BMW speeding recklessly on MEX highway narrowly misses SUV, smashes into another, driver dies in crash

With no speed cameras and a general absence of any police presence, it’s well-known that the MEX highway is a bit of a speeding hot spot, if you travel the route frequently. Boorish behaviour aside, most times nothing untoward happens on the relatively straight route, but when it does, it can get real messy.

Such was the case last weekend. In an incident that took place on October 22, video footage of a BMW speeding recklessly before being involved in a fatal crash on the MEX highway highlighted what could well go wrong if speed was mixed with total abandon.

Dashcam footage from a vehicle travelling on the same route captured the incident, which naturally went viral on social media platforms, from the moment the speeding BMW dove in between a Proton X70 and the Armco on the fast lane in an attempt to overtake the SUV.

Having gotten past the Proton with half of the car straddling the grass, narrowly missing both the SUV and divider, the BMW proceeded to switch to the middle lane of the highway but was unable to avoid a Honda CR-V travelling on that lane. It rear ended the CR-V, causing the SUV to skid and hit the road divider on the slow lane.

Meanwhile, the BMW flipped over during the crash and ended up upside down. According to a news report from Sin Chew Daily, the BMW driver died on the spot, while his passenger and the two occupants of the CR-V suffered minor injuries and were sent to hospital. It was reported that Selangor fire and rescue department assistant director Ahmad Mukhlis Mukhtar said the case has been handed over to the police for investigation.

Bad scene, yes, and one that could easily have been avoidable, but there it goes. One life lost needlessly, and mental trauma for all else involved. The question is, do you think the MEX should be better regulated in terms of speed enforcement? We welcome your thoughts on the matter.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Watch out those utuber racers on Oct 26, 2023 at 5:54 pm

Content creator chasing viewership ratings. We bet the next same crash gonna happen going up genting road soon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 25
    • Logical Deduction on Oct 26, 2023 at 7:49 pm

If only BMW driver turn on AEB he wud survived.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 31
      • Almighty on Oct 26, 2023 at 9:52 pm

He would have done everyone a favor if he wasn’t born in the first place

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 6
        • Dah Menang Semua on Oct 27, 2023 at 8:31 am

MEX needs those “unbearably-thick” red strips

• Hantu Raya on Oct 27, 2023 at 9:10 am

Like I’ve said before, lagi Kaya lagi Bodo. Thank God the drivers dead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 8
      • FreakingAnnoyed on Oct 26, 2023 at 11:37 pm

BMW F30 has no AEB. And at that speed with that reckless driving, no active safety system can save him.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
      • You were having a logical reduction than deduction on Oct 27, 2023 at 7:22 am

It is foolish to believe that electronic safety aids can always effectively protect a driver who purposely drives recklessly at high speeds.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • Dredd on Oct 27, 2023 at 11:44 am

Thank god its the beemer dude who died and not the poor CRV fella. At least quick justice served and he can go direct to Hell.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • t333son on Oct 26, 2023 at 5:55 pm

This is just one of many many cases. Root cause is the lack of self discipline and enforcement . Well, a new generation brought up to even expect discounts and sales on summons. There is very little deterrence is what I am trying to say

Just look around , out of 10 cars you see, many would most likely have black tints, modified, no road tax, no insurance , funny number plates , speeding , jumping queue, ignoring traffic lights , not driving in lane, dring wrong way on a one way, not wearing seatbelts, using phone whilst driving etc

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 113 Thumb down 1
    • Bob Mal on Oct 26, 2023 at 7:36 pm

Well as our police said on their reply on legality – If we do 100% enforcement the public will say police are heartless and without compassion….

We cannot be everywhere all the time. When we see a situation like this we usually take the soft approach and offer advice first….

So no wonder it’s like that in Malaysia and you know some advice comes with benefits for sure and depending on….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
      • Enforcers need to do their job. If things r properly enforced then we won’t be discussing all these retrospectively

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
        • Veyron Owner on Oct 27, 2023 at 11:57 am

Enforcement not the issue her but poor Msian driver attitude. I would support removal of speed limits in sections where its technically possible. Then enforcement should be on lane hoggers slowing the fast lane.

