre-Collision System (autonomous emergency braking), Adaptive Cruise Control, a 9-inch Display Audio head unit with wireless Android Auto and Apple CarPlay support, a Vehicle Telematics System, LED headlamps, roof rails, an electronic parking brake (with auto brake hold), a seven-inch multi-info display, a wireless charging pad and USB charging ports.

Images of the MPV also suggest 17-inch alloy wheels and single-zone automatic air-conditioning. The Veloz is expected to feature the same 1.5L Dual VVT-i engine and D-CVT gearbox as the Alza, with the engine making 106 PS (105 hp) and 138 Nm of torque in the Perodua model. If you want a more detailed look at the differences between both Daihatsu New Global Architecture (DNGA)-based MPVs, we have a dedicated post explaining them.

The launch of the Veloz takes place tomorrow (October 18, 2022) at 8pm, and you can tune in by heading to UMWT’s official Facebook or YouTube pages. What do you think the final retail price will be?

GALLERY: Toyota Veloz, Malaysia-spec

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Whether you buy this or the Perodua Alza, it doesn’t matter. janji got no spare parts or reliability issue

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • Civic Turbo 2018 on Oct 17, 2022 at 2:54 pm

I would pay extra 20K to look rich-er
      At least Im getting an SUV
      Siblings to Harrier/RAV4

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
      • Dah Menang Semua on Oct 17, 2022 at 5:20 pm

Ground clearance
        Alza 160mm ……….(mpv)
        C.Cross 161mm
        RAV4 165mm
        Veloz 190mm………(mpv)
        Harrier 195mm
        BRV 210mm
        Aruz 220mm
        Xpander 225mm….(mpv)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
        • Roti john Reborn on Oct 17, 2022 at 7:02 pm

The reason why Toyota Veloz will be a Game Changer is because Malaysians trust Japanese quality. Moreover, this MPV has stunning design and high RV. Both the Pepodua Alza and this Veloz will stop Proton Exora sales completely

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
          • Daihatsu Vios on Oct 17, 2022 at 9:04 pm

Jangan takut. X90 will kill Innova/Fortuner

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
          • Navigo on Oct 17, 2022 at 9:23 pm

But people would still love to buy Exora, not only just loving on Alza and Veloz. Three cars are good!!

• OuchhhhTbrand on Oct 18, 2022 at 4:25 am

Yet Veloz’s screen much bigger than T Harrier LOL. Smaller = Premium?

• TiadaGigi on Oct 20, 2022 at 7:53 am

“Japanese quality”? LOOOLLL.. Hey man, do a quick check before you post something stupid.. this Veloz or even the previous Avanza is not sold in Japan.. in fact, it is mainly manufactured to cater SEA market, especially Indonesian market. You know it’s for JDM when the design is boxy, iceboxy but like this? Naahh, u just sedap hati sendiri saja hahaha

• RyanT on Oct 17, 2022 at 4:50 pm

Do u know there is a bigggg problem for the Alza interior design? There is no cup holder or compartment near the gear stick, I had to put my hand phone between my tights during test dive…haaa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 8
      • Dah Menang Semua on Oct 17, 2022 at 5:12 pm

Use the side-pocket near the knee room
        U should do compartment tests next time

• RyanT on Oct 17, 2022 at 7:40 pm

Knee room for keeping phone?
          Obviously it is for cost saving purposes from P2…I notice Veloz does have the compartment next to gear stick

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
          • hazzif on Oct 18, 2022 at 10:07 am

later get veloz trim part to replace for alza, there u got cup holder in the middle.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
          • kai chai on Oct 18, 2022 at 10:49 am

I rather spend to buy veloz that have everything as completely new rather than buying alza with buying those accessories from shopee but don’t know but questionable on long lasting

• Sam Loo on Oct 17, 2022 at 12:35 pm

Toyota cars got high RV. so no problem

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
    • Civic Turbo 2018 on Oct 17, 2022 at 5:34 pm

Yes U’re right
      But Honda RV better
      Toyota Vios can discount 7-8K
      More U ask, More U’ll get

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 26
      • VinMiles on Oct 17, 2022 at 6:02 pm

While honda qc is damn terrible and lacking to get spare parts

• NoRVoldermodelNoVSC2airbags on Oct 18, 2022 at 4:32 am

Lots of parts available with halfcut coming in. One of biggest halfcut parts in Malaysia, Honda. Toyota got halfcut for Camry/Altis/Vios? Very few. High RV? who want to buy 2 airbags with no VSC on older vios/camry/altis?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 15
          • Piano on Oct 18, 2022 at 10:35 am

Halfcut parts is not so related to new spare parts. And why still talking about 2 airbags and no VSC. Your comment is already outdated

• Jambu on Oct 17, 2022 at 12:43 pm

VelOZ cross.

The 1st Toyota below RM100k that comes with Bed Lounge Fold flat seats.

