2022 Perodua Alza vs Toyota Veloz – RM20k separates the co-developed MPVs, but what are the differences?

By now, you’ve seen plenty of teasers of the Toyota Veloz, and we also showed you pics of the upcoming MPV uncovered on a transporter near Rawang, which is Perodua’s base. The Veloz is of course a sister car to the recently-launched Perodua Alza, and both are manufactured by Perodua in Sg Choh, north of the Klang Valley.

The Alza has been merged with the Toyota Avanza/Veloz (Veloz is a more upmarket Avanza) and Daihatsu Xenia. All four versions of the seven-seater MPV sit on the Daihatsu New Global Architecture (DNGA) platform, which means that the second-generation Alza moves away from being a JDM rebadge and the Avanza goes from rear-wheel drive to a more sophisticated front-wheel drive base.

In Malaysia, UMW Toyota Motor (UMWT) will only be offering the Veloz (no Avanza) and the positioning of the single-spec MPV will be higher than the Alza, with extra equipment over the already-generous kit list of the Alza, and with a corresponding higher price, of course. The estimated Veloz price is RM95,000 on-the-road without insurance. That’s RM20k more than the top Alza AV.

Front and rear – click to enlarge

So, what are the visual and equipment differences between the two? It’s a longer list than what’s immediately apparent – let’s go through the points based on what we’ve seen so far, what UMWT has revealed to date, and also the Veloz specs in Indonesia and Thailand.

The Veloz’s overall shape is similar to the Alza’s, and its rear end familiar, but the two have very different faces. While the Alza sports a wide, bowl-shaped grille and an ‘X’ theme, the Veloz features a downturned hexagonal grille. The grille inserts are also different – it’s ‘L’ for the Alza and ‘Y’ for the Veloz, which gets T-shaped chrome accents around the LED fog lamp surrounds.

Speaking of LEDs, the LED headlamps are different and the Toyota gets LED daytime running lights (LED DRLs for the Alza come with the optional GearUp bodykit). The Veloz headlamps are bridged by a chrome strip that tops the grille – these continue on the sides of the bonnet to reach the windowline, and the chrome outline terminates at the rear screen. The Alza AV’s chrome strip starts from the A pillars.

Side profile and stance – click to enlarge

Perhaps more prominent than the face is the stance of the two models. Perodua opted for a low-slung MPV with a car-like ground clearance of 160 mm (150 mm for X, old Alza was 155 mm). In contrast, the Malaysian-spec Veloz GC is 190 mm, which is 30 mm higher and more typical of a Low MPV class of vehicle (Honda BR-V, Hyundai Stargazer, Mitsu Xpander, etc). The stance difference is immediately apparent. Note that 190 mm is lower than the Indonesian-spec Veloz’s 205 mm. If you want to compare, the Perodua Aruz/Toyota Rush has a GC of 220 mm and the Mitsubishi Xpander‘s GC is 205 mm.

Which is better is down to preference. P2 touts easy entry/exit for children and the elderly (lower boot load lip is also an advantage), while Toyota says that you won’t need to “worry about damaging the undercarriage while going over rough terrain, speed bumps or pot holes” with their taller car. Which side are you on?

Before you answer, get a good look at both cars in the metal. The Veloz wears 17-inch two-tone multi-spoke alloys, which are an inch larger than the Alza AV’s blade-style two-tone items, which look just about right with the lowered body. The Veloz comes in five colours – white, silver, red Metallic, “Bluish Black” and the signature blue you see in the ads. A black roof for a two-tone look is exclusive to the Toyota. We also see what appears to be roof rails.

Black roof and roof rails are Veloz-only items

Lastly, the outer tail lamps are shared, but only the Veloz sports a red line all the way to the central emblem, and it also has the model name spelled out between the T logo and the number plate recess. The Alza’s retro-style wordmark is at the edge of the hatch. The bumpers and reflector surrounds are different, and the Veloz’s silver centre section has a more “SUV look” with indents mimicking skid plates.

