Khazanah may take Proton private

Khazanah Nasional Bhd may be considering taking some government-linked companies private to help with their restructuring process in order to achieve KPIs. Earlier this week, K&N Kenanga had already speculated taking Proton private may be an option to expedite decision making to turn the company around.

If Proton goes private, it will no longer have to deal with issues with minority shareholders when making decisions. Khazanah Nasional has to bid for remaining shares it does not own in Proton Holdings Bhd before it can take it private.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Initial D (Member) on Mar 25, 2006 at 11:15 pm

dun understand…………can explain ah?

• Paul Tan on Mar 25, 2006 at 11:22 pm

It means Proton will not be public listed anymore if they decide to take it private.

• TheMachine (Member) on Mar 26, 2006 at 1:39 am

wah like that also dun understand, simple english only wor ?

• dk (Member) on Mar 26, 2006 at 2:12 am

It acutally means that they can now play with whatever money they still have and don't have to answer to the public about it. Great one isn't it? Creating a national car using public money and then make it into a private company making it harder for public inquiry. What happen to their plans to spin off divisions of the Proton into separate listed/profitable entities?

• Abu (Member) on Mar 26, 2006 at 2:12 am

Wah…make it private means doing watever hanky panky oso no nid to report to public la…later sure go bankruptcy and ask govnt to pump in more $$$ 1….privatize means sweeping watever worms and maggots under the carpet…

• keith (Member) on Mar 26, 2006 at 5:14 am

Wah…make it private means doing watever hanky panky oso no nid to report to public la…later sure go bankruptcy and ask govnt to pump in more $$$ 1….privatize means sweeping watever worms and maggots under the carpet…

If it's private company, government won't pump in money anymore. Further more, the process of converting public into private will benefitial the minority shareholder, else the minority won't sell off their shares.

It acutally means that they can now play with whatever money they still have and don’t have to answer to the public about it. Great one isn’t it? Creating a national car using public money and then make it into a private company making it harder for public inquiry. What happen to their plans to spin off divisions of the Proton into separate listed/profitable entities?

Actually it's very easy to get the financial affairs of Proton even they're privated. Just the management won't have to explain too much things to the public. Furthermore, who ever buy over Proton and make it private will have a better chances to make proton a better future.

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 26, 2006 at 5:31 am

Its one of the stupidest idea. Lets say it goes private, then whoever owns it makes some bad decision, and company will go bust. And for some weird reason, the government will come in and save proton just like superman. I don't think the government will let it go away just like that

• raptorclans (Member) on Mar 26, 2006 at 5:46 am

superman? hee hee hee…

• kevyeap (Member) on Mar 26, 2006 at 8:56 am

It is my understanding any “company” that is subsidized by government can’t go private due to bookkeeping/accounting purposes. If it is a “private company”, it shall be responsible for its survival in the marketplace. Therefore, no government subsidy is allowed in any way, shape or form.

Isn’t there is any member of Parliaments who stand up and comment that Proton is no longer a viable business operation and shall be closed down? If Malaysian needs the imported technology, we can have more CKD plants so the local can be trained. However, the R&D still belong the respective company. Please correct me if I am wrong. I always hear the Proton engine is “designed” by some Japanese’s car marker. I haven’t heard the Proton really designs its own engine from scratch during the past 20 years. To me, Proton is not much different being a “CKD production” except using Malaysian’s tax payer money. Any thoughts?

Cheers!

• HatukNgkau (Member) on Mar 26, 2006 at 9:57 pm

kevyeap said,

March 26, 2006 @ 12:56 am

I always hear the Proton engine is “designed” by some Japanese’s car marker. I haven’t heard the Proton really designs its own engine from scratch during the past 20 years.

=============================================

well, Proton and its hardcore supporters claims Campro is… so wat say u to disprove their "claims"?

• dk (Member) on Mar 27, 2006 at 12:49 am

"Actually it’s very easy to get the financial affairs of Proton even they’re privated. Just the management won’t have to explain too much things to the public. Furthermore, who ever buy over Proton and make it private will have a better chances to make proton a better future."

==========================================

That's the whole problem isn't it? Management don't have to explain to public. Sure you can get the financials if you dig, that is if you dig. Correct me if I am wrong, the whole purpose of public company using public funds should automatically make itself accountable. Proton is created and operated using 100% pure public money and nothing else.

Making a company private or public does not make it better or worse, but it is the people running it, which again leads to management! If management feels that their hands are tide then quit as a protest and the market would automatically respond. Good or bad manager, the market willl know.