Top Gear Crash Test Comparison

Top Gear shows you the differences between a 5 star crash test car, a 4 star crash test car and a 3 star crash test car. The cars involved is the Toyota Avensis, Ford Fiesta and Proton Impian (UK-spec Proton Waja) respectively.

I’ve seen this before but I have no idea where I saved it. Thanks to Rosdi for the clip.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• karem on Oct 11, 2005 at 6:00 am

my goodness… at least a waja competes.

• wahh… interesting!!! i was expecting the proton to score lower thatn 3 stars muahahahah.. but it doesnt look too bad lar from the clip :P

Terrible and accident prone drivers like me should get a Toyota but too bad.. no money sob sob

• kalen_XI on Oct 11, 2005 at 6:15 am

and they wonder WHY proton's sales is dropping…

HMMMMMMMM….

maybe paul shud sent that clip to proton…

• Fariz on Oct 11, 2005 at 6:53 am

Please have a look at www.euroncap.com website. You will have a complete results of all crash tests carried out. Look at the bigger picture. 3 star is not bad after all because other top competitors vehicles' too have achieved 3 star results before.

• this only show front collision how about side , how u think about proton. proton is far away from 5 star rate. proton is our national car probably a second best after predana, proton is a national trademark n bring to a world eye, why dont proton make it n come out whit a 5 star rate, rather than make a shame n bring to international eye.

• cbljkkj on Oct 11, 2005 at 7:11 am

It just comes to show that safety is among the most crucial of all aspects, not motorsport racing.

• foxtrotecho on Oct 11, 2005 at 7:29 am

"It just comes to show that safety is among the most crucial of all aspects, not motorsport racing."

Most safety features we find on consumer-end cars these days come from technology developed from/via motor-sport racing/events R&D.

• aksMs on Oct 11, 2005 at 7:47 am

I think what cbljkkj meant was 'not JUST motorsport racing'.

Btw, DAN, it's not about bringing shame to local automaker. NCAP or other whateverCAP is a platform for auto manufacturer so that they can refine their design and build better and safer vehicles in the future.

But it is a great shame if u score ZERO! :p

• i wanna know how would MyVi do in the test…. totally fragile in the front part.

• Great Wall Of China on Oct 11, 2005 at 7:59 am

3 stars car is called not bad??

yeah…only you broke your leg and your chest……

maybe in ICU for few days…i think

• armandd on Oct 11, 2005 at 8:10 am

u know, 3 star rating is not that bad for a proton… but of course they should improve.

• eRis-Aeir4s on Oct 11, 2005 at 8:18 am

'i wanna know how would MyVi do in the test…. totally fragile in the front part.' – Perodua claims it is for pedestrian safety , Who knows?

But I think the Myvi could have got a 3-4 star rating , Given that it was a variation of the Toyota Passo/Daihatsu Sirion/Boon anyway.

• E-Nabill on Oct 11, 2005 at 8:48 am

myvi wil do worse than waja definatly,the whole car is really flimsy,frm personal experience…although myvi owners wil neva admit that! i dont tink it can stand any 60mp/h collistion…waja definalty stronger…thy used a diff type of welded steel if im nt mistaken…dats y the waja is very heavy car for a 1.6..myvi nt even one ton….

• armandd on Oct 11, 2005 at 2:19 pm

based on the tests conducted by euroncap,

http://www.euroncap.com/content/safety_ratings/ra…

year 2002 proton waja (3 stars) is not very bad considering that a mercedes c-class (2001) only got 4 stars, and BMW 3-series (1997) only got 1 1/2 stars!

check it out yourself…

• kalen_XI on Oct 11, 2005 at 2:32 pm

haih bottomline ppl….

dont drive so fast lor..regardless if its a 5 or 1…once u hit something…its not good dy…

• DOG THE WAN on Oct 11, 2005 at 3:53 pm

This is only a simulation, if the car crashed the same way as seen above. But not all the accidents cases are the same situation. Most cases Driver will try to avoid direct impact during accident occurs, also Driver will break his car and steer the car to the side of the road (doesn't matter left or rights side). Therefore the real case should be much better than what you seen as 3stars conditions.

BUT, if you drive over the speed limits (55mph NAS test requirement) or hit at different position as shown on these video, then No one can predict what will happens.

That's why even though your car rated as 5 stars, you still must drive carefully and hoping the accident conditions close to Simulation did. If not you still will have chances to SEE the King of hell.

• Michael on Oct 11, 2005 at 5:05 pm

My dear friends… 3 stars now a days is no good…

You can see most of the brands is above that…

3 Star is ok for those models before 2003

Yeah you will say it is not meant for racing…

but you can see how fast they drive in today world…

Do you know how fast is the car when they crash it?

Take a look at this webpage…

http://www.euroncap.com/content/test_procedures/f…

60kph when they crach the car…

Can you think properly how fast are you driving now?

How often are you over that limit?

Think properly… They are 20 years old…

Why Hyundai around 10 years olds can do better they cant?

