2022 Perodua Alza launching in Malaysia on July 20 – three variants, fr RM62k-RM75k est; AEB; 1.5L, D-CVT

The all-new Perodua Alza will make its launch debut on July 20, 2022, the carmaker confirmed via a post on its Facebook page. The redesigned MPV will be revealed via a livestream that starts at 12pm this coming Wednesday.

Order taking for the three-row Alza first began on June 23, 2022, with three variants being offered, namely the base X, mid-spec H and range-topping AV – a spec-by-spec breakdown can be found here. All three versions of the D27A Alza will feature a 2NR-VE 1.5 litre naturally-aspirated four-cylinder engine paired with a D-CVT driving the front wheels.

The engine is also used in the current Myvi, where it is rated at 103 PS (102 hp) and 137 Nm of torque. Perodua says the Alza is classified as an energy efficient vehicle (EEV) and is capable of 22 km/l in the Malaysian Driving Cycle (MDC).

Click to enlarge spec sheet, price list

Based on the latest Toyota Avanza, the second-generation Alza boasts a few firsts for Perodua, including a 360-degree panoramic view monitor as well as an electronic parking brake. Every variant will also come with Perodua’s latest Advanced Safety Assist (ASA) suite, which includes autonomous emergency braking (AEB).

Other standard features that accompany ASA include Lane Departure Warning, Lane Departure Prevention, Auto High Beam and six airbags. Only the range-topper gets things like Adaptive Cruise Control, Lane Keep Control and a Blind Spot Monitor.

In terms of pricing, the tentative RRP for the Alza is RM62,000 for the X, RM68,000 for the H and RM75,000 for the AV. These prices are on-the-road, without insurance for Peninsular Malaysia, although we’ll need to wait until the launch for the final figures. Have you already placed a booking?

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Good spec for RM75k+ D-CVT:

1. 6 airbags.
    2. AEB
    3. BSM
    4. RCTA
    5. 360 Camera
    6. ACC Self Driving
    7. Larger 9″ display Audio, Touch Screen

• You really thought P2 was so good prasing till sky high. As a person from automotive I can tell you even after 5 years warranty you have no choice but have to send your P2 forever to P2 SC to repair if there were still spoilt. Imagine the SC price is at least 30-50% higher than outside workshop. Mind you that even though it is sibling with Toyota Avanza but some items have downgraded for P2 Alza. Mean the parts of Alza will be substandard and you have to pay for these. This is strategy from P2 to protect their dealer’s SC business.

My customer is 1st batch owner of Ativa, Aruz, city drive full tank barely hit 300km. My customer said if he drive gently it can hit 400km but it was like not rev beyond 3k rpm all time and not beyond 100 km/h. Normal driving behaviour is surely less than 300km per tank.

I have no experience with new Alza but I do often sit long journey in previous Alza as company’s spare car. The ride and handling was sampan and after 3 years there are squeezing noise here and there. As usual the radiator fan spoilt, engine leaking oil, gearbox condemn and it took nearly 3 months to get spare part, heard it takes even longer time now for existing Alza customers. So buyers beware, get from the other brand just not this one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 24
      • Sonata on Jul 18, 2022 at 1:52 pm

Noob, creating so much salty story,
        This driving style if use a foreign brand, habislah masuk workshop hari².
        Bcuz ppl don’t know to repair, waiting for parts.

This Alza and Veloz, is the same.
        Both DNGA, better than current vios, new vios will catch up with DNGA.

Ativa speeding still get 300km, that’s good.
        My Sonata speeding also get 300k, but full tank refuel – 65 liter. RM120+.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 11
        • Celup King on Jul 18, 2022 at 2:14 pm

Well. What you can expect from the car that originally price from 40k-60k… Come to bolehland and disguise as P2, bla3 local content everywhere and walla 62k-75k. Hehehe… Conclusion, they are just milking the customer like no tomorrow.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
          • SinaranTax on Jul 18, 2022 at 3:43 pm

Original Geely Binyue China RM47k+ only.
            Original HR-V 1.5L Japan RM73k+ only, HR-V Hybrid 1.5 Japan RM85k+ only,

If you are comparing Apple to orange.

• Cipai on Jul 18, 2022 at 9:34 pm

You talk as if like customer has plenty of choices for a MPV below 80k… at least P2 offer choices. P1? Till now just the x50 to show… cant bring more models here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
          • RM 59,800 – 66,800 for Exora. Nobrainer it is still the most popular MPV all time.

• Calvin on Jul 20, 2022 at 11:49 am

@SinaranTax
            Nobody here talking about Binyue or HRV. You are totally irrelevant like comparing snakes to oranges.

• Raja Celup on Jul 18, 2022 at 12:41 pm

8. No OCH bocor problem.
      9. Ready stock spare parts.
      10. No headache pening kepala, tidur malam pun lena. ;-)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
      • Celup King on Jul 18, 2022 at 2:19 pm

1. Takata airbag sudah tukar ke belum?
        2. Faulty fuel pump replacements still waiting recall
        3. Pening kepala mcm mana cuba pun xdapat 22km/L :-(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
        • Jeffrey Chen on Jul 19, 2022 at 9:24 am

Why cannot achieve 22km/l?
          It depends on how you drive and driving conditions plus settings.
          If drive like mad person with full aircond coldness and Power mode on… sure die lah.