• Mangsa darurat pnpas on Oct 26, 2023 at 8:00 pm

Drivers dun use signal. Bikers langgar lampu..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
    • Bod.oh Bab.i on Oct 26, 2023 at 8:55 pm

Luckily, the BMW driver died. If no, ppl like you will kill him alive out there. Stupid Malaysians. Always like to blame others. Brain dead keyboard warriors!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 38
      • Shukor on Oct 26, 2023 at 9:39 pm

That CR-V jz can’t avoid .. just like those unfortunate slightly naive basikal lajak bois

• go home, u despicable mossad agent! on Oct 26, 2023 at 10:08 pm

you must be mossad agent intending to destabilise Malaysia for supporting Palestinian cause

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
      • Hantu Raya on Oct 27, 2023 at 9:12 am

I would. If I was there I’d give a loud applause and made sure no help arrives.

• Bila polis buat kje, nnti kata polis kejam, x de hati perot and so on.

• In the Game on Oct 26, 2023 at 5:59 pm

Not the matter of enforcement or not, this is purely the stupidity of the road users! These animal should not be on the road.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 1
    • Dredd on Oct 26, 2023 at 8:10 pm

Same kinda madness this pemandu Bmw & that pemilik alfat PAS 353, state of kepala high

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 10
    • Wan zawawi on Oct 26, 2023 at 9:00 pm

Highway to syurga…

• Mike Tee on Oct 27, 2023 at 11:27 am

If enforcement is complete or nearly complete like in the UK, speeding is greatly reduced. I remember as a young and dumb driver maxing out rental car speeds at 120mph+. Nowadays in the UK, you’d see almost nobody speeding because of Automatic number plate recognition (ANPR) saman and near complete speed camera coverage. Only speeding you see is where there are coverage blindspots. You hit a 20mph (30kmh) zone and everybody crawls to 20mph.

The other thing that UK adopted from France is average speed checks. Between two points on a stretch of road with no exits, ANPR will take your time of entering point A and B and calculate your average speed. You cannot drive like a cat on a hot roof and then slow down at the camera spots. Is it draconian? Yes. Does it work, it sure does.

Getting a saman is one thing, losing your license is a bummer. Enforcement works

• Good ending for the bmw driver

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 4
    • Clarkson on Oct 26, 2023 at 9:25 pm

Speed has never killed anyone. Suddenly becoming stationary, that’s what gets the driver.

• Tan Ah Biao on Oct 27, 2023 at 9:27 am

MEX highway? you mean the highway where the left lane is always empty and the right lanes is always full of lane hoggers? From the video already can see left lane almost zero cars. And right lane is used for joy riding.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
      • I normally use left most lane and its more fun and less stressful. Middle lane is where the slowest cars are.

• Slowdriver on Oct 30, 2023 at 10:08 am

Indeed but once the brader lorry n bus come they gonna tailgate u

• Veneno on Oct 26, 2023 at 6:16 pm

Thank God the driver and the passenger of the CRV only suffered minor injuries. Can say anything but laughing at the driver of the BMW, tho.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 3
  • Habisla itu compact Sedan

R.i.p,
    Salam takziah kepada keluarga Blue Compact Sedan itu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 18
  • Lee Lee on Oct 26, 2023 at 6:19 pm

RIH to the reckless driver

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
  • farghmee on Oct 26, 2023 at 6:23 pm

driver mabuk?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
    • smffie on Oct 26, 2023 at 6:54 pm

Mabuk make some1 drive like this? U clearly no experience wif mabuk, stay pure child

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 11
      • And u seems experienced with mabuk driving…always go jln changkat yeh. Lol

• Law abiding citizen on Oct 26, 2023 at 6:26 pm

Can’t find it in my heart to feel sympathetic towards the BMW driver.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 0
  • KJ Lim on Oct 26, 2023 at 6:40 pm

I will show no mercy to this kind of driver. Be a better driver in your next life and stop hurting others.

• Boyracer on Oct 26, 2023 at 6:42 pm

Deswai shud limit Tesla car 0-100kmh to 15secs

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
  • One gone and this make Malaysia happier. To those who injured, get well soon. To the family whom just lost your love one, condolence!

• Fariz on Oct 26, 2023 at 6:53 pm

One fortunate death.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
  • LoneRanger on Oct 26, 2023 at 7:17 pm

A simple rule, keep left if not overtaking. So simple, but drivers can’t understand why, and keep hogging the fast lane or hogging the middle lane, while going at a much slower speed than the normal traffic flow. why? because senang, rilek aje until kena rembat from behind. it is a collusion or many wrongs that made this crash waiting to happen

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 59
    • And please also use your brain on Oct 26, 2023 at 8:34 pm

Yes, the right lane is for overtaking. If you use your eyes, nobody there is wrong except the BMW driver

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
    • IIIIII on Oct 26, 2023 at 8:36 pm

The bmw driver was the one weaving in and out of traffic and literally drove into another car and you’re here implying the people were “hogging” the fast lane. How delusional are you?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 3
    • And also please observe before talking on Oct 26, 2023 at 9:16 pm

The SUV is clearly catching up and the rear dashcam driver is lettng it pass, so nobody is hogging the fast lane. But BMW driver being stupid and impatient.

