Gov’t targets 60% RFID usage in Malaysia by end-2022 – use of TnG and SmartTag may stop by end-2023

The government says it is targeting to achieve 60% usage of radio frequency identification (RFID) for toll collection by the end of 2022, and that the use of Touch ‘n Go (TnG) and SmartTAG cards may be stopped by the end of 2023.

This was revealed by deputy works minister Datuk Arthur Joseph Kurup, who said that until then, TnG and SmartTag lanes will continue to be available for road users, Bernama reports.

“We understand the concerns voiced by highway users and would like to clarify that for now, Touch‘ n Go and SmartTag card lanes remain operational on all highways and they will only be phased out, taking into account RFID usage rates and RFID lane availability,” he said during the question-and-answer session at the Dewan Negara yesterday.

Responding to a supplementary question from Senator Aknan Ehtook on the ministry’s plans to implement RFID, he said that the push towards RFID was because the system had a much lower cost than TnG and SmartTag and allow easier topping up, aside from not having maintenance costs such as replacing a battery, such as that needed for SmartTag.

The system would also improve traffic flow, he added. “At the RFID lane, we can clear 1,000 vehicles per hour, but with Touch‘ n Go it is only 550 vehicles per hour, meaning this technology (RFID) can indeed help reduce congestion at toll plazas,” he said.

He said to encourage adoption, the government is providing a RM10 cashback discount through e-wallets for in-app purchase of a RFID tag. “At the same time we are still studying some methods to provide additional incentives, such as new car buyers having RFID already installed,” he said.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• newme on Dec 21, 2021 at 12:52 pm

How to expect 60% usage when you only install RFID lanes to selected few toll plaza only? Many other toll plaza in KV don’t even have it.
    Just like how they remove 3G network when 4G coverage is still lacking.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
    • Sick & Tired on Dec 21, 2021 at 4:00 pm

If you only bothered reading, PLUS is rolling out RFID nationally from Juru up north to Skudai down south. Keep yourself relevant if you want to talk about technology, your issues are obsolete.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
      • RFID is good but there are many cons which there are people complaining on RFID than SmartTag and TNG.

• Engineer on Dec 22, 2021 at 1:59 pm

Everything has pros & cons, but the pros of technology will always outweigh the cons. Only Malaysians love to criticise whenever the nation try to move forward.

When switching to RFID, many say they prefer ST & it is better.
          But when ST was around, many say it is bad and they prefer more TNG lanes.
          When TNG was made exclusive, many demanded for cash payment to remain.
          We will never progress if we continue to think like that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 14
          • RFID is future usage technology for toll plaza. But think about that, there are many criticisms about RFID since they have already use RFID before. I also use RFID tag, I have don’t hate RFID but RFID needs to be reviewed and work minister needs more time before phasing out SmartTag and TNG

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
    • Copy Paste on Dec 21, 2021 at 5:13 pm

Copy paste: “By early 2022, RFID toll payments are expected to be available at all PLUS highways.

“To realise the MLFF system, as implemented in other countries, highway users must first switch to RFID. The transition to RFID needs to be done in stages over a period of time to give consumers the opportunity to adapt to the toll payment method of the new millennium,” “

• mr1031 on Dec 21, 2021 at 1:01 pm

a useless upgrade..now have to maintain a lot of things

• SureshK on Dec 21, 2021 at 1:05 pm

SmartTag lane should remain, and convert the manual TnGo lane to either SmartTag or RFID lane. The congestion is in TnGo lane.What I want to do with my smartTag gadget?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
    • Sick & Tired on Dec 21, 2021 at 4:02 pm

Put it in a museum, that is what RFID are meant to do.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
      • But there are many who prefer to use SmartTag and TNG than RFID

• Engineer on Dec 22, 2021 at 1:55 pm

Some also prefer to pay cash but why the country must regress just to keep the fringe segments happy?

• Celup King on Dec 22, 2021 at 4:12 pm

Cash is king! I, the king, have spoken.

