Two-hour parking limit system begins in Subang Jaya – motorists issued summons for paying the wrong fee

The two-hour parking limit implemented by the Subang Jaya city council (MBSJ) in six areas under its jurisdiction began as scheduled yesterday, September 1, and as expected, caught out many motorists who were unaware of the workings of the system.

As The Star reports, some were slapped with summonses for paying the wrong parking fee. Under the new limit, the fee for the two-hour bays, which are identifiable by their orange-coloured lines, is 50 sen for the first half hour, with a maximum time limit of two hours. The news publication noted that some motorists who parked in the orange bays paid the standard parking rate for yellow bays.

According to MBSJ corporate and strategic management department deputy director Azfarizal Abdul Rashid, this was an offence, where the council would normally issue a compound fine of RM80 and tow the vehicles. He said that MBSJ would not initiate any towing action during this initial stage.

“Those who pay their compounds within 24 hours using the Smart Selangor and Flexi Parking apps need to pay only RM10 instead of the full amount,” he said. Presently, payment of parking fees for the two-hour parking bays can be done only via Smart Selangor and Flexi Parking apps. “Additional payment options via ewallet apps and ecoupon agents such as Touch ‘n Go, Setel and KK Mart stores will be included by next month,” he said.

There is a cooling-off period of an hour before motorists are allowed to re-park at any two-hour parking bays. This covers all six areas under the scheme, meaning that if a vehicle owner has occupied the full time limit at a two-hour parking bay, say in SS15, he or she will have to wait an hour before parking in another two-hour limit bay, no matter if it was in USJ10, SS12 or any of the other parking zones in areas designated under the plan.

Originally announced in February and scheduled to start from June 1, the timed parking scheme was postponed in June because the Selangor government had at that point yet to approve and gazette the amendment on the Road Transport Order (Parking Space Allocation) MBSJ 2022.

The two-hour limit covers six areas – USJ10 (Taipan), SS12, SS15, USJ21, Bandar Puteri Puchong and Jalan Kenari in Puchong. The city council said that 2,106 two-hour parking bays out of the estimated 45,000 bays available in the commercial areas within its jurisdiction had been painted orange and gazetted under the order.

Existing disabled parking spots are excluded from the new limit. The two-hour limit will also not affect owners of shophouses or other premises renting parking bays on a yearly basis.

Azfarizal said the council, which had shared information on the new system on banners, in mainstream media and on social media, would continue to monitor and enforce the parking limit. “We will also have officers posted in the six areas to explain the system to motorists,” he said.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• newme on Sep 02, 2022 at 11:10 am

Why don’t MPSJ lead by example by implementing it at their own premises.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 6
  • longjaafar on Sep 02, 2022 at 11:37 am

Other cities and towns should follow suit…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
  • dong gor on Sep 02, 2022 at 11:46 am

system should not allow ppl to pay more than 2 hours la…accept the money then saman later, also not right.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
  • Sick & Tired on Sep 02, 2022 at 1:01 pm

This is called entrapment by Selangor MBSJ state government authorities. Is this an indication the state is dire need of money?

Why is this happen when Selangor is supposed to be our richest state. We must need a PAC/RCI investigation where all the money gone to as our beloved dearly departed exMB Khalid has confirmed that he got pushed out for not using state monies for Pakatan political use. So now we suspect the Pakatan government had been emptying state coffers for their use.

We demand for answers here. Right now!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 26
    • Mohd Parveen on Sep 02, 2022 at 3:45 pm

The Best thing to be implemented. I’ve seen this overseas years ago. This will ensure customers get a parking spot to do their errands. Earlier customers were left hunting for parking as all lots were taken up by shop owners or workers who park thwre thw whole day. Long term parking should be separated from short term parking. Kudos MPSJ

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 36
      • Kanasai on Sep 02, 2022 at 5:55 pm

Kudos my @ss! Overseas they have solution for long parkers ie workers & business owners. What solution did MBSJ give to long parkers?! NONE! Only know to Saman Saman Saman!

