Works ministry ramping up talks with MoF to open up toll payment options, no more Touch ‘n Go monopoly

The thing about monopolies are, like it or not, you’re stuck with it. Most times, there are no gripes, but when you have a captive format involving the payment for essential services and having the need to store that payment in advance, then complaints usually come about.

Such is the case with Touch ‘n Go. While it has undoubtedly unified payment for public transportation and toll collection (and private parking, for the most), the system, most notably in its physical card form, relies on one placing a monetary amount ahead of use.

Not everyone is a fan of this, notably those who pay road tolls, with the idea that they’d rather keep the money to themselves and fork it out only when they have to use it. The lack of a pay-as-you-use (or go) alternative (or for that matter, any alternative since cash payment was abolished), has meant having someone else keeping your money for your use at some point in the future.

This is set to change with the implementation of a multi-lane free flow (MLFF) toll collection system, which could be introduced ahead of its planned deployment in 2025. The barrier-free tolling system – utilising a gantry structure without designated booths or lanes – is also set to end the monopoly of Touch ‘n Go (TnG) for toll payment when it arrives.

With MLFF, users will have the freedom to choose how they want to make their toll payment, allowing pay-as-you-use payments to be carried out. Previous works minister Datuk Seri Fadillah Yusof had indicated that the public would be free to use any digital mode of payment, including credit cards or any kind of (electronic) payment system, as long as there was a link available on a particular highway.

While the government has changed, the multi-mode toll payment format remains very much on the cards, and a pilot project to trial these payment options is set to come about in the future. This was indicated by present works minister Datuk Seri Alexander Nanta Linggi during the launch of the TNB Electron DC charging network at Ayer Keroh R&R yesterday.

He said that talks on an open payment system between the works ministry and the ministry of finance as well as related concessionaires are being ramped up, and that a pilot project to enable payments through various digital payment providers would be conducted as soon as possible.

“We will do it as soon as possible (because) we have to test the system first to see if it can be used throughout the country. Discussions have also been made with the ministry of finance because it will involve financial implications, and after all parties are satisfied with the system, a decision will be made,” he said.

No timeline for the pilot project, or the forms of digital payment, were revealed. In any case, do you think the plan to introduce alternative digital payment options for toll collection should be expanded to public transport? Share your thoughts with us.

Looking to sell your car? Sell it with myTukar.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Big if true. Nice work govt.

• Why Wait on Feb 17, 2023 at 4:47 pm

Why wait for MLFF? Just make it happen now, allow all payment forms including visa/master card (credit/debit card). Also ask TnGo to allow free top-ups through ALL platforms using ALL DIGITAL or non-cash format…… with that, there’s no need to expand and wait till MLFF. Even the reload machines have the credit/debit card reader to top up or reload. Yet, it is not functioning. Make it happen and break the monopoly and benefit consumer. No one is worst off. Use the interest generated from the float to pay for everything.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 0
  • Touch for 30 years now time to go.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • DonkeyKong on Feb 19, 2023 at 6:07 pm

Touched by PMX and now they will have to leave bow-legged on a wheelchair

• Dyeus Pater on Feb 17, 2023 at 5:27 pm

pls check those shopping mall that only accept tng card for carpark entrance. There are also a few forced you to apply and use there debit card

• Keyboard warrior on Feb 17, 2023 at 5:33 pm

Just abolish TNG altogether. Let people use better payment methods on toll fares and public transportation

• Roman Abromovich on Feb 17, 2023 at 6:29 pm

If u give a credit card to a trained dog..he/she can use it at any toll.Just drop T n G,revamp the blardy crony infested system,Mr PM..You wanna score Points,chop all the parasites away,reboot,revamp,whatever is deemed productive.

• PN Best on Feb 17, 2023 at 6:04 pm

Say no to cronyism and monopoly!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • Not all PLUS R&Rs have T&G reload machines. There is none on the North-bound Seremban R&R. Reloading T&G cards at fuel stations cost 50 Sen per transaction, that’s a rip-off.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • DonkeyKong on Feb 19, 2023 at 6:10 pm

Many parking lots still charge 10% surcharge for TnG. Isn’t it obvious that TnG is a good system for crooks who enjoy squeezing the blood out of everyone and everything?

• There’s no T&G reload machine at the PLUS North-bound Seremban R&R. Reloading at fuel stations cost 50 Sen per transaction, that’s a rip-off.

