NAP After-Effects: Perodua extends price slash to baseline models

Perodua has announced that it’s 4% price reduction will be extended to it’s baseline Perodua Kancil EX660 and Perodua Kancil EX850 models. Previously it was decided it would not reduce prices for those models as margins are already very thin, instead offering a fixed RM100 price cut instead.

Prices for the Perodua Kembara and Perodua Rusa remain unchanged, as they fall under the SUV and MPV category.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• gepochai (Member) on Mar 30, 2006 at 8:27 pm

no extra discounts on myvi ??

• zaizzai (Member) on Mar 30, 2006 at 8:53 pm

4% discout pa liao ar… compare to other brands car……eh………

• motorhead (Member) on Mar 30, 2006 at 9:14 pm

kancil ex850 is a ok car.. but new models have to much plastic.. not worth for yr money.. but u at least u can use it with peaceful mind for 5 years…& the fuel consumption is ok.. the new ads, RM10 = 100km (current price).. is true..

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 30, 2006 at 9:36 pm

We can see perodua being hypocrite here, and I'm not suprised other manufacturers are the same as well. First no reduction, then slight reduction, then some more reduction

• kody (Member) on Mar 30, 2006 at 9:48 pm

wahlaueh…

motorhead bro,… although newer kancil have more plastic but overall still very good as compare to previous model in some handling & comfort. I like the newer kancil air-con. the air-con consoles are good to deliver concentrated air to passengers & driver. i tried before newer kancil 660ex & compare to 850 (old model). i like the 660ex newr model very much in terms of comfort, air-con & overall. The steering control was better than old model even was not power steering. Nice job from P2. Sad to say for P1…. SAGA…WIRA until today…. still….same….quality….fxck…

• motorhead (Member) on Mar 30, 2006 at 9:51 pm

they sell the cheapest model, what??… why they need to bother.. this is their good chance to make more profit… small-small changes just to heed our useless leaders urges… to get back the people hearts… some sort like wanna be the people's champion la…

PS: remember The Rock good old time…

• edwardo (Member) on Mar 30, 2006 at 9:52 pm

Based on the Royal Malaysian Customs gazetted vehicle price list, for example, Hyundai Getz 1.3 and Kia Picanto 1.1 only cost RM21,000; with such a substandard quality kancil also selling at RM21,000 ++ and Perodua dare to said the margin is thin….

• catborg (Member) on Mar 30, 2006 at 10:03 pm

toyota is very good in profit making.. ;)

kancil? no!.. it's almost killer car..

• kody (Member) on Mar 30, 2006 at 10:09 pm

wahlaueh…

I remember my sister's Japanese friend told her that similar car like 'kancil' at Japan only sell for ~15k +-, defenately less than 20k. Can you imagine how high is the Japanese salaries as compare to a car, may be less than a month's salary, they can purchase a 'kancil' already… in malaysia… 'kancil'…installment until 9yrs…. i think later will become like housing installment >10yrs….haha…. *_*

• kody (Member) on Mar 30, 2006 at 10:11 pm

just to re-cap… the ~15k is in rinnggit malaysia for a kancil in Japan.

• Initial D (Member) on Mar 30, 2006 at 10:13 pm

nvm………..wateva u say…the price of tat is still one of the lowest…so susah to bising perodua……

• pycazu (Member) on Mar 30, 2006 at 10:15 pm

We were forced to pay "higher price" (taught by Joe Ooi) for P1 or even P2 cars back date from 1981, too numb oredi…

Still the price cut just merely little respond to Gov call, not any surprise though.

• motorhead (Member) on Mar 30, 2006 at 10:16 pm

kody..

Oo.. like that ka…?? may be i miss that one la.. i thought the handling is the same… but of course "like" is subjective… u love it, fine 2 me oso, round lamps is ok oso.. but the back bumper so thin la kody.. mine 2001 model have colorful interior.. & still got dashboard.. i saw many new owners put their keys, handpon & stuff in the meter console.. is it scratchproof ka??.. but nowhere else to put.. rite…?? hehe..

• kody (Member) on Mar 30, 2006 at 10:30 pm

wahlaueh…

motorhead bro, i drove few times for both 660(newer model) & 850(old model) that why i conclude, i like the newer one. quickly get cold with good air-con. the air-con for newer kancil anytime is better than the new ISWARA. Only the sound of doors' autolock… a bit hard & louder. i am thinking to have it before, but i can't afford to trade in my 2yrs plus…shit… WIRA AE.

