Dongfeng Peugeot Citroen recalls vehicles

small_elysee.jpgDongfeng Peugeot Citroen Automobile Company Ltd, a joint venture company between French company PSA Peugeot Citroen and Chinese automobile company Dongfeng Motor Group is recalling nearly 20,000 cars due to a faulty alternator.

An alternator converts alternating current into direct current to supply power to car components. The models affected are the Elysee and Fukang vehicles made between 1 December 2005 and 9 March 2006. The faulty alternator will be replaced for free.

There has been 11 recalls this year in China, showing that Chinese car manufacturers take their vehicles seriously and are responsible with after-sales support. But of course, this has been encouraged by the Chinese governmetn in the form of the State General Administration of Quality Supervision, Inspection and Quarantine which enforces auto recall regulations put in place back in October 2004.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• yukkie (Member) on Apr 19, 2006 at 12:33 am

神秘

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Apr 19, 2006 at 12:38 am

yukkie – do you mean "secret". If that is the case, what is it to do with recalls vehicles?

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Apr 19, 2006 at 12:40 am

If recalls regulations implemented in Malaysia, I think P1 have alot to do, just mentioned power window! how many have to recall.

Anyway, Paul do you have any details on the content of this regulations for us to have better understanding.

• REDDEVIL (Member) on Apr 19, 2006 at 1:29 am

Yes, government should implement or impose recall regulations into our car industry for the consumers' best interest.. then P will take QC seriously.

• Ricc (Member) on Apr 19, 2006 at 1:35 am

Wutever posted here, sure related to Proton.. :p

But I do agree, if the G exercise such recall regulations, P will have to recall all car they've ever made…

• outspoken (Member) on Apr 19, 2006 at 1:49 am

This is an outrage! How come they get away from this?! bash them.. oohhh.. wait a minute.. you're talking about pegouet, a european manufacturer… emmm well, people make mistake, lets just forgive them…

good ol' malaysian attitude.. when it's orang putih, its always PURE..

• usmat (Member) on Apr 19, 2006 at 2:30 am

china product is suck….i just got usb flash 8gb from friend who just return from china…first time…can use…but second time…it gone…qc still under international level….include car

• Tracks (Member) on Apr 19, 2006 at 2:47 am

If the alternator or any other parts(i.e. harness, brakes & etc) that relates to the safe operation of the vehicle are faulty, car manufacturers would normally recalled it. Power window & door handles sadly is considered a convenience item and therefore no recall would be initiated.

By the way, an Alternator is a device that converts mechanical(kinetic) energy to electrical energy in the form of Alternating Current (ac). Hence its name "Alternator". In the old days, Conversion of ac to dc (Direct Current) was perform externally. Nowadays, all new alternators convert the ac to dc internally therefore the output is dc current. The name has actually been changed to "Generator" but people are so used to the old name that nobody bother with its new name. Currently the latest trend is combining the alternator with the starter motor, thus saving cost and weight. But I don't know what it is called.

• cyborgx (Member) on Apr 19, 2006 at 2:53 am

as expected.. china automotive industry will be one step ahead of proton.

• HatukNgkau (Member) on Apr 19, 2006 at 5:14 am

if proton do recall just for its power windows problem, jangan harap offered to do it for free, even at half price also would make proton go bankrupt!

• sighonroad (Member) on Apr 19, 2006 at 5:21 am

ok, I am just contact DPCA ( the joint venture) this afternoon, yeah it's real recall action. The generator is produced in China, but also a joint venture.

• motorhead (Member) on Apr 19, 2006 at 5:57 am

See.. no car is perfect.. but they ve proved to be responsible. all gen2 should be recalled.. why dont they??..Ermmm.. why aaa..??.. wonder…. Oooo.. this is bolehland.. everything is possible… P1 may say something like this.. "Suka hati aku la nak recall ke tak!!!"..

hahaha… poor those P1 owner.. why nobody want to sue them….KPDN should look into this matter….They should protect the consumer….

• triplesaber (Member) on Apr 19, 2006 at 7:04 pm

Maybe Malaysians have grown accustomed at experiencing bad quality cars, we just tend to ingore, or too penat to complain, too much to complain..

Btw, I dont know the meaning behind 'Fukang' but personally, i dont think itsa good branding name. I dunno, it just sounds.. offensive.. hehe.

• sAgaLuve (Member) on Apr 20, 2006 at 2:48 am

just my "dua sen" here

Although I won't buy a China-made car now, I don't see why not in another 5-7 years. I'm sure by that time, the quality would have improved by leaps and bounds. Remember the case with Hyundai where it was condemned as a also ran with horrendous quality-related issues in the 1990s. Well, they bucked up and they were tied with Honda for 2nd place in the 2004 JD Power & Associated ranking for Initial Quality (See below)

2004 Corporate IQS (Initial Quality Score) Ranking

Problems per 100 Vehicles (Lower Score indicate higher quality)

1. Toyota (101)

2. Honda & Hyundai (102)

3 BMW of USA (116)

Industry Average is 119

The thing with the Koreans & Japanese carmakers are that they are fighting in a large market where there are no "artificial market distortion forces" like in Malaysia so you compete based on your quality, model-mix & brand. Meritocracy is king.

The car market in China is very open with each automobile maker fighting tooth and nail to gain traction and on their competitors – pure simple unadulterated brawl for all. And with China's vast 1.3- billion-people markets the car makers there have the advantages of developing economy of scale and this conditions them for global competition, just like many dominating companies of the US that grew up in their 200+ million people market and then join the global market.

Real competitions weed out the weak and rewards the strong and innovative ones with the resulting net benefits to us consumers and to the government in form of taxes. However, our "beloved" government still believes in P1 coz it is the blue-eyed boy of the old man "M".

well, that is my lengthy 2cents…… thx for your audience.

• Fairman (Member) on Apr 21, 2006 at 11:46 pm

The difference is , China automotive make low quality car in a improving stage and with reasonable price, so affordable for majority china people.

But, P1 make low quality car and sold to rakyat with expensive price. they never think about how to improve, sad and shame……

• As far as I’m concerned, there is no point getting out of bed for less than a grand, so this doesn’t seem to be worth it to me.