• Veloz come, Toyota everything better than Perodua, byebye to Alza copycat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
  • Toyota Perodua on Oct 17, 2022 at 2:48 pm

It is worth to pay 15-18k more for a Toyota badge? Specs is almost the same as Alza. I also experience Perodua service is not anyway cheaper than Toyota too. Its the same as Rush and Aruz. To Toyota is a win win. I will take my chance with Alza. Save the money to invest with Maybank share. Get dividen pay off road tax and insurance.
    I hope Perodua will badge the Vellfire! Sell it cheaper than recon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 28
    • Because you never study specs what are difference between Veloz and Alza. Veloz is more premium, space is a bit wider, come with ambient lighting and wireless connectivity and charging than Alza have

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
      • Civic Turbo 2018 on Oct 17, 2022 at 9:55 pm

Yaris G-spec. Toyota salesman detected

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 19
      • Where is my Starbucks Machiatto,guards? on Oct 17, 2022 at 10:01 pm

Wow,20 grand difference to get ambience.
        It is just like one dude who is willing to pay a premium to get his special Starbucks .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
        • Mike Tee on Oct 18, 2022 at 11:07 am

Or like EV owners saying they save 45% on fuel per km over a similar spec ICE.

Except over 100,000km they save RM7,500 in fuel *but* paid RM50,000 or even more for their car.

• hazzif on Oct 18, 2022 at 10:09 am

all those can be installed by shopee motorsport at much cheaper cost

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 14
        • kai chai on Oct 18, 2022 at 10:50 am

I rather spend to buy veloz that have everything as completely new rather than buying alza with buying those accessories from shopee but don’t know but questionable on long lasting

• M40 B40 mindset on Oct 17, 2022 at 5:15 pm

This is why u stay in Perodua bracket whereby everyone upgrading their lifestyle

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
      • NoArgumentHere on Oct 20, 2022 at 8:05 am

So upgrading lifestyle is something important ya? Need to buy better brand ya? So, let’s say that I can afford Veloz but there are a lot of features that I don’t require. Then I found out that Alza variant H tick most of the requirement I need and it’s almost 30% cheaper. I would say this is a no brainer and the rest is history.

• Retired grabber on Oct 17, 2022 at 3:28 pm

Rm20k gap man, alza h spec enough dy. And perodua got more service center branches.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
  • Chris on Oct 17, 2022 at 4:14 pm

Additional 20k for the badge?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 17
    • It is not only the badge, it is about specs and space

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
      • Civic Turbo 2018 on Oct 18, 2022 at 9:29 am

Alza’s 50K+ bookings
        vs Veloz’s 5K bookings
        Both from same P2 factory
        Both based on Daihatsu Xenia
        Malaysia consumers aint stupid
        The only reason why Veloz is introduced
        is to block the sales of Xpander & new.BRV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 23
        • Dah Menang Semua on Oct 18, 2022 at 1:52 pm

U’re wrong. In biz, U always try to sell more of the products with higher margin. If Veloz 95K pricing is accepted by Malaysians, selling even more than Alza, Toyota group will focus more on selling more expensive range. But if Alza that 20K cheaper doing much better than Veloz, Toyota group still gain as much with the astounding volume

• kai chai on Oct 18, 2022 at 10:52 am

Agree

• Risking my life in monsoon polls? No way. on Oct 17, 2022 at 10:06 pm

Aiyahyah..just paste the Toyota logo in front,spray the Velox color scheme,tint the mpv kaw kaw dark,who bothers to differentiate an Alza from Velox?
      We r not talking about Rolls Royce and Accord hefty and visible difference.

• kai chai on Oct 18, 2022 at 10:54 am

People will buy veloz but full spec that don’t need to buy accessories from shopee when buying alza

• Comparison fact on Oct 17, 2022 at 8:06 pm

20K for those extra specs still not worth it. 20K can do more than those specs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
  • Seribu on Oct 17, 2022 at 11:49 pm

Finally

• Mujiboor on Oct 18, 2022 at 9:13 am

Dont understand the logic. Both P2 and Toyota are under UMW. Same car but just 2 different badges. Why need to cannibal your own products?? P2 eat in Toyota market. Anyway M’sia now only good at selling rebadged cars and proudly claimed “national” car… look at P1 now.

• tekanTekanPreggy on Oct 18, 2022 at 11:59 am

drive this balik kampung, neighbour will say your alza mod very nice

• M.denis on Oct 18, 2022 at 5:03 pm

New model this Toyota Hiace super

• Plentong

• Ahmad on Oct 19, 2022 at 8:15 pm

My only complaint is why no turbo? MPV is suppose to be big and neec to carry more people. But engine only 1.5L cc. It need more power for better driving experience. At least Exora got turbo. But Exora is already outdated and have other issues. Why other new MPV model dont want to put turbo? If this veloz got turbo, sure hot selling, can tapau expander and new alza.