MBSJ imposing 2-hour parking limit at busy areas – Subang, Taipan, Sunway, Bandar Puteri Puchong

Finding street parking is challenging in some busy commercial areas because many of the lots are taken up “permanently” by those who work in the area. The Subang Jaya city council (MBSJ) has a solution – imposing a two-hour parking limit in such areas.

According to Subang Jaya mayor Johary Anuar, MBSJ’s plan will be rolled out from June 1, and potential commercial areas under its jurisdiction that are being reviewed include USJ 9 and 10 (Taipan), SS19, Bandar Puteri Puchong and Bandar Sunway.

“These will be known as ‘two-hour parking zones’. We are also studying other roads and areas. The rates for these zones will be 60 sen for half an hour or RM1.20 per hour,” he said this week, reported by The Star. Johary added that the move had been in the works for some time.

“We aim to make the street-parking facility available to visitors to the areas rather than being dominated by those who work there. We will introduce a system to monitor vehicles parked in these zones to alert our enforcement officers if anyone has been parked for longer than allowed,” he said.

On a separate note, MBSJ’s public parking system will transition to fully online payment methods starting April 1. This means that the use of scratch coupons and pay-and-display parking machines will end on March 31, to be replaced by mobile apps and e-coupons. Current apps such as Smart Selangor Parking, Flexi Parking, Jom Parking as well as Boost and Touch n Go e-wallets will continue to be accepted.

Those who do not own smartphones can pay for parking at authorised e-coupon vendors. Those with unused current parking coupons will be given refunds before March 31, and details on the process and the location for refunds will be announced soon.

Subang folks and those who frequent the busy commercial squares mentioned above – what do you think of this move?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• newme on Feb 25, 2022 at 10:32 am

Why don’t MBSJ lead by example by imposing 2 hour limit on their own premises?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • Sick & Tired on Feb 25, 2022 at 4:23 pm

Stupid policy by stupid State Gomen! Sick & tired of them!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 24
      • Dr. Strange on Feb 27, 2022 at 9:18 am

Are you sick and tired again? Please take 2 Panadols & call me in the morning again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
        • Dr Strange on Feb 28, 2022 at 9:34 am

Now Panadol shortage thanks to Omicron.
          Dr’s note: So you can continue to blame Selangor state for this fucuk up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
          • Sick & Tired on Feb 28, 2022 at 11:14 am

No worries, doc. I have Panadol at home so that I don’t have to pay the fucuk up high prices your clinic charges.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • PlainBS on Feb 25, 2022 at 10:41 am

Syukur we here can argue over parking space in peace while half way around the world, people are going to war with each other.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 15
    • History bender on Feb 26, 2022 at 8:58 am

The catalyst for war can originate from a small argument.

• Aura89 on Feb 27, 2022 at 3:47 am

Yeah, am sure some Ukrainian patriot spilled Ukraine borsch onto Putin during his lunch that triggered the war.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
        • History bender on Feb 27, 2022 at 9:15 am

Hello.. I’m the only one with exclusive rights to bend history.

• PlainBS on Feb 27, 2022 at 9:58 am

Are we supposed to believe that this ex-KGB man would recruit incompetent security personnel who would allow a stranger to upset his mealtime?

• Dr Strange on Feb 28, 2022 at 9:33 am

Stranger things have happened.

• PlainBS on Feb 28, 2022 at 11:57 am

‘Oh, those Russians..’ – last phrase from the lyrics of Boney M’s ‘Rasputin’.

• So, is no one going to ask where the workers are suppose to park? I’m pretty sure they’re not hogging the parking space because it is fun or anything. They need to park somewhere and let’s hope they don’t start parking everywhere and jamming the road

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
    • April on Feb 26, 2022 at 1:24 pm

For those area earmarked for implementation, mostly already have a multi-storey parking block nearby with option of monthly pass. According to the news piece here it seems like it’ll match the parking rate of MBSJ (news link: https://www.thestar.com.my/news/community/2010/01/04/private-car-park-operator-to-lower-cost-to-match-mpsjs-rate)

• Potato on Mar 03, 2022 at 9:54 am

I am new to Puchong, where is the multistorey carpark in puteri 1?

• Raja Kamarul on Feb 25, 2022 at 11:59 am

If you think this will work, send me a thumbs up.
    If you think this will fail, send me a thumbs down.

