No new Perodua Bezza in 2023 – only one full model change per year, and that’s the Axia, CEO confirms

It’s strange that there’s even talk about a new Perodua Bezza when the company’s next all-new product – the 2023 Perodua Axia D74A – isn’t even out yet, and the current compact sedan has a waiting list that goes up to a year. But there’s chatter originating from research analysts.

It sounds improbable for a company working overtime to fulfil outstanding orders. Also, Perodua president and CEO Datuk Seri Zainal Abidin Ahmad had previously said that the carmaker has the capacity to roll out one full model change (FMC, all-new generation) and two minor change models (MC, facelifts) per year. When asked at today’s 2023 outlook event if that’s still the case, he said yes.

“Still valid. Our current capability is one FMC and two MC (per year). Because of Covid-19 – 2019, 2020, 2021 – it was disrupted. Last year was our recovery, this year we’ll go back to pre-pandemic levels in terms of capacity,” the P2 chief declared.

There you go, no new Bezza this year, but the next-generation Axia is now open for booking and the launch is just around the corner – full official details here.

Learn more: ,

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Keyboard warrior on Jan 31, 2023 at 5:04 pm

I suspect the facelift for this year will be Aruz?

• Celup King on Feb 01, 2023 at 1:05 pm

P2 penipu scalper, in the past RM 50k can get you full spec Myvi. Now P2 downgraded buyers from Bsegment to Asegment. Shame on you for insulting buyers P2!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 21
  • Persona Lipas (Lipasona) on Jan 31, 2023 at 5:05 pm

Cukurrlah Proton Persona Lipas (Lipasona) menarik nafas lega. Pheww!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
    • Paejan on Feb 06, 2023 at 10:39 am

Patut keluar segmen b sedan.. 1.0 turbo pun canteekkk.. kasi ngelabah semua lipasona.. city.. bios..

• Only left Aruz for MC. With the target 314K volume, it’s quite possible a sedan (Bezza), new B-segment sedan or SUV. Else they won’t put such a big target despite knowing recession is coming in.

• Gawat x efek rakyat Malaysia. Rakyat kita kaya-raya mcm hari2 raya. Kereta beli mcm beli biskut. Besepah2 smpi jem gila jln.

• newme on Jan 31, 2023 at 5:58 pm

You mean you all actually think P2 will release another model to cannibalize Axia? like how some idiots releasing 5 models in a year?

• kckfen on Feb 01, 2023 at 9:41 am

I hope they bring back new RUSA model. MPV with sliding door. It will sell well. We need a small size 7 seater sliding door MPV. Pls bring back new RUSA with ADAS, 7 airbags.

• johnnas on Feb 01, 2023 at 10:00 am

aduh….i already stand by my booking money for the B-segment SUV for this year le….

• Anonymous_C on Feb 01, 2023 at 10:02 am

Overall Aruz on an older RWD underpining compare to Alza FWD new DNGA design.

Perodua Aruz require much improvement… however will the so called new Aruz be contradict Alza market segment?