Proton first quarter 2005 Financial Results

Proton recorded a pre-tax loss of RM4.3 million for the first quarter 2005 ended June 30 2005 compared to the previous pre-tax profit of RM198.3 million in the corresponding quarter.

Proton said the loss was due to higher allowances for doubtful debts, higher component costs and reduction in sales volume.

Selamat Hari Merdeka!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• marlboro on Aug 31, 2005 at 8:02 pm

good!

• DOG THE WAN on Aug 31, 2005 at 8:05 pm

What a BAD news to PROTON staffs!! Nothing Selamat for this MERDEKA lei!

and NOT happy on this Merdeka too!!

• merdeka is meant for the first class citizen, i don feel myself second class citizen has anything to be happy about…

you guys enjoy..

• hfrshah on Aug 31, 2005 at 9:29 pm

whats that supposed to mean? were all Malaysians, we all should be happy on Merdeka Day

• Button on Aug 31, 2005 at 9:35 pm

Its good to hear Proton make loses… almost as good as celebrating Malaysia National day… Seem like the one really in power in Proton board are really "jackass" after all!!

• Lotiman on Aug 31, 2005 at 9:36 pm

HaPpy MErdeka tO EverYone!!!

• gegaoff on Aug 31, 2005 at 9:39 pm

MEDEKA!!! celebration ke-48!!!

guess PROTON wil have to think about the loss seriously… wake up call for them.

but in the other way, we have to aware that if the PROTON continue like this, lots of ppls will become unemployed. this is not fun, since it will affect other sector and overall national economics…

sigh… let's pray it wil not get worse… i believe most of us want PROTON good, right?

who want to buy foregin car if national car can provide same quality, even in same price? right? this is the main problem that PROTON cannot solved till now…

• Baboonz on Sep 01, 2005 at 12:13 am

Sort it out!! stop hiding behind the couch and as Russell Peters (Canadian comedian) says (in a Hong Kong accent), "Be a man. Do the rite ting."

• FiveElements on Sep 01, 2005 at 3:14 am

Can you imagine making a lost with so many government protection.

WHAT A SHAME!!!!! WHAT A SHAME!!!!! See Clowns should be confined to CIRCUS and not to run businesses….

• notorp on Sep 01, 2005 at 5:19 am

We have peak oil and now Proton peak and it will be downhill all the way now for Proton. The brakes have faded and it will not stop this slide.

• cameljoe on Sep 01, 2005 at 6:22 pm

Is VW coming or not ah? Please stop the rot, it is afterall the nation's "pride". Why ppl not learn is beyond me, lesson after lesson and always expects gov't bail out and assistance. Guess the potong board did the right thing by kicking the CEO out but too late.

So can the board make the right decision the hire the right person and perhaps bringing a stronger parthership in the shape of VW? Time to face the music and come out under that rock.

• SEE FU on Sep 01, 2005 at 8:35 pm

POTONG should launch the "BUY one GEN2 GET one SAWI" plans As soon as possible! Must Clear out the old stock like PASAR MALAM sale lah!! I for sure will buy one!! ONE for backup mah! If two cars also Mati too bad lah. No luck loh!

POTONG should Let's us try these new cars first and if good conditions we will introduce FRiends!! KAN DAN …….mah!!

• hokkien lang. on Sep 02, 2005 at 3:48 am

very good for plo-tong…..

no wonder in chinese say 'pentan sakua…'

let's hope they do better next year…. err i mean;they not doing profit next year.

• thats why the former CEO should be sacked!!!!!!!!!!!

• soowm on Sep 02, 2005 at 4:54 pm

Higher allowance for doubtful debts? I dun get it, U mean to say the EON and Proton Edar have bad credit risk?

• Quick!! Ask the goverment ban all imported cars!!!

• Pepper on Sep 03, 2005 at 2:10 am

wah…..its good……keep it down and down