• Wilfred on Oct 11, 2005 at 5:14 pm

saw in the ncap

sirion(blueprint of Myvi) scores 3 stars in adult occupant and pedestrians…

not too bad after all…

although a bit fragile infront….

the cabin is the most important part…

and physically…

a "little" fragile front can help absorb the crash momentum…

which also transfer less impact to the passangers…

tough like savvy doesn't means it is good for passanger….jz good for car….

• izudeen on Oct 11, 2005 at 5:47 pm

The waja here is UK-spec which has more safety features as compared to the local Waja..

Thus you can't really compare your waja even with the crash test waja as it is definately a different spec…

I don't know in detail what they have changed, but rest assured UK spec is much much higher in terms of safety and quality as compared to the local spec.

I say, given the local waja in the test, it might score 1 or 2 stars…

• who drive the car at 40miles/hour ??

if all cars were tested on 110km/hours….. i leave it to your imagination.

• paul…. new photo of Honda City pls pls

• Rosdi on Oct 11, 2005 at 6:50 pm

Edw,

What 40mph? NCAP test is always done at 65mph if I am not mistaken, that means 100 kmph already!! Which is a fair speed to test considering most of us normally travel in town. How fast can you go in town anyway?

If you drive at 150kmph on the highway then thats different story lah.., thats the reason why our highway speed limit is around 110kmph or 120kmph only.

Tips, if you want help in converting the units, go to Google and type '65 miles in kilometer', Google will help convert it for you. This applies to any other unit as well.. for example, try this, '65 dollars in malaysian ringgit'.

• heh..whatever excuse given by pro-myvi (myvi "malang" owner) can't deny the fact that the mawi soo tin milo…even an untie can press its bonnet to dent..dont compare it to sirion,boon whatsoever la..cos mawi owner here in malaysia got conned..Perodua is selling toyota/daihatsu name to boost it selling figure…in fact..the quality between myvi and those boon/sirion..like heaven and hell…

• Cyrus on Oct 11, 2005 at 8:43 pm

Rosdi,

Listen probably to the video.. the guy said 40mph, not 65mph, and it is a NCAP crash test.

Whatever car u drive, if u get your speed more than 100kph, u will get yourself into risk and dangers. Not doubt for that.

• Hi all… you wanna see the real crash test on a Kancil… see this…

http://paultan.org/archives/2005/10/02/gory-car-c…

(Edit: Geocities sites are notorious for it's "bandwidth exceeded" messages.)

• Rosdi on Oct 11, 2005 at 9:21 pm

Cyrus, correct.. 40mph or 65kmph.. err.. you mean 'properly' right? not 'probably'. hehe…

• 30mph equivalent to 100 kmph so 40 probably is abt 110 – 120. tats our highway speed buddy…if u are driving at that 'legal' speed and imagine u knock a buffalow which is similiar to a 'concrete' wall…wat will this tell u? 3 stars for a speed of 100 -130 is not really acceptable as ppl are driving around that speed these days and cars are designed to run at that speed! unlike my first datsun who has a top speed of 110 :P

• phillys on Oct 11, 2005 at 9:59 pm

abu, I'm sorry but you are wrong. 100kmph is actually 62.5mph. So, 40mph would actually be 64kmph.

• yhtan on Oct 11, 2005 at 10:00 pm

ei….i thought 40m/h is equal to 88km/h?

• Rosdi on Oct 11, 2005 at 10:30 pm

Hoi.. simple math also cannot get it right ah? Go to google and type this:

'65 miles in kilometer'

Without the quote of course. See what you get?

• Marmitecrab on Oct 11, 2005 at 10:33 pm

Eh! You all never go school, ah? 1mph is equivalent to 1.61kmh (approx). Click here for more info: http://www.sciencelab.com/data/conversion_calcula…

• eRis-Aeir4s on Oct 11, 2005 at 11:19 pm

"sux said,

October 11, 2005 @ 11:23 am

heh..whatever excuse given by pro-myvi (myvi “malang” owner) can’t deny the fact that the mawi soo tin milo…even an untie can press its bonnet to dent..dont compare it to sirion,boon whatsoever la..cos mawi owner here in malaysia got conned..Perodua is selling toyota/daihatsu name to boost it selling figure…in fact..the quality between myvi and those boon/sirion..like heaven and hell…"

Hohoho , this is what I define as , 'Over-protective' by the P1 Supporters. Lets not compare to Chinese fakes with the Original cars. Because the Chinese engineers only copied the looks , well I don't believe they had the interior blueprints anyway. So their fakes are most probably not well constructed in the structure of the car. P2/Toyota/Daihatsu is different , do note that P2 have the prints to the car , and whatever quality issues that happen after that might have something to do with Toyota/Daihatsu.

Oops , there I go again – The overprotective issue , Out.

• how about kancil …. Is there anyone know Kancil crash test ratring?????

• haha my mistake…60mph equivalent to 100 km/h. a little too shocked lookin at the rumbled impian a.k.a waja as i saw most of these kids modified their waja and 'fly' around he road and would they ever think how they 'look' when they sit in this pile of 'sached' iron..

