FIRST DRIVE: 2021 Mitsubishi Xpander review, RM91k

The launch of the Mitsubishi Xpander once again revitalised the sub-RM100k seven-seater people carrier segment. Just one variant of the locally-assembled crossover is offered, and it’s priced at RM91,369. That puts it slightly below the range-topping Honda BR-V (RM93,420) and the Toyota Rush (RM91,885) even with sales tax exemption. Mitsubishi’s standard five-year unlimited mileage warranty applies.

Behind the bold Dynamic Shield face is a 1.5 litre naturally-aspirated engine with 105 PS and 141 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm. The 4A91 MIVEC unit sends drive to the front axle via a four-speed automatic gearbox.

Key features include bi-LED reflector headlights with LED positioning lights, bulb-type DRLs (at the bottom, right at the edges of the “skid plate”), LED combination tail lights, 16-inch two-tone alloys, a shark fin antenna, plus keyless entry with push-start button.

Inside, you’ll find a black interior with quilted leather seats, a 9.0-inch touchscreen head unit with Apple CarPlay and Android Auto compatibility, a 360-degree camera system and a dashcam, a 4.2-inch colour multi-info display, six speakers and four roof-mounted rear air vents.

Safety-wise, there’s two airbags, ABS/EBD, stability control, hill start assist and Isofix child seat anchors. The one thing that MMM couldn’t do was to add to the airbag count, as this affordable people carrier was engineered mainly for the Indonesian market, and there was no strong demand for more than two airbags.

GALLERY: 2020 Mitsubishi Xpander Media Drive

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Jonn Dol on Jan 08, 2021 at 6:30 pm

RM91k better buy 2015 Toyota Vellfire 2.5ZG,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 57
    • Sorry, how can you compare between this vs old vellfire

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
      • nanashisan on Jan 11, 2021 at 1:33 pm

he is saying that the xpander is on par with old 2015 vellfire on everything except for pricing.
        *sarcasm*

• Robinhood on Jan 11, 2021 at 9:59 pm

Are you serious, RM91k can get Vellfire 2015????

• Michael on Apr 28, 2022 at 12:24 pm

Vellfire is not as good as Xpander because it is 2.5 litre. High fuel consumption and high road tax. ALso, used car may have been abused and has quality issues with rattling sound inside the cabin. New car will be much quieter with less or zero rattling sound.

• Honda brv on Jan 08, 2021 at 8:26 pm

Too bad this car only has 2 airbags. Our safety is not their top priority.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 12
    • Chow Wei Zhen on Jan 09, 2021 at 1:46 pm

Although this comes 2 airbags, you can’t blame Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia, it is Mitsubishi Indonesia that produced Xpander. But in here, at least it comes with DashCam with Lane Departire Warning, 360 degree camera system, Emergency Stop Signal and basic safety features like HSC, VSC, ABS and others.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
      • Copy Paste on Jan 11, 2021 at 1:05 pm

Copy paste: “MMM should have intro Eclipse with 6 airbags rather than unsafe 2 airbags Xpander. If you ask me, rather than the variants itself the Xpander model should not be sold or even recommended to be bought at all if safety was a priority.”

• “couldn’t do was to add to the airbag count, as this affordable people carrier was engineered mainly for the Indonesian market, and there was no strong demand for more than two airbags”
    That’s kinda like defending the indefensible after those flamebait articles on other brands offerings that should not be bought. Ironically one of those cars had double the airbag count on this ride so kinda …. biased?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
    • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Jan 09, 2021 at 12:40 pm

To me, there’s a big difference between cars with airbags taken out (4 when it was designed to have 6) and those that are strictly designed to only have 2 (no option to have more). Here, MMM didn’t have a choice, whereas the cars you referred to, the brands actively decided to offer fewer airbags than what is available.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
      • Safety First on Jan 09, 2021 at 2:13 pm

MMM should have intro Eclipse with 6 airbags rather than unsafe 2 airbags Xpander. If you ask me, rather than the variants itself the Xpander model should not be sold or even recommended to be bought at all if safety was a priority.

• So let me get this straight, introducing an originally safer car with omission of some safety features is unjustifiable, but selling an originally inadequately safe car is justifiable? Err….

• Copy Paste on Jan 09, 2021 at 10:21 pm

Copy paste: “This is a rubbish 4th world car. 2 airbags ?? First gen Toyota vios also got 2 airbags, 15 years later Mitsubishi decides 2 airbags is the norm. Don’t sell Indonesian designed cars here. They barely travel above 80kmh whilst Malaysia 80kmh+++ is almost our average speed”

• Fawwaz on Jan 10, 2021 at 1:34 am

Family cars should not be designed with only 2 frontal airbags. And Malaysians should stop buying such cars. But unfortunately, MMM judged correctly with regards to market demand.

• driver5 on Jan 10, 2021 at 7:30 am

U have a point. But, we can’t deny the fact that they design it to be only with 2 airbags to begin with. Why make such decision?

It’s first previewed in Gaikindo in 2016, relatively recent. It’s not like it was designed back in 2000. To me, Mitsubishi is being irresponsible here in this region and practice double standard: are our lives that cheap?