Slightly chunkier bodywork at the bumpers and wheelarches means that the Veloz has a slightly bigger footprint (4,475 mm long, +50 mm over Alza; 1,750 mm wide, +20 mm over Alza), although you most likely won’t notice this, just the height difference.

Inside, the main dashboard moulding is shared, but the Veloz gets its own central air con vent design. Above that is a 9.0-inch touchscreen infotainment system that’s different from the Alza’s, even if the 9.0″ size is similar. Toyota’s HU supports wireless Apple CarPlay and Android Auto, while the Alza tops out at wired Android Auto on the top AV.

Dashboard and trim – click to enlarge

While the digital meter panel and steering wheel are shared, each brand uses its own single-zone digital AC control panel. You’ll see that the Toyota’s panel has two round knobs and an automatic function – the Alza’s panel, which is from the Ativa, has no auto climate control, but there are two memory positions. The Veloz also adds on a Qi wireless phone charger behind the gear lever.

The Alza AV has a rather unique two-tone dash with dark red as the contrast colour – this is light grey in the Veloz. The Toyota’s door cards are also different – note the chunky door pulls like what we see in the Ativa/Rocky/Raize; this is not present in the Alza. The Veloz also appears to have blue ambient lighting on the doors and centre stack.

Also – and this can be a significant item for some – the Veloz is set to come with telescopic adjustment for its steering. The Alza’s wheel only adjusts for tilt. Expect the Toyota to have a keyless entry sensor on the passenger door handle. Perodua typically omits this – it’s touch once on the driver’s side to unlock it, touch twice to unlock all doors.

Door cards and air con control panel – click to enlarge

There should be some trim differences as well. We see that the leather seats on the Veloz have a different quilted pattern, and the chairs don’t have the red bits from the Alza AV, obviously. The top Alza’s seats are part-leather with some fabric sections – the Veloz’s chairs are fully covered in leather. There could also be additional soft-touch padding too – we’ll see.

That’s all we have for now based on what has been revealed. Suspension aside, both DNGA-based sisters are similar under the skin, sharing the same Perodua-made 1.5L Dual VVT-i engine and D-CVT gearbox with manual mode. In the Alza, the Euro 4 2NR-VE makes 105 hp and 138 Nm of torque at 4,200 rpm, which is 3 hp and 1 Nm more than in the Myvi (102 hp/137 Nm). Auto start-stop is standard.

The Alza has selectable Drive Modes where the driver can choose between Normal, Eco and Power modes via a ‘DRIVE’ steering button on the right spoke. This should also be on the Veloz. P2 claims fuel consumption of 22 km/l in what it calls the Malaysian Driving Cycle, which supposedly reflects local conditions. It’s 18.9 km/l in the more familiar NEDC. Expect slightly higher FC on the heavier Veloz, which also rolls on bigger wheels.

Veloz features and price list – click to enlarge

Safety-wise, the Alza comes with Perodua’s Advanced Safety Assist (ASA) 3.0, which includes Pre-collision Warning (PCW, vehicle 4-120 km/h, pedestrian 4-60 km/h), Pre-collision Braking (PCB or AEB, vehicle 4-120 km/h, pedestrian 4-60 km/h), Front Departure Alert and Pedal Misoperation Control.

There’s also Lane Departure Warning and Prevention, Lane Keep Control and Adaptive Cruise Control. ACC now comes with what P2 calls a “Stop, Hold/Follow function”, commonly known as low speed follow or traffic jam assist. The Veloz should be getting the same safety package and six airbags, branded as Toyota Safety Sense.

Compared to the other pair of Perodua-Toyota seven-seater twins – the Aruz and Rush – the differentiation here is greater in terms of equipment and body panels, inside and out. For those who have half a mind on converting the Alza into “a Toyota”, it will be much harder than the Ativa-Raize bumper job, although I don’t see much incentive given that there’s nothing JDM about this Toyota.

So, all the above plus the Toyota brand for around RM20k more over the RM75,500 Alza – what’s your take? Also, brand aside, which of the two looks do you prefer?

