JPJ crackdown on pirate taxis/taxi touts at KLIA

A pirate taxi operator was apprehended by JPJ at Terminal 1, KLIA, on December 14. This was the result of observation and undercover work by Selangor JPJ, resulting in apprehension of the driver and seizure of a Toyota Vios for further investigation.

As detailed on JPJ Selangor official social media, early investigation showed the driver of the Toyota Vios allegedly persuading, appealing and offering the illegal taxi service to a Saudi national. A fee of RM70 was allegedly quoted to bring the passenger to AC Hotel in Kuala Lumpur, a distance of approximately 60 km, with payment on arrival.

In another incident at KLIA Terminal 1, the driver of a Proton Saga was apprehended and his vehicle seized for investigation for the same offence. It is alleged the driver attempted to ferry two Bangladeshi passengers to Park Royal hotel, Kuala Lumpur, for a fee of RM65.

Anyone found guilty of providing an unlicensed taxi or transport service may be charged under Section 205(1) of the Public Transport Act 2010 (APAD 2010). Penalty for such an offence is a fine not exceeding RM50,000, or a sentence not exceeding five years jail, or both.

Accomplices aiding or abetting such activities, or ‘taxi tout’, may be charged under Section 243(1) of the same Act. JPJ urge the public to only use the services of the official airport taxi counters at Terminals 1 and 2, or make ride bookings through e-hailing apps.

Sell your car, get paid in 24 hours

Renew your car insurance with us, 10% discount!

Use the promo code 'PAULTAN' when you checkout for 10% discount!

Renew Car Insurance

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• why like that? bangladeshi also our Muslim brothers, they are more than welcomed to join our great country, cannot ferry them ke?

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 15
    • Frankc on Dec 16, 2025 at 4:07 pm

Bukan lah. Isu taxi haram… ITU mesti dibenteras. Sudah Ada Grab Dan ehailing service yg berlesen Dan taxi airport yg berlesen. Tak boleh Ada taxi haram

Thumb up 7 Thumb down 0
      • PlainBS on Dec 17, 2025 at 8:56 am

how much “donation” did Loke receive from Grab to protect ehailing monopoly?

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
        • plain Malaysian on Dec 17, 2025 at 12:27 pm

the same as predecessors LTL & WKS

Thumb up 4 Thumb down 0
        • airline passenger on Dec 17, 2025 at 12:35 pm

What Grab monopoly when KLIA also provides their airport taxi service? Anyway you’ve proven that you and your comments are indeed correctly labeled as plain BS.

Thumb up 7 Thumb down 0
    • Selamat Datang Ke Malaysia on Dec 16, 2025 at 4:09 pm

those bangladeshis & also that saudi national were being rescued from pirates.

Thumb up 6 Thumb down 0
    • You didn't use brain on Dec 16, 2025 at 4:13 pm

You’re unbelievable. That’s not the reason anyone allowed or not, to drive a stranger around.

Thumb up 5 Thumb down 0
    • Ban me on Dec 16, 2025 at 4:24 pm

Yalor

Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
    • That Guy on Dec 17, 2025 at 8:47 am

They’re being rescued from scammers. You really think it’s just RM65/70?! They’ll double prices at the destination and threaten the people into paying.

Several cases in the news this year already.

Thumb up 2 Thumb down 0