Naza requests more land for Indian plant

small_naza_logo.jpgNaza Automotive Manufacturing Sdn Bhd’s Tamil Nadu, India plant to assemble Naza and Kia vehicles was approved by the state government, but now Naza is requesting an additional 50 acres of land which brings the total up to 200 acres of land for the new factory. Earlier, Works Minister Datuk Seri S. Samy Vellu had assisted Naza with talks in gaining the land, and he says the state government will likely approve the additional land. A memorandum of understanding will be signed between the Tamil Nadu state government and Naza soon.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Sep 14, 2006 at 9:33 am

I think Naza Bestari will doing well in India because……
    Indian like this…… http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zDXvpzEQsyo

Funny Commercial from Peugeot!

Siapa Ketawa?
    Mesti ada…..

• stewpid (Member) on Sep 14, 2006 at 9:33 am

errm… whats the relation between the minister with that naza??
    paul.. know anything about Hydrogen 7 from bmw yet?

• Ralliace (Member) on Sep 14, 2006 at 5:08 pm

Yep! He's so influential in Tamil Nadu so I guess Naza would surely get it.

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Sep 14, 2006 at 5:37 pm

Semi Value must be getting something from NAZmeeee lah!

Tak payah tanya AH KHUA lah….orang Cina kata.

Siapa kata?

Semua orang tahu lah…..

• engtaokia (Member) on Sep 14, 2006 at 7:29 pm

wah!our Semi Value oso involve in car business already hah?i tot he wana build highway in India with many tolls!!! :D

• zerocool (Member) on Sep 14, 2006 at 8:01 pm

stewpid, auctioncentre2u,

Wats the problem with u guys??? Our minister (a representative of the goverment) is trying to help our local-born automotive company to go on international arena, to be more competetive in global auto industry…….and wat u guys do here is just trying to implicate him in some sort of behind-the-curtain benefits from Naza. Just try to look into the positive aspect of this. Don't jump onto conclusion so fast. BTW, he have done alot to the improvement of the Indian community as well in Malaysia for the past > 20 years. Just stop critise him, he's done his best as a minister

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Sep 14, 2006 at 8:15 pm

Naza, just recently go into rebadge and assembly car but now already venture oversea. P1 for over 20 year, still need MORE TIME to grapple with it quality problems! Better and hope Naza take over P1 so that to remodel it purely into biz entity producing car!

• Jeffrey1977 (Member) on Sep 14, 2006 at 8:58 pm

Just sell P1 to Petronas or any big local MNC. Kick all the top management people out. Get a whole new R&D team.

This is just my opinion. Correct me if you think there is a better way to save P1.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Sep 14, 2006 at 10:45 pm

Naza themselves haven't issued any statement so far. I think they prefer to work quietly during planning stages.

• hafizshinchan (Member) on Sep 14, 2006 at 11:30 pm

Mr Paul Tan, luv all ur reviews bout cars 'ere. Well Done. It seems that we hv our own Jeremy Clarkson now. huhu, Malaysia Boleyh.

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Sep 14, 2006 at 11:55 pm

just kick Proton la easier….

their employees have lots of other option no worries

they also have lots of bonuses in recent years

but they do deserve to suffer because they are selling stupid car stupid brand and always play with patriotic things

Proton are born loser it will never make it…

Proton now only have one direction it's going down…

DONT BUY PROTON IF NOT YOU WILL REGRET YOUR WHOLE LIFE or for sure you have to open door to pay toll

• freeze (Member) on Sep 15, 2006 at 4:16 am

Naza should buy over P1's TM plant and P1 should stop producing cars here and just focus on Lotus in UK.

• szw (Member) on Sep 15, 2006 at 4:49 am

naza sell ur import cars lar…

• bmpower (Member) on Sep 15, 2006 at 5:01 am

joe and stolen car always condeming proton.. even in a NAZA page!.. wth! be relevant la dude.. you're not child right? even childish.

Naza is a 'sdn bhd' . not a GLC company. They had full control on their company. All decission is made by one person = the owner. Tan Sri Nasimuddin.. the AP KING as you all bash and kicking before. Then now is a hero?

To much bashing proton make u ANTI-PROTON.

all good news is still bad for you. Even me those tell a factual story been bash by you too.. i dont now why.. because backup-ing proton mean iam over patriotic, stupid somemore?

PAUL!.

i think you should post about this. :
    http://www.autowired.co.uk/news/article.aspx?stor…

proton is top than other in uk. savvy's the best the.. look alike neo launching early 2007.

(let see what 'that person' blind bash later.. ) ;)

• ck (Member) on Sep 15, 2006 at 5:25 am

bmpower,

If P1 were to give the same export quality to us, and yet retain the price. It might actually help to improve their national sales.