• It’s not just about being tied to the TNG Card for payment but also being tied to an inefficient RFID Tag by TNG

• Best and good idea. It’s really help the road users. But why need to wait? Such plan should implement immediately. Thumbs up for the new government.

• DonkeyKong on Feb 19, 2023 at 6:12 pm

Thumbs up for what? Now it’s still in “sembang kencang” stage. Wait till it becomes reality, then you can give thumbs up. We’re getting all these ear candy but let’s not be afflicted with the same “pancut awal” syndrome as PMX. Don’t celebrate before the deal is concluded.

• Zubaier Mohammed on Feb 17, 2023 at 7:29 pm

Some car parks have already accepting parking fee payments using debit card & credit card along side T&G i.e. using the same reader. Meaning it doable!!!
    Why can’t toll collection be done similarly???
    Why only T&G???
    There shouldn’t be MONOPOLY for toll payments!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • Jimho on Feb 17, 2023 at 7:33 pm

I use only 1 car, 2019 Axia. When I go to KL (fr S’ban) I take the Komuter or the bus (to puduraya); Once in the city, I use the RapidKL systems. I have the senior citizen stored value cards for both svcs.
    I’m not sure if the plan to introduce alternative digital payment options for toll collection should be expanded to public transport, leading to a more beneficial, convenient way.
    The authorities should figure out better ways or alternatives for the benefits of the people. Anyone with good ideas plz suggest.

• Sien Simon on Feb 17, 2023 at 7:36 pm

Yes agreed and looking forward to using any payment means n no more monoply

• I love Malaysia on Feb 17, 2023 at 9:55 pm

Talking about monopoly, when will the actual fair competition of internet TV be made available to the public? Hopefully the witch hunt does not stop at TnG only.

• Zainurin Karman on Feb 17, 2023 at 10:28 pm

Many cronies have make tons of gold already. Why wait? do it soonest

• GANESNA KATERI on Feb 18, 2023 at 7:07 am

Definitely but also make sure we have enough touch and cards easily available for sales at petrol kiosk 7 eleven etc so user can buy and use for most parking requires touch n go card.

• Azhar on Feb 18, 2023 at 6:17 pm

Agree. It is now a SCAM. Looks like somebody, (TnG staffs?) Is forcing us to buy TnG card from Shopee/Lazada at exorbitant prices . And you CANT buy one at petrol stations or anywhere else.

• GANESAN KATERI on Feb 18, 2023 at 7:07 am

Definitely but also make sure we have enough touch and cards easily available for sales at petrol kiosk 7 eleven etc so user can buy and use for most parking requires touch n go card.

• Joshua Albert Goh on Feb 18, 2023 at 9:40 am

TnG started as a great idea. Then they came out with SmartTag – even better altho there were complaints motorists had to pay for the device – still there was the option to use TnG lanes. Expand toTnG Parking (for cashless parking) – boon for all. Then it seems to me the vendor got greedy and tried to expand to other areas forcing us to put in advance deposits. Serve them right! Kudos to the various people working on removing the monopoly. TnG, I felt got greedy n drunk by what it felt it had a monopolistic hold. Each time they “upgraded” motorist had to pay. If not for the then Minister of Transport refusing to let them, they would have forced RFID on SmartTag users requiring motorists to pay more to equip their cars to enjoy RFID – yet it breaks down and fails as much as SmartTag lanes. Forced to retain equal number of RFID & SmartTag lanes – now we see both have their failures and claimed “newer is faster” is BS just their $ making ploy forced on us by their monopoly. I will be the first to cheer the removal of this monopoly. But Malaysia being what it is a govt agency will take over control soon to be handed to another corporate with “cables”.

• Lt. Tan on Feb 20, 2023 at 7:01 am

Monopoly means given to cronies. Break d monopoly, unity govt. Rakyat will support you in d next GE

• AmazinglyAnnoyed on Feb 18, 2023 at 9:42 am

Even with gantry system also we have people that tailgate to avoid paying toll. With MLFF who gives a damn about toll anymore. Kena tangkap then just cry foul and says tolls are unfair and make it a political agenda. B40 poor la, cannot pay toll la, this road built on my grandpa lane la. Amend the law to allow serious offender to be hauled to court. Then ask all toll concessionaire and payment gateway to form JV that perform enforcement on this issue

• YOU WILL NOT BE MISSED!!

