Volkswagen Malaysia appoints 3 dealers

Volkswagen Group Malaysia Sdn Bh has named the first three dealers that will sell fully imported CBU Volkswagen cars in Malaysia. The companies are Wearnes Automotive Sdn Bhd, More Cars Sdn Bhd and VW Cars Sdn Bhd. The latter two companies will start accepting orders beginning from today, while Wearnes will start it’s sales in October this year. If I’m not mistaken, Wearnes is a company based in Singapore, and they currently distribute Volvo cars in Malaysia? I am not sure if it’s the same company.

Models to be offered are year 2007 models – the Volkswagen Touareg 3.6, the Volkswagen Passat 2.0, the Volkswagen Golf 1.6 and Golf GTI 2.0, the Volkswagen Jetta 1.6 and 2.0, the Volkswagen New Beetle 1.6 and 2.0, the Volkswagen Polo 1.4 and 1.6 as well as the Volkswagne Cross Polo 1.6. Prices will range from RM109,788 to RM452,309 excluding insurance – with the Polo 1.4 likely being the cheapest and the Touareg 3.6 being the most expensive.

These models will all be CBU models fully imported from Europe, South Africa and Mexico, but Volkswagen is still exploring possibilities of local assembly here in Malaysia to allow for more competitive pricing. After an order is placed, one has to wait between two and four-and-a-half months for delivery.

If the new Polo 1.4 is introduced to the market at RM109,788 excluding insurance, it would be only slightly less than RM10,000 cheaper than AutoPraha Sdn Bhd’s Polo-based Skoda Fabia 1.4 hatch at RM100,948.00 excluding insurance.

Volkswagen outlets will be jointly provided by the 3 dealers, which will collectively open three 3S (sales, service and spares) outlets and two 1S (sales) outlets. It’s also hoped that between seven to ten additional 3S outlets will be opened in 2007.

Volkswagen is also in discussion with two or three potential partners on local assembly but no further information on who they are or when a decision can be reached was provided. There was previously rumours on talks between Volkswagen and EON, as well as Volkswagen and Cycle & Carriage.

Source, Wearnes

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• szw (Member) on Sep 12, 2006 at 4:53 am

cheaper cars pls !

• mitlanevo (Member) on Sep 12, 2006 at 5:20 am

Touareg is based on the platform of Porsche Cayenne, but the overall rating performance is better than Cayenne, wonder why……

• mystvearn (Member) on Sep 12, 2006 at 5:24 am

Hicom should get into CKDing with VW. They have the experience with other makers

• mits27 (Member) on Sep 12, 2006 at 6:05 am

1.4 Palo RM110k, it is still too expenisve, better get city or vios, more power, better quality, but whatever it is CBU, that's why at least 20k more expensive than CKD.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Sep 12, 2006 at 6:09 am

yess..please do assemble cars here..n we get beter prices..n finally a chance to own a VW

• Mayonaise (Member) on Sep 12, 2006 at 6:12 am

Ooooh… Golf GTi… Droooool… I want one… Yeah, right, in my dreams…

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Sep 12, 2006 at 6:29 am

Suppose some of these models should be rebadge into P1 car!……… Now CBU with lowest more than RM 100K, really suck …………

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Sep 12, 2006 at 6:51 am

So time prove that VW still can salvage its RM 42 million investment in Malaysia. Hopefully CKD will be available soon so as to make the high price "less a little bit". Wonder if VW team up with Naza to rebadge its car! Naza really biz entity that care about profit but at least benefit ocnsumers in term of lower rebadge car.

• topgunthang (Member) on Sep 12, 2006 at 7:44 am

for me i think it shows how confident VW is in a way that they are confident thier overpriced vehicles (due to proton protection) can still compete with proton. shows you how much they think of proton.

i cant beleive it. a polo for 100k. thats an entry vehicle. should be around 30-40k at most. its suppose to compete with proton savvy even though there really is no need to compare the both.

