Use of Touch ‘n Go for toll payments to end by 2025, SmartTAG to also be phased out – works ministry

Yet more on the ongoing topic surrounding electronic toll collection, with the government now saying that it is planning to end the use of Touch ‘n Go (TnG) cards – and the phasing out of SmartTAG – for toll payment by 2025. At that point, the current system of toll collection will be replaced by a multi-lane free flow (MLFF) system, and users will be allowed to pay for toll using their choice of digital payment, Free Malaysia Today reports.

The new timeframe is an extension from that mentioned previously, when it was said that the government was looking to stop the use of TNG and SmartTAG by the end of 2023. The FMT report added that it is estimated that there are more than 20 million TnG cards in circulation currently, with nearly 91% of all card transactions being for toll payments on the 31 highways across the country.

In an interview with the news portal, works minister Datuk Seri Fadillah Yusof said that highway concessionaires have been told to prepare for the implementation of the MLFF by 2025. The MLFF is a barrier-free tolling system utilising a gantry structure without designated booths or lanes. Toll payment will be collected via RFID, working together with an automated number plate recognition (ANPR) system.

He said that users will have the freedom to choose how they want to make their toll payment digitally. “Soon, it will be up to the public to use any digital mode of payment, whether you want to use Touch ‘n Go e-wallet or debit or credit card or Visa or Mastercard or any kind of (electronic) payment system, as long as there’s a link available on a (particular) highway,” he told FMT.

Fadillah said the Malaysian Highway Authority (LLM) was trying to make it more convenient for motorists to make their toll payment. “We have been listening to the people’s demand to open more (online payments) and we are aware that people have been complaining that they have to pay in advance for Touch ‘n Go whether they are using (the highway) or not,” he explained.

Asked about the readiness of highway concessionaires to implement MLFF, he said that if there were delays by some concessionaires, the government would consider a private investment model or private finance initiatives to take over the MLFF system.

“The private investment model is for an open system. As you can see there are many highways in the country and all the systems need to be integrated. If we look at Singapore and Taiwan, they have a single authority control [over their systems],” he said.

On the topic of ANPR, he said the system was being trialled in a pilot project at the Kajang-Seremban Highway (LEKAS). “We are also looking at a proposal for a public-private partnership or PFI, subject to further discussion with the Lekas concessionaire and another pilot project at Besraya Highway soon,” he added. ANPR is also being utilised by PLUS on its RFID lanes.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Dong Gor on Jan 25, 2022 at 6:48 pm

provide some trade in value for old smart tags lar… u all install we follow je. and we need to folk out money for the smart tag…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • Are you sure MLFF is using passive (sticker) RFID ? If yes, another disaster in the process….!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Curious on Jan 25, 2022 at 8:41 pm

Actually who wil gain more wit tis implementation, the rakyat or highway concessionaire or the company that given to install the system.

• I think we who have money in KWSP got a little gain laa..hahaha. but major share gain, u know la goes to some cronies

• Bobthebuilder on Jan 25, 2022 at 9:15 pm

Ahh yes a ‘private’ firm taking over this system. Confirm get kickback la!! First time staying in malaysia?

• Joker on Jan 25, 2022 at 9:23 pm

Jokes after jokes…
    Messed in RFID implementation that planned and tested for years just a week ago. Now talk about the much more complicated stuff…

• Bieight8 on Jan 25, 2022 at 9:28 pm

Need to pay toll should be phased out…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • Angry Voters on Jan 27, 2022 at 10:56 am

Paying tolls should have been phased out in 2H 2018/ 2019. Wonder what happen to that promise…

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 25, 2022 at 10:25 pm

about time

• sohai on Jan 26, 2022 at 12:13 am

If we look at Singapore and Taiwan, they have a single authority control [over their systems],” he said. –> Yes, there are authority monitoring and action taken with full transparent and integrity, not talking syok only.
    Not that will happen like PLUS katuk rakyat money with rm0.35 tag selling at rm35.00.

• sohai on Jan 26, 2022 at 12:19 am

If monopoly is confirmed, fines of xxx-millions base on the lost need to be exercise pay to competitor via court order, the authority is not watching and sembang only. Where monopoly fines PLUS need to pay?

• PlainBS on Jan 26, 2022 at 2:23 am

High time to end legacy system and move on towards RFID. Plain BS to remain in the past.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
  • This RFID system sucks just yesterday I was driving at Max Highway go thru RFID it detected that no enough money to pay for toll ok I back off go to Smart Tag … & Pay… after the first toll I top up RM100 Touch & Go ewallet.
    Then when Exit Max Highway go thru the toll again it says no enough money reverse again to change lane …. Hhmmmm Didn’t I just top up just now!! My phone apps showed Rm100…. system not canggih afterall ….. Letih la mcm ni

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • Lolwhut? on Jan 27, 2022 at 11:00 am

Are you that stupid, you came in paying 1 method and you expect to come out paying another?
      For instance you take ticket on the way into a carpark then you get fruss when you cannot exit using TNG card, and you letih blaming the carpark system? Are people that stupid nowadays?!

• nivlekpay on Jan 26, 2022 at 9:04 am

think the ppl asked to remove all tolls….

• before 2018, already said wanted to start RFID but after that someone lost power. Now, the someone gain power again, it is time to reactive RFID and continue to treat Rakyat fool!

• Zulkarim on Jan 26, 2022 at 12:13 pm

Make sure RFID lane run smooth 1st then talk about changing the system. Right now it is just “Reverse Forward Idiot Device”.

• I just dont get it. I have been using T&G Zing Card since 2012 and there is absolutely zero issue with the Zing Card and it will automatically topup when my balance is low so i have zero issue to topup the card. and no issue with low balance since i will never run out of balance. Why zing card can somehow do online reload and the usual card cannot?

• Barath on Jan 26, 2022 at 7:27 pm

Go sunway pyramid parking complex and learn something there – plate recognition cameras.

• Kawasaki on Feb 04, 2022 at 4:20 pm

Half the time going there the exit system will hang or malfunction for whatever reason, happened to me 3
      times as well as to other people, always need guard there and take ages to open the gate.