Toyota Veloz bookings at 5,200 units, debut ‘very soon’

UMW Toyota Motor (UMWT) says that it has collected 5,200 bookings for the Toyota Veloz, which will “debut very soon”. Order books for the seven-seater MPV opened on June 24.

“The introduction of the Toyota Veloz will be a significant moment for us and we are confident it will be popular among Malaysians with its value for money premium offerings, advanced features and of course, the renowned Toyota quality and reliability,” said UMWT president Ravindran K.

“We are working very hard to provide the right packages for our customers. It is our way of going the ‘Extra Mile’ by giving high priority and attention to our customers’ needs through our sales and after-sales offerings,” he added.

The Veloz is of course a sister car to the new Perodua Alza, which has chalked up 51,000 bookings and 7,682 registrations as of end-August. Both are manufactured by Perodua in Sg Choh, north of the Klang Valley. Like the Alza, the new Avanza/Veloz (Veloz is a more upmarket Avanza) sits on the Daihatsu New Global Architecture (DNGA), which means that the it moves from rear-wheel drive to a more sophisticated front-wheel drive base.

In Malaysia, UMWT will only be offering the Veloz (no Avanza) and the positioning of the single-spec 1.5L MPV will be higher than the similarly-engined Alza, with extra equipment over the already-generous kit list of the Perodua, and with a corresponding higher price, of course. The estimated Veloz price is RM95,000 on-the-road without insurance, which is around RM20k more than the top Alza AV.

What are the differences between Alza and Veloz? More than meets the eye, as detailed in this post.

GALLERY: Toyota Veloz, Malaysia-spec

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Piano on Sep 08, 2022 at 6:26 pm

Yes, this is also nicer

• Lets See on Sep 09, 2022 at 10:17 am

Toyota: “Hey guys, we’ve got lots of crappy P2 Alza shitting around, err I mean sitting around, what shall we do with it?

I know…”

• I miss Metramac on Sep 08, 2022 at 6:51 pm

D-CVT also smooth and come extra features over Alza

• Seribu on Sep 08, 2022 at 7:01 pm

Top spec but better quality

• Sianghin on Sep 08, 2022 at 7:22 pm

Gonna trade my City RS into this

• CalCheese on Sep 08, 2022 at 8:23 pm

(Like) Veloz
    (Dislike) HRV & BRV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
  • Seaweed on Sep 08, 2022 at 9:01 pm

– Wireless connectivity
    – Automatic climate control

• Should be Debut way way overdue

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 17
  • Laugh Die Me on Sep 08, 2022 at 9:37 pm

A premium Alza by accessories? LOL
    Pay extra 25K to get before CNY
    oOps all by Perodua factory

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 25
    • Vito Aditya on Sep 08, 2022 at 10:05 pm

At least Veloz still has some originality within it. The Alza is just a localized Xenia and you can’t deny that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
      • Civic Turbo 2018 on Sep 09, 2022 at 12:24 pm

After this “Premium Alza”, perodua plant will roll-out “Alza-sedan” (Daihatsu Vios) by next year. Semua Daihatsu originality with different badges

• Well, still this isn’t Alza, but as Veloz. Though Vios made by Perodua, doesn’t mean that, because Perodua was unlikely to sell Vios

• This is Veloz, not Alza

• joke ah on Sep 09, 2022 at 12:17 am

why the heck 5,000 people want to pay extra 20k for the same thing as alza???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 14
    • Because people know how to earn and how to spend, they are rich, not like you trying to save RM20 meal

• Sohai on Sep 09, 2022 at 8:13 am

Samething?
      If both priced the same, which one will you take? Toyota? So it is not the same…

• John Gagal on Sep 09, 2022 at 9:34 am

Because they work hard earn big money or else stuck with buying ancient Exora.

• Why So Serious on Sep 09, 2022 at 4:13 pm

Pipul buy Veloz becoz they have 20k to spare.
        Pipul buy Exora becoz they dun have 20k to spare.
        Only stupids with no 20k and no brains buy Alza. Nuff said.

• This is exactly the same question why you have to go 5star hotel for a meal when u can get RM10 at mamak. People have a choice to enjoy their life, don’t judge. Just stay with your Kancil or whatsoever, with your mindset, you can’t afford everything in your life

• Reliable Naturally Aspirated Engine
    Better Fuel Efficient
    Cheaper Maintenance Cost
    Toyota Safety Sense
    Bigger Boot Space
    Blind Spot Monitor

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Unknown on Sep 09, 2022 at 6:07 pm

I have no idea why would anyone support this brand. It is literally a scam. Toyota wants to sell people their underspec products that Japan rejected as new. Made worse when rebadge by Perodua with even more inferior specs.

Most people do not follow what is going on with car market and this type of shenanigans should not be allowed.

If Toyota wanted to make it clear what cars people are buying, they would not sell underspec cars to us…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
    • Wake up on Sep 09, 2022 at 7:08 pm

Toyota underspec meh? Is no longer doing in the past years, so why you go assuming your figures man

• Yes. Instead of calling it underspec, should be called m’sian spec right? so that those who supported and bought from toyota in m’sia won’t feel hurt so bad