• chun (Member) on Sep 12, 2006 at 8:52 am

I think there is some confusion as to where the Polo competes. It resides in the supermini catergory and thus competes with cars like the Citroen C3, Fiat Punto, Honda Jazz, Hyundai Getz, Mini, Peugeot 207, Skoda Fabia, Smart ForFour, Suzuki Swift. It is perhaps incorrect to compare the Polo with the low cost mini cars like the Savvy, Vios, and City. The correct VW car to compare with in this class is the Fox.

• SamGan (Member) on Sep 12, 2006 at 4:17 pm

The VW Polo will be a well-equipped car. At RM110, it is expensive but it will make the Yaris, Jazz and March look like high priced paupers. And these are Asean CBU's with lower import tariff. Seen in this context, Polo will show us who is really overpricing.

• whatsoever (Member) on Sep 12, 2006 at 4:48 pm

if VW manage to make this as CKD where i guess the price should be 20~30% lower, the price is still a way too high.

• sudha (Member) on Sep 12, 2006 at 5:17 pm

hey paul,

Wearnes is a singaporean company and they have been in Malaysia for quite a while. They used to distribute jaguars many years ago…i remember they used to have a showroom near puduraya or the other corner of the magnum 4d building..

• notorpkcuf (Member) on Sep 12, 2006 at 5:30 pm

SamGan is right. With a difference of 30% (Non Asean CBU) vs. 5% (Asean CBU) and if VW Polo can match its Jap counterparts spec-for-spec, someone IS REALLY overpriced.

• Xoomie (Member) on Sep 12, 2006 at 5:36 pm

I want Jetta… Give me.. give me..!

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Sep 12, 2006 at 6:21 pm

Paul, I wonder who holds the APs for the VW CBU cars eh?

• motberg (Member) on Sep 12, 2006 at 6:29 pm

we can debate till the cows come home but the fact remains; owning a car in Malaysia is a struggle for 70% of the population. most people can't even consider cars that are over RM90k!

I just saw an ad in the Singapore papers – a Mazda 3 is going for $50k+ and a Mazda 6 is going for $70k+ Now imagine you are Singaporean and drawing a pay of $3,000. These cars are not so out of your reach isn't it? Flip the story around and imagine you are a Malaysian earning RM3k (how many get this anyway?) and a Mazda 6 is like RM160k+ (i might be wrong, someone correct me!). Can you see what's wrong with the picture now? So the Malaysian ends up buying a Waja or Vios or City. And the car prices continue to rise… but salary remains stagnant. sigh….

We can debate will the cows come home, we can give theories, we can offer suggestions, we can even voice our disappointments, but ladies and gentlemen, we are living in Malaysia. Time to wake up and accept the fact that cars will always be overpriced here, whether we like it or not…

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Sep 12, 2006 at 6:35 pm

motberg said,

September 12, 2006 @ 10:29 am

can debate will the cows come home, we can give theories, we can offer suggestions, we can even voice our disappointments, but ladies and gentlemen, we are living in Malaysia. Time to wake up and accept the fact that cars will always be overpriced here, whether we like it or not

proton la the biggest probelm..the oldman faulty project for us..for his money good la.

POOR MALAYSIAN HAVE TO PAY SUPER EXPENXSIVE CAR WITH LOWER SPECS.

• sonia2chin (Member) on Sep 12, 2006 at 6:48 pm

the tax structure is killing the whole car industry and it will have a drastic domino effect on everything. but don't worry. our PM is sleeping on it. literally. can someone pls wake him up?

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Sep 12, 2006 at 7:01 pm

The resurgence of Wearne Brothers! Very interesting …

• xg9 (Member) on Sep 12, 2006 at 7:12 pm

agreed with motberg… better buy a house than a car… if mazda6 was RM70k+ i'd get one! would love to see jetta and passat on the road… nice pretty cars..

