Traffic offence fine reduction postponed

Yesterday, the traffic police lowered fines for traffic offences by amounts between 15% to 75%, to help with the rakyat’s rising cost of living due to rising oil prices. The reduction in rates applied to most offences except dangerous cases like fatal accidents, driving without a license and illegal racing. The rates were reduced in accordance to the seriousness of the offence, with minor offences having the most reduction of 75%, which could be as much as a RM200 reduction.

Another rationale given was to make fines affordable enough for public to choose to pay the fines instead of bribing policemen. However, with the reduction of fines there would no longer be the option of appealing for a reduced settlement.

chankongchoy.jpgToday, Transport Minister Datuk Seri Chan Kong Choy (also MCA Deputy President) expressed suprise on the move by the traffic police, saying they were not consulted by the police before the implementation of the discounts, instead having to find out about it via the media. The Ministry of Transport feels A reduction would reduce the deterrent effect of the fines, and could possibly affect the Ministry’s road safey campaigns.

Naturally, Datuk Seri Chan proceeded to bring this matter up with the Cabinet to discuss it with the Prime Minister. After today’s Cabinet meeting, it was decided that the reduction of fines would be postponed until the police, Road Transport and Road Safety Department officials, and Internal Security Ministry officials have sat down and discussed this issue as well as numerous other issues.

The move to reduce fines comes off as pretty awkward to me, if the cost of living is high enough to hurt us, the solution is easy – just don’t break the rules and you won’t get fined. Uh, most of the time anyway!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Sep 07, 2006 at 4:03 am

traffic offence reduction only hapens here ! the ting is..thrs such poor law enforcement, that police have to giv discounts in order for the public to reduce fines…n bcos the police is not wel repected , so thrs no that elemtn of fear n respect…wil get away for almost anyting for rm30 is the common theme , and i dont believe the bribe tingy anyway…its in the blood,both the driver and the policeman..its a fact of life..every msian have paid a bribe to a policeman in his life…sad but true..solution is to raise their income in order for thm nt to resort to such tings…

• pirate (Member) on Sep 07, 2006 at 4:04 am

More often than not, we actually got caught in 70, 80 or 90 km/h zones which are part of the highway gazetted for 110km/h speed limit. My gut feeling is that these speed radars/lasers are purposely set at those 'grey-zones' to nab more "offenders"!

It is because of these unfair 'traps' that I am rejoicing the recent reduced compund rates.

Also, I think the previous higher fines didn't do much to deter traffic offences because a lot of 'boleh settle' deals were made discreetly.

Anyhow, let the showdown begin between the Transport Ministry vs PDRM…

lol!

• pirate (Member) on Sep 07, 2006 at 4:06 am

Correction! I WAS rejoicing the new lowered compound rates…

:(

• FarinaRacer (Member) on Sep 07, 2006 at 4:39 am

i have 2saman..both for speeding more than 80kmh….my speed100kmh…huh…

• mystvearn (Member) on Sep 07, 2006 at 4:57 am

Looks like who paid after the announcement was the luckiest…

• ron (Member) on Sep 07, 2006 at 5:03 am

i agree w pirate..sometimes the driver don't purposely break the rules. Like the Sban-KL or Elite hiway, many times i don't realize i've entered 90km/h limit. pheww

• fookeatmin1989 (Member) on Sep 07, 2006 at 5:04 am

lol………PDRM's wolrd-class solution only available in Bolehland….

Reduce fine due to rakyat's hardship in this 'rising cost of fuel days'…….won't they reluctant to accept RASUAH because the cost of living is so high that their own Mata kia is also hard to make ends meet???

• giyzmo (Member) on Sep 07, 2006 at 5:49 am

hahhaa, i think this is the only country where the police force can be questioned. This will only spoil their image hence less respect from the public…

• balow (Member) on Sep 07, 2006 at 5:53 am

Cheh!

Our joys are shortlived; thanks to miscommunication. The rakyat is stressed up now.