People condemn Proton because they are fed up with all this stupid pricing, yet receiving inferior product. All because of what, P1 want more PROFIT.

Perhaps we should ask all Government Minister to only use P1car only. Even they themselves are buy Immigration Seize Mercedes. If Minister are setting an example, I think the rest will follow suit.

• bmpower (Member) on Sep 15, 2006 at 5:37 am

well. that's ABSOLUTELY RIGHT.

but that doesnt mean you have to repeat the same story in ALL THREAD/post!. You dont have to story about a 'power window' problem in all paul post!.

DONT BUY PROTON IF NOT YOU WILL REGRET YOUR WHOLE LIFE

this phase repeats so many times!.

i also had an iswara before.

but THE PAST IS THE PAST. Iswara issss iswara, neo is neo.. you think im not fadeup bout my past iswara bumper alwat tercabut? poor build bla bla.. but that's the past. My father also use old Iswara Executive till now. And i dont even think that the savvy and neo had a poor quality. As i see on my eyes.

wth still talking about the past?. about tax, about gov. bla bla.. (repeat sooo many time in every post exspeacially proton's related.. most bashers still 'make propaganda' if proton DEAD, all car will cheap? what if there's no more option like that? protons dead, but cars never cheap?

THE PAST IS THE PAST!

• hazremi (Member) on Sep 15, 2006 at 6:26 am

mycar_stolen,ur comment looks childish,sorry to say,u criticize like a child.u know what that means?that mean u have to grow up.

• drifting4eva (Member) on Sep 15, 2006 at 6:40 am

Wow some posters so quick to rush to defend P1. Makes me wonder if they are on P1 payroll :P Let's face it, no sane person can be happy with the artificial situation created by the NAP. Who wants less choice and pay for crappy cars (not restricted to just P1) at ridiculous prices?

While P1 has shown improvement over the years, their cars are still not value for money at current prices. Only reason they seem "affordable" is because every other car's price have been artificially inflated :(

Last I heard, you are still free to express yourself over the internet so let's not trample on other's rights to be heard.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Sep 15, 2006 at 8:31 am

bmpower said, "joe and stolen car always condeming proton.. even in a NAZA page!.. wth! be relevant la dude.. you’re not child right? even childish."

Joe Ooi – Not condemn but OBJECTIVE COMPARISON on the commercial performance of these 2 entities – Naza is a Sdn Bhd company without any G backup but able to venture into oversea within very short time frame – we should applaud what Nasimuddin accomplished in this aspect (but fairly to say that doesn't mean I agree with AP King as claimed by you). But what P1 is doing – still grapple with quality problems after more than 20 years? Don't think that P1 overcome Savvy and Neo power window failure prove that both models have high quality (perhaps by P1 standard)! By world standard, Savvy same class/segment with among other Suzuki Swift, Yaris, Jazz, Rio, Clio II etc. Do you think say Savvy will be any better car than these models? (So now I don't compare with P1 past failure but compare with world best under free market).

————————

bmpower said, "Naza is a ’sdn bhd’ . not a GLC company. They had full control on their company. All decision is made by one person = the owner. Tan Sri Nasimuddin. The AP KING as you all bash and kicking before. Then now is a hero?"

Joe Ooi – So, who control P1? – TDM, SZ, Khazanah, MITI, etc, etc, or arrhem, crocs?

—————————

bmpower said "To much bashing proton make u ANTI-PROTON. all good news is still bad for you. Even me those tell a factual story been bash by you too.. i dont now why.. because backup-ing proton mean iam over patriotic, stupid somemore?"

Joe Ooi – This is your statement and the onus is on you to justify it? This statement is in no way and at all material time doesn't reflect me in the right perspective. Let me repeat one more time as posted by me previously – "I make positive comments on pros and cons" – “also you have a right not to agree with me”.

Too much bashing proton makes you ANTI-PROTON. Let me explain in greater detail how far you drift away and perhaps you use "ANTI" out of "EMOTIONAL INTERFERENCE AND/OR MENTAL STRESS" after reading the comments that “not to your taste”.

I believe most of P1 car owners are "UNHAPPY" rather than "ANTI"! Let me explain in greater detail the differences between these 2 word: –

“UNHAPPY” – “Un” means “not”, so in this case, P1 is the culprit and responsible for “TAKING AWAY” customers’ happiness on their right of choice and enjoy driving affordable but good quality car if there is no P1/NAP. Most of the customers just make plain complaint on low quality, relatively high price yet unsafe that prevailing in P1 cars.

“ANTI-PROTON” – This is desperate attempt to cover up P1 weakness and “SHIFT THE BLAME” to customer. Instead of acknowledged its weakness and shortcoming, this wording “ANTI” is just a convenience “tool” to hold customer liable and/or take further burden to suffer – perhaps have to suffer in silent.

