MRT Putrajaya Line official video – 6 interchange and connecting stations, 9 underground, open March 16

Phase 2 of the MRT Putrajaya Line will finally open to the public on March 16 and MRT Corp has released the official video for the much-anticipated full line opening.

The 38.7 km section that MRT Corp calls Phase 2 will join the first phase from Kwasa Damansara to Kampung Batu, which has been running since June 2022. With the full line open, those living near Phase 1 stations can finally get into KL city centre, direct (Kg Batu is along Jalan Ipoh, not quite the CBD). As for those living in the south of the Klang Valley, the opening of the full line has been a long time coming. Finally!

Let’s check out what the “official product video” highlights. The MRT Putrajaya Line will have 36 stations and this second MRT line will be joined to the first one – MRT Kajang Line – at its start point (Kwasa Damansara) and at the Tun Razak Exchange (TRX) in the city.

Besides these two, the other interchange stations are at Titiwangsa (Monorail, LRT Ampang/Sri Petaling), Chan Sow Lin (LRT Ampang/Sri Petaling) and Sungai Besi (LRT Sri Petaling). Ampang Park (LRT Kelana Jaya Line) is a connecting station and not an interchange station. What’s the difference? You can change lines at connecting stations, but you’ll have to tap out and in again. It’s seamless at interchange stations.

Ampang Park aside, the other connecting stations are not operated by Rapid KL, which is why the official communications lists down only six interchange/connecting stations (why though?). Anyway, they are at Sungai Buloh and Sri Damansara Timur (KTM Komuter Tg Malim – Port Klang Line), Kampung Batu (KTM Komuter Batu Caves – Pulau Sebang Line) and Putrajaya Sentral (ERL KLIA Ekspres and Transit). Basically, all existing train lines are connected to this new one.

The video also shows the underground stations of the line, which are from Sentul Barat (along Jalan Ipoh) to Chan Sow Lin. The underground stations between these two are Titiwangsa, Hospital Kuala Lumpur, Raja Uda, Ampang Park, Persiaran KLCC, Conlay and TRX.

There are so many interesting stations along the new line, but HKL is among the most useful new ones. Now, people from the entire Klang Valley – whether direct or changing from other lines – can reach GH by train. This might not sound like a big deal to many of you who drive everywhere, but there are many senior citizens who go to the hospital regularly, and e-hailing/cabs are expensive. They can also benefit from concession cards.

The video also shows airport-style travelators for the HKL station, which once again, would really help the elderly. Of course, the MRT is OKU friendly and there are tactile paving for the blind and a ‘gapless’ (my word, not theirs) transition from train to platform for wheelchairs.

The video shows all lapisan masyarakat, but there’s one that stands out for me – the active crowd. Runners and cyclists are depicted, and with good reason. Putrajaya is a popular place to cycle and run on the weekends due to the nice scenery and the sheer vastness of the place, and now, we can ride the train there. I checked, and the distance from Putrajaya Sentral to the lake at Seri Wawasan Bridge is just 2.5 km.

By the way, did you know that foldable bicycles are allowed on the MRT during off-peak hours and weekends/public holidays? That’s 10am to 3pm and 9pm to midnight from Monday to Friday, and 6am till midnight on weekends and public holidays. So you can bring your foldies to Putrajaya on the weekends.

There are many running events held at the administrative capital and I want to try take the train there someday – it surely beats the long slog of a drive home on the MEX, where I have the tendency to microsleep after the morning run. There’s a station in Cyberjaya too, so those who work there might want to give the train a try. Lastly, the video shows a speed of 90 km/h.

The MRT Putrajaya Line makes Klang Valley a much more connected place, a better place, and I’m really looking forward to go places with it.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• sorry lah, no amount of slickly produced video can hide the fact that the MRT/LRT/Komuter in Klang Valley is rife with problems, delays and breakdowns. This video may impress foreigners but not for the majority of Malaysians. simpan sajalah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 50
    • the one that need to simpan is yourself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
    • Rakyat Malaysia on Mar 09, 2023 at 3:19 pm

Dua bulan lambat. Trus Gagal.
      #KjaanGagal
      #BringBackPMAhjibkor

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 27
    • Got public transport complain, no public transport also complain haiya

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
      • Sick & Tired on Mar 09, 2023 at 4:43 pm

Complain about PH that reduce the size of LRT3, cancel MRT3, cancel HSR, nearly cancel ECRL, delayed KVDT, strangled Monorail, deprived LRT KJ & AM lines of spares that resulted in recent accidents, reduced bus services, stop iconic Penang ferry service, breakdown KLIA aerotrain, they are only lucky no airplane tumbang.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 18
    • Well good to know you wont be on it. Less people more space. Pls encourage your like minded friends to do the same and stick to the roads. Good luck.

• eeeriz on Mar 10, 2023 at 12:03 pm

The frequent failure of LRT KJ line is due to lack of planning on Rapid side, afterall it is oredi 25 years. Rapid need to learn how to maintain these trains for a longer period. This MRT Putrajaya is a new line, i don’t expect breakdown anytime.

• The newer trains face lesser problems. Especially MRT and this new MRT2. If you’re talking about the 20 year old LRT trains then yes, itu banyak la masalah.

• Hamzah Abdul Rahman on Mar 11, 2023 at 8:16 am

MRT does not cater for your fancy alone, if you think it’s a bane to your needs… DRIVE!!

• Raja Kamarul on Mar 09, 2023 at 4:21 pm

Operator is still Prasarana. Within 3 years major issues will be creeping up. Silly operator that sucks money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
    • Sick & Tired on Mar 09, 2023 at 4:44 pm

Caused by PH Gomen that strangled their fundings to buy spareparts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • Ini Kali Free 1 month ride again.
    Can help reduce traffic jam, help promote KV Klang Valley tourism economy recovery.

• 火车爱好者 on Mar 09, 2023 at 10:31 pm

介意MRT 2去往Titiwangsa的车站广播音不要说可以换乘LRT Sri Petaling/Ampang,因为铁柱与轨道扭曲还没弄好,会误以为可以去往Sri Petaling/Ampang

• Hamzah Abdul Rahman on Mar 11, 2023 at 8:17 am

MRT does not cater for your fancy alone, if you think it’s a bane to your needs… DRIVE!!

• Thank you Najib!

• Railmylife on Mar 10, 2023 at 6:31 pm

Think my only real gripe is that they had an opportunity to make ampang park an interchange station through a short tunnel but was removed from the package due to cost cutting

• Tikar Kajang on Mar 11, 2023 at 5:15 pm

Project by MRT, operations & maintenance by Prasarana…Question: What is the plan for maintenance effectiveness be like by Prasarana? Proof it with the current situation with actions….let see…