You now expect Malaysians who work in a shop lot to park elsewhere. How long have you been a Malaysian la MBSJ? LoL!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 82
    • Chan Tuck Sing on Feb 27, 2022 at 10:20 am

You expect working people park where? This plan is not support unless you have dedicated compound for working people to park especially SS19 n Taipan,even pay parking also full up.create more parking place think out of the box, this idea won’t work n inconvenience everybody

• Mbsj like on Mar 07, 2022 at 8:24 am

Mbsj convenient other people. But worker? How about worker does not want to work there due to unconventional. Then company might move away.. Even bank customer.. 2 hours might not enough also + current covid. Seem like better area open parking is in mbsj HQ so big space..

• Bieight8 on Feb 25, 2022 at 12:21 pm

They should raise the parking rate to rm5 per hour…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 29
  • Saman Saje on Feb 25, 2022 at 12:33 pm

It’s about time. Many typical lazy drivers “kejap saja” attitude. Enforcement is another challenge. At the moment, double parking is rampant, parking at junction entrance/ at non designated lane.
    Wish all these selfish drivers to be clamped & no drama challenging MBSJ enforcer. They think they own the place with samseng mentality. Be strict MBSJ & don’t forget to saman smokers in the makan place shop also. Getting out of control.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 9
    • U just convenient yourself.. If no worker how u buy/proceed your thing?

• Well done! on Feb 25, 2022 at 2:34 pm

About time. I’ve always thought this should have been implemented at shop fronts nationwide. Designated spots for short term parking, or like even 30m spots for those who knows what they want and for a quick visit.

• Imo, don’t impose this new ruling without first finding a solution for the ppl working at these areas. Need to have more multi level carparks like in taipan & ss15. Also, don’t allow events to be held/take place and occupy inside the ss15 multi carpark. Maybe for ss15, can build a multi level carpark somewhere at a padang, say ss17 or ss14 or a vacant land, and make sure connectivity is not an issue, example, building a pedestrian bridge or near lrt station for connectivity to commercial areas. Perhaps also, teaming up with company like parkIT/grab to fully enable / utilize condominiums empty carpark space to rent out to working adults during work hours.

• Angry Voters on Feb 25, 2022 at 2:44 pm

So those working there park where? Inside MBSJ compound? Did they think this thru or yet another failed Selangor money scamming scheme again? PH please answer!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • Sick & Tired on Feb 27, 2022 at 11:59 am

A developer friend did propose converting some of the property at their busy business areas for increased public parking & he offered them lucrative icing-on-the-cake incentives. However they still didn’t want to accept such an attractive win win deal. Why?

• Manifesto Dicapati on Feb 28, 2022 at 8:09 am

Why? Proposal was for taxpayers to foot the demolition bill, taxpayers to foot the parking construction bill, but developer will run the parking and keep all the profits. All win no lose business? Walao! Too many cronies under PH rule wei!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
        • Sick & Tired on Feb 28, 2022 at 11:38 am

How do you know what my developer friend had actually proposed? Are you also hungry for that lucrative icing-on-the-cake incentives that you’re willing to make it up?

• Copy Paste on Feb 28, 2022 at 2:54 pm

Copy paste: “A developer friend did propose…”

• His Friend on Feb 28, 2022 at 5:13 pm

I wrote the proposal so I knew fully well and I wistleblew it for the good of our nation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
          • Sick & Tired on Feb 28, 2022 at 10:06 pm

That was your proposal? You should know that all of your proposals have been thrown away and replaced because they looked like copy & paste jobs made by a primary school student.

• v-tec fan on Feb 25, 2022 at 3:53 pm

wow…just wow.. that show how smart is MBSJ…

• Can sure no prob on Feb 25, 2022 at 4:17 pm

Provide an option for those affected, in this case, shop/office workers. You can’t force them to not park for >2 hours and call it a day. Are there permanent parking facilities such as parking garage? I know areas like Taipan has one but is it uniform throughout all MBSJ commercial areas? Make them accessible and feasible as well (don’t charge like RM10 a day that sort of rubbish please).

This is akin to high density residential areas. Think of Bandar Sri Permaisuri, where cars spill all over major and minor roadways due to poor or lack thereof parking management/facility.