• jzkzlz (Member) on Sep 07, 2006 at 5:53 am

i was wondering & still scratching my head wat was happening there.. :{

Traffic police simply change their rules even our Transport Minister don't know wat was happening..

If every government department can simply change their rules with their own excuses, we all are going to die loh….

Anyway, reduction on traffic offence fine will not reduce our living cost.. We r nt paying summons everyday… how come it will reduce our living cost..!!

Bribing police officer is nt b'cos of the amount of the fines, ppl will do this b'cos they dn't want to get any further trouble..bribing is the easiest way…win-win situation…

• szw (Member) on Sep 07, 2006 at 6:01 am

• Dogster (Member) on Sep 07, 2006 at 6:56 am

Argh, stupid nonsense!!!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Sep 07, 2006 at 6:59 am

"Try to wash dirty linen in public"

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Sep 07, 2006 at 7:22 am

This offer is part of exercise to collect "outstanding" or try to recover "bad debt" by reduce the sum in the hope that people will pay out.Summons is another source of "lucrative revenue" to G!

Remembered that in previous exercise few year back, they try to carry out PR in main media by warning to few hundred thousand offender to pay up summons or get caught and jailed. Initially the main media will put in front page how police go to offender house in wee hour to catch them and hope to "scare" other to pay up.

Let us think logically, our current prisons already overcrowed with prisoners and if G really catch all offenders, where they want to put in? How about daily cost like food, water, electricity, etc to maintain offender in jail and how about legal repercusion on such exercise? "hangat-hangat tahi ayam only lol ….."

• engtaokia (Member) on Sep 07, 2006 at 8:47 am

RTD vs PDRM…nice show anyway :)

but whoever win, we(rakyat) lose…

• narrowband (Member) on Sep 07, 2006 at 3:40 pm

If PDRM wants to combat bribery (which I believe is the main factor behind this fines reduction, all the other explanations/reasons given are just there for the sake of being there. Give me a break. You believe those 'help with rising living cost' crap?), start from within its own enforcement officers first.

If fines are reduced, who knows maybe MORE bribery would take place! Because after all, in order to pay the fine, you're still required to travel to the police station (and not just any police station – I was once given the 'run around' simply because the 'offence' took place elsewhere).

I think high fines are a good deterrent to motorists. Note that not everybody 'settles on the spot' (although it seems like almost everyone does that!). Reduced fines will encourage more to flout the rules.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Sep 07, 2006 at 4:36 pm

Another one of those half tought off policy change, the numerous admendments that will follow.

Hi fines are fine. If you want to speed and take the risk, then its your perogrative.

Bribe thingy? Its so common and blatant its starting to sound funny. Its like a normal trasaction in the market, you can actually negotiate the bribe…hahaha.

PDRM should start with thier own and clean up their own acts first.

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Sep 07, 2006 at 4:51 pm

Reduce fine rate will not STOP any corruption activities, cause those Polis need this as Second income mah! It is not a revenue to Polis or The G!!

Datuk seri Chan Kong Choy Sokong!

• handsfree (Member) on Sep 07, 2006 at 5:39 pm

hi guys..

guess this STUPID THING… CAN ONLY HAPPEN IN TANAH AIR..

DAMM MALU…

WAT THE ANG MO WILL LOOK AT US WHEN WE TRAVEL INTO THEIR COUNTRY???

NO WONDER….we still need to apply VISA to enter into their country.

wake up WAKE UP…

• motorhead (Member) on Sep 07, 2006 at 6:08 pm

Our gov. suka buat lawaklah.. nak buat, buatlah.. tak mau buat, dont mentionlah.. terang2 sudah nampak our weakness in the gov… many similiar isu oredi, Broga project, the bengkok bridge.. and now this?? they think its funny ka? buat orang sakit hatilah!!.. I really hate our current gov. (But I still love my country)

ps: We have clowns manage our country!!!