Business is all about supply and demand if they are preventing customers coming, they will lose business and soon die out. That is natural. But if there are no businesses because they cannot run their shops or get workers then customers have no choice, understand?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 13
        • tukartukar on Sep 02, 2022 at 10:39 pm

what no solution to long parker? there is a multilevel parking that u can park long long. walk a bit wont take your life. or u can pay to permanently rent a parking spot for your business in front of your shop.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 11
          • Bro not all places have multilevel car parks. This is not the solution just more ways to ripoff rakyat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
          • Spin Too Much on Sep 04, 2022 at 4:49 pm

I want to know where is that multilevel carpark beside MBSJ head office. It seems to have disappeared.

• Mohd Parveen on Sep 02, 2022 at 3:49 pm

Kodos MPSJ. Best thing to do although we are years behind other major cities.
    2 hours is more than enough for customers to do errands.
    Earlier shop owners and employees hogged the parking and customers had to hunt and wait on the side for a parking spot.

Well done MPSJ

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 30
    • Yeah right. Your just a mouthpiece for the Pakatan state Govt. Why should we trust you?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 11
  • Saman lagi on Sep 02, 2022 at 4:15 pm

Most of the time, saman always come first only then want to make it clear to users how to use their system. When people wants to know more, always find very hard to understand how actually the system work.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • I just got a saman by paying to through TnG.

No notice board about how the system work.

Worst still, the ordinary parking notice board is just beside the car park.

The person issue the saman told me that there is a notice given by TnG before I get to proceed to do payment. But I don’t seem to see that.

Just feel that got scam

• Bunny Wei on Sep 02, 2022 at 6:51 pm

Let’s make this clear.
    1. If you parked at the ‘2 hour parking spot’, and the 2 hour is up, you’re not allowed to renew the parking again, correct? Then the driver will have to move their car, but need to wait?
    How will the MPSJ know exactly? There’s not parking number written on the spot.
    2. If I park less than 2 hours, am I supposed to pay for the 2 hours parking?

• Maximum fee for two hours is RM1.00 (50sen per hour). And then you have to find other non-orange spot around the area of Subang Jaya. All payments will be using the Smart Selangor of flexi parking and soon more ewallet pay will be included. Using the system, it can locate exactly within 5 meters of the spot the car is parked. All other orange spots will have their exact positions mapped in the system. So when the cooling off period of one hour has lapsed then you can park again at any orange spot/lot in Subang Jaya or the exact spot where you previously park.

• Sohai on Sep 03, 2022 at 1:38 pm

If i park for 1 hour only, does the cooling off period apply?

• bunny on Sep 02, 2022 at 9:18 pm

they can check what time you paid for the parking la… haiyohhhhhh aunty

• Aura89 on Sep 03, 2022 at 2:33 am

This system is open to a lot of abuses

• Daniel on Sep 03, 2022 at 3:13 am

In the parking app, have all your car registration details. Once you make a payment on parking MBSJ will get your info in their system. That’s how they know where you parked.

• No problem with the system, but the app should at least be updated to give a warning/alert to ask users to confirm whether they are in a 2 hour parking slot before proceeding to payment, not difficult to implement. Going straight to summons is like a money grab.

• Spin Too Much on Sep 04, 2022 at 4:50 pm

Pakatan needs ur money for their political activities to destabilise the country.

• Mithiran on Sep 04, 2022 at 8:37 pm

Since last few years the % tage of cars year by year increasing and the parking area not sufficient and why not the current parking lot make 3stages like Deck type

• Belinda on Sep 05, 2022 at 2:49 pm

If there colleges in vicinity there is bound to be NO MORE PARKING spaces for those who wants to run an errand…its a good idea for 2 hrs parking but authorities need to guide the public on the changes too.need to give mose advice for users to accustomed to it.

• The authorities should first clamp down on irresponsible shop or stall-owners who put a chair or large object on the parking lot/bay, to “book” it for their use. It’s acceptable if it is a RED (rented) bay but not when it’s not rented!
    This would open up a few more parking bays for others to use.
    Just POOR enforcement, I’d say!