GALLERY: Toyota Veloz, Malaysia-spec

GALLERY: 2022 Perodua Alza AV

Learn more: ,

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• jangss on Aug 01, 2022 at 6:42 pm

veloz for me. noneed share service center with biforti

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 22
    • Avenger on Aug 01, 2022 at 11:18 pm

Waiting to see P2 vs Toyota fanbois Civil War Endgame here too

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • pengguna ploton kecewa on Aug 02, 2022 at 10:11 am

no need to gado2. both got free nescafe and bihun goreng. you dont like just watch tv

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 13
      • But latter one got milo, nasi lemak, cendol while earlier don’t have

• Sohai on Aug 02, 2022 at 2:32 pm

The biggest difference, is the impression that you give to the people around you.
      Is not even the spec. P2 could incorporate a microwave and Astro inside the car for all you care, but it will not give the same impression as a Toyota.
      Is the same thing like Lexus vs Toyota. Could be the same platform and enjin and even some of the switchgears are shared.
      People’s impression about you not important? Then go and buy your P2. The reality is also 80% will get the Alza. That just adds to the appeal of Veloz for its buyers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
      • Arus guy on Aug 03, 2022 at 8:06 pm

That’s typical people would think when P2 and Toyota are offering twins in the market. Getting T brand is better. However that’s not right as sense beats showing off mentality. The only reason people buy T twins was not to wait…. then regretted

• Sohai on Aug 06, 2022 at 8:16 pm

Not to wait is defnitely one of the reasons… but is not a 20k reason.
          The brand value takes a big chunk of that 20k.

• Proton Exora – 155mm
    Perodua Elsa Cross – 160mm
    Serena – 160mm
    Corolla Cross – 161mm
    Veloz Cross MY – 195mm
    Asean Avanza/Xenia/Veloz – 205mm
    Aruz/Rush – 220mm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • The biggest difference is others’ reaction.

When you take out Toyota key fob, friends say “wa, toyota leh.”

When you take out Perodua key fob, friends say “cheh, perodua saja. Axia ke?”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 9
    • RM20k can go Mecca, Paris, Nippon, syiok syiok satisfaction.

No need low class mentality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
      • God please help this guy on Aug 02, 2022 at 11:07 am

Oh, so those buy Toyota Veloz is low class mentality ?

And please show us those who bought Alza go Paris, thanks in advance

Guess you are the only low class mentality here, peace yo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 11
        • Buy veloz, not low class mentality.

But to push yourself for Veloz, meaningless.

At the end, it’s just a New King’s shirt.
          Better pergi Mekah dulu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
          • Kapchai on Aug 03, 2022 at 1:55 pm

RM2500 salary buy Proton X70 loan also can approve,

what’s so special about the status?

T20 no status one, bayar tax lebih.

T01 can get proper status with thier RM500,000 car, nobody match.

• Celup King on Aug 02, 2022 at 11:29 am

When you go back for CNY, with Toyota Veloz you can park in front of house and put your nose so hai.
        But if you go back CNY with Perodua Alza, you malu for parents to see it so you park far far away.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 13
        • If drive BR-V, have to park far far away….
          Outdated already..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
          • Celup King on Aug 02, 2022 at 12:59 pm

BRV still have Jepunis badge, Alz only has jaguh kampung badge. Memalukan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 20
        • Semi Value on Aug 02, 2022 at 1:13 pm

Bodo Celup King
          When u reach kampong for CNY,the repossesor waiting at your datuk/nenek hse,for your”premium” Veloz,for multiple missed instalments.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 13
          • Sick & Tired on Aug 02, 2022 at 6:08 pm

Reality check. Without P2 we coulda bought TOYOTA Veloz car at PERODUA Alza prices. For us to get better cars, P2 must DIE!

• Vios owner on Aug 03, 2022 at 8:10 pm

U balik kampung, your datuk/nenek mother /father don’t care u drive what or wear what as long as u still balik kampung

• I just express what may really happen. No need to bad mouth about any side. What you said reflect who you are.

• Up to you... on Aug 03, 2022 at 4:22 pm

Memang semua bnda beli nk kne menunjuk ke syaiton? No toyota cannot FYP?

