End of Puspakom monopoly – will this lead to Malaysia adopting compulsory roadworthiness test like the UK?

It was announced last week that Puspakom will no longer be the only agency providing vehicle inspection services from next year, when the company’s current concession comes to an end on August 31, 2024. While its concession will be renewed, it will no longer have a monopoly in the segment

Depending on how many competitors emerge in the future, this should open up the road in offering motorists more options to do car inspections. The move to increase the playing field also finally opens up the possibility of having compulsory periodic roadworthiness tests like the UK’s MoT.

Malaysia does have something along those lines, in the form of the Voluntary Vehicle Inspection (VVI) programme, although as its moniker suggests, there is nothing compulsory about it. Introduced as part of the original outline of the National Automotive Policy (NAP 2014), the programme was very much an early lead towards making roadworthiness tests a prerequisite somewhere down the road.

Puspakom VVI test points.

Applicable to cars over the age of five years when it was first mooted, it did come to light and still exists, available via Puspakom, although take-up of this is very much left to those wanting a 25-point check-up for their vehicle when free campaigns pop up, and having the patience to go through with it – I haven’t heard of anyone making an appointment to have their vehicle inspected voluntarily away from when there is a campaign pushing it.

It was also stated then that inspection centres would not be limited to any one agency or company like Puspakom, crucial for such a scheme to work, given the limitations of having only one player handling it. To put it simply, it being only available through Puspakom would have created a bottleneck if it were to be implemented as mandatory.

The government’s decision to open up the business to multiple service providers makes the concept of working towards compulsory periodic roadworthiness tests a reality, although it would still take a good while for this to happen. Frequency, points of inspection and costs are things that will need to be determined.

UK MoT test inspection points.

In the UK MoT test, a number of items on a vehicle are inspected to determined that they meet the legal standards. These range from body/vehicle structure, doors, mirrors, brakes and lights to tyres/wheels, steering and suspension as well as seats/seat belts, windscreen and even the horn. The present 25-point VVI test we have here is very similar in terms of inspection scope.

In the UK, all cars over three years old are required to do scheduled MoT tests to ensure they remain roadworthy. If anything is wrong, it needs to be rectified first before the car can be taxed and driven on the road.

However, it is pertinent to note that in the UK, even small workshops are licenced and authorised to perform MOT tests and issue certificates, making the process fast and easy. The latest info here suggests new players cannot be regular workshops and will need to run a similar setup as Puspakom, so we’ll see how this develops.

If periodic inspections do eventually become a thing in Malaysia, the roads will be a safer place. By extension, the system can be used as a more reliable gauge for older cars being roadworthy or not, instead of the over-simplified, vague End of Life policy that would deem any car over 20 years as due for scrap.

Older cars, if maintained well – and proven by the periodic inspections – can still be considered roadworthy under such a scheme. It will however almost certainly incur extra costs, which is likely to not sit well with motorists. This is something that will need to be considered by the government.

What do you think of the possibility of Malaysia having compulsory vehicle roadworthiness inspections? Share your thoughts with us in the comments section.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• practical car lover on Mar 28, 2023 at 12:41 pm

Now puspakom charges RM50 for voluntary inspection and RM30 for transferring to sell/buy cars. So if the gates are open to private money-making companies do you believe that the fees will be the same? I highly doubt it.

New players need to have start from scratch and get all the equipments etc so expect that once puspakom is out of the picture, those fees are gonna be higher from the new players.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
    • Chong Or Pei on Mar 28, 2023 at 3:58 pm

You do know that Puspakom also received their concession extension for 15 years, yes? That starts on 1 September 2024, at the end of their current concession on 31 August 2024.

Which is why I believe the rates will go up, and yes, as the article says, Malaysia will make mandatory inspection for all cars, say every 3 years. Why? More players will mean smaller pie for the players, so must enable them to make money.

• hazri on Mar 28, 2023 at 4:44 pm

thats the problem bila monopolisme terlalu lama. samalah macam tng.

• Tango 69 on Mar 29, 2023 at 9:38 pm

How many years you think the “monopoly” company can recoup its investment? I think you have got the concept wrong, the public narrative on “monopoly” is influenced by misperception. The business environment the “monopoly” company is operating in is highly regulated and saturated where it needs to fulfill all the regulatory compliance with fees chargeable to consumer is gazetted and controlled by the Government. Plus it needs to have its infra and facilities nationwide, all populated areas despite non-business viable. Unless the infra and facilities is provided by the Gov. nationwide, including low volume and remote areas, think Keningau, Sri Aman even Arau etc. Do a quick research, PUSPAKOM’s inspection fees remained as is since the last, almost 20 years. Do a bit more research, did PUSPAKOM has ever receive any compensation from the Gov. over the non-revision of inspection fees? Unlike PLUS etc.? Now think, the Gov. is opening up the already small market i.e. commercial vehicles to multiple players, are simply just killing off the industry, if no new scope or revision of fees by the Gov.

