Auto Italia makes it easier to own an Alfa 147!

alfa_147_italia.jpg

Customised financing packages seem to be the in thing with car manufacturers these days. Sime Darby Auto Italia Sdn Bhd is the latest to join the bandwagon with a financing plan for the sporty Alfa 147 hatchback which starts at a monthly repayment of RM788 for the first year. The repayment amount increases by RM500 every year. This package is offered together with Sime Credit Sdn Bhd.

If you’re an Alfa fan, you might want to take advantage of this offer to finally get your first Alfa. But be sure your salary increments by at least RM500 every year!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• raz_R (Member) on Jul 27, 2006 at 12:23 pm

sadly Auto Italia is not bringing in the 159 yet

anyways this is a great car, i like the cabin's quality feeling

the engine sounds great, however didnt get to test the car's real handling capability :/

planned to get the 1.6 manual ones :)

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Jul 27, 2006 at 1:20 pm

I feel for Auto Iltalia. It's hard to convince those who have been affected by or even heard of Alfa history of poor service. They would have to do more than offer friendly credit plans and promises of better service to bring people back to the showroom.

They should appoint a PR company to do a kick-ass image-building campaign to reverse the negative perception of the brand first. Then come up with good marketing lure later…

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jul 27, 2006 at 3:08 pm

haha…alfa is not like dat anymore…this car actually is good…dun hv any problem…and very rare…pretty…mabe typical ppl still think the negative perception of this brand…

btw…agree wit raz…sadly they dun bring the brera and 159 yet…im planning to get the 159 if the car imprese me…so far…falling in love wit 159…hopefully it will kill me when they bring the 159 in their showroom…

• KY (Member) on Jul 27, 2006 at 5:01 pm

i haven't had a salary increment in over 2 years, bleh

• notorpkcuf (Member) on Jul 27, 2006 at 5:10 pm

FYI Sime Darby only took over the dealership not too long ago so I suppose they need some time to reposition the brand in Malaysia to its full potential.

Also u have to understand that being owned by Fiat group, Alfa has always been the confused child. Having brothers with clear senses of identity in Ferrari being the sports car, Fiat being the common production car (people's car), and Maseratti being the luxury sports car. This leaves Alfa being the not so sporty not so common not so luxurious car.

• REDDEVIL (Member) on Jul 27, 2006 at 5:11 pm

Increase RM500 for monthly intalment after a year???? it's unrealistic, i got average increment of RM300 per year. How to cover those extra RM500???

It's just a gimmick from auto italia, all car dealers are doing this thing nowadays. Buy the car which you can afford, else end up eating plain roti everyday.. :)

• Whopper (Member) on Jul 27, 2006 at 5:32 pm

Hmmm…Italia Auto must awfully desperate to push sales of Alfa's. Alfa are unfortunately not well received in Malaysia due to poor 2nd hand values. Maintenance shouldn't be a problem as there are mechanics/workshops specializes into servicing Alfas. Like spare parts are that expensive for those in the higher income group. Average wage earner like Whopper cannot afford to maintain the Alfa yet alone purchase one. Whopper very sad…:-(

• Whopper (Member) on Jul 27, 2006 at 5:34 pm

Ooopps…Whopper did a typo error on the 3rd sentence..it should be typed as

Likewise spare pars are not that expensive for those in the higher income group.

Whopper says sorry. :-P

• MyBoy (Member) on Jul 27, 2006 at 5:55 pm

They always offer old models when other country got new one.

• lowprofile (Member) on Jul 27, 2006 at 6:07 pm

used car values are a thing of the past already. a friend of mine tried to trade in his 'ultimate driving machine' for a car that 'moves minds' but was only offered peanuts. this was the third attempt to let go of his car. the first being the ultimate driving machine's authorised dealer itself when he tried to get the newly launched locally assembled 320i. he then tried with another german and swedish brand and still got peanuts.

problem lies in perhaps paying too low a downpayment and stretching the loan too far. the installments will never overtake the car's depreciation. furthermore, in today's depressed car market, even the mighty german brands are taking a big hit in resale values. so, its a used car buyers market now? unfortunately the tight credit conditions by banks puts a damper on things and its not their fault too.