• motorhead (Member) on Mar 30, 2006 at 11:06 pm

kody… hemmeh??.. new air cond must be cold la.. old air cond after service ok oso.. hehe.. go aheah la, buy one, then we can ve paultan kancil club.. kancil ve so many potong parts some more.. save fuel to drive & easy to custom..

but you know, kancil chasis can stay intact for at least for 5 years.. after that u will hear mysterious sound, hard to find from where… but lucky, i found a pomen can cowthim that poblems.. many refused to doit…

• kody (Member) on Mar 30, 2006 at 11:25 pm

Wahlaueh…

motorhead bro, it is not matter of new or old air-con, as long as the gas stay in it, it will function well. What i said better is the design & air flow & speed of cooling. old kancil will have air-con consoles near to windscreen & far from uses. new one are at strategic location, near center & near to users. One good suggestion for kancil after 5 years just change all, engine bushings, suspensions bushing & suspensions as well, then will become quite again loh. may be loh…haha :)

Now my wira Aeroback inner boot area are naked because i want to find the source of 'chit chit'… not suspension problems…. it bother me for a long a go since few weeks old!!!… Now really determine to solve it & do sound proof project on it.

One advise to new P1 owners, dun on radio 4 ur new P1 car, it may cover up the 'chit chat' sound of the car. repair it for free when still under warranty.

• go_go (Member) on Mar 31, 2006 at 8:20 am

kody,

I had similar problems as you had when i had my wira 1.3 AB 3 yrs ago. The 'chit chit' sound came from rear is really annoying. Whats really annoyed me was the car was a day old. So, i straight away go to Proton Edar Service and ask them. Another annoying thing was i was treat badly and the mechanic told me that it is the sound of rusted metal near the spring coil. What the hell was that!!? than i said to him just fix it and i would be happy to get out frm there. So, he fix it and charge me rm100 for it. I argue with him because the car was brand new and i just picked it up frm dealer. Then he said to me that i need to pledge my case to the dealer. WTF!!!! then i just pay and dont wanna argue so much because im too tired waiting from morning until almost dark at that time.

Then, the 'chit chit' sound seems to be vanished. But another annyoed thing happened that the 'chit chit sound appear again another week after that. Then i just install some good audio and never bother about that again. But, 'not to bother' attitude of mine seems to be foolish. A month later my rear suspension and spring coil fail. My mechanic sed to me that the suspension somehow 'bocor'. So, i installed new sets of suspension and spring coil for my wira.

And until now, my wira has no problem and no funny sound again. Im neither expert of automobiles nor suspension, but it just my experience and i hope that my story will help you in some way.

Another thing, is gen 2 good? my fren sed that the fuel consumption is good. can someone help me with this? i plan to change my car…

• king (Member) on Mar 31, 2006 at 10:13 am

WTF p2 is a blardy liar saying kancil 660 and 850 margin is very thin. kia picanto, suzuki alto and fiat panda all sells for RM30k-35k in UK including tax OTR.And there is hardly any tax for baseline p2 cars. what a bunch of liars!! even end of 2005 some p2 dealers were giving RM1000 discounts for kancil 660/ 850.

p2 is trying to adopt high profit margin strategy from parent toyota.

• whodz (Member) on Mar 31, 2006 at 7:33 pm

well, although new price for myvi was not published at any press(as far as i concern), myvi sxi (that is my new myvi) dropped 3.99% equivalent to RM1814. Perhaps anyone has other new price reduction for myvi sxi?

• wc5be (Member) on Mar 31, 2006 at 7:37 pm

generally, bom cos of koreans r around rm10 -15k, china lowest 5 -12k. japan relatively slightly higher den korean. msia about d same as korean.

europe n us i duno.

• catborg (Member) on Mar 31, 2006 at 8:14 pm

Jangan nak tipu la kody!..

adik sepupu aku belajar kat jepun.

sana mahal tinggi kos hidup..

mmg barang2 electronic, etc murah.. tapi tak semua orang mampu pakai kereta pun..

suka2 buat cerita sendiri. huh!

BTW..

kancil still a hot car? ..

what a poor malaysian..

remember someone said = drivin kancil is like drive in the coffin box.. no safety at all.. :(

Why dont kancil price below RM20K?

because toyota wont slash down the price?..

• whodz (Member) on Mar 31, 2006 at 11:06 pm

Paul, where is my post, dude?

• wolf1437 (Member) on Apr 04, 2006 at 9:54 am

Why Perodua car is going up and up and up? Can't they maintain around the price range for fresh graduate and poor exec? Since the "P" car is uncomparable of quality. The Perodua management should consider lower down the price to boost the sales. MYVI scored 85% overall in my point of view minus the CD player, built in speaker and the "big butt", i propose they start a new collection of limited edition with Full Sport Kit, High quality tint, Leather seat and optional CD player. Too much dreaming these days i guess… hai!!!