Toll-free period for CNY 2023 ends at 11:59pm tonight

The government’s offer for free toll for the Chinese New Year 2023 travel period will end tonight at 11:59pm.

This is a reminder that if you pass through a toll plaza after the deadline, you will be charged full toll for your journey, even though you started your journey within the toll-free period.

If you are on the highway and are unable to make it to your destination before the toll-free period ends, you can just exit at the nearest interchange before the 11:59pm deadline and re-enter the highway. That way, you’ll only have to pay toll for the remainder of your journey.

Of course, this doesn’t apply to highways that don’t use entry and exit point systems. For all other highways, just make sure you pass through the toll plaza before the 11:59pm deadline.

While you won’t need to pay for toll during these two days, you’ll still need to use your Touch ‘n Go card, SmartTAG and RFID tag as usual because the barriers are still operational.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• The power of Tuning Power on Jan 21, 2023 at 2:25 pm

Aduhai Janji Manifesto untuk 2 hari sahaja ke?

RAKYAT Malaysia please jangan MUDAH LUPA manifesto Free Highway TOLL, Free Education dan byak2 lain janji2 manis sebelum ini..

Walk the Talk, Not Walk Away..

• Casual reader on Jan 21, 2023 at 8:07 pm

It is obvious toll free is meant to create traffic jams and no for encouraging people to consider a later time to balik kampung. Real stupid.

• hazri on Jan 23, 2023 at 8:11 pm

last year cny we dont get free toll but still huge traffic jam. you the stupid one.

• Ruslan Bahari on Jan 22, 2023 at 12:38 pm

I was charged using the ELITE to KLIA today though….. hmmmm..

• ujinboi on Jan 22, 2023 at 4:21 pm

I think toll charges should still be collected from foreign cars… My 2 cents and a Happy New Year to all!

• hazri on Jan 23, 2023 at 8:08 pm

ya, should charge singapore & thai plate number car. they contribute the traffic jam also.