• Sohaihighhigh on Oct 26, 2023 at 7:25 pm

Well its great he goes dead, less 1 fcker on the road

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
  • Penguin on Oct 26, 2023 at 7:27 pm

Instant karma

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • PlainBS on Oct 26, 2023 at 7:42 pm

Good Riddance. You won’t be missed, please don’t reincarnate and come back.

• Please go into traffic jam and getting. This topic after 2 government change and no clue or solution. Its getting worst day by day.

• Mike Tee on Oct 27, 2023 at 11:33 am

Automatic number plate recognition (ANPR) together with Fixed Speed Cameras (FSC) and Average Speed control (ASC) will do it but everybody will scream and shout and say garmen bodoh, etc. ASC especially is effective and studies across Norway, Netherlands, Austria, Italy and UK showed that fatal accidents are reduced by 50% nearly across the board

Also solves the problem of cars treating airport drop offs as carparks. In China, you have T minutes to let your passengers off. After T+1 sec ANPR will send a saman to your account. Nobody treats the drop off as a carpark and the system pays for itself.

• 4GR-FSE on Oct 26, 2023 at 8:22 pm

One reckless driver has left the earth.. RIP

• Kony Chee Wah on Oct 26, 2023 at 8:42 pm

Last time when young doctor lawyer engineer drive BMW Merc Volvo now jual besi buruk jual nasi ayam penyet ah long and pimp only drive.

• Sgt Scoop on Oct 26, 2023 at 9:16 pm

The issue is not that he was speeding. He crashed because he was driving recklessly. They aren’t the same thing.

Germans can drive safely on unrestricted highways. Malaysians should be able to too.

• Google translate on Oct 26, 2023 at 9:56 pm

Matching face

• DonkeyKong on Oct 26, 2023 at 10:17 pm

Good riddance. Any dangerously driven vehicle should have it’s driver charged with attempted murder. Their actions show clear premeditation to kill others. In this case the driver died, which is good.

• tricycle on Oct 26, 2023 at 10:34 pm

They should impose limit on those highways too. Maybe 60km/h would be sufficient. Drive fast fast where do you want to go.

If in the UK, they have roundabout, in the middle of highway. Not one buy many. Out of nowhere. Maybe in here we can put few speed bumps also.

Condolences to those affected by the driving behaviour of the bmw, as well the driver that died and his/her family.

• Lane Hogging is Illegal! on Oct 27, 2023 at 5:28 pm

Betul ke in UK they have roundabout in the middle of highway? Although I’ve done many mile on UK roads and highways, I’ve never seen one before.

Many countries, including Malaysia, have laws against lane-hogging. In the UK, Rule 264 says you should always drive in the left-hand lane when the road ahead is clear. If you are overtaking a number of slower moving vehicles, you should return to the left-hand lane as soon as you are safely past. Recently a driver was fined £100 after being caught on camera driving in the middle lane even though the whole highway was empty at that time.

Here’s the sad thing about lane-hogging – it is very frustrating for the drivers behind, making them angry and impatient and eventually do stupid things. That is the nature of humans.

Too often I’ve seen empty left/inner lanes on our highways while the middle/outer lanes get clogged with slow-driving vehicles. Eventually there will be a few cars breaking off from the long line and overtaking (illegally) on the empty left/inner lanes. I always wonder if the lane-hoggers derive any pleasure from causing inconvenience to other road users.

Back to the BMW driver. Saya selalu kena ‘cucuk’ and ‘himpit’ by this kind of idiot drivers (including the Myvi kings), so I have no sympathy for him. One down, many more to go.

• Karam Singh on Oct 28, 2023 at 1:36 pm

Problem is.. with speed limit at 110 and you are driving at 150 claiming u r fast enough. Then I approach you from the back at 190kmh. Can I call u lane hogging?

• Laugh on Oct 30, 2023 at 9:31 am

Kena cucuk means you’re hogging lah bro.
        lol…

• hazri on Oct 27, 2023 at 1:18 am

i read all the comment but why no one saying about that x70? IF x70 get into the middle lane asap MAYBE the situation will be different. ya i know, bmw driver should not drive recklessly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 31
    • PlainBS on Oct 27, 2023 at 9:45 am

Braindead comment spotted.

