2022 Toyota Veloz spotted leaving Perodua’s Rawang plant – 7-seat MPV to be launched in Malaysia soon?

UMW Toyota Motor (UMWT) has already revealed quite a lot of the upcoming Toyota Veloz, but the seven-seat MPV has yet to officially go on sale in Malaysia. It appears a launch may happen soon, as several units of the model have been sighted on a trailer, presumably heading to dealerships.

These photos were taken by our own Danny Tan, who spotted the ladened trailer on the North-South Expressway near the Bandar Sungai Buaya-Rawang interchange. That location is close to Perodua’s Rawang production site, which is where the DNGA-based Alza is produced.

The Veloz is also a DNGA product and is assembled locally (CKD), almost certainly under contract by Perodua. However, the Toyota MPV is positioned as a more upmarket offering, one that will be offered in a sole 1.5 AT variant with an estimated price of RM95,000 on-the-road without insurance, inclusive of sales tax.

Looking at the cars on the trailer, we can see two of the five exterior finishes that are available for the Veloz, namely White and a two-tone Silver Metallic with a black roof. Other options include Red Metallic, Metallic Bluish Black (still a cute name) as well as Blue Metallic with a black roof.

Despite sharing the same platform with the Alza, the Veloz looks noticeably different thanks to its large hexagonal-shaped grille (with a Y-patterned mesh) that is flanked by T-shaped chrome accents around the LED fog lamp surrounds. The angular headlamps with sequential indicators are also bridged by a long chrome strip that runs all the way under the clamshell bonnet.

At the rear, the Veloz’s taillight are joined by trim piece bearing a red stripe bridging the clusters. There’s also a model script just above the number recess, while the corner surrounds for the reflectors are smaller than those on the Alza. The wheels also appear to 17-inch units like those fitted to the higher-end variants of the Veloz in Indonesia and Thailand (the Alza’s largest wheels measure 16 inches).

In those neighbouring markets, the Veloz has a ground clearance of 205 mm, which is more than the Alza’s 160 mm (150 mm for the base X variant). As a result, the Veloz’s overall height is 1,700 mm – referring to specifications of those markets – compared to the Alza that is 1,670 mm.

The different bumpers also make the Toyota MPV slightly longer at 4,475 mm (+50 mm compared to the Alza), while the slightly producing wheel arches (the Alza’s are recessed) equates to a width of 1,750 mm (+20 mm). The wheelbase of both models is identical at 2,750 mm.

The estimated pricing of the Veloz also puts it in competition with a popular seven-seater, the Mitsubishi Xpander, which also comes in one variant and has the same length, width and ground clearance as the Veloz, although the Mitsubishi is a tad bit taller (1,730 mm) and sports a longer wheelbase of 2,775 mm.

Inside, you’ll find a dashboard layout similar to the Alza, although the Veloz has a different air vent design to accommodate its standard nine-inch Display Audio infotainment system. The latter has a wider aspect ratio touchscreen and supports wireless Apple CarPlay and Android Auto connectivity – the Alza can only do wired AA on the top-spec AV.

Elsewhere, the single-zone automatic air-conditioning controls are model-specific with circular dials, as compared to the button-only controls found in the Alza – the Perodua gets memory functions too. There’s also light grey trim on the dashboard and door panels, while the centre console area has two open storage areas ahead and aft of the gear lever, with one being large enough for an integrated Qi wireless phone charger.

Safety-wise, the Veloz gets the Toyota Safety Sense suite of driver assists as standard, with standard features that we know so far being Pre-Collision System (PCS), otherwise known as autonomous emergency braking, and Adaptive Cruise Control. Expect a more comprehensive suite of systems, given the higher asking price relative to the top-spec Alza AV (RM75,500).

Full details and pricing of the Veloz will be revealed when the model is launched, which should happen soon given this sighting. Given the visual differences and equipment advantages you get with the Veloz, will you consider it over its Perodua sibling?

GALLERY: 2022 Toyota Veloz (Indonesia market)

GALLERY: 2022 Toyota Veloz (Thailand market)

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Piano on Jul 29, 2022 at 6:12 pm

Nice

• I miss Metramac on Jul 29, 2022 at 6:58 pm

What’s interesting inside:
    1. Automatic aircond controls
    2. Toyota Safety Sense including Pre Collision System (PCS)
    3. Wireless Charging
    4. Wireless Apple CarPlay and AndroidAuto
    5. Rear Disc Brake
    6. Bigger Rims
    7. Adaptive Cruise Control

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • I would rather go for Alza, although veloz is more handsome than Alza but in terms of features not much different but price wise 20K higher not worth it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 18
      • Not much different?
        Veloz gets wireless gadgets and can enjoy more inside than Alza

• Niama on Jul 30, 2022 at 8:09 pm

Veloz will also fetch higher second value when you eventually sell it. So is not 20k more, part of it is like a deposit that you will take back eventually. Unless you plan to use it for 15 years till write off. But if you plan to use a car for that long, is perhaps justified for having veloz as well with the toyota after sales.