• Meanwhile, please switch some tng lanes to RFID instead of combining smart tag and RFID. Rather than disrupting the already considered smooth flow of smart tag users, switch some tng to RFID will be better

• Couldnt agree more. This is how they should do it. But maybe due to heavy vehicles still need to use tNg and not smartag maybe?

• Semi-Value (Member) on Dec 21, 2021 at 1:17 pm

useless rfid doesnt even function properly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • razibar on Dec 21, 2021 at 1:20 pm

replace smartag battery only once a year maaa at user own cost maaa.. what is this talk about cost savings

• How to reload your TnG when in the highway, in the middle of the night or no reload stations available maaa? You may say can plan our trips and reload in advance but what happens if in an emergency and no time to reload maaa?

• The Traveller on Dec 21, 2021 at 2:00 pm

Must be joking! Simply make statements..

• I tried to purchase via TnG ewallet, but there’s no Rm10 cashback stated.. when is the cashback start?

• Smart tag on Dec 21, 2021 at 2:20 pm

RFID technology not event better than smart tag.. more profit to the contractors rather than solve the problem..

• Sungai Dua on Dec 21, 2021 at 2:39 pm

They want to increase RFID usage but closed down the second RFID lane at Sungai Dua causing it to have the longest queue. No idea what PLUS is playing at.

• How comes nobody mentions about RFID sticker vandalism? Only knows how to collecting money only.

• Mr. Sotong on Dec 21, 2021 at 3:02 pm

2 things…

1. ‘The system would also improve traffic flow, he added. “At the RFID lane, we can clear 1,000 vehicles per hour, but with Touch‘ n Go it is only 550 vehicles per hour, meaning this technology (RFID) can indeed help reduce congestion at toll plazas,” he said.’

Confirm this joker don’t drive. The jam is not at the toll. The jam is always BEFORE or AFTER the toll la!

2. What about rental cars/socar/loan cars? How to charge accordingly? I’m sure they did not think of this.

• Jimmy Chu on Dec 27, 2021 at 10:40 am

One thing I can think about on rental/socar/loan cars is loaner/borrower will have to pay deposit for RFID usage.

• Making people dumb on Dec 21, 2021 at 3:52 pm

1. You say 1000 vehicles can pass per hour for RFID, TnG 550, what about SmartTag?
    2. Whose paying for SmartTag battery? Cost only for owner lah.
    3. If TnG slow, then have more SmartTag la oiii since its more reliable. Rocket science?
    4. Have you noticed the problem with RFID especially vehicles reversing. Its nuisance lah.

• tricycle on Dec 21, 2021 at 3:53 pm

What an inconsiderable decision. The minister doesn’t know some cars got stuck behind the exclusive RFID lane, because it doesn’t detect and no TnG post on the driver’s side to remedy the situation.

It is easier for the minister to say THEORETICALLY RFID can clear 1,000 car per hour and TnG only 550 per hour. Try to drive on your own WITHOUT ESCORTS during peak hours or during the festive season.

This minister is very selfish.

If there is TnG post on the driver’s side whenever the RFID doesn’t work, I am all in for RFID.

• What an inconsiderable decision. The minister doesn’t know some cars got stuck behind the exclusive RFID lane, because it doesn’t detect and no TnG post on the driver’s side to remedy the situation.

I face this problem unable detect 2 time!

• newme on Dec 21, 2021 at 4:07 pm

They remove cash lane not too long ago. So people went to buy tng and smart tag. Now they want to stop that too?
    Buy back the our smart tags then we will switch to RFID.

• Arnie on Dec 22, 2021 at 1:10 pm

Not too long ago was like 10 years ago dude. Time to move on from there.

• newme on Dec 23, 2021 at 8:42 am

Only idiot make statement without checking fact. It was removed in 2017. Check dulu fact. Kang dah kena. Malu tak malu.