• Sick & Tired on Feb 25, 2022 at 4:27 pm

Yet another stupid illthought policy again by Selangor. At least DBKL limit the maximum parking period to 4 hours and they allowed parkers to pay for additional time without being harassed to move out their cars. This 2 hour limit is utter imba from our Selangor rulers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 121 Thumb down 91
    • Angry Voters on Feb 27, 2022 at 9:51 pm

Why do you link ill thought policy to the Selangor ruler? Do you know that the hereditary ruler is above politics?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 107
      • Manifesto Dicapati on Feb 28, 2022 at 8:11 am

There is nothing heredity when PH gets kicked out sooner than later thanks to their inept incompetent rule.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 110 Thumb down 82
      • This is the problem when PH rule Selangor too long and things deteriorated until this new low, they think ruling this state is hereditary.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 71
        • Bros Gary, Dicapati dan Sick&Tired, you all got read the constitution or not? When u refer to a state ruler, u r referring to the hereditary ruler who is part of the royal institution. So, bros, berhati2lah bila buat komen, because when u critically use certain words or terms in the wrong context, besar kemungkinan akan timbul salah faham. I suggest to PT to please remove all comments on this thread. Thank you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 77
          • Sick & Tired on Mar 02, 2022 at 11:34 pm

Rulers; plural. I never mention anything about royal institution. Stop linking them as they are above politics.

• Bro, whether singular or plural, the people already know that the state ruler is related to the royal institution. At least kamu dah sedar not to link them as they are above politics.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 22
  • Built multi-storey car park with adequate security in strategic locations. Malaysians like to drive, but they wouldn’t mind walking around as long as the parking is secured.

• 22.2.22 on Feb 26, 2022 at 10:44 am

90 percents of all designated roadside parking lots are occupied by shoplot’s employer and employees

• Open up the parking complex roof top in Taipan USJ that has been closed for unknown reasons. There could more parking complexes if parking could be a lucrative business.

Charge parking for after business hours, and weekends too, according to user pays concept. Agree to charging by 1/2 hour lots as this makes drivers more conscious about occupying the parking longer than necessary.

Help seniors to get used to the electronic payments as they likely will be most disadvantaged being less tech savvy.

• Imposing restriction without providing alternatives is a lazy work by MPSJ.
    How do you suggest those who work in that area to park their cars?
    Or for some ladies who go to saloon, we all know how long it would take for the hair stylists to cast their magic on the hair….
    Or beauty saloon, or even business meetings…

• Semi-Value (Member) on Feb 27, 2022 at 10:16 am

hey, no problem, just park illegally at mbsj hq.

• David on Feb 28, 2022 at 8:18 am

No permanent parking lit should be given to any shop owner, instead reserve as normal public parking lots so that there will be more parking lots for visitors and customer.

It is no fair for some/certain shop onwner to reserved permanent parking lots so that they will have more customers visiting their shops, whereas those who are unable to get any reserved parking lots their business will definitely drop.

If MBSB was thinking of creating of increase their parking revenue, then MBSJ should increase the half – one – two hour parking fees for these 2 limit parking lots at a different increment rate on hour an hour basis, eg 0.15hr – 0.00, 0.5hr – 60sen, 1.0hr – 1.50, 1.50hr – 2.50, 2.00hr – 4.00.

With this increment parking rates system, visitors will not only encouraged to well estimate their actual require time to occupy a parking lot instead of simply park there for 2 hrs since the parking fees is not much different comparing with the existing rate, and also to consider other alternatives eg elevated parking lots, public transport, grabcar, car pool…

• Hustle on Feb 28, 2022 at 9:01 am

It will solve one issue and create another one. Those who are working at the area and commuting with car will have issue with parking as there are no other alternatives

• Lyndon D'Oliveiro on Feb 28, 2022 at 9:52 am

It’s a good move to ensure parking is available for everyone. This who work in the area can buy season passes.

• Sick & Tired on Mar 01, 2022 at 2:33 am

If 90% of parking spaces are then taken up by season pass holders then it is okay for MBSJ kah? Both ideas neither solve problems for those who work there nor for patrons.

• Katheryne Wong on Feb 28, 2022 at 6:51 pm

Best solution is provide more parking space

• kf ng on Mar 03, 2022 at 8:46 am

1. why not ask those visitor come by public transport? all above area got LRT and BRT.
    2. why not every street you pick 10-15% of parking slot as
    2 hours.

• UnHappy on Jun 02, 2022 at 12:13 am

This is definitely not a solution. Merely digging one hole just to cover another hole. The multipurpose car park should be open for visitor (free 1 hour parking, to encourage them to park there). Let’s be fair if you really plan to implement this system at these areas, do away all those green and red parking spot too. I would like to hear what is our wakil rakyat opinion on this issue.