2023 Tesla Model Y SR RWD quick review – Malaysia gets improved suspension, base RM199k model a steal

The Tesla Model Y made its Malaysian debut last month, and since then, there has been no shortage of interest in the all-electric SUV, with droves of people going to the display at Pavilion Kuala Lumpur (and at EVx 2023) to check the EV out. Gauging from that seen on social media posts, there have also been plenty of bookings for the car, of which first deliveries are set to begin here early next year.

To recap, the Tesla Model Y is available here in three specification forms, these being a base Standard Range RWD, which goes for RM199,000; a mid-spec Long Range AWD, priced at RM246,000; and a range-topping Performance AWD, which retails for RM288,000.

The SR RWD, which forms the basis of our review, features a single rear motor, which gets the car from zero to 100 km/h in 6.9 seconds, on to a top speed of 217 km/h. An LFP battery offers the RWD a maximum range of 455 km (WLTP cycle). As standard, it comes with 19-inch Gemini rims, but 20-inch Induction wheels are available as a RM10,000 option.

Inside, it – like the other two variants – feature black vegan leather upholstery (which is upgradable to black and white for RM5,000), a panoramic glass roof with UV and infrared protection, a 15-inch central touchscreen display, a dual wireless charger and four USB Type-C ports. Other standard fit items include a 13-speaker premium audio system with a subwoofer and two amplifiers and power-adjustable front seats.

Our man Hafriz Shah had a quick go with the Tesla Model Y SR RWD in Malaysia, and you’ll find that he has quite a bit to say about the car, from noting that the suspension is softer and more comfortable than earlier Model Ys, to the performance of the basic AutoPilot (standard with base car), which he says is already good enough for full L2 and better than many other offerings.

He also says that the glass roof is pretty usable without additional tint or aftermarket sunshade, and the anorak also notes that the current Model Y has a rear parcel shelf, something not found on older versions. But let’s not spoil all the fun – watch the video to find out what he thinks about the Tesla Model Y.

From RM 2,513 a month
RM 229,300

GALLERY: 2023 Tesla Model Y Standard Range RWD

Learn more: ,

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Teslatronic on Aug 10, 2023 at 10:03 pm

Road tax is how much after few years ? 7k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
    • ERIKO on Aug 11, 2023 at 10:11 am

Roadtax will be cheaper than ICE. Its announced already many times

• alibaba on Aug 11, 2023 at 5:19 pm

yeah rite, just like abolishing AP, been talked for so long times =)

• Recycle bin Full on Aug 11, 2023 at 5:10 pm

Buy this ev worries-free plus bonus to unlocking all paid features via jailbreak the car’s MCU easily.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
  • seancorr on Aug 10, 2023 at 10:06 pm

It’s already good news we’ll be getting the comfort sussy as the previous setup was shockingly hard. I’m not at all really confident with their camera setup for parking though

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 17
    • “Camera setup for parking”

Compared to what? BMW/Honda shockingly low-res parking cameras?

• Mike Tee on Aug 11, 2023 at 3:26 pm

No ultrasonic sensor, they use cameras only and the distance given is not accurate. No front camera also

• lolpanda on Aug 11, 2023 at 3:34 pm

seancorr isn’t referring to the camera feed…

Why not do some research before commenting and you’ll learn that Tesla recently moved to a camera-based parking assist (to gauge distance) vs. ultrasonic sensors that everyone else uses.

Meaning it uses the cameras and software to figure out how close you are to an object rather than using ultrasonic sensors that receive bounce-back signals to gauge distance.

The only issue is, this new system has been been unanimously reported to be less accurate than ultrasonic sensors. Sometimes a trailer shows up next to you on-screen but it’s actually a wall. Sometimes it tells you “STOP” but you are up to 2 meters away from the wall with plenty of space behind/in front of you.

• He Long Must on Aug 10, 2023 at 10:11 pm

Amacam pekema? Dah panas belum?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • Ronald McDonald on Aug 11, 2023 at 1:01 am

How to charge it since there’s no cable provided? Have to use Tesla’s charging network?

• I dono. Have you tried connecting fries from the terminal to your port? on Aug 12, 2023 at 2:32 pm

Colonel Sanders

• Bro RM199K for this is a highway daylight robbery.

BMW MERCEDES and all other EV’s in Malaysia sudah melingkup.

This shows us how expensive the taxes and markups are on ALL OTHER brands that are all run by olden day cronies, like Cycle carriage, sime Darby etc etc

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 44
    • unker on Aug 11, 2023 at 7:57 am

EV cars CBU are not taxed until 2025, CKD until 2027, just
      high markups from dealers..

• ERIKO on Aug 11, 2023 at 10:10 am

Hi John, I know you are trying to sound American but your Inglish silap sikit la. No need add extra flare to Inglish. Just say :its a steal”… apa highway daylight robbery pulak..LMAO

• Who stole john's roti on Aug 12, 2023 at 2:35 pm

Tabaik gelak orang tau

• Gelak Sekali on Sep 09, 2023 at 4:28 pm

Bukan “Daylight robbery”je ke? Tambah highway dah pulak.. Mentang2 blog kereta… LMAO..

• John Dough on Aug 11, 2023 at 5:46 am

Buyers should consider getting the RM 15K Enhanced Autopilot for the full experience at least.

Navigate with Autopilot is very nice and auto lane changes while seemingly trivial is nice to have in long journeys, the car basically automatically overtakes a slower car instead of following behind at low rate of speed. And navigate autopilot is able to take highway exits and etc, this is quite nice also.