• inspection on Mar 28, 2023 at 1:03 pm

Make it compulsory only when the infrastructure are in place and price are control by gomen or else will be a hassle to the rakyat. Even with the compulsory requirement for commercial vehicles, there are lots of none compliance lorry/van/truck still on the road! Good grief that govt had the backbone to open up this services to other than puspakom, lots of rotten no integrity ppl there! or else why there are lots not road worthy commercial vehicles still on the road even wt the current mandatory inspection….DR M shud answer this, why only puspakom was given the contract in the first place.

• Raja Kamarul on Mar 28, 2023 at 4:01 pm

Let me tell you why.

There is a business running around the country where tyres, brake systems and other things can be rented for a few hours. Irresponsible lorry operators go to these places on the day of their inspection. They change to a good tyre, they replace brake discs with a better one. Then they pass the test. Then they return the rented items. All for a small fee.

Malaysia Boleh, bro.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
      • Hantu Raya on Mar 28, 2023 at 9:20 pm

Wah.. speaking from experience is it?

• Amah v2 on Mar 29, 2023 at 9:18 pm

U nampak suci sangat la bro, mesti guna runner hantar kenderaan inspect puspakom.

• newme on Mar 28, 2023 at 1:11 pm

If malaysia makes it mandatory to conduct road worthiness before a car is allowed to renew roadtax, it will reduce 80% of cars/bikes/lorries/busses from the road overnight

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
  • Elefan on Mar 28, 2023 at 1:38 pm

Periodic inspection is meaningless,

Ppl just take it as thier confidence for thier old junk and delay any necessary interval servicing.
    Not majority, but many ppl ignore service requirement especially after the warranty ended.

• At least, periodical inspection is a regulated baseline to ensure vehicle is roadworthy, it is to protect other vulnerable road users.

• seancorr on Mar 28, 2023 at 1:45 pm

Nah not gonna happen. Extra cost to the rakyat confirm will backfire since B40 really sensitive about this.

• Pity poor Ryan on Mar 28, 2023 at 2:57 pm

Today in Malaysia, most of the B40 has more than 3 kids and T20 keep it less than 3 kids

• Hantu Raya on Mar 28, 2023 at 9:30 pm

Ya, T20 all shooting blanks, testosterone decline etc but can afford to send children overseas to be indoctrinated by left wing woke western uni. Later comeback with they/them pronoun and don’t want kids becoz of climate change. Bloodline ends…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
        • Pity poor Ryan on Mar 29, 2023 at 8:35 am

Ya, B40 kids riding bikes to school daily at the age of 13 years old without helmet, later die complain drivers drive fast, thumbs up

• Hantu Raya on Mar 29, 2023 at 9:24 am

That’s why they have more kids, because there’s going to be that one idiot thats going to win a Darwin award early.

Strength in numbers wokies. their birth rates are above replacement levels, T20s cant hold a candle.

• paparadzi on Mar 28, 2023 at 6:05 pm

As long as anything is opposed by the B40, don’t worry, it won’t happen. Things will happen only when approved by the so-called B40, which are not necessarily poor people.

• donno on Mar 28, 2023 at 1:50 pm

But in UK all cars/motorcycles above 40 years of age is exempt from MOT

will this be applicable to malaysia too?

• Salary rm1500, 5 kids, can only afford to drive old iswara. Ask for inspection, went in n then failed. Ask to repair this n that worth rm600, could be more if emissions to be accounted for esp euro 4 n above. U see the trap? These lowly worthless politicians only knows how to squeeze the people. Always being parasitic could not live without sucking the blood of others. Ordinary citizens have suffered enough n now this? I know its about safety, but do we have 23k below car? NO.. End monopoly konon.. u bet all hands on deck with contracts given to YB’s cronies n close relatives/friends.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 14
    • Pity poor Ryan on Mar 28, 2023 at 2:55 pm

Salary RM1.5k dare to have 5 kids, then blame government for expensive goods, no money repair cars, complain government suck money

RM1.5k can buy quite a numbers of condoms, use that, you no need 5 kids to survive

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
      • hazri on Mar 28, 2023 at 4:42 pm

my bro in law salary rm8k, my sis in law salary rm7k, total rm15k, ada anak 5 pun nampak susah hidup. orangnya penjimat tak beli barang mahal, tak makan mahal, tak makan luar, tak bermewah. bantuan kerajaan memang tak adala. padahal komitmen kereta wish lama dan rumah teres rm400k je. inikan lagi orang gaji 1500 nak ada 5 anak. hmmm kesian anak-anak dia mesti banyak benda kena catu.

• Hantu Raya on Mar 28, 2023 at 9:26 pm

There are more than 10 types of birth control for women, why keep harping on the only one for men? Misandrist much?