• Lolwhut? on Aug 01, 2022 at 10:45 am

Farnie seeing P2 fanboys civil war with Toyota fanboys wei. Meanwhile P1 silently become sales king.

• Sohai on Jul 30, 2022 at 12:27 pm

8. Infortament screen for the rear
      9. DRL
      10.internal ambient lighting
      11. Roof rack
      12. Nicer lighting cluster at the rear.

But one thing that is of high value is the tinting that Alza AV includes. If veloz also comes with tinting for the rm20k difference, then is very good value.
      Also, i heard the tires for veloz could be Bridgestone Turanza as well. If thats true, it means sincerity from toyota.

• Outalingam Crap on Jul 30, 2022 at 2:45 pm

Ahh ….2nd & 3rd row infotainment screen – a confirmed YES?

• Sohai on Jul 29, 2022 at 8:24 pm

Quite unhappy about P2 giving so little SST rebate. Feel their arogant and taking cusyomer for granted.
    Might just shift to this Veloz if the waiting list is short. I think there is enough difference to justify the rm20k difference. A better service fpr the coming years is already appealing enough

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 6
    • Anti Sheraton Grasshopper on Jul 29, 2022 at 9:39 pm

Sorlou
      Pls buy if u got extra cash and need a short waiting period.
      It all depends on your cash flow.But whoever gets the sale,PNB is the ultimate beneficiary.

• Cipai on Jul 30, 2022 at 12:16 pm

You dont buy just because you have extra cash to burn. There must be reason to folk out that extra. The product and aftersale and brand image need to deliver that extra value.
        And in this case i think, it delivers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
        • Copy Paste on Jul 30, 2022 at 12:50 pm

Apa kau merepek? Of course,ada extra baru orang beli,dude.Bodo

• Hoping the plastic grade is higher than the ones in Alza. The interior colour scheme is much more matured and less tacky. And gone are the ugly air conditioner control. The car also looks better with the 17 inch rim. I also think that 20K might be justified.

• Terry on Jul 30, 2022 at 12:09 am

well, for this extra RM20k from Alza, I hope the build quality is good enough. for alza build quality is not good as myvi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
    • Dogbert on Jul 30, 2022 at 11:08 pm

Tested the Alza yesterday. Pretty surprised the build seems far less robust than the Ativa. Closing the boot, my Axia also feels more solid

• Other than bigger tyres on Jul 31, 2022 at 3:05 am

Maybe others parts like cooling coil piping compressor etc etc are of better qualities

• In flesh, these veloz and alza is a minicule MPV. Ativa dismal sales due to the size, it just like a jack up Myvi in real pife. That’s why they need to rebadged the Hyryder. The size.

• Autodriver on Jul 31, 2022 at 10:15 am

20k is justified? Alza and Veloz are both produced in Rawang plant and you expect different in quality? Veloz sales will likely below 1/10 of Alza and I doubt Veloz has 3k units book till today. It is not justifiable to make different plastic material in Veloz since no volume the cost of production is much higher compare to Alza. 20k for wireless charging, wireless Apple Carplay, ambient light, 17inch wheel, different aircond control (I prefer Alza one btw), DRL and some others which are all accessories only.

• Maverick Rafizi on Jul 31, 2022 at 7:21 pm

Auto Driver
      U r damn correct.U take 10-15K..to any top carspa… damn sure u get solid upgrade of whatever accessories u desire.
      It will be like Aruz vs Rush situation.
      Many Rush buyers r regretting for spending 20-30K extra,just because of the nama “TOYOTA.
      It is not like TOYOTA Vs Lexus,where the Lexus gives superior specs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
      • It won’t be like Rush-Aruz situation. Veloz are totally different from Alza, though from same factory

• tradaNippon on Aug 04, 2022 at 8:02 am

“Veloz are totally different from Alza”? I like to see you do a full comparison on how it’s totally different. Don’t just compare accessories ya, compare everything from the frame, drivetrain, engine, gearbox, airbags, etc etc. If you’re saying they’re both totally different because one has Apple Carplay or wireless charging, that comparison is invalid.

• Rush and Aruz are the same, they buy Aruz. But between Veloz and Alza, will not be as similar as Rush-Aruz, Veloz are totally more different than Alza though assembled in the same factory from Perodua

• Sohai ori on Aug 01, 2022 at 2:46 pm

The aircon control is not just different in switch layout, is different in tech as well. Veloz uses an automatic climate control unit, where as Alza is just a digital control thermostat. Is all in the details.
      And if both cars has the very same spec selling for the same price, would you pick a Toyota or Perodua? Toyota right? So that proves a point that the brand has a value. How much each will pay for it is individual preference.