Abt Volkswagen Golf GTI VS4-R

Abt Sportsline GmbH is a German tuning house which tunes cars mainly from the Volkswagen Group – Volkswagen, Audi, Skoda, Lamborghini and Seat. This is their latest rendition of the Volkswagen Golf GTI. Let’s have a look at the Abt Sportsline Volkswagen Golf GTI VS4-R.

The Abt Sportsline Goft GTI VS4-R is a complete package comprising of both aesthetics and performance upgrades. Improvements to the aesthetics and aerodynamics include new weight optimized carbon lips and skirtings, and a new marked rear spoiler. The exhaust system is a new four tailpipe layout.

The 2.0 litre turbocharged FSI engine has also had it’s power bumped up to 270hp and 350Nm of torque. This power was gained through ECU modifications as well as a new Abt turbocharger. This new engine specs brings the 0-100 time of the Abt Volkswagen Golf GTI VS4-R to 6.4 seconds. Top speed is a respectable 244km/h. To cope with the new power, suspension enhancements have been made and the body has also been lowered by 4cm.

I miss the classic Volkswagen GTI rims because Abt has put a new set of 19 inch wheels on this baby. The wheels fitted are Abt’s own Sportsline SP1 wheels which are diamond-machined and made of aluminium. They are wrapped with Dunlop SP Sportmaxx 225/35/R19 tyres.

I seem to be posting alot about the Golf GTI. That’s because I like it. ALOT.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• acokia on Jan 07, 2006 at 2:42 am

1st one to comment………….nice car

• SUPER COOL!!! some more i love this car keep it up!!!…

i cant take it anymore dude

• Fatts Faith on Jan 07, 2006 at 2:53 am

Such high hspower… but the gear looks weird

• that the hit, good whit the class.

• wth** on Jan 07, 2006 at 3:28 am

wow..golf gti..even without the help from tuner the car looks damn great!

• Chineseman on Jan 07, 2006 at 3:31 am

Nice laaa…. Nice laaa…. I like.!!

• this one lawa laaa…. small car but with 270hp and 350Nm of torque.. but paul what does FSI means?

• FSI is volkwagen's direct injection. like mitsu's GDI.

• daniel on Jan 07, 2006 at 4:22 am

damn~!! sweet car.. falling in love again.. btw paul, happy new year 06.. keep up yr work here..

• Captain Grind on Jan 07, 2006 at 6:07 am

I drove the 5-Door GTI once. It's a DAMN good car. My benchmark for anything automotive.

• dzqwr on Jan 07, 2006 at 7:45 am

asek cerita VW Gold aja ni. apa cerita? minat ka paul tan? hah hah!

• Charger on Jan 07, 2006 at 8:42 am

FSI = Fast spraying injectors…..muahahaha… just kidding. OT here. :P

Lovely car! Wheels look too big though. Still prefer the original GTI's look.

Captain Grind, I'm envious of you. :P

• Cynthia on Jan 07, 2006 at 11:01 am

i love this one. tested drive sometimes ago. Fabulous. =)

• paramsingwalia on Jan 07, 2006 at 3:11 pm

this car FF ka?if that so with 270hp…torque steer la…unless they can do it like the focus RS….

but styling very nice…well done.

• Zongtwi a.k.a. Speed on Jan 07, 2006 at 3:25 pm

FSI = fuel stratified injection, designed mainly for emission reduction and increase fuel consumption. The FSI engine basically has two methods of fuel injection. Normal direct injection with no EGR at high load (acceleration, gear changing etc) and stratified injection with EGR at low load (cruising). The VVT system will change between the two methods depending on driving condition. Can't believe they've strapped a turbocharger to this engine. It's like those crazy Holywood celebs who boast about driving a Toyota Prius and claiming that they are doing their bit for the environment, but at the same time own loads of petrol guzzling SUVs and Semis or sportscars, like the Escalade, Hummer or the Ford GT. It's so hypocritical. The turbocharger would just render the emission reduction obsolete. Don't get me wrong, I'm all for maximising horses from engines, but it's the hypocritical part of it that's bothering me. Should've used a normal engine for that. Then again, the FSI most probably is the stock engine for that car, and Abt Sportsline is only working on what's already there. But somehow I doubt it. I'm not sure if they can have both a Gran Touring Injection and a Fuel stratified injection on a single engine. Paul, shed some light for me please, is the FSI the stock engine for the Golf?

But with all that said, I'd swap my aging MK2 Golf 1.8cl for this one anytime!

