Works ministry to launch national campaign on road infrastructure safety this month – works minister

The works ministry (KKR) will launch a national road infrastructure safety campaign this month, works minister Datuk Seri Alexander Linggi said, reported Bernama.

Related to road infrastructure equipment such as street lights and signage, the campaign is expected to be officiated by prime minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim, and the campaign will also include efforts towards overcoming the main issue of potholed and damaged roads, as well as other issues related to road equipment, Nanta said.

“It is hoped that campaigns to expand advocacy and understanding related to road maintenance safety can increase the involvement of all parties, especially industry players, government and private agencies and the people in efforts to maintain roads and the related infrastructure,” he said.

“I also want this campaign to be more action-oriented, based on the concept of actions speak louder than words… I want to create awareness of such campaigns. I intend to continue policies that are beneficial to all Malaysians,” the minister said in a Facebook post, and that more details on the campaign will be shared soon.

The issue of road with potholes and infrastructure-related problems, as well as those relating to street lights and signage, are nothing new in Malaysia, stating that many such cases occur, be they on federal roads under the jurisdiction of the KKR or on roads managed by state or local authorities.

“I understand this problem is frequently reported in the media and social media by road users. From the first day I set foot in the KKR, this is one of the matters that I have been emphasising to everyone in the ministry,” Nanta said.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• YB Rafizikor on Aug 02, 2023 at 12:00 pm

Stop wasting tax Ringgit on campaigns.Just get those goyang kaki dudes patch up all the horrible potholes that can swallow motorcycle tyres.

• Sick & Tired on Aug 02, 2023 at 4:03 pm

A useless idea from an equally useless minister just like that useless Minister asking the public to patch up public roads on behalf of this useless Gomen
      https://paultan.org/2023/06/02/government-will-soon-allow-public-to-apply-for-small-budgets-to-fix-potholes-clogged-drains-rafizi-ramli/

This gomen is totally useless if they cannot fix the road and all they can do is launching national kempen only. High time for change particularly Selangor, Pothole State of the nation.

• too bad on Aug 03, 2023 at 9:27 am

ex-minister azmin & caretaker mb Sanusi declined invitations to debate with him..

• Nobody wants to debate with a clown or risk making fools of themselves. I mean would you wrestle a pig in a mudpile?

• Do you actually read the news? on Aug 03, 2023 at 11:11 pm

After initially turning down the invitation, a Kelantan MP later decided to agree to the debate. So, is he the nobody that you earlier mentioned who risks making a fool of himself?

• Your comparison of on Aug 04, 2023 at 9:28 am

a political debate to mud wrestling with a pig, does provide an insight into your strange thoughts.

• Susukotak on Aug 02, 2023 at 1:16 pm

Why campaign?

• Campaigns are by nature short-lived, they have a Campaign Period. What will happen after? Do we then go back to our tidak apa attitude? If actions speak louder than words… take action against those not doing their job! Replace them with good honest hardworking people and we can do away with all these syiok-sendiri campaigns

• Rakyat la sape lagi on Aug 03, 2023 at 8:30 am

You hv to do this campaign 365days/year. Everyday got new holes in your roads, especially at town areas and main roads. Not efficient at all. Not cool!