Mitsubishi to make Thailand its hybrid vehicle production hub, expects 10 years of strong demand

2022 Mitsubishi Outlander PHEV

Mitsubishi Motors will be producing hybrid vehicles in Thailand beginning early next year, marking the first time the automaker will be making hybrid vehicles outside its native Japan, Nikkei Asia reports.

The Japanese automaker expects at least 10 years of strong demand for hybrid vehicles, as it believes that emerging economies need more time before a large proportion of their customers in these regions will be able to buy fully electric vehicles, which it attributes partly to high prices and partly to the need for EV charging infrastructure, according to the report.

Hybrid vehicles will, in the meantime enable Mitsubishi to compete with Chinese automakers, the report added. Mitsubishi will produce hybrid versions of the Xpander, while an upcoming SUV model from the brand, which is due in November, will also bring a hybrid model in the future.

Mitsubishi is also considering making its hybrid vehicles in Indonesia in order to leverage the supply of nickel resources for batteries from the country, Nikkei Asia continued.

The Japanese carmaker aims of have electrified vehicles comprise 50% of its global sales by 2030, and stop selling petrol-powered models by 2035, which lines up with the Japanese government’s move to phase out petrol-powered vehicles by 2035.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Nurul Izzah on Aug 21, 2023 at 11:12 am

Anwar menang, investment mari

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Madani syok sendiri on Aug 21, 2023 at 11:13 am

There is no car manufacturers willing to invest and open factory in Malaysia due to our incapable and useless government.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
    • hazri on Aug 21, 2023 at 7:18 pm

ya 100% agree with you. you can see during mooyiddin and mail sabri reign. all minister useless. nobody want to invest. even elon musk and jokowi don’t care and don’t know who is mooyiddin.

• Our gomen prohibits other car manufacturers from coming in on grounds of protecting proton and perodua. Many wanted to set up plants but cannot.

• Ex Anwar Supporter on Aug 21, 2023 at 11:17 am

Do you want to know why Thailand and Indonesia got so many investments, especially in the automotive industry? Because they don’t have PH and formula man.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
    • Singaporean Malay on Aug 21, 2023 at 2:05 pm

No, it is because of Tun M and the ketuanan policies of Malaysia. Today pun your country is so unstable with lots of your Malays wanting PAS to rule the country

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
      • NoSingki on Aug 21, 2023 at 2:56 pm

Just take care of your own singki gov dude..

• He speaks the truth although it hurts! Malay day peach belah…don’t blame others for today situation!

• hazri on Aug 21, 2023 at 7:22 pm

ya i do agree with you, 100%. you can see during mooyiddin and mail sabri reign. nobody want to invest. eventhough that time no PH and formula man. I thought we should get so many investment during PN, but nothing. oh ya, we get ron95 price today using that formula from formula man. if not, price ron95 is above rm3.

• PHBN Korup kalah teruk PRN on Aug 21, 2023 at 11:18 am

Well done to our neighbour, Thailand. It seems like our politicians can learn something from them.

• Marik on Aug 21, 2023 at 12:28 pm

Other than PHEV and MHEV, what HybridEV do Mitsubishi got?

• no politaik in comment section on Aug 21, 2023 at 5:31 pm

Malaysians: bila lu mau enter itu thai & indo market huh? lu sudah ada itu X90 MHEV

Proton-Geely: haiya, chill lah. we eat kuih minum kopi first

Mitsubishi: working in the background with a solid plan

Honda, Nissan: noted

• Mitsubishi did not factor in the high taxes on ICE cars that contributed to high prices as compared to EV’s which currently have no duties and taxes and thus affordable comparatively.

• hazri on Aug 21, 2023 at 7:32 pm

mitsubishi hybrid have no demand here in malaysia. people here just want to buy cheap and 7 seat xpander only, and look better than avanza. because of xpander, honda stop bring brv here. and xpander sale now drop because of new alza. so no potential for mitsubishi hybrid here. if im the business owner, of course i go to place have strong demand which is thailand. not because of politician or government, but business is business. like if kelantanese and trganu people can not sell tomyam anymore in slagor & kl because no demand (boycott) from people here, they should just balik kampung and sell in their place la.

• Markus Kudat on Aug 21, 2023 at 9:23 pm

Meanwhile Indonesia, China, Vietnam, Pakistan, Philipine and Bangladesh will make our shores a human traffic seludup hub. We win.

• mitsubishifan on Aug 22, 2023 at 8:57 pm

come on miti, do your magic like the tesla launch