• familyman (Member) on Jul 27, 2006 at 6:08 pm

RM 500 yearly increament!! huhu

with every increament, the "Potongan Cukai Berjadual" also goes up.

the epf people also will undercut your increament.

in the end you will feel that you are getting less money :(

alfa… dunno… alfa don't really do it for me lah…

• MyBoy (Member) on Jul 27, 2006 at 7:54 pm

lowprofile>>>

Your friends "ultimate driving machine" is E46 or E36?

• Deodorant (Member) on Jul 27, 2006 at 9:30 pm

How many years loan is this? 7 years = $4,288 monthly installment in the 7th year …

Anyway looked up the 147 price on star-motoring, about RM190,000. For that kind of money I'd much rather get a new Mazda 6 or MX-5, or a 2-year old RX-8. Heck I'd rather just spend 110 on a Civic and, uh, go for a 6 month European tour with the remaining 80k.

Then again you can't put a price on a personal love for a particular car/brand of car.

• szw (Member) on Jul 28, 2006 at 12:07 am

still expensive

• SoMeOnE (Member) on Jul 28, 2006 at 5:55 am

well its basiclaly no about buyin this cars…..its about maintainin them and their aftersales value…these are the factors why european cars dun sell as well as theiir japanese and korean counterparts….its not about buyin em thats painfull…at least for me…but maintaini them..imagine an alfa into its 5th year wit and wit this kind of fincancin scheme?….its like a doubleheaded snake…..

• aesthari (Member) on Jul 28, 2006 at 9:11 am

Yes, I agree, buying these cars are not painful, it's maintaining them, and it's not all about the money either; sometimes you just feel fed-out having to send the car for service over and over and over again. You own a continental, particularly the older french ones, and chances are you become friendly with the mechanics very soon. The problems about reliability seems to have vanished with the newer models though, I rarely see the newer models (2000 and onwards) in any of the workshops.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jul 28, 2006 at 3:40 pm

hhmm…actually…let c wat happen to the facelifted 156…the sales is not good coz everybody knows dat replacement model had released…the 159…they should let go the 156 and bring the 159….to 147…everybody will feel it is expensive coz…ex alfa romeo dealer here…which is milan auto…come out with a very low price to compare it with current price which is 150k…now…in sime darby..they sell it with 170 or 180k if im not mistaken for the 2.0L version…so…everybody knows the price of the 147 in the past…if they want to buy the 147…mcm kn tipu la plak…dulu murah…skang mahal…dats y most 147 on the road…u can c the 1st generation of the 147…the facelifted model is very very rare…same goes to 156 facelifted…very very rare…

some of my fren own the alfa….many of them own the 147…so far no problem…jz come to the doctor for a schedule service only…no need to b worried with the car nowadays…the maintainance is ok…spare part senang dapat…byk alfa workshop…jz u hv to knowla…

• lowprofile (Member) on Jul 28, 2006 at 5:16 pm

MyBoy, its an e46

• MyBoy (Member) on Jul 28, 2006 at 10:13 pm

lowprofile>>>

Is he been offered 50% of the original price or even worst? May i know what year the E46 is?

• lowprofile (Member) on Jul 29, 2006 at 2:50 am

2001 318i 88 to 90+k only. he's decided not to sell.

• MyBoy (Member) on Jul 29, 2006 at 10:46 pm

Wow!!!

• imrik82 (Member) on Jul 30, 2006 at 4:01 am

buying the car isnt a problem to me but after seeing my dad maintain an alfa for 6 years i think i rather buy a honda civic which i did :D european cars has lots of problems in malaysia mainly because of its climate, the humidity and heat will get to the car eletronics and also its interior… + let us not forget the repair parts cost a bomb and until recently alfa service center has been really really crappy (till sime took over) then only ok.