European Daihatsu Trevis (Daihatsu Mira Gino)

trevis1.jpg

Small cars attack Europe! Daihatsu has brought in the Daihatsu Mira Gino into the European market as the Daihatsu Trevis with minor facelifts, such as a different front grille and other minor cosmetic changes. Yes, this car might seem familiar to some of you. A Mira Gino conversion is pretty popular with local Perodua Kelisa enthusiasts to give it a look reminiscent of the old school Mini.

The Daihatsu Trevis is powered by a 1.0 litre DOHC 3-cylinder engine with DVVT (EJ-VE) making 58 horsepower and 91Nm of torque at 4,000rpm and gets a good 4.8 litres per 100km. Transmission is either a 4-speed auto or a 5-speed manual, which makes the engine and gearbox options pretty much similiar to our local Perodua Kelisa except this one has DVVT. The Daihatsu Trevis Junior goes for 9,990 Euros, which is about RM47,150. The Daihatsu Trevis, which adds a MOMO leather wrapped steering and other goodies like 14 inch alloy wheels goes for 10,990 Euros, that would be about RM51,786. To upgrade from the 5-speed manual to a 4-speed auto, tag on 970 Euros (RM4,580) to the price.

More photos after the jump.

trevis2.jpg

trevis3.jpg

trevis4.jpg

trevis5.jpg

trevis6.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• motorhead (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 2:58 am

Whoa.. nice… so classic… hahaha… very cheap compare with new mini… i like it, youngsters wud say this car ugly….

• cbljkkj (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 3:04 am

Pretty nice re-design. The older Gino looked a little weird and resembled the Mini a little too closely. Engine is ok i guess but what I really want is a YRV engine. 180km/h in 3rd gear!!! That is one fine engine.

• tbcheese (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 3:08 am

It looks a lot like the Copen hardtop convertible. The front and side gives a vintage aura. This is a real cool car

• freeze (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 3:43 am

Paul, mistake in the second part:

*Transmission is either a 5-speed auto or a 4-speed manual, which makes it pretty much similiar to our local Perodua Kelisa.*

• freeze (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 3:45 am

The car looks like mixture of new design and old fashion design. Makes it funny looking.

What is that thing on the rear bumper? Why only one side?

Where is the tail pipe?

• foreverunited (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 3:57 am

nice…the price tag is also 'nice'..

• szw (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 5:18 am

kelisa replacement model.

• DtG (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 5:23 am

the front end is so damn short!!! that's the 1st thing i noticed.. either that, or the body is just too long…. other than that it looks quite ok, only lacks originality as before…. should very well be the kelisa replacement model…

• Mohammad Khairul Anwar Hussain on Jun 30, 2023 at 10:04 pm

If Perodua trying to reimagined Kelisa Mk 2 it will be a popular choice

• Dogster (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 5:56 am

Argh, Anything with a price tag more than rm50k with a 1.0 is nonsense. So expensive . Dont bother getting it even if it arrives in malaysia…

• e-nabilll (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 6:19 am

its definalty a kelisa replacement model for me…bt looks truely aweful..really ugly la…im trying my best to like the design bt its jus too messy and disaportionate…im lokoing at the pictures every now n thn jus to bleieve wat im seeing..!

• matmoto_5125 (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 7:05 am

cool..like kelisa..

• KingKong (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 8:33 am

Daihatsu Mira actually the same as Kelisa but this one is the facelifted.

shared same platform and technical parts, but unfortunately Perodua decided to combine Kancil & Kelisa in one model.

• Whopper (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 9:16 am

Hmmm…I don't quite like the front grill design of the Trevis as it strikes me as a person with his/her mouth wide open. Daihatsu should have reworked the grill design. But I like the interior dashboard design. Very simple in nature. Kudos to Daihatsu.

• jtshin (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 5:30 pm

Well, I like the original Mira Gino more… this Trevis… dunno how to explain… looks a bit strange.. but still cute la… and price wise, I think its quite expensive if sell at that price here, but for european, I think its still cheap??

• engtaokia (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 8:00 pm

alamak, guess what Jeremy Clarkson would done to this little hot baby!!!

• pablopabla (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 8:50 pm

I like! I will trade-in my Kelisa for this :)

• Magician (Member) on Aug 26, 2006 at 8:18 am

isnt will be kancil or kelisa replament model???

• topgunthang (Member) on Aug 26, 2006 at 10:29 am

its awful..looks like a miniature cab…but maybe there is a market for the retro look

dont convert the price. if convert to msia price it will 'kill' the selling factor. see it as about 3 or 4 months job's pay.

• KingKong (Member) on Aug 26, 2006 at 11:18 pm

Magician, stop dreaming.

this will never be the Kelisa/Kancil replacement.

Perodua not going to produce same size car/performance as replacement model for current Kelisa/Kancil.

Please use your brain before post.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Aug 27, 2006 at 1:22 am

oooo….no…cutela…but not suit the youngster

• bmpower (Member) on Aug 27, 2006 at 10:50 pm

if daihatsu/ toyota :

Whooooo nice car. even it had a fugly design.

wut happen to you people?

even mr. bean's old mini had a better design lah.

this car front remind me india / hindustan movie film. you can see most car similiar like that. just he color is white.

rear ? so ugly.

side? look ok lah.

dashboard?

the meter panel had cap, similiar to 'you said' gen-2.

the aircond 'ugly as you said like NEO'.

and there's WTF!, 3 knob? ( aircond, radio?) remind me of my old washing machine knob!

ugly? NO!. it's hell ugly, except you're dieblindhardfan of p2, perodua. :)

• ysyslys (Member) on Aug 28, 2006 at 7:52 am

very nice!!!! If offer small compact engine with supercharger…..mini would have new fighting partner.

• KingKong (Member) on Aug 29, 2006 at 2:44 am

small compact engine with supercharger?

trevis will never can get a chance to rival Mini UNLESS they re-design to be more aerodynamic and bigger in size.

if u hope a trevis vs. Mini, just like a hope to see Wiralution vs. Evolution

• owaief1 (Member) on Sep 10, 2006 at 7:23 am

this car is……………..ugly. cant believe you people actually like it

• lazyf on Sep 22, 2011 at 2:33 pm

i like this car…seriously!!!