• layman (Member) on Sep 07, 2006 at 6:38 pm

motorhead said,

September 7, 2006 @ 10:08 am

————————————————-

Please never put the blame on our government, because we (rakyat) are the one who vote for them to become our government.

• assimo (Member) on Sep 07, 2006 at 7:13 pm

apa ini,main main kaa…ayaaahhh…

motorhead said,

September 7, 2006 @ 10:08 am

—————————————————————

and for who vote that's party….

My experience…if speed limit on highway is 110, don't drive at 130-160km/h speed,sure kena saman, but go over that speed ( 180-220)..the risk to kena saman less than that…( my boss always drive his 535 more than 200 km/h and never kena saman lol..but i drive my prelude at 130km/h always kena …what a wonderful world..hahaha….!

• Well your boss should be put in jail and his car impounded and crushed .. that would happen in a civilised country.

• motorhead (Member) on Sep 07, 2006 at 7:20 pm

I didn't vote for BN last GE!!

ps: make me sick… cakap saja pandai.. cakap pun asyik melalut aje… enuf said!

• assimo (Member) on Sep 07, 2006 at 7:35 pm

dear motohead, i did not say you vote lah….just refer to what layman said only…. I also vote BN last GE, so thats include me ( the clowns ),please not misunderstand..please apologize me

• honda_driver (Member) on Sep 07, 2006 at 8:03 pm

regardless of what the ministry says, or what the cops say..

whatever they're doing now, isn't reducing the death toll on the roads significantly (more than 70% are bike riders) or even the cases of bribery.

maybe by reducing the fines, could work.. after all, whats the harm of trying it if whatever they're doing now doesnt work anyways? if it dont work, they can always increase it again.

i think they really need to try more new out of the box ideas.

• honda_driver (Member) on Sep 07, 2006 at 8:10 pm

as brought up by someone else earlier.. speed traps are usually done on very straight highways, sometimes on a downhill slope, and usually in non-accident prone areas. To me, this is just a blatant attempt at increasing police revenue.

Also, if the police have invested so heavily in speed trap cameras, why still have so many roadblock speed traps on highways? Collection "extra" revenue???

on the use of cameras, they are also not effective if a driver does not even know there is a camera there, he will speed right thru, get his picture taken, and continue speeding on, and maybe end up causing an accident somewhere else ahead. From my experience in australia, every morning, the radio, and the papers will announce the general areas where speed traps are located with no time or exact location given. If the radio announces that there wil be a speed trap today on jalan Damansara, would you keep to the speed limit when you get there? probably…

Even if you didnt, the moment you pass a camera, there will be a big signboard posted up, telling you that you have just passed a speed camera.

• jzkzlz (Member) on Sep 07, 2006 at 8:43 pm

the speed trap cannot detect u if you pass thru at over 200km/h.

Jeremy C, Top Gear already proved it….he..he..he..

Try at your own risk..

• motorhead (Member) on Sep 07, 2006 at 8:51 pm

Dear asimo and kawan2,

It's ok.. I tak marahlah.. but I really marah the clowns.. dei only pour more petrol on fire oredi.. I think I may turn into ghostrider someday if the gov. keep making jokes like this.. kejap nak buat, kejap x nak buat, kejap2 naik, lepas tu turun sikit aje.. our leadership betul2 mau org marah.. no wonder our Tun oso kena..

ps: although Tun is not my favorite person, but I will alwayz remember him for making cub roadtax RM2 & kancil's RM30.. ini baru significant… our Tun usually had pleasant suprises.. not like paklah!!, slalu bikin org bengang!!

