Malaysia aims to become ASEAN EV hub through 40 years of auto experience, semiconductor expertise

Malaysia is hoping to become a production hub for electric vehicles in Southeast Asia, seeing huge potential thanks to its 40 years of car-making experience since 1983 and its strong semiconductor industry. Or at least, so says deputy minister of international trade and industry (MITI) Liew Chin Tong, according to The Edge.

The business publication quoted the official as saying that the country aims to foster greater integration between its automotive and semiconductor sectors, with the goal of becoming a leading hub for automotive-grade chips. “Malaysia is a very interesting place; we are the sixth largest exporter of semiconductor products in the world. While we may not have a homegrown brand, we play a very big role especially in the backend,” he said at the launch of the E-Mobility Asia exhibition yesterday.

Liew said that during his visit to Detroit last year, he was told by US Secretary of Commerce Gina M Raimondo that automotive factories in the area were forced to shut down due to Malaysia going into its Movement Control Order (MCO) lockdown during the COVID-19 pandemic.

“This is because the chips they relied on came from Malaysia and some semiconductor companies in Malaysia contributed substantially in global automotive chips. Therefore, when talk about automotive industry, especially the electrification of mobility, it is important that we do not work in silos or focus solely on individual verticals.

“I would like to see this industry cross in the horizontal manner, [fostering the] creation of new products, integrated circuit designs, and automotive chips that are proudly Malaysian. This will enable us to not only export automotive parts but also automotive chips,” he said.

Liew added that Malaysia also intends to reduce the country’s petroleum consumption by switching over to electrified mobility. “If you ask around, most people would think that this country is a net exporter of petroleum, which is not true. We are…the 21st largest net importer of petroleum.

“I encourage you to think boldly and offer new ideas to help us explore different approaches, so that electrification becomes not just a business opportunity for manufacturers, but a national agenda aimed at reducing overall petrol consumption,” he said.

Liew also mentioned that Malaysia is poised to achieve the government’s target for EVs to make up 20% of the total industry volume (TIV) by 2030, 50% by 2040 and 80% by 2050. “While it looks ambitious especially given that we are starting from a low base, the International Energy Agency’s annual Global EV Outlook highlights some key trends — EVs made up just 2% of the TIV globally in 2018.

“By 2022, this had risen to 14% of TIV globally, and by 2023, it reached 18%. Therefore, achieving 20% of TIV by 2030 is not a far-fetched target, but it will require a lot of concerted effort. It will require us to be bold and think outside the box,” he said.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Sohai on Nov 13, 2024 at 2:58 pm

We are still “planning to become”, whereas our neighbor Thailand already doing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • Kea Was on Nov 13, 2024 at 3:16 pm

Actually what have we achieved by having Proton in the last 41 years apart from creating cronies that suck up all tax payers money and giving generally all Malaysian ownership low quality “Local” cars while all car manufacturers opting to our neighbor to CKD due to our protection of APs King and Cronies vendors.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
  • awaKL on Nov 13, 2024 at 3:18 pm

Maybe can ask the investment guy to get AP cronies to determine our EV future since he mention APs are needed to ensure safe EVs being sold here. Such a powerful statement indeed if you are having some magical influence.

• fudgemesideways on Nov 13, 2024 at 3:22 pm

THAILAND: Over my dead body first ya.

• common sensor on Nov 13, 2024 at 3:57 pm

dreaming is free ..

• newme on Nov 13, 2024 at 4:49 pm

You aim to become EV hub only meh?
    Before that, you also aimed to become
    education hub
    IT hub
    manufacturing hub
    tourism hub
    halal hub
    furniture hub
    financial hub
    network hub
    everything hub.

Are you any of these?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • PMX: We are these on Nov 15, 2024 at 9:20 pm

Human trafficking hub
      Child marriage hub
      Ketum growing hub
      Illegal immigrants hub
      Militant asylum/sympathizer hub
      Corruption hub

• Thailand is more attractive for them

• ROTI CANAI on Nov 13, 2024 at 4:56 pm

40 years of making subpar cars?

• Pembayar tol on Nov 13, 2024 at 5:35 pm

Mohon perbaiki sistem tol yg dah lebih 30 tahun outdated, menyebabkan jam, merugikan masa jutaan rakyat serta tidak produktif. Lupakankan zon selesa anda dan gunakan kepakaran dan pengalaman anda utk selesaikan masalah puluhan tahun ini, lagipun negara ini penghasil mikrocip yg ternama rantau Asia tentu sekali boleh collaborate dgn China utk hasilkan device yg boleh diinstall disetiap kenderaan diMalaysia. Come on CEOs syarikat lebuhraya, anda selalu ke luarnegara takkan takde rasa apa-apa bila tgk sistem tol negara lain yg seamless. Sekian.

• Kea Was on Nov 14, 2024 at 8:24 am

Idea is nice however here in our country all this RFID, TnG, SmartTag all are run by very powerful cronies giving subpar products and charge sky high to support their lifestyle and unlikely normal people have any say on it.

• dumdeedum on Nov 13, 2024 at 6:17 pm

This is what you call ‘Sambang Kencang’

• Yes, 40 years of experience to be Lego manufacturers! Take parts and assembly. Don’t even mention those parts that need technology but both P are unable to come out a good looking cars! Look at the buntut tinggi of Bezza, ugly saga and Iriz……………….

• the level of incompetence, delusions and self aggrandizing talk is off the charts with these bottom of the barrel shameless politicians.