• motorhead (Member) on Sep 12, 2006 at 7:23 pm

Yeah, VW finally suda mari… good la.. but cant run from NAP oso… cheapest oredi 100k… anybody wud like to make a patriotic contribution??.. I just made some.. for my CKD vios.. goin to get it this week!! yahooo!!

• motorhead (Member) on Sep 12, 2006 at 8:36 pm

Cheaper cars??.. don't even dream la about it… kasi bawa masuk suma VW, fiat, skoda, chevy etc (CBU).. but don't expect la they r affordable.. not with the current situation & gov's mgmt…. the story remain the same.. malas nak cerita lagi….

ps: A "not so happy" good news…..

• honda_driver (Member) on Sep 12, 2006 at 9:00 pm

in singapore, i can buy practically what ever car i want.. the new subaru WRX 2.5 litre turbo is going for SGD80,000 + COE.. wow.. the only problem is, I will never be able to afford a house. In Malaysia, I might not be able to afford a super duper RM200,000+ car, but at least I have my own house, with my own garden. So I suppose its a win some, lose some situation.

It will be interesting though, to see how VW does this time around.. from the postings Ive seen here, most people have either forgotten, or do not know that VW has already made market entry into Malaysia in the past, and the most recent was with DRB-H. The cars just did not sell. I think they still lack widespread market appeal in Malaysia. In Malaysia, I believe people will still buy the vios, or city over the VW, even if they were priced the same unless something drastic happens to change market perceptions. just my 2 cents.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Sep 12, 2006 at 10:14 pm

You see, in Singapore, cars are a LUXURY and CONVENIENCE purchase. In our case its a necessity. Quite different. IF you buy a new car in malaysia, you will most likely not able afford a house either, at least not pay off both at the same time.

Houses in Singapore is expensive not because of the Govn't taking advangate of it, but because land is scarce and it is prudent to control its usage.

Our cars are expensive becaust the govn't is ripping us off.

Sorry : bit off topic.

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Sep 12, 2006 at 10:26 pm

honda_driver said,

September 12, 2006 @ 1:00 pm

in singapore, i can buy practically what ever car i want.. the new subaru WRX 2.5 litre turbo is going for SGD80,000 + COE.. wow.. the only problem is, I will never be able to afford a house. In Malaysia, I might not be able to afford a super duper RM200,000+ car, but at least I have my own house, with my own garden. So I suppose its a win some, lose some situation.

in spore no need to buy a car, their PT is already good.sporean can buy good car with decent price and buy houses everywhere in the world thier Sing Dolar is good.

work in spore drive impreza balik kampong :-)

• honda_driver (Member) on Sep 12, 2006 at 10:27 pm

if we're going to compare car prices with singapore, i think its also fair to take the whole package into the equation. no one country is perfect. whats the point of buying a car in singapore, when you cant afford a house and vice versa?

sure, the govt. whacks us on car prices, but at least we pay less tax, and lower rates for many other things we take for granted.

"IF you buy a new car in malaysia, you will most likely not able afford a house either, at least not pay off both at the same time."

its the same in singapore. so i dont see what this leads too.

• Driven2020 (Member) on Sep 12, 2006 at 10:39 pm

malaysia: if u earn 5k. what car can you get? for 115k u can get a civic.

brunei: if u earn 5k. what car can you get? for 115k u can get a porsche boxster.

y is this? NAP. great. wait till 2010? by then there's bound to be other wierd car taxes. LPPL.

swell we are obliged to buy 2nd hand cars now. how sad. good thing the 15 year car scrapping policy was not approved….for the time being.