I’d cancelled my booking, and wait for other alternatives. Sigh. It’s very close call as the Xpander ticks all the boxes except for Safety.

• M & B on Jan 08, 2021 at 10:06 pm

Nice

• X70 or Xpander on Jan 08, 2021 at 10:39 pm

Go for sushi will never be wront

• Enough grunt? Try driving with 7 Hafrizes on board then come again with that assessment.

• Ben Yap on Jan 09, 2021 at 12:19 am

i will still choose the brv for its performance. it’s costlier to add in performance bits to get that extra 15hp in the xpander vs adding some sound proofing in the BRV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
    • alldisc on Jan 09, 2021 at 3:42 pm

And that Mitsubishi 4A91 MIVEC powertrain too noisy & rough,

• Ugh who passed on the design? Looks like a short fat kid … big body short legs. Also not good on the airbags and safety features.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
  • wanfumi on Jan 09, 2021 at 8:18 am

Im waiting Nissan Livina to come here. This Xpander is too sporty for me and prefer more classy look of Livina. Guys, any news of the new Livina?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
    • Not coming to malaysia soon. Xpander n new livina have the same chasis n body design.

• John Doe on Jan 09, 2021 at 10:22 am

This is a rubbish 4th world car. 2 airbags ?? First gen Toyota vios also got 2 airbags, 15 years later Mitsubishi decides 2 airbags is the norm. Don’t sell Indonesian designed cars here. They barely travel above 80kmh whilst Malaysia 80kmh+++ is almost our average speed

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 19
  • Sam Loo (ori) on Jan 09, 2021 at 11:21 am

Good rv tho

• Chow Wei Zhen on Jan 09, 2021 at 12:29 pm

Beauty design

• Asia man on Jan 09, 2021 at 12:36 pm

2 airbags bcos asian men are kebal

• Good

• Jia Ren on Jan 09, 2021 at 2:11 pm

Bring it on

• I gave it a chance to test drive it. I wish I could save money to buy a cheaper car. I bought Subaru XV GT at the end.

During test drove, the salesman keep emphasized on the handling. It is driven like the first gen Avanza that I still keep until now for its practicality. The interior look so cheap. To be honest, I do not expect the interior to look luxury but it definitely can be better.

As a budget SUV with 7 seater, we can not expect more. If it can be cheaper, of course, it will be more competitive against popular Honda and Toyota, also Perodua Aruz.

• The Rock on Jan 09, 2021 at 3:52 pm

Let’s Rock

• powerbank on Jan 09, 2021 at 4:03 pm

Mitsubishi all the way

• Life aint cheap on Jan 09, 2021 at 6:07 pm

This car is for the third world country. So expect lesser safety gadgets as they seem fit for 3rd world life. Go and Get first world cars like all Mazda, all Honda, all Nissan. Well even Proton X50 is not bad too.

• but we are a 3rd world country, you can’t blame MMM for offering it to us, if not it’s the people here who think they are already first and feel entitled to get more.

• Well we are a 3rd world country so you can’t blame MMM for selling it in our market, if anything it’s people here who think they are already 1st world and feel entitled to be given more.

• Venza on Jan 10, 2021 at 12:17 am

Impressive

• Silthice on Jan 10, 2021 at 1:45 am

As a 7-seaters vehicle below RM100k I wonder why the Exora is not mentioned. Not even once… Is it because of the offering quite similar but price almost two ✌️ third from the expander?

• Exora … same shell can sell for 20 years one …

• donno on Jan 11, 2021 at 10:20 am

The default choice in this 7 seater faux SUV segment is really the Aruz, as it is all the toyota rush is and more just without the toyota badge and price. Exora is an MPV.

But this xpander is really a queer, not really an MPV but not quite a SUV.

• Copy Paste on Jan 11, 2021 at 3:51 pm

Copy paste: “Sorry but the Aruz rides like a horse carriage. 6 airbag yes but you’ll be sick riding in it. All the seats are tiny, it’s meant for people with 150 cm of height. Pegal lah.”

• Single variant with full listed specs. Very nice

• Mark X on Jan 10, 2021 at 4:16 pm

Am looking for a 6 seater with sliding doors below 120k. Any recommendation?

• 4G63T DSM on Jan 10, 2021 at 7:00 pm

With only 2 airbags, it would be shunned by safety conscious buyers.

It would have been better for MMC to offer this as a Light commercial vehicle instead, with higher rated rear end. With low taxes for commercial vehicles it may prove popular, given how current light commercial vehicles like the NV and Grandmax are a bit too van like.

Good luck for MMC to pit this against the much better equipped and cheaper Aruz.

As an aside, why doesn’t anyone make commercial variants of thier wagons and MPVs, even hatchbacks? You see them all the time in Europe.

• Darto on Jan 11, 2021 at 3:04 pm

Sorry but the Aruz rides like a horse carriage. 6 airbag yes but you’ll be sick riding in it. All the seats are tiny, it’s meant for people with 150 cm of height. Pegal lah.

• I am using aruz and I am loving it … It is my big boy ☺️