• infinity on Oct 12, 2005 at 12:37 am

dun care la the car 3star or 5star…if u drive over the limits and dangerously…then give u 7 star also no use…the conclusion…drive safely…

pemandu berhemah

• epalhead on Oct 12, 2005 at 1:10 am

ya lor…duncare bout the star. drive safely and dont speeding is most important….imagine u hit the wall @ 70mph.

huh…5 star can becomes no star lor…

• No lah… still can see so many star what? sometimes can see birds some more… hahahaha…

• Rosdi,

65mph is actually 104kmh, just take mph multiply 1.6 = kmh

• Rosdi on Oct 12, 2005 at 3:03 am

Edw,

Duh! I knew that.. i wasn't trying to be accurate, that is approximation. Mat Salleh use 0-60m/h when they are judging a car's acceleration capabilities meanwhile we use 0-100km/h.

Is 60 miles equals to 100 km? hell no.. but we use it because it is easier to remember.

If I want to be accurate, 65mph is 104.60736kmph. You are still wrong.

• cbljkkj on Oct 12, 2005 at 3:14 am

The reason the MYVI bonnet is soft is for the safety of the victim that was hit. It is meant to cushion the impact therefor minimising the risks for the victim. As for the strength of the A pillar, nobody knows how strong or weak it is. Do not simply shoot off comments about the MYVI or any car being weak without sufficient proof.

If anybody has done any research, it clearly shows that the MYVI and some new Perodua cars have two bars alongside the door panels to help protect people within the cabin. It does not matter how big or small the car is. Watch the video till the end if you know what I mean.

Till then, I think nobody should question the integrity of whatever car whatsover until it is proven.

• honourMe on Oct 12, 2005 at 4:03 am

remember those were export quality wajas. so the 3 star in europe is not applicable in msia.

• armandd on Oct 12, 2005 at 4:18 am

u mean they have separate factories producing waja and impian aa? no lah… all came from the same factory… just the fit and finish quality and the accessories are different, the body is still the same…

• eRis-Aeir4s on Oct 12, 2005 at 6:20 am

The reason the MYVI bonnet is soft is for the safety of the victim that was hit. It is meant to cushion the impact therefor minimising the risks for the victim. As for the strength of the A pillar, nobody knows how strong or weak it is. Do not simply shoot off comments about the MYVI or any car being weak without sufficient proof.

If anybody has done any research, it clearly shows that the MYVI and some new Perodua cars have two bars alongside the door panels to help protect people within the cabin. It does not matter how big or small the car is. Watch the video till the end if you know what I mean.

Till then, I think nobody should question the integrity of whatever car whatsover until it is proven.

Hohoho , my thoughts exactly.

• waja is sedan and myvi is hatchback. smaller the car,more dificult to set the crumpy area dude.if myvi is harder as waja,probably the car less broken but the driver n passenger more severe bcos of the momentum.i think

• honda_driver on Oct 12, 2005 at 6:15 pm

let us all not forget who designed the kancil, it was the japanese.

• Pepper on Oct 12, 2005 at 9:04 pm

Yo.i saw this clip long long long time ago…………….

• sekot on Oct 13, 2005 at 1:55 am

Hyundai 10 years old? mind you lah… since 1940's hyundai is there already. Like Honda, they started to supply Japanese co (Honda started as a co to supply Toyota!) BTW, the Impian is equip with 6 bags, abs+ ebd and with those equip this bulky face of Mahathiu is darn heavy ! And you can compare the price of Impian, Fiesta and Avensis (which is design in German anyway, both of thr Toyota's and Ford)

• sinleong on Oct 13, 2005 at 3:33 am

Here we go again… Proton Vs Perodua.. Grow up, people!!

• When you think of it… I mean as a Malaysian, what statistic we have about Malaysia road accident, like what car, how fast, any death or serious injury etc. It won't be so obvious if the majority of it is Proton or Perodua. But what I would like to point out is can the death toll can be reduce if proton or perodua make more safe car? Engineering solution must come first…

• BTW i heard he mentioned that "Impian which is little less than the avensis"…wat is tat "little" different between the price of a potong impian and toyota avensis? any idea?

Surprised that potong is competing the price with the likes of toyota, honda and even continental cars…boleh ka?? :P

• Wei Ping on Oct 15, 2005 at 2:06 am

Anyone having HONDA CITY Crash test URL? Mind posting it here?

• Liong Chian Min on Oct 16, 2005 at 6:25 am

Even though it is UK specs, the basic structure of the car (Proton Impian) is the same…as far as crash test is concerned….and I expect no significant structural difference between the local waja and the UK one.

So izuden is talkign rubbish that the local waja will only score 1 or 2 stars. One look and we will know waja is a strong car, and savvy is even much stronger since it's made of a better grade steel.

I salute Proton's improvements. As far Myvi, I personally think it is an overrated car…it doesnot give me a safe feeling driving it! I'll prefer Savvy anytime.

• Anyone who knows about Daihatsu Sirion crash test? Posting it here plissssss????