• Zongtwi a.k.a. Speed on Jan 07, 2006 at 3:47 pm

Oops, sorry…

————————————————————-

Zongtwi a.k.a. Speed Junkie said,

January 7, 2006 @ 7:25 am

FSI = fuel stratified injection, designed mainly for emission reduction and increase fuel consumption.

————————————————————-

I meant, lowering fuel consumption, not increasing it. My bad.

• Apai_Mau on Jan 07, 2006 at 7:02 pm

I have to get me one of this!

• narrowband on Jan 07, 2006 at 7:08 pm

White colour is awesome!

• gegaoff on Jan 07, 2006 at 7:15 pm

2doors sporty? emm… but the white color not very attractive.

but the spec is very cool. :D

• Aris Tee on Jan 07, 2006 at 8:09 pm

I have to agree the Golf V looks really menacing in 2 doors… and that white… wow… thwin tailpipes, juicy rollers… nice ride :D

hoping to get one ar Paul?

• so expensive how to buy… around 200k if im not mistaken.

• shaymen on Jan 08, 2006 at 1:34 am

Paul said,

January 7, 2006 @ 12:10 pm

so expensive how to buy… around 200k if im not mistaken

————————————————————

easy la paul….go and pinjam some a.p with that square face….sure murah punya..hehehehehe.

• shaymen on Jan 08, 2006 at 1:46 am

honestly…this car looks like srm…but of cos this car is better looking laa…i think srm could look like it one day when dai ichi or proton motorsport make a bodykit for the srm…

i love the waja from r3 with a front splitter…looks really cool.

• shaymen on Jan 08, 2006 at 2:35 am

Zongtwi a.k.a. Speed Junkie said,

January 7, 2006 @ 7:25 am

see la this speed junkie…always wanna tunjuk pandai..weii,this car can corner or not?ff with that much hp…u see what happen to many wiralutions in malaysia la…cannot corner what….straight line very fast,corner being eaten by wira 1.8 only..thats why many malaysian racer just wanna drag only.donno how to set their car suspension correctly…like this speed junkie la…

eyyy,what car do you have ahh?what if u and me,racing in SIC(subang international circuit)….cool or not?

• paramsingwalia on Jan 08, 2006 at 4:10 am

hahahahaha..shaymen…dont push zontwi too hard la…last time when push hard he says he's working at lotus uk…now u push him to race..maybe he will say he's kimi raikkonen pulak…LOL

• paramsingwalia on Jan 08, 2006 at 4:12 am

ala shaymen..that zongtwi only surf internet cari info..then post to make like he's an engineer pak..see how many times he's wrong with the FSI….

seach engine problem la tu..

• Zongtwi a.k.a. Speed on Jan 08, 2006 at 8:05 am

Keep them coming lads…heheh couldn't care less. Funny though!

• I would perhaps have to disagree with Speed Junkie regarding the philosophy of putting a turbo with the FSI engine. On the contrary, direct fuel injection mated with a low pressure turbo is a perfect combination of giving you good performance with good fuel economy. You can get 35.3mpg from the turbo FSI engine. In the real world, we get about 400km-450km from a 50 litre tank of gas with our GTI. Plus, I don't think VW ever touted the turbo FSi engine to be an outright economy engine. Audi used the TFSI engine to great effect by winning numerous LeMans titles due to it's wide torque band and fuel economy.

• paramsingwalia on Jan 08, 2006 at 12:57 pm

just change the sign and name it proton srm….then sure bash punye blindly….of course malaysian 3rd world mentality

• shaymen on Jan 09, 2006 at 12:18 am

paramsingwalia said,

January 7, 2006 @ 8:10 pm

hahahahaha..shaymen…dont push zontwi too hard la…last time when push hard he says he’s working at lotus uk…now u push him to race..maybe he will say he’s kimi raikkonen pulak…LOL

————————————————————

kimi raikkonen????…..hahahahahahahahahahaha…..mesti dia cakap kimi pernah training dgn dia dulu kat lotus….then masuk trek sama sama….

hehehehehehe…speed junkie ni tolol pun ada,nakal pun ada yekk….

• paramsingwalia on Jan 09, 2006 at 12:20 am

more to tolol i think shaymen….next time maybe dia ngaku he's tun mahatrir pulak…that's why i know inside info that nut say..

• shaymen on Jan 09, 2006 at 1:16 am

paramsingwalia said,

January 8, 2006 @ 4:20 pm

more to tolol i think shaymen….next time maybe dia ngaku he’s tun mahatrir pulak…that’s why i know inside info that nut say..

