Proton sold 11,316 units in November 2022 – year-to-date sales at 126,682 units, 10.4% up from 2021 total

Proton has announced it sold a total of 11,316 vehicles (domestic and export) in the month of November 2022, which is 13.1% less than what it achieved in October – the carmaker cited temporary supply issues for the decrease.

Even so, year-to-date (YTD) sales from January to November currently stands at 126,682 units, representing a 10.4% increase from its 2021 total of 114,708 units, which it already surpassed a month earlier in October.

Market share for the month of November is estimated to be 17.7%, while in terms of total vehicle sales, the company says it is holding on to second place with 19.7%. It added that total industry volume (TIV) for this year is estimated to approach 700,000 units as Malaysia’s automotive market saw a fourth consecutive month of more than 60,000 sales.

On a model-to-model basis, the X50 was the best-selling B-segment and overall SUV for the month with 3,724 units, with YTD sales of the model currently at 36,917 units. Meanwhile, the Exora was the highest volume C-segment MPV with 329 units that contributed to a total of 3,837 units up until the end of November.

As for other offerings in the line-up, Proton sold 4,100 units of the Saga last month (YTD 49,965 units), 1,551 units of the Persona (YTD 14,035 units), 402 units of the Iriz (YTD 5,182 units) and 1,210 units of X70 (YTD 16,746 units). The carmaker said five models have already exceeded their total volume set in 2021.

“November was an eventful sales month for Proton as we experienced some temporary supply issues that prevented us from achieving our full potential. We are confident of being able to rectify them in December and remain positive about closing out the year strongly,” said Roslan Abdullah, deputy CEO of Proton.

“Proton will end 2022 with a fourth consecutive year of sales growth. Aside from benefitting the company, the increase in sales has also increased the volume of parts purchased from local vendors, increased our number of dealers, and created jobs for the automotive ecosystem. With new model introductions in the pipeline for 2023, we hope to be able to increase our contribution to the Malaysia economy by making more local investments, selling more vehicles, and further growing our export markets,” he added.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Roti john on Dec 06, 2022 at 12:34 pm

Next month already 2023, but Proton has yet to beat Perodua’s Game-Changing sales. This shows that Proton still has a lot to learn from Perodua to become a successful carmaker

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 26
  • Resurgent Rafizi & Co on Dec 06, 2022 at 12:51 pm

So Protong needs to sell another 23,318 units by Dec 31,to hit 150,000 units.
    A more realistic figure would be 140,000 units by year end.
    It is mind boggling the Roslan dude keep on blaming “temporary supply issues” for not achieving projected sales.
    May I ask ,did Perodua give any excuses for sales deficiency due to supply bottlenecks?
    High time P1 STOP giving excuses.There is no more lockdowns here.
    If Roslan dude keep giving excuses,next year P1 will hit only 130,000 units.Grow up,Mr DRB.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 12
    • John Doe on Dec 06, 2022 at 2:22 pm

China is under lockdown. Of course they are affected.
      Perodua is not detailing its excuses because they don’t have excuses to tell. If they have excuses, they won’t inform it out loud to the public because that is how the Japs work. They are only proud of the outcome.

• Tin Kosong Tian Chua on Dec 06, 2022 at 7:46 pm

So,basically no need keep sobbing about supply chain issues.It affects all players.

• Lets See on Dec 06, 2022 at 2:35 pm

Yes they did. So stop defending your employer
      https://paultan.org/2021/02/24/perodua-impacted-by-chip-shortage-production-of-myvi-aruz-and-alza-affected-for-myvi-well-into-march/

• When P2 hatred kicks in, ur butthurt and dengki and already kalah doin the talking is always like this hahahaha! Your P2 lucky to be constantly relying on Daihatsu for their cars. If no Daihatsu then no P2, they already in tong sampah bro. LOL!

• supply issue? or people just not that attracted to x50 anymore after the price increase? too many ready stock x50 can be seen now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
    • Lets See on Dec 06, 2022 at 2:37 pm

Not attractive? X50 is still the best selling SUV, period.
      And yes they, like Apple, do suffer global supply shortages since certain parts comes from China and they are in hard lockdown mode.

• Humph on Dec 06, 2022 at 3:22 pm

Can’t u read? It’s “Not that attracting.” Bukan “not attracting.” It’s still best selling, sure but number has gone down

That’s the bitter truth. X50 sales has slowed down to under 4k after several months selling for over 4k units. You can find many unit ready stock now and can just walkin n get your car in just one day.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
        • This is normal so why are you bringing this up. Market comes and goes, where got continuous record breaking M-o-M sales? Even GPU at their peak sales during crypto now are crying to be sold.

But Lets See is right that up or down, X50 still remains the best seller. That is more an indicative of the market ups & down and has nothing to do with the popularity of X50.

• Espon on Dec 06, 2022 at 3:23 pm

Can’t u read? It’s “Not that attracting.” Bukan “not attracting.” It’s still best selling, sure but number has gone down

That’s the bitter truth. X50 sales has slowed down to under 4k after several months selling for over 4k units. You can find many unit ready stock now and can just walkin n get your car in just one day.

• Troll Hunter on Dec 06, 2022 at 6:08 pm

Same same comment? Espon = Humph also Hmm? What is this, troll central? If your comment has any validity why use troll names?

• Celup King on Dec 06, 2022 at 2:41 pm

Sadly for Proton haters and fakers this news is too much. No need to defend… the sales speaks for itself. Bravo Proton. The real Gamechanger

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • Ground europe passenger on Dec 06, 2022 at 5:18 pm

Kete proton memang power dan solid daripada perodua. Tapi sales tewas lah sebab macam cite big bike vs kapcai. Orang lebih gemar kapcai senang bawak, murah minyak and maintenance mudah.

• tapsoba on Dec 07, 2022 at 10:33 am

I always have a special place for Proton despite never actually owning one. My previous 2 cars were Peroduas and now waiting for yet another Perodua to come. My last car (which is a Bezza) I sold already like a few weeks ago so, I’m borrowing my sister’s Iriz since then. I must admit, the diriving experience is a lot better on the Iriz (1.6), the car pick-up is a lot more powerful, handling is superb. Although, I notice a few issues which prompts me to do research myself, and perhaps, unsurprisingly found that other users claim that these issues normally happen to Proton cars.. not just the Iriz. One example is the tyre bearing. However, this Iriz was a 2016 model (I think), before Geely so, I’m not sure if these issues has been rectified on newer release/facelift.

Until then, I’ll stick to “the most used”.