• motberg (Member) on Sep 12, 2006 at 11:57 pm

… like I said, we can argue till the cows come home but the situation is not about to change…

to side track a little; in singapore housing costs an arm and a leg coz of land scarcity but you still can buy HDB flats (when you qualify). they've got a whole range of qualifications and that's why only in spore people get registered first before marriage to qualify for HDB flats. actually it's not fair to call them flats, coz some of their designs look so much better than the condos in JB!

but the thing is, buying a HDB dwelling is quite a walk in the park. i am not sure if there is any deposit to pay or they can deduct from their CPF (like our EPF) straightaway. I do know for a fact that their monthly repayments is deducted straight from their CPF, unlike here where we gotta go through so much paperwork and red tape that no one knows for sure what is going on. and the bad thing about housing here is we have greedy developers that take customers for a ride. look at all the abandoned housing projects around…

back to topic… err… what more to say? looking at the way things are heading, it seems the powers to be are confused and lost. the auto industry is grinding to a halt, people are not buying, the banks are getting stricter with loans. looks like something BAD is coming soon. i guess i will be sticking to my trusty, rusty Iswara for a couple more months (or years) first. i would really love a VW though…

• e-nabilll (Member) on Sep 12, 2006 at 11:58 pm

im nt sure if thrs any point in having all those grieves la…this is the situation so lets deal with it…we all know not much we can do…and if we cry oso wont change anyting…so jus enjoy ur day..and wateva ur driving..enjoy ur ride…who gives a s*** wat singaporeans or thais drive la….

• Hikaru (Member) on Sep 13, 2006 at 12:17 am

I guess I just echoing the sentiment of most people with regards to the penetration of VW in our M'sian market (no pun intended) while others detract to a highly significant topic but not so relevant to the news at hand.

Indeed VW entering M'sian market feels like an empty feeling as it is way beyond the reach of an average salary earning M'sian. I guess the Malaysian tax structure with regards to import cars have succeeded and consequently any can manufacturer can enter M'sian market, but what's the point when 70% of people can't afford it, while people who can afford to shell out a car for this price won't consider a VW unless they are uber rich and already have plenty of cars. I am considering a change of cars but for my budget (RM60~70K) there are only four realistic car to choose from (Early Altis, Early Civic, newer Vios, Newer City). My heart only skipped a beat when i heard that VW is coming in and completely died when i saw the price list.

So i guess VW cars are going to remain an irrelevant consideration for most M'sian. Then again, depreciation can do wonders…Maybe only then such cars would be more realistic.

• alan2006 (Member) on Sep 13, 2006 at 12:33 am

Volkswagon is the biggest car maker in Europe. What took them so long to invest in dealers and showrooms in Msia?

I think the Msian market is peanuts to them. If they can sell another 100-200 cars per annum, why not? For every brand and model, there will be suckers.

Businessmen only think of BMW and Mercedes. For the executive, it will be Camry and Accords. It is unlikely that Volkswagon will have a huge following here.

• redragon (Member) on Sep 13, 2006 at 12:59 am

The Cross Polo looks really cute and at 125k, should sell. But I think the big seller will be Bettle 1.6 @ 140k. Gti @ 200k will sell like hot cakes! (I think it's built in South Africa though).

• Jeffrey1977 (Member) on Sep 13, 2006 at 1:37 am

My advice, be a Singapore PR. Drive a Singapore car, get a sales job there, rent a room. Balik JB weekend and buy a terrace house in JB.

He he.. Thats wat I am doin…..

• Jeffrey1977 (Member) on Sep 13, 2006 at 1:48 am

But roadtax and insurance is very high in Singapore. My 1.6 Lancer roadtax is about S$950++ and insurance is close to S$ 2000++. And of course you will need to renew your COE and of 10 year period or kena scrap….

In Malaysia you still can see 12 year old Wira on the road…..

So make your choice.

• armandd (Member) on Sep 13, 2006 at 4:08 am

FYI, volkswagen polo 1.4 (A) costs only RM 34,472, while golf 1.6 (A) costs

RM 55,200 before tax and duties..

• zie (Member) on Sep 13, 2006 at 4:16 am

Change the GOVT lah! What else.

Let's all do it next time.

