Thailand-reg car caught using subsidised RON95 fuel

It’s commonly known, especially in border states, that foreign-registered vehicles are prohibited from buying RON 95 petrol, which is heavily subsidised by the government. That sales ban has been around for a good while, having been introduced on August 1, 2010.

Of course, because action can’t be taken against individuals for doing so, the action persists, and you continue to find instances of foreign vehicles slipping under the no-RON 95 radar, with the action not just limited to Singaporean cars.

Take, for example, the Thailand-registered vehicle that was caught on camera being tanked up with the fuel, the snap presumably being taken in Subang Jaya, given that the photo was posted on the USJ Community FB page. Staff at the station may have been unaware of what was happening, given that one can always pay with a credit card and as such, not attract attention, but the point is, anyone can do it, not just our southern neighbours.

If anything, the incident serves to remind that enforcing the ban will continue to be difficult, more so in areas where there’s less scrutiny and monitoring present, unless a fine is imposed on those attempting to purchase the fuel. The government can also use such examples in its push for a targeted subsidy – with prices at the pump being expensive for all, there’s likely to be less screams of foreigners taking advantage (no, let’s not bring forex into this).

It was highlighted last year that the domestic trade and consumer affairs (KPDN) can only take action against petrol station operators for the unauthorised sale of RON 95 and not the foreigners who fill up with the petrol, and while the government has said it wants to tighten enforcement with measures that include a proposal to punish the individuals involved, we can expect nothing to change until the law says it will.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Kerajaan Perpaduan yang gagal on Jan 31, 2023 at 7:11 pm

Because we have a very weak government. No wonder this small problem cannot be solved.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 17
    • Hadimauwang Middin on Jan 31, 2023 at 7:57 pm

previous PN 33months Govt cannot solve this small problem. Totally incompetent, imbecile inept blundering Northern pantai timur goons,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
      • Robinhood on Feb 01, 2023 at 8:52 am

Still playing politics meh??? Now is the time of the current govt act on this. Rakyat hate to see blame game again and again!!!! The more you blame, the more votes you lose. Rakyat also have to assist in monitoring and send the photos or any records to help out. It is unfair to punish the rakyat because it is the govt of the day’s responsibility!!!!!

• seancorr on Jan 31, 2023 at 9:47 pm

Sales ban introduced in 2010. Care to tell me what they been doing since then?

• tidakapa on Feb 01, 2023 at 9:38 am

as usual, we have a lot of law. but enforcement takda. Styrofoam in food packing? still in use albeit banned years ago.
        smoking in non-smoking zones… motorbikes in car lanes, driving against traffic, tak pakai helmet. list goes on. ENFORCEMENT TAK ADA.

• hazri on Feb 01, 2023 at 10:49 pm

this is not small problem like your brain. if so, muhyiddin & hadi awang already solve this problem 33 months ago.

• The regulation is not making sense & can b a problem for d foreign car. If u been using ron 95 all d while in spore or thailand, how can suddenly u hav to use ron 97? Many cars cannot use 97 due to technical reason. Must improve our thinking !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 25
    • Ah Chong on Feb 01, 2023 at 7:57 am

Could you explain? From all my previous knowledge as a car person, 97 will be fine even if your car isn’t design for it. Other than wallet pain, I don’t see what’s the other impact. If you mention it might spoil a certain thing in the car, that’s wallet pain too.

Would appreciate actual knowledge instead of vague statement like this.

• Manikir on Feb 01, 2023 at 8:22 am

Well said. Some people write without analyzing. My car can use 95 only. So buy new car or no need to enter I guess.

• Car these days even the cheapest of vehicles have an engine management system that is able to adjust the octane number to suit the fuel specs. Car manufacturers have to accommodate for all kinds of conditions and fuel situation and hence are able to work with a wide range of Ron fuels such as Ron 88 way up to Ron 100.
      Furthermore are you trying to tell us that the Foreign jackass’s X1 in the photo can’t take Ron 97? Give me a break.

• Davenport on Feb 01, 2023 at 9:34 am

What garbage car you drive can only use RON95 but not RON97? Even an old ass 1970s Datsun also can use RON97. You drive a Ford model T?

• Hypocrite on Jan 31, 2023 at 11:02 pm

Sinkie use ron95: socmed goes insane

siam kia use ron95: krik krik

• Nor Azman on Feb 01, 2023 at 9:01 am

To arrange for costly public servants for strict enforcement is not worth it for just few ringgit saving by goverment in this case here. Current enforcement is enough, myb can include a channel for public reporting to the enforcer. If really the money lost due to foreigner stealing ron 95 is such a big deal, we need new mechanism to enforce this such as ic scan etc.

• johnnas on Feb 01, 2023 at 9:58 am

how? by placing KPDNKKKKKKKKKKKKK in all supermarkets and fuel stations? tangkap dulu those illegal diesel traders. this one Thai car is just a tiny mosquito bite.
    Authorities rajin sikit jalan jalan spotcheck. It’s the fuel stations that should be penalized severely.

• Sigh... on Feb 01, 2023 at 2:06 pm

Yup. Yg berlori2 seludup blh plak lepas ke seberang.

Yg besar kuman ni juga lah nk diperbesar2kan.

• Mohd Idrus Bin Osman on Feb 01, 2023 at 12:14 pm

Petrol station not alert ….haiyaaa

• RyanT on Feb 01, 2023 at 12:58 pm

I notice most bm owners are cheapskates…X5 charges EV for free, now X1 pumps Ron95…haaa

• if pump uses system
    there should be an algorithm that we can use…
    for example
    for the counter attendant
    if no. plate registered outside malaysia
    then disabled ron95 and diesel pump hose
    create button for that.
    now its depend on the pump attendant to do their responsibility.