• Automotive Competition on Aug 01, 2022 at 8:07 pm

Ideally UMW Toyota would not so dumb to provide same SPEC (Engine HP/Torque, safety features,. Etc) to Alza, that will affect the Veloz sales and close shop/ retire this car segment.

Otherwise nobody will buy Veloz and all ppls will opt for Alza, Ativa or others.. PT WriterS, please think logically, practically and always be WISDOM to publish or ask opinions . Alright. Terima kasih

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 14
    • JasonX on Aug 02, 2022 at 12:42 am

theres more difference between Veloz and Alza than there is between the Rush and the Aruz. Yet there are people buying Rush.

just consider the Veloz as an even higher spec than Alza AV… whats more, who are the competition for 7 seater 100k cars?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • Sick & Tired on Aug 02, 2022 at 6:09 pm

Then what about Alza-Rush siblings?

• Maverick (GEG) KJ on Aug 01, 2022 at 8:22 pm

95-62..equals 33 grand difference between top specs Veloz and base Alza.
    Probably,u might get a faster Veloz than Alza.
    Some people will say,I prolong the HP tenure to get a fast,better feature MPV.
    Well ,u r adding more personal debts.
    It all depends on what u can afford and patience to wait.
    But remember,banks have no mercy once u default badly.
    Just do due diligence. Back off, if u can continue with your current car without expanding your “debt” portfolio.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 12
    • Moonwalker on Aug 02, 2022 at 10:03 am

Don’t la, just let them buy and managed their own debts. It’s up to them. Our economy need them.

• Nancy Pelosi (Trip to Taiwan) on Aug 02, 2022 at 1:09 pm

U r dead wrong.If your loved one is working in a company that can kaput next year or two,would u let them buy and “manage” the debt?
        Mind u,the top spec Veloz with interest is the 100k bankruptcy threshold.
        Today many young dudes are on the verge of getting sued for bankruptcy,cos their debt portfoilio is beyond redemption.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
        • Sick & Tired on Aug 02, 2022 at 6:11 pm

This is the same dude that was telling everyone to BUY! BUY! BUY! P2 Alza… now he pusing cerita in other tereds. No shame wan.

• Nancy Pelosi (Trip to Taiwan) on Aug 02, 2022 at 8:58 pm

Hello Sick Dude
            I m Perodua top SA.
            My message is : Buy if u CAN afford and have a plan B if recession hits.
            Back off,if u have none of the above criteria.
            What to be ashamed showing both sides of the coin to P2 fanboys?

• Troll Hunter on Aug 03, 2022 at 3:57 pm

Shameless P2 salesman, go shit yourself somewhere else where your manure will be lapped up by likeminded zombiac fanboys. Your petty troll wars against Proton, toyota, Honda, Malaysia in general, to hardsell your shits is not welcomed here.

• Faris on Aug 01, 2022 at 8:52 pm

“…the Avanza goes from rear-wheel drive to a more sophisticated front-wheel drive base.”

Really? Like… seriously? Who on Earth would think FWD is better than RWD? It never will be and it will always stay that way, fact!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 14
    • dellen on Aug 02, 2022 at 6:07 am

really huh?

you would take a RWD single cab toyota hilux pickup that transport sayur in cameron highland

over a FWD golf gti?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
      • ROTI CANAI on Aug 02, 2022 at 11:57 pm

the latest golf gti is horrible to live with. super impractical interior.

• Both Perodua and Toyota excel in durability, so no complain. Lower body means better handling/ cornering for Alza. Higher body means suitable for moon surface driving challenge in Sabah/ rural thailand or Indonesia. But I believe Alza parts/accessories should be much much cheaper compared to Veloz.

For difference of only 20K, it seems both only got separated by branding power.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
  • Both indeed look out dated & bulky & weird even though function wise is good.. sorry to say is ugly when I see it on the road

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 24
    • BRV looks way outdated and looks more uglier than Alza and Veloz. BRV interior looks very basic and gearbox reminds of City GM2 and not even as premium as Veloz and Alza

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • Mr Mar on Aug 02, 2022 at 8:36 am

Can both panjat naik genting ??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
    • Haters gonna hate on Aug 02, 2022 at 10:08 am

You must be a foreigner that most of the cars can go up Genting, is not a sloppy mountain that cars can’t go up

• Bukan genting je. Dinding kubur 90° pun blh. So go buy.