OK

• armandd (Member) on Sep 13, 2006 at 4:20 am

c'mon zie, this is an automotive blog lah…

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Sep 13, 2006 at 4:51 am

honda_driver said, "if we’re going to compare car prices with singapore, i think its also fair to take the whole package into the equation. no one country is perfect."

——————–

Yes, no one country is perfect but P1 and crappy NAP make our auto industry become sooooooooooooooooooooo IMMMMMMMMMMMMperfect!

• motorhead (Member) on Sep 13, 2006 at 6:39 am

"no one country is perfect…"

Correction!!!…

My country WAS perfect last time.. that was before p1 & NAP was born… my father's 1st car was VW.. that time anyone can afford to buy VW.. I miss that time so much!!!…

yes, this is an auto blog, & most of motorist here have their heart bleeding bcoz of NAP & stupid policies… in this topic we all can see the soon to come VW prices, so it is alwayz relevan to complain!!!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Sep 13, 2006 at 7:40 am

motberg said, "… like I said, we can argue till the cows come home but the situation is not about to change…"

"Time to wake up and accept the fact that cars will always be overpriced here, whether we like it or not… "

Under current crappy NAP and P1, what you argue is to the certain extent is the result of their "MANIPULATION". It is not the FACT, but greatest MANIPULATION by NAP/P1 to suck our blood until the last drop………. This is not the "FACT" that we as a consumer have to swallow, but it is time to REJECT the greatest manipulation on Bolehland. Definitely we can change this crappy greatest unequal relationship between customer and NAP/P1?

Back to G economy policies, normally it will adopt fiscal (expenditure) and monetary (adjustment of interest rate) policies to control inflation and/or stimulate growth. But these 2 factors alone have their own limitation especially to counter the effect of open market under globalization. The "3rd factor" – consumerism (market forces) or consumer spending also play a big role in determine the healthy growth of economy (sometime indicated by CPI), which is not within the control of G, BUT IN OUR HAND ………..

Believe it or not, we can change the auto industry for better, and the greatest fear for G/NAP/P1 is consumer sentiment! As borrow from Animal Planet phrase "STOP BUYING, STOP THE KILLING". If we as consumer want to change the auto landscape and take back our right, it is just a plain simple decision – "STOP BUYING P1 CAR, STOP THE CRAPPY NAP/P1 MANIPULATION". Remember it is a manipulation, not a fact, consumer or tax payers owed nothing to P1 that we have to sacrifice our limited money. But P1 desperately need us for it survival …………………….. think about this ………. we have a choice, and it is within our control to change it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Not plainly accept what G/NAP/P1 throw to us ……

• Coogee (Member) on Sep 13, 2006 at 10:19 am

Crazy this NAP crap. The rakyat really kena s****ed big time by our beloved TM. The VW Polo is a entry level car for the masses in Europe, like what the kancil is to us Malaysians but here here in Bolehland, it cost more than 100k? Ridiculous.

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Sep 13, 2006 at 5:33 pm

ya l a Motberg…why you want other normal homo-spaein to MANIPULATE you like hell

Come on you can do it…this is not like Msian have done something very wrong that we suppose to suffer this…

we kill off Proton first…no more Proton with this policy/management….

• REDDEVIL (Member) on Sep 13, 2006 at 5:35 pm

Do not expect to have a cheap imported car if the current goverment still in power. We all are being strip off the right for enjoying the latest technology and safety of most of the established car manufacturers.

