West Coast Expressway (WCE) Section 11 Beruas to Taiping won’t make it for CNY, will open before Raya

The West Coast Expressway’s (WCE) Section 11 from Beruas to Taiping (South) will not open in time for Chinese New Year next month, but the stretch will welcome traffic for the Hari Raya Aidilfitri celebrations, which is in Q1 2024.

According to Malaysian Highway Authority (LLM) deputy director-general (development) Nadzrol Fadzilah Ahmad, LLM needs to ensure that the 35.5 km stretch in Perak is safe before opening it.

“We have our target and we know that people are eager to use this section to avoid traffic congestion. However, the safety factor is our priority. We can’t open this section before Chinese New Year but I am confident this section can be used before Hari Raya Aidilfitri, which is the first quarter of this year,” she said, reported by NST.

Click to enlarge map

Section 11 was supposed to be completed by end-2023, and when asked about the reason for the delay, WCE CEO Lyndon Alfred Felix said that construction progress reached 98% by December 31. “We are now entering inspection level from LLM and this section construction has reached 98 per cent completed. We need to go through this phase (inspection) before this section can be opened to all road users,” he said.

To date, five of 11 sections of WCE have been opened to traffic. They are Section 5 (Klang-Kapar) and Section 6 (Kapar-Assam Java) in Selangor; and Section 8 (Hutan Melintang-Teluk Intan), Section 9 (Kg Lekir-Changkat Cermin) and Section 10 (Changkat Mirror-Beruas) in Perak. Expect a one-month toll-free period for Section 11 when it finally opens.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• PitStop on Jan 18, 2024 at 2:33 pm

Changkat Cermin auto direct translate to Changkat Mirror?

• PH janji abolish toll mana? on Jan 18, 2024 at 4:49 pm

As above.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 52
    • hazri on Jan 20, 2024 at 1:52 am

why PN not abolished or cancel this toll while in power?

• Hybrid Owner on Jan 21, 2024 at 1:53 pm

PN never promise to abolished toll, PH the one that promise to abolish toll in their manifesto. Stupid supporter for stupid parties like PH, gajah pun boleh terbang

• Casual reader on Jan 21, 2024 at 3:12 pm

PN did not promise to abolish tolls, Anwar did. Dungu PH supporter

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 25
  • edtew on Jan 18, 2024 at 5:10 pm

Delay again, very disappointed. I always use that road, and become more congested now. Safety is priority, but i believe this can be speed up if everyone cooperate. CNY also a very big occasion and it can help to reduce the traffic issue a lot, and not just wait for Raya only open. Thanks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 6
    • rkkkk on Jan 24, 2024 at 12:24 am

They purposely delaying for Raya opening. Might open 1 or 2 days before Raya it seems.

• Fixie on Jan 18, 2024 at 9:55 pm

I am excited for this project. Lots of projects going on in Perak right now. Which is good, because Perak GDP per capita is the 6th lowest in Malaysia and is among the biggest state in Malaysia in terms of populations. Lifting up the economy in the state will push up the Malaysia’s GDP per capita quickly and hopefully can make this country a high income nation soon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 29
  • As of now, from Taiping to Beruas Tol Plaza takes between 50 minutes to 1 hour, depending on traffic. Also, the road is very bad. Really looking forward to this stretch being completed. Hope to become my regular route when the whole highway is completed. As of current completion, the entire journey from Penang to KL via WCE adds another 2 hours to your regular trip compared to PLUS.

Interesting points, fairly flat highway with almost no hill climb and scenic view near Bagan Datuk. Minus points, need to go through Kuala Selangor town and some stretch, you are forced to enter Federal road and got traffic light. Maybe they can get rid that traffic light and build a flyover instead. Also R&R isn’t built yet. So plan your toilet break properly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0