Bangkok 2023: Peugeot 408 is now an unrecognisable fastback crossover – 225 PS, 360 Nm PHEV; RM360k

This Peugeot might look like a concept car, but it’s now on sale in Thailand. It’s the all-new Peugeot 408, which is now an unrecognisable fastback crossover. Name sounds familiar? The previous 408 was a conservatively-styled C-segment sedan that was once CKD locally assembled in Kulim. It’s a rare sight, probably harder to spot than Lamborghinis.

Anyway, this new 408 made its debut in June 2022 and wears Peugeot’s new lion head badge proudly on all four sides. There’s no shortage of surfacing and detailing here, which is typical of the flamboyant French brand. If you stare at those 20-inch wheels long enough, you might get hypnotised – I can’t even describe the design. Do u see a ‘Z’ or is it just me? The dashboard is a super sharp rendition of Peugeot’s signature i-Cockpit.

The 408 rides on the Stellantis’ EMP2 platform that also underpins the 308, 508 and Citroen C5 X; the latter is also now a crossover. At 4,687 mm long and 1,848 mm wide, this lion is 64 mm longer and just 7 mm less wide than the Honda CR-V, so it’s a sizeable car. The wheelbase is a long 2,787 mm.

In Thailand, the 408 is available as a plug-in hybrid. The powertrain consists of a 1.6 litre turbo engine with 180 PS and 250 Nm of torque at 1,750 rpm, and an electric motor delivering 110 PS and 320 Nm, juiced by a 12.4 kWh lithium-ion battery located under the boot floor. Total output is 225 PS and 360 Nm, delivered via an eight-speed automatic transmission.

This PHEV system is capable of 63 km pure electric range on the WLTP cycle. Charging it up with 7.4 kW AC power takes one hour and 55 minutes. PureTech 130 (1.2L, 130 PS, 230 Nm) and Hybrid 180 (1.6L PHEV, 180 PS, 360 Nm) powertrain options are available in other markets.

The Peugeot 408 retails for 2,790,000 baht here, which is equivalent to RM361,478. Like the old 408 in Malaysia, this unique beast might also be as rare as the rarest Lambo in Thailand. Price aside, what do you think of the new Peugeot 408 and its unusual format?

GALLERY: Peugeot 408 at BIMS 2023

GALLERY: Peugeot 408 official images

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• beautiful…i would choose this over bmw 3 or merc c in terms of looks
    but the rear is abit…hmmm messy

• Andrew Tang on Mar 23, 2023 at 7:15 am

The 1.2 liter engine version is already in Spore.Saw it in person.I will buy it if sold in Msia.Just magnificient!

• Ben Yap on Mar 23, 2023 at 8:23 am

i will buy it as second car and it has to be a used unit. i want to enjoy the low resale value that has been absorbed by the first owner.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
    • Hahahahahah on Mar 23, 2023 at 8:22 pm

Many guys alike u, No wonder this era guys dont mind 2 3 4 5 hand used women because the cost is normally absorb by previous guy and the women know about this so at the end diam diam dengar cakap to whoever who willing to mai dan after many test drove (pay the last bill to purchase aka marry). Bwahahahha. Luckily I like new one. Ops first hand i mean. Enjoy your used one guy, just dont regret after marry ops no, after purchased your car, my bad.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
      • so u compare used car with women huhh. you are very brilliant

• widow shopping on Mar 26, 2023 at 5:31 pm

2nd hand women is top notch…they know how to cook, know how to perform on bed ..oh dayummm, they’re the best…no one would want a brand new woman after tasting the sweet 2nd hand quality…

• Right? on Jul 05, 2023 at 4:04 pm

So what’s wrong with that? Car and women not the same bruh. For me, I prefer the 2nd hand women as they’ll appreciate more, caring etc than the first one. And no need to teach them as they all pro in all aspects already. Lol

• Chong Or Pei on Mar 23, 2023 at 9:29 am

I’m thinking Robocop’s SUX 600…. LOL

• 8481mal on Mar 23, 2023 at 9:46 am

Peugeot Urus, so freaking nice

• @NotBruceWayne on Mar 23, 2023 at 10:48 am

208???????????????????

• Sohai on Mar 23, 2023 at 11:32 am

Terrible looking and not cohesive.
    Like an off-spring of a pug and a wombat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
  • Chinese got 1 saying, ahma already don’t recognize

• suomynona on Mar 24, 2023 at 8:26 pm

I think Peugeot under Bermaz is abit hesitant of bringing anything other than SUVs here. But here above, is an antidote.

Its got a fastback like the 508, and you can market this as an SUV, no one would bat an eye. Win-win. Think of it like a CX-30, eventually they CKD’ed it. I think peeps will accept this 408 here (the last gen is dead on arrival since the Civic of that era is turbo & high tech anyway)

• Tan Soon Wah on May 11, 2023 at 10:09 pm

Can use or not new model 408. I got a peugeot
    Year 2014 1.6 thp. Maintenance very high. Always repair. Even my friend got model 508. Always go to workshop. No confidence with peugeot car.

• ex peugeot fans on May 16, 2023 at 9:36 am

so terrible the design, engine looks the same. poor peugeot. dont buy.