————————————————————–

tun mahathir?…hehehehehehe.

inside info konon…..i think he is budak kencing malam la mr param…"midnight pee boy"kalau bahasa orang putih.

• paramsingwalia on Jan 09, 2006 at 1:26 am

if u want in cantonese version…go ask that budak you mou gar ntah binatang ape…seems he only knows that..fail bahasa mandarin darjah 6 la tu…ehehheheheheheheh

• clark_kent on Jan 09, 2006 at 1:38 am

reminder: u guys are running away from the topic.. LoL

• paramsingwalia on Jan 09, 2006 at 1:58 am

lark_kent said,

January 8, 2006 @ 5:38 pm

reminder: u guys are running away from the topic.. LoL

——————————————————————————-

thank u superboy….

• shaymen on Jan 09, 2006 at 1:58 am

whoa,whoa,whoa……what do we got here?

a superman huh?….a savior for all the mankind.

heyyy superman!…why dont u figure out how to wear ur underwear the right way before u come here and teach us bout whats right to say or wrong…

why dont u choose to be a keluang man or sidek brother….at least it sound more malaysian.

u donno where u came from la man…

• paramsingwalia on Jan 09, 2006 at 2:01 am

origin from anak2 sidek..to space cop gaban..then to superman..hehehehehehe

now mor can join the wannabe exclusive club..

• shaymen on Jan 09, 2006 at 2:03 am

superman!HELP!!!!….

• paramsingwalia on Jan 09, 2006 at 2:04 am

reminder :remember mr superman..ur red underwear cannot wash with white cloth aaa..then will get pink all over….

• paramsingwalia on Jan 09, 2006 at 2:05 am

oii shaymen..be carefulll..maybe he can see us thru the pc with his x ray vision…ahahahahahha

• shaymen on Jan 09, 2006 at 2:19 am

oooo yeahhh…i almost forgot,but dont worry mr param..i knew all the american hero,plastic man,ninja turtle,inspector gadget,transformer…i also know cookie monster..they can help us if we been beaten by mr clark kent here…

ello mr superman,pls dont turn back the time today ahhh….i got a date today u know.pitty me laa…

• shaymen on Jan 09, 2006 at 2:25 am

reminder: all people be carefull,mr superman here is actually mr peeping tom,he has x ray vision so he can see what kind of underwear were wearin..

• paramsingwalia on Jan 09, 2006 at 2:30 am

reminder : dont try to be a superhero la…big bird from sesame street..maybe..

• waimak on Jan 09, 2006 at 4:37 pm

VW Golf GTi, even without tuning is already an awesome monster. With ECU modifications and Abt turbocharger on this baby, I'll go crazy man!!!

• shaymen on Jan 09, 2006 at 5:59 pm

if all malaysian ppl crazy like waimak here to proton car kan bagus….patriotic skit..

• albagmane on Jan 09, 2006 at 6:30 pm

gosh.. the rims look terrific!!!

• virus on Jan 09, 2006 at 6:30 pm

ABT ni tuner VW ker????

• shaymen on Jan 09, 2006 at 6:37 pm

waimak said,

January 9, 2006 @ 8:37 am

VW Golf GTi, even without tuning is already an awesome monster. With ECU modifications and Abt turbocharger on this baby, I’ll go crazy man!!!

————————————————————-

waimak,proton also can produce a car like this…but its just that our rtd tak nak lulus the car la..they said not suitable for malaysian road.

the rtd should make like japon laa,limit by hp…then i think proton will come out with more daring cars if proton is still here to stay in 10years time(free trade,remember)

• drazm on Jan 09, 2006 at 6:54 pm

cantik nak mmmmmmmmmmmaaaaaaaaaaammmpusss!

dngan Malaysia boleh nye polisis mmg tak dak duitnye nak beli….

• Wow, engine output is close toe the Evo's!

• homer (Member) on Jan 10, 2006 at 5:39 am

#

Ed said,

January 9, 2006 @ 2:06 pm

Wow, engine output is close toe the Evo’s!

————————————————————————-

hmmmm…but no use…FF only induce torque steer..

• BoOtY_MaN (Member) on Jan 11, 2006 at 8:19 am

woaahhh!!! just BEAUTIFUL! but yeah.. like homer said… FF will induce torque steer. FF is cool.. but kinda sucks too. hehe.

• clark_kent (Member) on Jan 13, 2006 at 10:45 am

yea rite… if only i have x-ray visions, then i wouldn't be sitting here rotting away here in front of the comp.