• Pity poor Ryan on Mar 29, 2023 at 8:36 am

Malaysia cannot move on because of your stupid mindset, no need consider any side effects ? You might be the asshole that having 3k income and 8 kids at home, begging for subsidy and cry when T20 earning more than u

Grow up kid, u need to change ur mindset

• Hantu Raya on Mar 29, 2023 at 9:27 am

Ooooh…the soy is strong with this one ..

• Hantu Raya on Mar 29, 2023 at 9:41 am

I understand your frustration, no satisfaction with partner for prolonged period, thats why need to adopt womanese SIGN (shaming, insults, guilt tripping, need to be right) language. Some more diet too much soy, tetsotorone too low.

May I suggest copper iud + cervi cap + spermicide. Best combo ever. You too get happy ending?

• newme on Mar 28, 2023 at 3:35 pm

thats the problem with malaysia. we keep pampering the poor and useless. Vehicles should be regulated so they are SAFE to be used on pulic roads. And now you think we should keep law and regulation slack, just so a certain group of people can continue using their old junks on public roads? When an accident happens and gets people killed, you will be happy?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
      • Hantu Raya on Mar 29, 2023 at 5:05 pm

Wah…elitist much? You sound like a completely out of touch democrat

• Mike Tee on Mar 29, 2023 at 11:45 am

Leaving emissions aside, at least fix worn tyres, brakes, broken seat belts, warning lights (engine), windscreen, horns/mirrors, number plates, indicator/hazard/head/brake lights, reflectors and wipers. This is the list in the UK MOT BTW. Also no flappy rusted body parts.

Surely we can agree that these are the bare minimum to be considered road worthy?

• dong gor on Mar 28, 2023 at 2:42 pm

if you put the gain vs the hassle/ cost side by side, does this inspection do any good to the ppl/ environment? Puspakom has been there for more than a decade or something like that…and yet, on the road i see vehicles with lots of smoke still roaming the city. and loud exhaust? and almost 90% of cars have tinted the windows beyond limit (include menteri-menteri’s alphard!).

• newme on Mar 28, 2023 at 3:36 pm

because puspakom is just a service. it’s not a MUST to pass puspakom for cars to be used on public roads. YET.

• Psyduck on Mar 28, 2023 at 4:21 pm

I was a sucker to go for the FOC CNY inspection. Did you know that you have to pay the Sales Tax (can’t remember the ammount but it was below RM10) when making the online appointment? I chose the Teluk Kumbar branch as I thought being a remote branch, there would be a shorter queue.
    I was made to queue together with the many agents that brought their vehicles for testing too and the Puspakom officer entertained them first as she seems to be familiar with all of these agents.
    Then the waiting game begins before they call you to drive your car into the testing bay. From 1 bay to another bay for different tests and eventually to receiving the inspection report costed me 4.5 hours (the actual testing took only 10 – 15 minutes).
    Result? Every test passed except for my number plate format failed as the ‘1’ was pasted with an ‘I’ – I told the officer that I have never changed my number plate from the showroom till today. He politely told that I am lucky as this was a voluntary inspection or I would have been summoned by JPJ – I believe there are many vehicles on the road today with an ‘I’ as ‘1’.
    I will never ever go for another FOC inspection even if they were to offer me big angpow!

• Gabriel on Mar 28, 2023 at 4:23 pm

How frequent we will need to use puspakom? Rare am i right? Why focus on something that we rakyat rarely use?
    I will have more respect towards the government if they stop Astro’s and Genting’s monopoly. Focus on that instead so that rakyat can get their value for money

• komarad on Mar 29, 2023 at 7:54 am

the public roads not so wholesome…

• To answer the title, yes, please do that. Sick of cars doing less than 90 km/h on PLUS. Majority of them are old cars. New cars driving slow on hiway clearly that the drivers are not road-worthiness.

• Alpha 69 on Mar 29, 2023 at 9:41 pm

How many years you think the “monopoly” company can recoup its investment? I think you have got the concept wrong, the public narrative on “monopoly” is influenced by misperception. The business environment the “monopoly” company is operating in is highly regulated and saturated where it needs to fulfill all the regulatory compliance with fees chargeable to consumer is gazetted and controlled by the Government. Plus it needs to have its infra and facilities nationwide, all populated areas despite non-business viable. Unless the infra and facilities is provided by the Gov. nationwide, including low volume and remote areas, think Keningau, Sri Aman even Arau and manu more locations in West and East Malaysia etc. Do a quick research, PUSPAKOM’s inspection fees remained as is since the last, almost 20 years. Do a bit more research, did PUSPAKOM has ever receive any compensation from the Gov. over the non-revision of inspection fees? Unlike PLUS etc.? Now think, the Gov. is opening up the already small market i.e. commercial vehicles to multiple players, are simply just killing off the industry, if no new scope or revision of fees by the Gov. Yes, competition is healthy, but the Gov. also has Governmental obligation to enasure business entities operating in a regulated market are effective and PROFITABLE. After all it’s is not a welfare org., it has employed skilled technical and professionals that are working to provide for the family.