Mercedes-Benz GLC300 4Matic will be sole CKD X254 for Malaysia – no PHEV planned, GLC200 still in the air

If you’ve set your eyes on a locally-assembled second-gen Mercedes-Benz GLC when it comes later this year, you’re going to have to go with just one variant, and that’s the GLC 300 4Matic, the version introduced here in its CBU form last week.

According to Mercedes-Benz Malaysia (MBM), the variant is the only representation of the regular X254 that has been planned for our market as of now. The GLC 300 e plug-in hybrid isn’t coming our way, and there might not even be a GLC 200 derivative, unlike with the previous-gen X253 and subsequently, its facelift.

The PHEV being a non-starter was confirmed by MBM president and CEO Sagree Sardien when we asked about plans for its introduction during the GLC 300 launch. She said that while the company will continue with its electrification strategy, it doesn’t involve a GLC plug-in.

“The GLC portfolio will stay as narrow and streamlined as it is. There is no immediate intention for us to bring in a plug-in hybrid variant, and we will continue with the GLC 300 4Matic. If we see a significant demand in terms of PHEV requirements, we will look into it, but we believe that the electric portfolio that is coming in will more than cater to various customer demands,” she said.

As for a GLC 200, it’s still too early to tell if there will be one for the new GLC, in right-hand drive form that is. While the specific variant exists, it’s rumoured that the automaker is not planning to offer a RHD version of it on a global level, the result of a streamlining in the number of product variants being offered.

It wasn’t confirmed that Malaysia would not get a RHD GLC 200 in the future, with Christian Grimsberg, MBM GM of pricing and product management, simply saying that it is a very much a case of wait-and-see.

Prev-gen X253 GLC 200 AMG Line facelift.

“To retrospectively look at it, for the X253 generation GLC and GLC Coupe, the number of variants brought in was also because of global development of these. Obviously, we are too early in the stage to know the number of global variants that will be developed over the life cycle, so it remains to be seen which variants will be available and how the market demands fully develop,” he explained.

Resolution on whether buyers can expect a lower GLC variant should hopefully come when the CKD GLC 300 4Matic arrives later this year. According to Sardien, local assembly for the SUV is expected to commence in sometime in the second half of 2023. In the meantime, those wanting a new GLC will just have to be patient until that arrives – despite being pricier than its predecessor, word is that the first 200 CBU units have all been accounted for.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Best not to bring CKD GLC, later will have problems for enjoying for short term

• I mean enjoying for short term but will have more problems for longer term when CKD this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
      • Radhi on Apr 10, 2023 at 1:17 pm

Better get Proton X90 way more powerful n much cheaperer..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
      • Sohai on Apr 10, 2023 at 1:43 pm

Rich people buy car not for long term… they need the flashiest and they need it now..
        All CBU units already sold when launch, don’t do CKD how to fulfill the demand? Got money don’t want to earn?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 20
  • Holder on Apr 10, 2023 at 12:01 pm

Because people don’t know much before launching this CBU GLC

• SlyGTR on Apr 10, 2023 at 12:14 pm

Without the PHEV with 120 Km electric range, MBM will be out of place in the government electrification strategy. Not only that, customer here would start looking to UK/Japan markets for their grey imports. To be certain 100-120 Km range is a sweet spot as far as PHEV is concern for many Malaysian users. Too bad we are not getting it from the official distributor.

• tricycle on Apr 10, 2023 at 12:45 pm

Put the ACC in the CKD version of GLC300. It is no longer option, it is a must have in car nowadays especially in Malaysia.

Sunroof or whatever panaromic roof not needed, remember this is Malaysia, very hot. Also a lot of tree branches, and coconuts simply fall into your glass roof, not suitable really. Somemore bricks also could magically fall off the bridge.

• bahasapasar on Apr 10, 2023 at 1:04 pm

The grand GLC 300 with a grand price but without L2 ADAS. Is Mercedes Benz Malaysia hallucinating or did I read the specs wrong? Simply apalling.

• anonymous on Apr 10, 2023 at 3:52 pm

“word is that the first 200 CBU units have all been accounted for”

see this is the problem with Malaysians. y’all need to tighten your purse strings a touch because otherwise these car manufacturers will keep offering us less for more. imagine a completely new Mercedes launched in 2023 with incredible new tech but Mercedes Malaysia couldn’t even be bothered to put in the basics? make smarter decisions because in the end it’s us, the consumers that lose and they will be laughing all the way to the bank.

ps// streets are saying the new gen of Mercedes are plagued with problems so may the odds be ever in your favor :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • Angry A250 Owner on Apr 15, 2023 at 12:11 pm

Sagree Sardiene might as well resign from the post. Just look how many complaints and warranty claims by owners. Mercedes Mobility programme which offers courtesy cars is of no use, fully utilised.

• I included in complaint list. I bought GLE Dec 2022, but two month later got problems already, like old proton, already went to service center for three times but still can’t solved problem for my car.