• ganz (Member) on Sep 07, 2006 at 9:36 pm

well.. what ever.. i need that discount.. like others said.. i'm always been caught at 70km/h, 80km/h area.. while speeding exceed not more than 100 km/h..(for example sri hartamas is only 80km/h- really i don't know untill i have been halt the police due to speeding – (at SC junction)

and i also follow others advice.. if u wanna speeding.. than make more than 150km/h.. so far (6 month) i'm travelling at LPT, still zero ticket issue..

speed trap is like playing the video game.. after travelling.. and few week after that check sms summons info,.. hehehehe

• motorhead (Member) on Sep 07, 2006 at 10:12 pm

need or not, it just another stupid political stunt to win people's heart.. but end up as jokes… suka buat benda2 x kaji dulu, main hantam aje… mana gov punya integriti?? tak ada maruahkah??.. in fact "ayam" pun ada integriti, if u treat them good, if they promise to give free, they will give one & keep their promise! Ini kejap bagi, kejap x bagi!, no integriti!! buruk siku, buruk perangai… if the gov have no integriti, don't la blame people have 3rd world mentality… don't blame me for my harsh words….

• demio121 (Member) on Sep 07, 2006 at 10:20 pm

Only in this country yo can find law breaker enjoying more priviledge. Imagine 2 person getting speeding ticket together. 1 is honest to pay the fine on time. the other just dun car abt the fine. year after year and no action taken. Now there is an offer to pay at reduce price.

who is the crook here??? the one that speed or the one that dun enforce the law???

just plain stupid reason… reduce bribery. you can pay those officer RM10k a mth now and they still hawk for bribe. The only way to stop them is to preosecute each and every1 of them… not selective procesution.

• motberg (Member) on Sep 07, 2006 at 10:33 pm

this will be a long post…

First of all, what was the rationale for the Police to reduce fines in the first place? According to them, it is to encourage the people to pay up and also to lighten the burden of the rakyat due to rising fuel prices, blah, blah, blah… The problem is they are not providing a solution to the masses. What is the real reason people don't bother to pay the saman? Enforcement is lacking, bribery is rampant and it doesn't pay to pay early. Just look at Ops Warta. Police will offer a discount and people flock to the stations to queue all day and night.

It is also a damn hassle to pay your saman. You gotta drive to the station, find a non existent car park and make your way into the station. If you are lucky you get a friendly and helpful officer (as rare as flying purple cows!) who will show you which counter to go to. When you finally make your way to the counter, you realise you don't have cash and you cannot pay by credit card! So you gotta come back tomorrow… the next day you go at a different time and it's lunch time! So you curse and swear and don't bother ever paying until its Ops Warta again…

Ok, maybe I am exaggerating the above story but everyone's got thier own horror story to share don't they? Why does it have to be so? The Police has got to think out of the box. You want people to pay their samans? You gotta make it easy and simply and fast for them.

My suggestions:

1) Pay early, pay less. Pay late, pay more. (Right now its, pay late, get discounts!) For example – a RM300 saman. If you pay within 10 days, you pay only RM100. If you pay within 20 days, you RM200, and after 30 days, you pay RM300. And if you delay more than 6 mnths, the fine is doubled to RM600.

This will give incentive for people to pay earlier and not later.

2) Easy payment methods. We are in the 21st Century, so why are the payment methids of the PDRM still stuck in the last millenium? Tie up with banks to offer online payment via credit cards, so that the people don't have to waste time going to pay the saman. How about interest free instalments for those who really need it?

Set up payment booths in major shopping centres or tie up with banks to offer payment of saman. The key here is providing convenience to the people and not the other way round.

I stay in Johor and so far all utilities can be paid online using credit card except for Syarikat Air Johor. You need to pay at the counter at SAJ. So guess who always gets paid late?

My suggestions are not rocket science… all they need to do is open their eyes and look around. But I am doubtful. After all, we live in a country that prides itself in shooting ourselves in the foot with strange policies that defy conventional logic, but we are damn good at coming up with slogans… Malaysia Boleh!

• narrowband (Member) on Sep 07, 2006 at 11:14 pm

motorhead said,

September 7, 2006 @ 2:12 pm

need or not, it just another stupid political stunt to win people’s heart..

——————————————————-

I don't think this is any political stunt. I can't see any particular person gaining political influence over this.

A political stunt should be something like… saying "illegal bike racers are our assets". Ah, that's a political stunt.