This is not a “blind bash” as claimed by you but to put forward a right perspective! Never-the-less, you still entitled to your opinion and can ignored anything and everything as what other people said as you deem it is right for you to do so! No offence ……….

• topgunthang (Member) on Sep 15, 2006 at 9:57 am

swift, jazz, yaris are actually alot better than savvy. just sit in one and see how well the body holds up in regular usage. and when it comes time to sell u get alot more. and i have to agree the swift looks very desireble even though i dont like small cars. the shape of a car is what people look at first.

im trying to find a jazz, but nobody is selling even below the price of a brand new savvy. its a 3 year old car!!! and nobody is selling.

actually i dont like proton or naza. and i am anti proton. after experiences with the wira. unsafe and unreliable. the new crop of protons are as revolting as cars can get and yet its still not worth the money. i actually feel the urge to vomit when i see one of them on the road nowadays. and that has nothing to do with being unpatriotic. proton is a national pain and disgrace.

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Sep 15, 2006 at 4:44 pm

Hey you guys forgotten already?

This NazMeee is rich now not because he is smart nor working very hard, it was easily money that GIVEN by the G. He is not honest btw.

Now, Semi Value helping a AP KINGS the su**K`%#R make more $$$, therefore we believed that SValue also getting something from him lah…..

Not ANTI Semi Value product, why?

A Semi value product, make no sense to ANTI……cause it is cheap and no quality!

Siapa sokong?

ABB Sokong…..

• shaif (Member) on Sep 15, 2006 at 4:49 pm

As I'm not having any problem with my Wira power window, I guess I'm not entitled to bash proton. So for anybody who have problem with proton, please bash as you please but for other people who drive proton everyday, without any big problem, well that's the car affordable and bigger than P2 except Myvi-lah. So good job P2 on Myvi.

Back to Naza as the main topic suggest, our minister have good relationship with the country and of course he play his part to ensure Naza can open up plat there. Naza automotive plant will open up opportunity for Tamil Nadu people to work with and it will boost the economy of the host country. Its a win-win situation here.

Sometime I feel weird with some people. They bash politician, saying they done nothing to help business, but when the politician exercise his power, network, you people accuse him of wrongdoing.Really dont't understand with this kind of people.

• blunt (Member) on Sep 16, 2006 at 2:21 am

What..NAZA thread also talk abt P1..

now, lets talk abt NAZA in India..i dont know whether co incidence or not, but during 10 days stay in India..i noticed almost eveyday got people strike (mogok) one..first..the staffs of the Hero HONDA, strike because some of the workers kena terminated..causes a few line stops..

second..the junior doctor strike..cause overwork, third…the Respectable Kannada actor passed away..i forgot his name..peoples strike because dont have oppurtunity to pay a last respect and mind to tell u that, all the bangalore paralysed because of that, all kedai tutup and being vandalised, car have been torch up etc etc. Then the students strike because the gov. allocate some of the percentage to enter local U to poor student..

Lastly…i wish all the best to NAZA in India

• topgunthang (Member) on Sep 16, 2006 at 11:51 am

http://www.autowired.co.uk/news/article.aspx?stor…
    ————————————–

if u actually follow all proton reports. they never report actual figures. actual number are actually quite appaling. % is just used to trick people into thinking its selling well. last time i checked it was well below 1000 units for a whole year.

• bmpower (Member) on Sep 17, 2006 at 1:27 am

topgunthang.

Even microsoft did not exposed How many copies they sold WinXP.

doesnt it stupid : running a business but then told everyone "Hey!! i, selling 20 bungkus nasi lemak today!" to other people even your competitor.

Example, Air asia, also claimed their sales is up to 50% but do they must expose HEY!!!.. im got 1000000 pasenger dis month. Huh!!

The good news, still a bad new for somebody. (and i dun had much free time to answer back my replied post) TQ

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Sep 17, 2006 at 6:18 pm

So, they can find all figure in their annual report, with percentage basis, sure reject by Security Commision! This % thingy always use to cover their weakness!

• oranglulu (Member) on Sep 17, 2006 at 6:30 pm

aiyoyo! so fast ah,naza,such a young company,oredi dare venture to india,big market you know,long long time ago,my indian buddy use to tell me,waiting list for ambassador was 2 to 3 years,demand more than supply market,nowadays with so many japs join venture there,dun know the situation,could be supply more then demand,then thats bad news looooh! for NZ.

• apenq (Member) on Oct 05, 2006 at 7:07 pm

Naza, pls look into the problem car that u already produce, now the worst car ever is Naza Sutera, after u all really know how to make a good and high quality car then can go to other countries in the worlsd to make a car. Don't give shit to the people here then go another place and do the same things.

U can see a lot of naza sutera with problems in all its panel workshop.

Thinks a lot before u buy it….