I drive my wife’s ativa from Pusing town to Kampar slightly above speed limit with wife and son all weighing bout 220kg.
          Always gets about 21 to 23 km/l.
          Make this drive almost every weekend.
          My wife being a lady speeder and never need to pump petrol herself… always gets about 380km per tank bout 30liter Ron95.

• Calvin on Jul 20, 2022 at 11:52 am

I got Myvi, Aruz, & Ativa in my house none of our family members can get even near to 20km per litre no matter how unker we drove them. Sorry but to me, that is just BS marketing talk.

• waiting my car…
    Good for my pencen drive everywhere, fuel saving and self driving cruising.

Cheap and Value for money, no brainer.
    Tak pura pura.

• You will have to wait longlong until neck long. Unless you can wait Q2 2023, just get from the other brand. No waiting time needed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
      • I won’t pay more.
        I better go oversea travel and use old car first.

• Casual reader on Jul 17, 2022 at 6:15 pm

The rumoured p2 priced at Rm 75k plus Ativa at Rm 71k and Aruz at Rm 73k all are/will cannibalise each others sales.

• Skeptical on Jul 18, 2022 at 11:33 am

Definitely they just refresh their customer circle. We can check & balance, whenever P2 new model come out, the total still linger at 200k or increase to 300k??

Interesting right, but their management never listened hehehe

• Lets See on Jul 18, 2022 at 12:15 pm

Wait til they revise yearly forecast target 3 times and magically met it by end of the year. This kind of so easy CEO job I also can do.

• it is going to be another roaring success by Perodua.

• Lets See on Jul 18, 2022 at 12:17 pm

Funny but since when did first gen Alza ever been a roaring success as you put it?

• Raja Celup on Jul 18, 2022 at 12:39 pm

Fun fact: Perodua Alza sales ratio to Proton Exora is 5:1 btw.

No wonder Alza fully recoup back amortised its cost way earlier faster and basically printing silly profits to Perodua thereafter. Not to mention the proven reliability, fuel economy and no OCH bocor problem helps propel the big sales. Syabas congrats to Perodua !!

• Semi Value on Jul 18, 2022 at 1:50 pm

Did u see the latest Jurassic movie?
          You saw the baby T Rex ?
          Well,the Exora is just the perfect sunset MPV,cos it can carry 12 baby T Rex.
          Just amazing longevity of Jurassic Exora.
          Perhaps,Proton should launch a farewell edition called, “JURRASIC EXORA” before the replacement model arrives from China.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
          • Celup King on Jul 18, 2022 at 2:21 pm

Fun fact, dinosaurs lasted far much longer on this planet than human beings. So are you telling us venerable Exora will be here as the KING MPV?

• From the web on Jul 18, 2022 at 5:14 pm

Ur funny ‘fact’ is easily debunked by the internet.
          https://paultan.org/2022/05/26/proton-x50-x70-exora-top-their-respective-suv-and-mpv-segments-in-sales-year-to-date-april-2022/

• That Top Seller status is by segment lah.

• Top seller is top seller lahhh. What is there to dispute. In reality be Proton Exora to Perodua Alza ratio is 5:1

• John Doe on Jul 17, 2022 at 7:51 pm

Its coming home

• newme on Jul 18, 2022 at 8:49 am

Perodua, you can include all sort of accessories you want but please include product with reasonable quality. Don’t give something that is so flimsy and rosak so easily. Please lah. Don’t think about cut cost je. Don’t earn the title “Menang membeli alah memakai”.

• Amran on Jul 18, 2022 at 10:11 am

Hopefully this “new” P2 teaser thing will just quietly go away, this is getting boring.

• Skeptical on Jul 18, 2022 at 11:30 am

So much hype!
    Hopefully the engine sound is better version of *ruz. Other brand engine roaring when reach 200km/h unlike *ruz baru 120km/h only tp bunyi engine mcm nk pecah huhu

• Katherine on Jul 18, 2022 at 1:57 pm

My Husband’s Jazz vtec also very noisy.
      Lagi need high rpm to get kick – too noisy.

At this price, it is doing well rounded.

• Engine is same as Myvi engine, so if the new Myvi sounds loud then this will probably be louder

• Lagi Best Alza 2022 on Jul 18, 2022 at 11:31 am

Estimate Price should be RM 74,999 with SST
    Estimate Price without SST RM 72,750 , 3% exempt from SST.
    Good for earlier booking buyer.. haha

• jinggo on Jul 18, 2022 at 12:16 pm

for peace of mind, better buy Toyota Veloz. better built & quality. rm95k only. very cheap i tell u…

• jyp05 on Jul 18, 2022 at 1:01 pm

Both Veloz and Alza build by Perodua at Rawang plant…

• KakiTangan on Jul 18, 2022 at 1:48 pm

Both Elsa and veloz is very cheap for the solid and Premium with hi tech features provided.

• Contradiction on Jul 18, 2022 at 2:24 pm

for peace of mind, better buy Toyota Veloz
      for rest in peace, buy Perodua Alza

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8