• fookeatmin1989 (Member) on Sep 07, 2006 at 11:36 pm

Police go to fight crime lah,snatch thieves,rapist,robber,murderer etc…………What for catching good people hurrying to go to their destination then accept bribe….Mata Duitan…..Ceh!!!

• assimo (Member) on Sep 07, 2006 at 11:47 pm

Dear asimo and kawan2,

It’s ok.. I tak marahlah.. but I really marah the clowns.. dei only pour more petrol on fire oredi..

—————————————————————-

thanks motohead,but littlebit correction,i'm not asimo,but assimo. Asimo is Joe Oii friends,hehe…

About what Tun did last time,yes,i agree with it,and thats what we call 'ringan kan beban rakyat,and ofcourse until now i hope the G will reduce tax for Superbike..but under Pak Lah,its hopeless….

jzkzlz, yes,u right, over 200km/h speed trap cannot detect, i'm not technical person,but thats true its happen,thats way my boss not get summon. In 2003 my freinds show me the photo he get from balai polis trafik Sg Petani,shows that his Fireblade919 speeding over than 200km/h and just can see its yellow color line from his bike.But now maybe police already upgrade thier speed trap camera,who knows?

• motorhead (Member) on Sep 07, 2006 at 11:50 pm

"I don’t think this is any political stunt. I can’t see any particular person gaining political influence over this."

… Police is under KDN.. guess who is the KDN minister now??? pls check it out..

ps: But its ok, anyone can have their own opinion.. that was my opinion..

• assimo (Member) on Sep 08, 2006 at 12:12 am

Dear KDN,please pay attention more to mat cemerlang,this bad activity and habit still around us.Please crack your head to solve it.I say like that because

…..BECAUSE OF THIS F*****G MAT REMPIT, another not guilty motorbike user (kapcai or RXZ ) also 'kena tempias'. Thats why malaysia more roadblock for motorbike user,and if u not lucky,using the same road that MAT CEMERLANG always use for racing, police don't care about who u are.They cannot get this f****g mat cemerlang because escape already,but they got YOU! You now what i mean…tak dapat jerung dapat bilis pun jadi lah…..

• motorhead (Member) on Sep 08, 2006 at 12:20 am

Why I said a political stunt?.. bcoz they risk their (gov) own integriti for what??.. sudah lepas cakap, buat sajalah.. next time i'll close my ears to the gov.. no uselah…

• Jeffrey1977 (Member) on Sep 08, 2006 at 2:01 am

Hi Paul, is there anyway to make a complain on traffic police? I was given a saman for traffic obstruction while waiting for a parking. The police never ask me to move but just issue me the saman instead. And mind you it is not a busy street and not double line. The cop just stop infront of me and give me the saman. I feel is not fair at all.

Please advice…

• weewee (Member) on Sep 08, 2006 at 4:25 am

The Transport Minister, has a strong case to argue about. However, if traffic fines are not reduced, the general public will still continue to bribe the police. Reducing the fines could deter the public from offering bribes. Some offenders would than rather pay the fines rather than offering bribes. This could in return make one realised their wrong doings and deter them from repeating them again.Besides the road safety campaigns undertaken by the ministry didn't help much in reducing the accident count.

Having more efficient and effective public transportation methods could instead reduce traffic congestions and decrease accidents proneness by individuals. Maybe through access to more affordable 'other' car makes could reduce accidents and deaths on the road. I'll leave the other commentators to argue about this :p

• DAN (Member) on Sep 08, 2006 at 4:39 am

if this people do a thing, u know i know la..

any way when people say there r stupid there dont 1 but there 1 to do a stupid thing!!… ha…HA…. gues what type of people Mose there r??.

but act like there know better, that what there r.

there doing a thing is like new kid on the block, monkey see monkey do!!!……

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Sep 08, 2006 at 7:27 pm

Nice! Now that the fines would be cheaper, I can break traffic rules anytime I want! Haha! :D

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Sep 08, 2006 at 7:33 pm

On the other side of the coin, it's nice to see the police refocusing their priority towards more serious crimes…or are they? Let's all hope that they are… :)

..:: "Keranamu Malaysia" ::..

