Next-gen Perodua Bezza likely to debut in early 2025

Render of next-gen Bezza, using new Axia as a base.

The next-gen Perodua Bezza is expected to make its debut sometime in the first quarter of 2025. This timeline can be gleaned from electronics manufacturing services (EMS) provider Betamek’s announcement that it had secured a RM436.5 million contract to supply various electronics parts for a new Perodua car model.

In its announcement, the company said its wholly-owned subsidiary, Betamek Electronics, had received a letter of instruction (LOI) from Perodua. According to the terms, the company is expected to commence supply of electronics parts for the new model in the fourth quarter of the financial year ending March 31, 2025 (FY2025), for a duration of six years, The Sun reports

The early 2025 mention e falls in line with the expected timeframe for the debut of the new Bezza, which Perodua president and CEO Datuk Zainal Abidin Ahmad had said was in the pipeline. Earlier this month, he said that planning for a complete redesign of the Bezza had begun for a complete model change in two or three years.

He also said that the company’s next compact sedan would feature a more ASEAN-oriented design. Like the new Axia, the car is also expected to make the switch to the Daihatsu New Global Architecture (DNGA) platform. The current Bezza has been around since July 2016, with a facelift debuting in January 2020, making it one of the oldest models in its line-up.

Betamek is also supplying electronics components for the new Axia, which was launched in February. That month, Betamek Electronics announced it had secured a contract worth RM123.5 million to supply various parts for a new Perodua model for six years, with supply of these parts having commenced in the fourth quarter of its financial year ending March 31, 2023.

Betamek has had a long business assocition with Perodua, dating back to the mid-1990s. In FY2022, 95% of its revenue was sourced from the Perodua Group.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Peppa on Jul 25, 2023 at 10:35 am

I have a bad feeling the highest spec priced at almost RM60k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
    • Megatron on Jul 25, 2023 at 1:57 pm

Well if the engine is a 1.5L or a turbo and a new safety feature with 6Airbags than i would say somewhere Rm6x.xxxK

• DAP Korup on Jul 25, 2023 at 2:52 pm

But during that time, our country will achieve developed status, and everyone will become richer than today. In Anwar, we trust.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
  • What’s the point of continuing with this company? Lousy sound quality and player.

First thing people do is to change the player to something else upon taking delivery.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 21
    • Enlightened Earth Prince on Jul 25, 2023 at 12:21 pm

P2 PH dua2 Best !!

• just change if you don’t like. you want 10″ 7-speaker system with dolby atmos tuned by B&O while paying axia advance price? are you 12?

• Don’t be loyar buruk. By mentioning B&O won’t make you look smart. I bet you don’t know what it stands.
        There are non-branded system with better sound quality.

• Ikan_Empurau on Jul 25, 2023 at 12:34 pm

Are u sure their entertainment n sound system that bad? I owned 2017 Bezza and the sound quite ok for me. People will still tend to change or upgrade their player and speakers regardless of the car brands. It’s the trend nowadays bah. Just stick to whatever car brand u love, no need to bash other people’s choice

• Probably you got the Clarion HU. The Betamek one is lousy.
        None of car review compliment on Perodua sound system. Instead they praise on Proton’s sound system despite their cars being on the cheaper side than Perodua.

• Marquiz on Jul 26, 2023 at 6:41 am

You want a better sound sysytem, wear a earphones. No one compliment their sound system because it’s not their priority to do so and no customer that i hear other than you criticize on. Even customer who change doesn’t been to critical about it. Maybe this car is not their target demographic.

• No one criticize? That’s because you don’t meet enough people. Actually you don’t need to, Youtube have lots review.

• Marquiz is a type of people that they will love a lot.

Because that kind of people will agreed with whatever shit that they give even can get MUCH BETTER things at the same/less price.

Kudos to Marquiz.

• Jaguh Global on Jul 25, 2023 at 12:54 pm

Thanks to Perodua, Geely keep on wasting RM billions here keeping some endangered species alive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • Marshall Mathers on Jul 25, 2023 at 12:28 pm

EV or not? If not, pass.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
  • Bieight8 on Jul 25, 2023 at 1:19 pm

Just an axia with a boot also need so long…

• Sohai on Jul 25, 2023 at 2:50 pm

Too many new models… can’t keep up with the retooling and training and supplier management.
      Ativa, Alza, Axia launches were quite close. Now main facelift dulu for aging Aruz.

• Jean-Pierre Koh Chit Yung on Jul 25, 2023 at 2:05 pm

So disappointed this third word car is still around, stop buying then they bungkus and close shop then we can do away with local crap and now just buy used whatever Japan Korea Germany.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
    • newme on Jul 25, 2023 at 2:59 pm

If they closed also not that you can afford other brands other than China brands which are worst.

• Yeo Hap Seng on Jul 25, 2023 at 5:51 pm

LOI means letter of intent, not instruction.. it carries different meaning n trajectory in corporate world

• Reynold on Jul 25, 2023 at 7:26 pm

Keep away from this car company they just build classic car not a modern car.

• Hmmm afaik their cars are more feature packed than their direct rivals. Which part states that they’re building classic cars?

• Justice on Jul 25, 2023 at 7:29 pm

A new burukdua coming in 2025..what a shame

• Muhammad Arshad Bin Mustapaha on Jul 25, 2023 at 11:03 pm

Bye2 4at.. welcome cvt dcvt or so on.. oh, i’m sure the starting price must be 50k otr.. gud luck on first buyer..

• Dai Suk on Jul 26, 2023 at 8:18 am

Company announcements usually hope to spike up their share price.

• so apa yang beza sangat bezza baru??

• Jul Doe on Jul 27, 2023 at 6:19 am

I don’t think Grab want to buy P2 cars anymore as the recent story that P2 won’t honor the warranty for commercial use vehicle i.e, e-hailling