• lain janji lain dapat. ni nak hapus monopoli tapi nak bagi kroni… bukan hapus tol…nak bagi rakyat???? bagi byr toll je
    hancing koyak

• Bieight8 on Feb 18, 2023 at 12:18 pm

How about those expensive 35 rfid stickers?

• Ollie on Feb 18, 2023 at 12:36 pm

This is the reason i have the TNG visa card. Keep in the car for all parking use either pay wave, rfid, TNG card balance as 3rd choice. Also use it for online purchases, in case of any problems, my loss is only limited to the balance, usually rm100.

• baby driver on Feb 19, 2023 at 8:26 am

with a bank credit card your loss can be zero… not rm100. that tng visa is a debit card drawing on your ewallet. plus banks have visa debit cards too.

• Malaysian highway user on Feb 18, 2023 at 9:54 pm

Multi payment option is good but pls don’t make it multiple payment method. This will be more toll booth needed and traffic pile up

It’s is good if we use RFID or Smart Tag (if can do it like Singapore where the device is registered for the car and user can change to any ezylink card).

RFID will still back to touchnGo but good thing is user can choose to reload in many way from credit card to bank account.

SMARTTag will go old school but look more reliable if there is option where we can slot credit card and debit card.

Overall good idea but dun burden user by create multiple lane for user confuse

• Touch and go shall go on Feb 18, 2023 at 11:12 pm

Plus shall go also

• A good move to enable cash payment. Banks should follow-up by allowing conventional savings account with passbook ( savings book). especially for senior citizens and also for those who prefer this conventional method of savings.

• Allex hoe on Feb 19, 2023 at 1:44 am

TNG cards always no stock, ewallet can’t top up own TNG card, apa system itu

• Genuis System ma… So card format genius lo.. One highway three payment method…why ah?

• Rugan on Feb 19, 2023 at 12:11 pm

Time to abolish monopoly.. let the user decide the mode of payment.. debit/credit is good enough.

• Wang chin kheong on Feb 19, 2023 at 1:41 pm

Touch n go should nt monopoly road toll. Look at touch n go card is 300% more expensive than previously 5 rm. That also the company try to make it unavailable to the public to try to jack up the price higher. No to touch n go monopoly anymore!!

• no cronyism and nepotism

• Saya mintak sangat dan segera hapuskan t n g monopoli. Klau masih monopoli lg, saya anggap ada rasuah secara besar-besaran masih berlaku lagi.

• Pak Jon on Feb 19, 2023 at 1:56 pm

The sooner the better .. every week have to give an ‘advance’ of RM100.00 to TnG to be kept until utilised ..

• TFWong on Feb 19, 2023 at 5:05 pm

Yes, I fully support the idea. Firstly no one company can monopolies and enforce rules not beneficial to all parties and the idea of all electronic cards or certain of them can be used is the best alternative because not all can well effort to put in money in a card that’s not frequently used for toll .

• Steven tan on Feb 20, 2023 at 7:54 am

Rfid tag touch and go then cash. Only Malaysia make many stupid idea. Other country also already use card that only one system. Don’t want use then no drive. Our neighbours is already like that Singapore and thai

• Super Mario on Feb 20, 2023 at 9:04 am

why not just use credit cards. all cards nowadays can support RFID tap n pay. Why force people add more and more cards? Why waste material create all sorts of cars? Why cant I use my mobile phone and tap on the scanner? MALAYSIA WHY YOU SO BACKWARDS???

• Chew ghee sin on Feb 20, 2023 at 12:12 pm

Pay before service is not a friendly service.

• Sukwin on Feb 20, 2023 at 3:21 pm

I think old system stil work….the cash system…..using all kind of card is good but also a good channel for scammer….with cash on tol wil generate many job oppurtunity too….its my opinion……

• Kenji Loh on Feb 20, 2023 at 3:33 pm

WTF???? Why do u need so many companies doing the same donkey work? Just leave it to TnG lah, so far ok mah!!

• Allen Tan on Mar 22, 2023 at 1:02 am

I hope minister anthony means open to all digital payment player including ewallet, not to Visa or Mastercard only. Look at Russia, these US companies cannot be fully trusted. Even Indonesia PM recently urged regional administrations in the country to wean themselves off foreign payment networks like Mastercard and Visa