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Sep 08, 2006 at 7:38 pm

They should learn from the UK – make speed cameras VISIBLE to motorists. Speed CAMERAS, not speed TRAP!

• ganz (Member) on Sep 08, 2006 at 8:36 pm

in malaysia, we are afraid of the law because of the money we have to paid if we do thing wrong.. and not because u respect the law.. u tend to drive slow at a flyover, when people in front of u give u a high beam and also when there is a sign of telling the speed trap is there.. anywhere else.. who care..

a very good solution..all malaysian only drive car with a speed limiter.. the maximum the car can go is 110km/h.. either u drive kancil660 or mclaren F1.. any one who tend to by pass the system. will be summons at very high price rm 10k.. mmm

or goverment stop giving AP to high performance car… all using small car less 1000 cc.. sure maximum speed their can go only 110km/h LOL

come on lah, if u drive a car, i just take a brand new civic 1.8, as u press u feet to the gas pedal.. the meter already show u 80km/h in no time.. emme already break a rule when u at in front of the school area.. 30km/h

• yoong43 (Member) on Sep 09, 2006 at 12:34 am

"Another rationale given was to make fines affordable enough for public to choose to pay the fines instead of bribing policemen."

does he means he finally admits the majority of cops are on the take?

next loker pls.

• oranglulu (Member) on Sep 10, 2006 at 2:08 am

i got 3 saman not pay yet,thatday when polis annound the reduction,i was overjoy,think of go pay immediately but due to workloads delay going,a day later,thought of going,the morning newspaper say cabinet decided against it,aisay,miss my chance of getting special rates,should had go that days itself,now just wait till polis had another carnival offer,think many are like me,what to do,times are bad,every cents count!

• oranglulu (Member) on Sep 10, 2006 at 7:56 am

to counter coruption,we must dig to the roots of the problem,my personal opinion is very simple,pay them enough and well,had any one ever compair the humble salary of our polis force say with a general clerk works in commercial?or a officeboy pay?you be surplised that they all higher then our polis force,with nowadays high cost of living,esp.those polis personnel base in big city or town,they are classify under low income group,this will definately trigger human temptation and greed resulting coruption increased,so,may be is time for the government to review their salary,against presently cost of living,if they got enough REZEKI,i am sure,the coruption will decline and their morale will be high,and perhaps they will regain the confindence and respect of we,the citizen of malaysia.

• domoteka (Member) on Sep 11, 2006 at 5:23 pm

What I dont agree is, this childish mentality and egoism in our corrupt government,just because the police did not consult the allmighty minister, the almighty one can change a decision which was to benefit the rakyat just because of "lack of consultation" of the police and the egoist minister. Sure for him,it hurts his pride that no consultation was made with him,but he could have given the rakyat ample time or at least some grace period to cut off this offer from the police. I tell you it is makes a mockery of our new IGP and his force that such big decisions which the police made can be revoked by a childish egoistic minister overnight! This was a national issue and in fact the police force is not under the jurisdiction of our great almighty transport minister. Of course he doesn't care for us,he has a great big fathomless wallet and a "get out of jail free" card, what does he care about the rakyat who voted him into office?

• oranglulu (Member) on Sep 24, 2006 at 7:24 am

our dear beloved transport minister,please remember the old saying,PUT YOUR PRECIOUS FOOT IN OUR POOR OLD SHOES,try and understand us more,most of us dun had enough $$$ for our polis summons,when our POLIS force decided to ease their burden of too many unpaid summons by giving festiva,carnival offer,you cross the border to intervened and deprived us of settling our due to the home ministry! p/s,please check wheather you got unpaid polis summons,you may be one of us and not realising it,UNCLE WISH YOU WILL CHANGE YOUR MIND and let us free of our summons!!!