Petron Blaze RON100 petrol now priced at RM5, Shell V-Power Racing at RM6.10 per litre in Malaysia

In May 2022, we ran a story highlighting the price of unregulated fuel in the country, which had climbed in relation to the retail price of RON 97 petrol reaching a then stratospheric RM4.70 per litre (it was to eventually climb to RM4.84 per litre in June that year). Things have of course improved somewhat for the latter, with the fuel now at RM3.47 per litre in February 2024, its price having remained as such since the end of December 2023.

Back then, the special unregulated Euro 4M fuels, Petron’s Blaze 100 and Shell’s V-Power Racing, went for RM5.60 and RM6.20 per litre respectively, prices that that surely would have seen only a few die-hards continuing to use them. Fast forward nearly two years in, and things look quite the same with regards to their pricing. Both fuels have always had a marked price premium over RON 97, and this is adjusted relative to the increase or drop in the price of RON 97.

In the current weekly fuel update (for February 15-21, 2023), Petron’s Blaze 100 is going for RM5.00 per litre, while Shell’s V-Power is presently priced at RM6.10 per litre. The Blaze 100 price is a marginal increase from the RM4.90 it has been at for the past few months, as indicated by the history of the price tracker on our site.

As for V-Power Racing, things have generally hovered around the RM6 plus region since the special fuel had a 60 sen hike from RM5.80 to RM6.40 per litre at the end of December last year. Given that the pricing of both have continued to stay at these price levels, one really wonders how many are actually using the fuel (as a Blaze 100 user for one of my cars, I’ve long given up).

With crude oil prices having dropped since those heady days of mid-2022, and now generally stabilised, some might question why Blaze 100 and V-Power Racing are still priced as high as they are. While being special unregulated fuels mean that their pricing can be pretty much defined by their manufacturers, the performance of our Ringgit in relation to foreign exchange likely has quite a bit to do with that. It’s not exactly good going for our currency in terms of conducting trade, and not just for oil, we figure.

So, nearly two years on, we’re curious to know if any reader is still using these two unregulated fuels. If you are, share your thoughts on why with us. Incidentally, we don’t expect their prices to vary by much when blanket fuel subsidies are removed and the targeted fuel subsidy mechanism – which will present a completely different scenario involving a broad spectrum of users – is introduced in the second half of this year. Then again, you never know.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Apadehal. Still cheaper than a bottle of Evian water

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
    • Dah Menang Semua on Feb 16, 2024 at 3:48 pm

RON100: RM5
      RON98: RM6.10
      RON97: RM3.47
      RON95: RM3.15
      RON95: RM2.05 (subsidised)

• AmazinglyAnnoyed on Feb 16, 2024 at 1:00 pm

LoL. The pain only 9k rpm car owners have to suffer through.

• Mister Bee For Thee on Feb 16, 2024 at 1:46 pm

I only pump Petron RON100. If I cannot find any, I will take Grab to other Petron station to buy the fuel to fill my car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • I worked in PETRONAS as a pump master on Feb 16, 2024 at 6:40 pm

Finally someone who understands the benefit of ron100. Why would you pump ron95. The govt dilute those petrol with 5% water. That’s why it’s ron95. RON100 you will be sure to get 100% fuel

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
  • Josh C on Feb 16, 2024 at 2:01 pm

Price increase?? Prefer it to be increase to Euro 5 standard for both fuel.

• Jacob on Feb 17, 2024 at 10:24 pm

What are you on about, bro?
      Euro 5 standards are more to the emission side of things. Having Euro 5 vs Euro 4 vs Euro 3 make not much difference in terms of ‘efficiency’ or ‘performance’.

• Ben Yap on Feb 16, 2024 at 2:53 pm

i’ve been pumping Shell RON97 since 7 years ago when i got my Civic Turbo. i’m so used to it that I’m reluctant to change.

• The Saint on Feb 16, 2024 at 2:54 pm

I do still pump RON 100.

I am driving a PHEV with a real world EV range in excess of 70kms, so I hardly use any fuel on daily commute as I charge my PHEV daily.

I use less than 20 liters of fuel a month as the OBD shows I average 1.2l/100km.

• Sohai on Feb 16, 2024 at 4:49 pm

Pump V power racing but stuck in our bad KL traffic? No thanks. Just give me more fuel

But my experience is V Power does improve the torque of the car. Once I was traveling on north south HW and had to settle for non V power half way due to unavailability. Immediate after the putting in the normal fuel, you could feel the car become sluggish.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • I work in SHELL as pump master on Feb 16, 2024 at 6:41 pm

Finally someone who understands the benefit of ron100. Why would you pump ron95. The govt dilute those petrol with 5% water. That’s why it’s ron95. RON100 you will be sure to get 100% fuel

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
  • Bossku, still in jail! on Feb 16, 2024 at 5:38 pm

If targeted fuel subsidy is implemented, it won’t benefit the B40 or some M40. If the food you eat can walk itself onto your plate, that would be great. Most B40 drive what or ride what, the garmen should do some research. As for some M40, if they are already struggling, removing subsidy for the Taw Kay will only fan higher inflation because they will not eat the added cost. They will pass on the cost to their customers, which will only result in higher cost for food and everything else. Then again, our PM used to be named the most accomplished Finance Minister in this part of the world! So, what do I know?!

• hazrim on Feb 17, 2024 at 12:33 am

im rich. if i want to put only ron100 to my honda city what happened to my car? better what?

• Charanjit Gill on Feb 19, 2024 at 4:30 pm

But then again if you were rich you would not drive a Civic

• hazri on Feb 19, 2024 at 5:51 pm

the rich one always have at least myvi, viva, city, civic to use as kereta basahan while go to market with their maid.

• Henry Yap on Feb 17, 2024 at 1:22 pm

Pls note there is no such thing as Mixing 5%water into Ron 95 petrol as water and petrol are different density they do not mix As any water in your car petrol tank your car will stall and miss fire.If that happen then you can claim your repair bill to the station where you fill up your tank and claim the compensation from the petrol station.So don’t miss lead the consumer petrol fuel & water donnot and cannot mix together!

• Lapizi lampazi on Feb 18, 2024 at 9:48 pm

Cakap jangan lansi. Siapa nak daftar PADU aku nanti?

• ollie on Feb 19, 2024 at 10:19 am

its quite informative about the state of education in Malaysia that people are putting RON 100 and V POwer into regular joe cars, like Hondas. the only cars that actually benefit from the fuel are 3.0 l and above high compression turbo engines – ferraris, porsche, lambo etc, where you can still put lower octane but the power delivery is sub optimal.

only those with wild imagination will think they are seeing higher power in their 1.5l turbo.

• Biar papa asal bergaya on Feb 19, 2024 at 5:26 pm

Then why pipu drink espresso based coffee when they can get the same caffeine fix from local kedai kopi or mamak?

• Pak Sue on Feb 19, 2024 at 12:54 pm

In my area only the rempits are pumping these premium performance fuels

• Ada Aku kisah on Feb 20, 2024 at 3:39 pm

It’s good government removed all fuel subsidies. Less cars on the road, less cars means less insurance, less spare parts to import, less tax collected, sooner or later the whole automotive industry will slide down. Good.