Full Self Driving(FSD)RM30K is not worth at all especially as most of its features are not yet enabled in Malaysia, and whether you get beta is depending on chance. FSD beta is things like City,inter driving, traffic light recognition, stop sign recognition, basically the real thing but its still in beta and not everyone gets the beta even if they have FSD

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 17
    • fdsjflask on Aug 11, 2023 at 9:23 am

has malaysia legalise autopilot ? only remember they warrant before Singapore Tesla driver using autopilot in malaysia…

• Mr Fakta on Aug 11, 2023 at 10:41 am

Has Malaysia legalized double parking, roadside double line parking, u-turn with a no u-turn sign, stopping on yellow box, turning in the 1st lane on a 2nd lane in a roundabout and much more? Malaysia does lack laws, it lacks enforcement. So plenty of people will be using, posting autopilot online after this without any single one being fine. Heck, gov will approve it if enough Dato’ kid buy a Tesla.

• autopilot (basically level 2 autonomous driving) is legal in Malaysia but you have to keep your hands on the wheel and remain focused – many countries have this law as well.

if you are caught with hands-off it’s a punishable offense.

• Peppa on Aug 11, 2023 at 10:22 am

Not should but may. It is not a necessity to opt that feature

• Mike Tee on Aug 11, 2023 at 11:43 am

Don’t think that’s how auto lane change works. You signal towards the lane you want to change into and it completes the maneuver for you, checking if the lane is clear.

• FYI this car has multi link rear and a double wishbone front suspension, basically a BMW 5 series set up, better than a 3 series front macperson set up even.

At 200K this car is just TOOO GOOD

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 25
    • Everything is a steal for the rich when the country was stolen by PH

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 21
    • Until it falls apart a year down the line. Tesla build quality is rubbish, regardless of whether China or US assembled.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • anonymous on Aug 11, 2023 at 8:54 am

curious to see how these hold up in malaysia. teslas are plagued with quality issues, some which even make perodua/proton/honda seem like million dollar cars in comparison.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • DonkeyKong on Aug 11, 2023 at 9:05 am

EV that needs to be written off as total loss after any accident thanks to Gigapress chassis.. with “vegan leather” to boot.. without a doubt, a car for virtue-signaling beta males and rainbow people

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
  • TESLA OFFICIAL on Aug 11, 2023 at 9:25 am

lol.. nobody yelling buying a kosong tin car . Complain AXIA MYVI how kosong on the interior.. but they feel so superior when they buying the TESLA with only a giant IPAD in the middle… LMAO pathetic

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
  • FireAce on Aug 11, 2023 at 9:57 am

“base RM199k model a steal”.

Wait until the car start having problems and there is no parts available and no place to get it fixed. Then you will know “who steal from who”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 6
    • Mike Tee on Aug 11, 2023 at 11:56 am

Model Y is the single best selling car model in the world in Q1 and Q2 of 2023, ICE or EV, beating Toyota Hilux, Corolla, RAV4 and Camry. Parts will be easy to get, OEM or original.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
  • Autodriver on Aug 11, 2023 at 10:23 am

It is a steal at this price. This price is even lower than the Tesla home country US. For 455km WLTP if given a discount of 25% it will still got around 350km which is quite practical for daily use. With this range we still can travel from KL to Penang in single charge.

It is upgradable to 20 inch wheel but guess it will be good to remain as 19 inch which will likely give better mileage. For those who got extra budget the RM 248k long range is still a good buy which capable to go 533km or at least 400km in real world.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
  • Winner Ong on Aug 11, 2023 at 11:24 am

For all BYD lover here don’t wasting time komen here if you no money buy just go to buy your rubbish car and happy life ok. I drive my conti car also I know you go Mr DiY but I buy at ACE so we different. My business is in Indonesia and Taiwan already if you just go punch card and forever be makan gaji. To my fans happy to you and prosper loser can stay poor forever and no need to say hi to me if see me in my car nombor plat 68. Don’t be so mental ok if hurting you my word but I want to mix with success pupil not loser bcos this komen is all loser komplain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 29
    • Ollie on Aug 11, 2023 at 12:18 pm

Sounds like a scammer. Real successful people don’t flaunt. I drive a Mercedes and own 2 houses at age 36. Honest hard work. You?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
  • Mike Tee on Aug 11, 2023 at 11:47 am

Warning for Tesla haters. Do not try to key (scratch) Teslas.

Review did not point out that every Tesla comes with Sentry Mode which records 360 when someone approaches the car. You will be caught.

Hiding behind a keyboard and thrashing Teslas is one thing, getting a criminal record for hating on a car brand is next level dumb

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
  • KalauDahMiskin on Aug 11, 2023 at 11:55 am

Better save the money and buy Alza or Bezza. Kereta EV sgt mahal, overrated dan susah nak charge bila tiba2 tersadai tepi jalan. Beli mahal2 pon last2 terkedu tepi jalan jugak. Baik pakai kereta biasa. Lebih jimat dan selamat.

• Looking forward to owning an EV once I move to landed in a few years, but for now it’s exciting to see the transformation in Malaysians’ mindset when it comes to EV. Tesla has really opened up a lot of people’s minds to being receptive to EV, even more so than BYD, even though BYD’s offerings are cheaper. (Perhaps not, once the Seal is revealed.)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
  • Looking at the current economic situation, I prefer Saga lah, the most value for money car in Malaysia.

• P2 kuantan is a moral police not service center on Aug 12, 2023 at 2:39 pm

Yea at least P1 jenama prihatin. Don’t force customers to buy formal clothes under current economic situation unlike the 2nd local brand