Shell Malaysia launches new and improved FuelSave 95 – 15 km more per tank; better engine protection

Shell Malaysia today launched the new and improved FuelSave 95, which it claims will offer up to 15 km more range per tank. The updated Euro 4M RON 95 petrol was formulated following five years of extensive research and testing by 150 fuel scientists and will be available at Shell stations nationwide.

“Shell continuously strives to innovate and enhance our offerings for the benefit of our customers. ‘Better By Far’ is our promise of never stopping and always innovating new mobility solutions to match the evolving customers’ needs. Our ‘New + Improved Shell FuelSave 95’ now lasts up to 15 km longer per tank so our customers can enjoy longer uninterrupted drives per tank,” said Seow Lee Ming, general manager of mobility at Shell Malaysia.

“What is 15 km more? 15 km more is the length of the first Penang Bridge. 15 km more is like us crossing the Johor Causeway to Singapore 14 times or like stacking 35 KL Towers on top of each other,” the company said in its release.

In addition to better mileage, the Shell’s updated FuelSave 95 is also formulated with deposit targeting technology that deep cleans engines for sustained performance. The additive package also protects engines by fighting against corrosion and deposit build up. The fuel also protects critical parts in all engines, regardless of if it’s old, new or even a hybrid.

At today’s launch, Shell Malaysia also launched the ‘Shell FuelSave 95 Challenge 2023’, which aims to find the one Malaysian who clocks the best fuel economy with the latest FuelSave 95. The grand finale winner of the competition after a nationwide search will take home a cash prize of RM20,000.

Shell Malaysia is also partnering with VISA and BonusLink to reward 150 Malaysians with 15 months of free fuels. All you need to do to stand a chance to win is pump RM50 worth of FuelSave 95 between March 1 and April 30 this year.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Bob Mal on Feb 08, 2023 at 2:07 pm

A few points on the presentation and advertisement of this new fuel:

1) On your presentation you specifically mention new fuel for TGDi system so does it perform better for TGDi engines but almost 80% of Japanese, Local brand engines are still PFi for the masses.
    2) Removal of 65% deposit and also help clean key modern…..intake valves… (are you sure your fuel can clean the intake valves of TGDi if yes tell us how when all other countries failed to do so – but the 0 build-up carbon deposit sounds cool).
    3) Is the 15km extra per tank tested based on 35L ;or 60L fuel car tank because one of them definitely can run so much more with almost double savings.

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Feb 08, 2023 at 2:35 pm

Hope it doesn’t disappoint
      I get better mileage on Petronas
      More responsiveness on BHP

• And cun-cun cashier on Petron NKVE

• Adrian on Feb 08, 2023 at 5:14 pm

So it’s Petronas a better fuel overall?

• for me its bhp, I feel I get a bit more compare to petronas. but its probably just me, I’d say first & second place for me is either bhp or petronas. third goes to petron.. never try this new shell fuel yet so cannot say.

• hazri on Feb 08, 2023 at 7:32 pm

just use petronas fuel because it has setel, near my house, my bro in law work at petronas. so i have to support local brand.

• zaimi on Feb 09, 2023 at 7:26 pm

Shell got RFID Fuel,no need to use the app every time when fueling,only use once when register at e-wallet TnG

• Lanhb on Feb 08, 2023 at 3:15 pm

For me, Petron and BHP petrol pumps are not as many as Shell on the roads I travel daily. If can give me extra 15 kms even better.

• Paul Tan team should do an unbiased blind test with all the brands of petrol again for 2023!

• Pullhook on Feb 08, 2023 at 10:40 pm

15km extra per tank is certainly a bold claim. Assuming a typical tankful has 500km range, 15/500 = 3% increase which doesn’t sound much but adds up over time and enough to make me pass by other petrol stations to look for Shell.
    I’d love to see independant tests to verify the claim though, and scientific analysis to check if compromises were made in terms of performance and engine wear.

• RocketCatty on Feb 09, 2023 at 1:52 pm

Paul Tan editor trying to copy paste whatever statement come from the PR release. You do this kinda postman thing confirm kena fire.

At least i thought i see 15km/l, if thats the case i wouldnt mind to try. But 15km per tank, save the time laaa, extra 15km. Under what parameters, like what is questions, tank size, working temperatures, how much time took to conduct the test from full to zero? Got traffic or not during testing?

Protect engine parts? Your fuel just inject and burn only wor? How you want to do that?

• Naszreen Basir on Feb 09, 2023 at 3:15 pm

I’ve been using Shell for the last 26 years. Nothing else can beat it ..overall. Snooth power delivery delivery..better mileage…long distance. Only the red star brand… almost match it…but sheer acceleration…Shell is the best! Thank you for the great product. ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
  • Lee Nik Hwa on Feb 10, 2023 at 12:25 am

Is the New fuelsave RON95 cost more per liter compare to the existing fuelsave RON95?

Is it fuel saving for 2.0 liter engine and 1.5 liter engine?

I do admit the Shell engine oils/lubes are good performance lubricants for most petrol fueled motor vehicles.

• Ronnie Tneoh on Feb 11, 2023 at 5:08 am

Caltex Techron is already having clean features many years back. Try Caltex Techron

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • Ronnie Tneoh on Feb 11, 2023 at 5:13 am

I have try to record down mileage and fuel pump each time, Caltex is best so far. Also, u must record each station is different because many or some cheated on calibration, so eg some or most of Caltex station really value for money, u mustvtry

• Winston on Feb 12, 2023 at 3:41 pm

I already try full tank 45 litre on my proton x50, the results confirmed showing more 17km I travelled using eco mode, Tqvm for the new fuel from Shell.