• Blame Game on Oct 27, 2023 at 10:25 am

Watch the video again, x70 caught up and reardashcam driver moving to mid lane for x70 to overtake. Everything up to this point looks normal until 1 entitled speeder pop out from lane ” dia punya bapa”

• Bezza Owner on Oct 27, 2023 at 12:56 pm

When I use MEX. I prefer to overtake at 180kmh using the left most, empty slow lane.. okja

• There is something called patience. Normal drivers will move and let you overtake them once the coast is clear. In fact, driving aggressively, tailgating or flashing the high beam might aggravate them and trigger their ego and fight mechanism.

Which is counterproductive to what you want, which is to safely and quickly overtake them. Unless what you want is illegal road race.

• hazri on Oct 27, 2023 at 4:34 pm

why cant you understand? i dont blame x70, i just said the situation maybe will be different. why so butthurt?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Rushing for reincarnation. Luckily didn’t drag others with him. Pure stupidity

• Happy on Oct 27, 2023 at 5:03 am

He who doesn’t care about people’s life didn’t deserve his.

• Happy on Oct 27, 2023 at 5:03 am

He who doesn’t care about people’s life didn’t deserve his.

• Z900 2016 on Oct 27, 2023 at 6:28 am

thank god….minus one reckless driver on the road

• BMWforcheebais on Oct 27, 2023 at 7:23 am

Normal BMW driver

• Ahmad Azamiruddin on Oct 27, 2023 at 7:32 am

Poor honda crv. Hope a speedy recovery for them.

• Firdaus on Oct 27, 2023 at 8:27 am

BMW so teruk, powerful engine but bad safety!

The driver should have survived, that way he can be put behind bars and given a stroke of the cane at the rate of 1 cane each month

• hahaha… elok pun mamposss

• Clearly that X70 did something stupid also, that why that BM took revenge by pulling such close hit overtook. My area X70 and X50 drive like sport cars . Gomen should install more speed trap or force every car to install gps tracker to monitor road offenders effectively.. too many naive road users nowadays, especially after Covid over.. many just drive according to their heart not brain!

• Clifford on Oct 27, 2023 at 11:18 am

I have 1 suggestion that is the manufacturer to reduce power and cannot be modified on small cars 1000 CC and below. I have seen many “kings” speeding at > 120 KM/H at highways. These cars at these speeds really posed danger to other cars as the braking capability and stability of these cars are so lacking.

• org bawa BM mah mesti nak gaya sikit, bawa laju2, tekan minyak kaw kaw, tunjuk betapa kuat horsepower dia, inilah hakikatnya…

• ROTI CANAI on Oct 27, 2023 at 11:54 am

just wondering if anything else might have happened to the bmw driver like a seizure or heart attack

• With great power comes more responsibilities ,arguably maturity and humility

• that MEX hiway haunted 1 la.. sure everyday got xcident 1.. u will be blinded by ghost.. then xcident… huhuhihuihii

• Squid on Oct 27, 2023 at 4:10 pm

Passenger minor injuries, driver died…. Was his seatbelt fastened?

• bmw fella should go race in sepang…not racing on straight highway roads…only noob does that

• Justpassingthru on Oct 27, 2023 at 10:08 pm

BRAVO BMW DRIVER. GOOD BYE AND GOOD RIDDANCE TO YOU AND HAPPY FUNERAL WISHES TO YOUR RELATIONS. YOUR CAR SHOULD HAVE BURST INTO FLAMES AND CREMATED YOU ALONG WITH IT. DON’T POLLUTE CREMATORIA FACILITIES WITH YOUR STUPIDITY

• Our 3 lane highways are littered with slow cars on middle lane. I dunno why they just refuse to use the left lane. If mex highway is regulated, the max speed of 90km/ hr is just too slow. I may fall asleep driving at that speed. Drivers mind begins to wonder as it gets boring causing other safety issues.

• paparadzi on Oct 28, 2023 at 11:41 pm

There is a big difference between speeding and reckless driving.
    Driving slightly over the speed limit on MEX is absolutely safe, as long as the driver keeps a distance from other cars and doesn’t switch lanes unnecessarily.
    This is not a case of speeding; this is a case of reckless driving and potentially DUI.

• JasonX on Oct 30, 2023 at 7:37 pm

Good. One less idiot on the road. God is great