• Jimmy Chu on Dec 27, 2021 at 11:30 am

bruh, who forced you to use ST. Smart tags isnt compulsory. Buy TNG only less than RM15. So cheapskate laa.

• 4G63T DSM on Dec 21, 2021 at 7:44 pm

In case this idiot don’t realise.

The jam starts AFTER the toll gates. So what if you get more people through? Hahaha

I still like the flexibility of the card and smart tag.

• i frequently see cars at rfid lane had to reverse coz cant pass the lane…
    sure ka? all switch to rfid?

• allan on Dec 21, 2021 at 9:31 pm

with current tng smartag, i can use on which ever car i want to passes by toll plaza…1 device for all my cars, now with rfid, i have to purchase few units…..if i dont, i have to purposely use the car with rfid or else i wont be able to use toll road/hgwy when it phase out…..so incovenient……morever it is recommended to place on left headlight, malaysian weather very quickly oxidized our headlight, then it will be difficult to clean the headlight…..

• Sales on Dec 21, 2021 at 9:32 pm

Jam is still jam. Faster pass through the toll mean faster car got jam together after the toll, what’s the point? I see maybe less jam only inside the toll compare to always not working smart tag user. Rfid tag should come free for user just top up an amount. If the rfid tag not working need replacement and change car, pay again for new tag? No more tng and cash lane we are left with no choice. Just pray this new system help ease traffic jam in and out of toll…

• What is the onus to remove SmartTag. It is existing infrastructure. There should be a combination of SmartTags and RFID ? If there is a infrastructure problem. At least there is a back up. Maintain separation of the 2 systems and use this as a back up for system down. Why throw away hardware that can be used ?

• What an absolute MESS they have created.
    All the talk about how RFID is supposed to cheap and few “sens” to produce and yet it cost RM30 to buy, RM30 whenever I swapcars, RM30 whenever it gets damaged.
    Also what is their solution to cars that lack RFID, example new or used cars without owners, what about commercial vehicles that isn’t tied to 1 user, what about family cars that gets used by multiple people. All these cars have to be tied to only 1 account. It’s going to be so much more difficult trying to keep track on how much is spent by each driver.
    It seemed like nobody sit down in a room and thought about any of this before making it mandatory. A large majority of elder folks are still clueless as to how to use the TNG app because there’s so much garbage on it like Lazada and Delivereat because that is somehow far more important than getting someone from Point A to Point B. What a absolute joke.

• TnG card user on Dec 22, 2021 at 7:54 am

Why consider phasing out TnG card? This card not only can pay toll; can also use for bus, train & parking. Convenient multipurpose card.

• Brian on Dec 22, 2021 at 4:00 pm

Use NFC function on your phone. Works the same and less hassle of carry the card

• https://paultan.org/2021/03/29/reload-touch-n-go-card-via-ewallet-ready-by-year-end/
        Bro, according to this news, the TnG card card is still being used as the NFC feature is already used for PayDirect and will be used for reloading TnG card via ewallet by end of the year.

• M.Zamri on Dec 22, 2021 at 11:06 pm

Another corporate blood sucking scheme. Do kampung people like me need all this? We a not using Highway everyday, maybe 1 or twice a month.

• jeffchua on Dec 26, 2021 at 9:06 pm

milking money is the only and true way of "innovative", RFID quality not stable at all i had 2 RFID tag spoil in half a year each and my other vehicle lasted since the free RFID. I still prefer smart tag, one new battery only cost less than a new RFID tag

• Maybe? on Jan 05, 2023 at 9:21 pm

Maybe there is a technology to use a mobile app? An app that bind your account to a registered car license plate (or many). Toll gantry equipped with camera to read license plate (OCR – Optical Character Recognition). Place just an intercom in case need help for whatever reason (OCR fails due to car license plate covered by mud badly)? Then server to perform online payment thru your e-wallet or online banking at the end of the trip. Maybe this way, no need any physical card (TnG), or device for Smart Tag or RFID sticker for RFID?