• Ben Yap on Aug 02, 2022 at 9:39 am

those ricer will still put a toyota veloz on their alza. it’s not about the jdm. it’s about the dream to own a japanese car.

• John Gagal on Aug 02, 2022 at 9:47 am

Hardly see X70 logo replaced with original logo Geely. Malu aperr.

• Celup King on Aug 02, 2022 at 11:39 am

Well Proton owners have no issues with low self esteem unlike Perodua owners…. and Toyota owners that upbadge to Lexus vomit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
      • Durian on Aug 02, 2022 at 12:34 pm

If got geely logo, cny need to park far far away,
        Ppl don’t want drive china car.

Proton Malaysia made bangga kita

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
        • Celup King on Aug 02, 2022 at 1:06 pm

Whether P1 or Geely badge, parents tak kesah as they know their son bought a valued for money car.
          However P2 & Toyota owner parents are ashamed their children bought overpriced and underspec cars with CRT TV fit for their old style home.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
  • Buy Toyota, service at Perodua.

• GagakHitam87 on Aug 02, 2022 at 1:22 pm

All of you act like you know everything aa. Perodua vs Toyota blablabla shit. You guys no nothing about business strategy stupid. Semua 2×5, 5 kali babi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
  • Mr. Sotong on Aug 02, 2022 at 2:42 pm

Do not forget to factor in Perodua hp interest rates that are higher than market rate if you are planning to take loan.

• tradaNippon on Aug 02, 2022 at 3:16 pm

Meh, 20k savings makes a lot of sense to most people. It’s not like buying the more expensive one can improve your safety even more. Like Dom said, “It doesn’t matter what’s under the hood. The only thing that matters, who’s behind the wheel..”. Of course, safety features does help but relying so much on it will most probably make you become a lesser driver.

• tradaNippon on Aug 02, 2022 at 3:24 pm

P/S: take that 20k and retrofit whatever Veloz has that Alza don’t have.. then enjoy not having that 20k included in 108 months loan.. probably still have extra money afterwards.

• Niama on Aug 02, 2022 at 7:34 pm

If you dont want the 20k to be included in your veloz loan, just dont borrow so much and pay a bigger deposit lah?
      The most stupid is pour huge money on accessary for P2. Is still a P2 in the end, and Is worth nothing when you sell your car, and if your car amount doesnt cover, you are likely not covered in insurance. Accident abit need to change back to ori bumper.

• tradaNippon on Aug 03, 2022 at 6:09 am

You can’t seriously assume that people who opt for 9 years loan can afford big deposit. And the extra 20k is just a methaporic, doesn’t really mean they have it on hand. Also, you’re taking my comment out of context here, I’m not suggesting to CHANGE the car like what some people do to their P2 but simply to ADD the accessories . If it were me, I’ll only add a little and definitely will not change the bumpers, Alza’s look better to me.

• matt farrel on Aug 02, 2022 at 8:02 pm

the veloz in malaysia comes with full leather? mine’s only get half leather seats

• Ibnu bakrin on Aug 02, 2022 at 10:22 pm

Alhamdulillah, thanks Toyota for giving P2 produce a same 7-seaters which is more safer than previous model.
    For me, this is the cheapest 7-seaters I can buy and almost needed to bring my family go back hometown and makan angin.
    I don’t care what people said, as long as I buy using my Halal income.

• Toyota vs unknown SEA brand. Figure it out.

• Arus guy on Aug 03, 2022 at 8:06 pm

That’s typical people would think when P2 and Toyota are offering twins in the market. Getting T brand is better. However that’s not right as sense beats showing off mentality. The only reason people buy T twins was not to wait…. then regretted

• Wenila on Aug 04, 2022 at 11:41 am

Veloz …If alza got issue u spend more then 20k oso..

• Khairil on Sep 08, 2022 at 6:59 pm

Alza 4 speeds, veloz 7 speed? That’s not stated in the comparison why?