Mind how you park your e-scooter in Kuala Lumpur

Photo by Jason Chen. Published with permission.

Taking a dim view of electric scooters (e-scooters) parked indiscriminately, Kuala Lumpur City Hall (DBKL) is taking action. Seen in this photograph by Jason Chen, a DBKL lorry is seen hauling away e-scooters in the Setapak area.

Micromobility devices such as Beam e-scooters are popular in urban areas, especially the Kuala Lumpur city centre. Tourists rent them to get around while many are also placed near LRT stations for commuters to expedite the “last mile” connection.

However, despite some public places having designated “parking” areas where e-scooters can be picked up or left behind, many users just leave them where they are at their convenience. This creates a nuisance especially in areas of high pedestrian traffic.

Police have also stated e-scooters and other such battery-powered micro mobility devices are banned from use on public roads. So, mind how you go when using an e-scooter and be aware of traffic, both vehicles and pedestrians.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Dong Gor on Nov 01, 2022 at 10:55 am

Daylight robbery

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 18
  • If people cannot be bothered to park their PMD properly that means they don’t care about it and don’t mind if DBKL junk them. So people who got their PMD impounded, they have no one else but themselves to blame.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
  • seancorr on Nov 01, 2022 at 11:57 am

User mentality issue here. Same like how they will park their cars anywhere they wish

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
  • newme on Nov 01, 2022 at 12:28 pm

Bet this Beam company don’t have VIP on their payroll. Otherwise the authority will be very lenient usually.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 5
  • Whyla on Nov 01, 2022 at 10:01 pm

Why

• Whatla on Nov 01, 2022 at 10:02 pm

Why we don’t tow cars that are indiscriminately Parked. Why pick on micromobility

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • Junkies otr on Nov 02, 2022 at 6:44 am

Abandoned cars n motorcycles everywhere.

• Hafiz on Nov 02, 2022 at 7:08 am

The JPJ and Municipal Authority DBKL are on their way to become dictator. This is power overreach. Shame on them

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
    • Amran on Nov 02, 2022 at 11:25 am

Bila x enforce laws, kata dorang xkeje.
      Bila enforce laws, kata dorang dictator.
      Piraahhhlahhhh bodo!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
      • Bkn masalah enforce atau x enforce.

Masalahnya kalo enforce tu pilih bulu. X percaya, meh PM, satu persatu blh dihuraikan.

Yg tahu je tahu mcm mne deal dgn majlis2 nih. Hehehe… Phm ke idok?

• PrebetDurianMan on Nov 02, 2022 at 8:15 am

Better i steal and bring my house. Pay and play safety. Make a headache.Thank You DBKL.

• Just impose heavy fine to the last person who use that thing

• NICKOLAS on Dec 01, 2022 at 5:19 pm

Government fining the user or the scooter hire company fining the user makes more sense but they would need proof.

• Anonymous on Nov 02, 2022 at 11:49 am

I have used beam e scooter before. The GPS tracker never let to park at designated parking area after complete the ride.and the Beam management over charge forit . This happen couple of time for me the worst case is when you report to beam no action taken. NOW I WOULD SAY PARK AT YOUR CONVIENCE PLACE FOR THE SERVICE YOU GET.

• Meh-mehhh! on Nov 02, 2022 at 11:33 pm

OMG! They have stollen Milka bars…

• Ben Yap on Nov 03, 2022 at 3:37 pm

can the authorities auction off the e-scooters to the public and let the public own them affordably?

• herewego on Nov 07, 2022 at 9:33 am

Here is the difference that majority need to realize, that is this is RENTER , renter mindset was “I just go anywhere, stopped and parked wherever I like without give a damn”, which is why majority of you pissed off about this. OWNER of their own PMD won’t do this kind of silly thing at all. RENTER and OWNER are the huge difference , you can’t simply blame all of it. Furthermore, even if you banned from road, there is no dedicated path for it except the blue bicycle lane, but the biggest problem here is NOBODY GIVES A DAMN ON THAT BLUE LANE AND CARS PARKING ON IT !

• Athies on Nov 23, 2022 at 11:45 am

Selective discrimination… thousands of abandoned cars along residential areas and high density areas…creating a nuinsance and mosquito and rat breeding locations… this is not addressed by the lazy authrities