We want good cars like VW polo, golf, jetta, passat etc.. with reasonable price. No to Proton scraps like saga, iswara, wira…

• motberg (Member) on Sep 13, 2006 at 8:22 pm

agree wif you Joe Ooi… but the fact remains that people will still buy. i mentioned long ago in another post that if all consumers stopped buying cars for a week, there will be pandemonium and panic buttons will be pressed all over the place. but until we can unite ALL consumers to stop buying P1, this will only be a pipe dream. to put it in perspective, we all know we are getting screwed, we all know what's wrong, we all know that it's unfair but not all of us are doing enough to put a stop. "When the buying stops, the killing stops" is a good example. In spite of all the publicity generated by Animal Planet, shark's fins soup is still served in restaurants.

i am fully aware how the common rakyat is being screwed to support P1, hey I bought my Iswara at the height of their arrogance. RM43k for a full spec, full accessories (RM9k++!!). Didn't have a choice to not take the accessories. Yup, those were the days when P1 could 'force' the rakyat to buy their cars at ridiculous prices and ridiculous accessories! RM300++ for lace covers! Ultimate fleecing…

Looking at the way things are going I see that P1 is panicking and lost for direction. I am just wondering what desperation will result in.

i am sticking to my opening statement: we can debate till the cows come home…

• outspoken (Member) on Sep 13, 2006 at 9:52 pm

cows come home.. heard that statement before.. kat mana yea??

• layman (Member) on Sep 13, 2006 at 10:56 pm

Cows will come and cows will go, but the plotong will stay here forever.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Sep 14, 2006 at 2:24 am

motberg said, "i am fully aware how the common rakyat is being screwed to support P1, hey I bought my Iswara at the height of their arrogance. RM43k for a full spec, full accessories (RM9k++!!). Didn’t have a choice to not take the accessories. Yup, those were the days when P1 could ‘force’ the rakyat to buy their cars at ridiculous prices and ridiculous accessories! RM300++ for lace covers! Ultimate fleecing…"

——————————

I faced the same fate as you when I got my Iswara in 1996 but not full specs, however, the salegirl told me that I could omit maximum 3 items only for the so call "optional accessories"! white lace covers, forced me to took it as well, which if buy it at pasar malam, maybe cost me RM 20.00.

Anyway, time is change and the auto landscape will change in tandem with world globalization process. The P1 bad biz model of seeling high price but low quality for local market, and selling low price but high specs for export market no longer can sustain its existence. This is because ultimately, the "people power" – the consumer purchasing power and "sentiment" will decided the fate of P1 – stop buying, stop manipulation will eventually prevail as near as 2010.

At that time, "we we can debate till the cows come home…" is belong to P1, and we can enjoy riding till the "horse" bring us home" …… Cheer to you, just share info and opinion with you.

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on Sep 14, 2006 at 7:32 am

There are two things vw should do if they ever wish to establish a strong foothold here.

1. Consolidate audi, skoda and vw under one single entity. Have 3s centers cater for all these cars.

2. Do ckd fast.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Sep 14, 2006 at 4:01 pm

Ooooops, NeedGoodCar, see you again! And of course, VW if can rebadge say under P3 to put the price lowest possible.

• oranglulu (Member) on Sep 14, 2006 at 4:35 pm

polo 60k.golf fsi 70k,golf gti 100k,jetta 70k,passat 100k,bugs 90k,thats how i feel being reasonable,the name VOLKSWAGON, in german means FOLKS CAR,you gey what I MEAN?

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on Sep 15, 2006 at 6:51 am

passat 100k? in our dream, fren, the passat that they r bringing in is the 2.0t fsi version which is selling for 230,083. although with many up market fittings, i wonder at this price range, which models are appealling, audi? bmw? volvo? do people in vw conduct any market study or they purposely place the passat in that segment? bcos they can bring in the less luxury version and selling at the range comparable to that of skoda octavia.

people at vw, i hope u r reading this and my previous comment of this topic.

• Ralliace (Member) on Sep 15, 2006 at 8:47 pm

oranglulu said, "polo 60k.golf fsi 70k,golf gti 100k,jetta 70k,passat 100k,bugs 90k,thats how i feel being reasonable,the name VOLKSWAGON, in german means FOLKS CAR,you gey what I MEAN?"

Yep! I get what you mean and to add further Proton means the BEGGER'S CAR…. many have no choice but to buy a Proton.