Penang drivers are calling for a review of a newly enforced 40 km/h speed limit on the ramp linking Jalan Tunku Kudin to the Tun Dr Lim Chong Eu Expressway towards the Penang Bridge, saying the abrupt reduction from 80 km/h has resulted in numerous speeding summonses.
Drivers and riders claim there is insufficient distance to slow down before reaching a speed camera, warning that sudden braking on the busy stretch could increase the risk of rear-end collisions, reports news daily The Star. Penang police chief Comm Datuk Dennis Lim Kwang Keng defended the speed limit, saying the sharp bend requires motorists to slow down to reduce the risk of skidding, particularly during wet weather.
He added any revision to the speed limit would require technical and engineering assessments. The issue has sparked widespread discussion on social media, with many motorists sharing experiences of receiving fines despite attempting to comply with the limit.
Seri Delima assemblyman Connie Tan Hooi Peng said she has received multiple complaints from constituents and has urged the Malaysian Highway Authority (LLM) and the Public Works Department (JKR) to review the speed restriction. Following a site inspection with enforcement and highway officials, Tan said LLM maintained that the 40km/h limit reflects the road’s engineering design but agreed to re-evaluate the situation.
Tan later announced speed enforcement at the location has been temporarily suspended while relevant agencies conduct further assessments.

Just add a few road bumps. Settle
If 80 kmh had been the standard all these years, I don’t understand how the geniuses can discover that the road is only 40 kmh worthy suddenly.
Agreed. Cornering at 80 kmph is thrilling.
This is the mindset that makes the authorities want to impose a slower speed limit. For the safety of other road users.
if speed limit is 40kmph, wasting so much money build the highway. better allow to 60-80kmph. wet weather is not the problem. the main problem come from the riders/drivers
It’s just the ramp
The easiest way to collect back more money from rakyat…just reduce speed limit, more summons easily can get maa…!!!
They say it’s bcos of the sharp bend n that is why they have to limit it to 40kmh Maybe. So, does that mean it’s a design problem???
I strongly believe any normal driver and rider can complete the whole stretch at 90km/h or even 100kmh, users must protest hardly on the 40km/h rules.
I drive a manual Axia. I can’t even get to the 4th gear on the bridge!
can we hire capable people as city planners?
bodo.. people “up” there all incompetent or doesn’t drive at the road..
All road in Malaysia is a RACE TRACK.
DRIVERS AND RIDERS ARE THE MAIN CAUSE.
INSTALLED THE SPEED CAMERA
crashes and sliding are caused by bad drivers and botak tyres. dont penalize the german car owners as conti cars are well capable of cornering safely at high speeds. it would be same logic as not allowing a Non who scored 9A in SPM from entering public uni, while a boomee who scored lower grade can enter.
Hope you burn in you “German” Car
Yeah, let me share my grievance.
I kena saman RM300 for that.
All because of stupid JKR that determined the speed.
Can traffic police department stand on their own two feet to determine whether is a crime to summon or not?
Not JKR asked to eat shit, you should eat shit, ok?
Yeah, I kena RM300 saman just for that. Can Police Traffic Division, you guys, decide secara budi bicaran, not to follow JKR decision. If JKR ask you to eat shit, will you follow? Please wake up. I’m very angry.
I drive along this stretch every morning and I find the 40km/hr speed limit ridiculously slow. It is dangerous to slow down so abruptly from the 80km/hr section before the ramp. A more realistic and safe speed limit on the cornering ramp would be 60km/hr.
Dihrpkan di bahagian pulau perlu dikrgkan kelajuan pd 20km utk memberi kecantikan pd pulau semasa malam dan menampakan ke lembutan pd warga yg msk ke bahagian pulau, ketenagan memandua memberikan kesihatan yg baik pd warga nya
40kmh is laughable, a 9 years old future pm can ride his basikal lajak faster than this.
Heard from pg friends about this – exiting the green lane tunnel going downhill on the long ramp then right turn towards 1st bridge. It’s ridiculously slow and should be at least 60km, otherwise put speedbumps. Rakyat money and happiness just install speedbumps no need speed camera shenanigans life is hard enough for taxpayer.
Panties
Add panties
When Speeding Camera cannot solve those issues, put out yellow lines approaching 4 to 6 humps equally distanced along the stretch , therefore this will automatically deter and slowed down those errant drivers trying to drive recklessly. Hope this suggestion will help.