Paul Tan's Automotive Industry News

2006 Paris Motor Show: 2007 Dodge Caliber

Advertisement

caliberparis1.jpg

Among concept vehicles like the Avenger at the 2006 Paris Motor Show, Dodge also displayed it’s production models, like this 2007 Dodge Caliber crossover. The car is a 4-door hatch similiar to the likes of the Toyota Matrix – somewhat like a crossover between a sporty hatchback and a station wagon?! It was introduced this year to replace the Dodge Neon, and was based on the DCX/Mitsubishi GS platform which also spawned the likes of the new Mitsubishi Outlander and the next generation Lancer.

Engine options are a 1.8 liter, 2.0 liter and a 2.4 liter, and you can mix these with choices of a 5-speed manual or a CVT automatic – either front wheel drive or all wheel drive traction is available. There is also a Dodge Caliber SRT-4, featuring a turbocharged 2.4 liter engine making 300 horsepower mated to a 6-speed manual. In the European market, the Dodge Caliber is also available with a 138hp, 310Nm 2.0 liter turbodiesel sourced from Volkswagen AG.

One more photo after the jump, thanks to Ben Corley, and as usual enlarged versions are also available.

caliberparis2.jpg

11 Comments »

1. jasonlow said,

October 3, 2006 @ 7:37 pm

wow.. such a tough n agressive front look indeed… and it’s flamming red!

2. mystvearn said,

October 3, 2006 @ 8:07 pm

N00b here, but I think at 2.0 liters generating 138hp is very very low. How heavy is that thing?

3. Paul Tan said,

October 3, 2006 @ 8:13 pm

the 138hp is a turbodiesel lah.

4. FarinaRacer said,

October 3, 2006 @ 8:32 pm

i like the compact style….

5. i’m run said,

October 3, 2006 @ 9:09 pm

The side looks almost the same as our Toyota Harrier, only smaller. But it’s a nice car anyway.

6. aesthari said,

October 3, 2006 @ 11:12 pm

The front reminds me of the Mitsubishi Chariot.

7. REDDEVIL said,

October 4, 2006 @ 9:23 am

So so……… not really like the American design.. Look bulgy & exaggerate..

8. acbc said,

October 4, 2006 @ 10:28 am

Need some 22″ rims to justify the bulky design.

Xzibit: Time to do some pimpin’! :)

9. kimmy said,

October 4, 2006 @ 8:10 pm

I don’t think 22” would fit…

The car may look like a SUV but its no less bigger than a Golf.

10. szw said,

October 4, 2006 @ 8:54 pm

da looks can potrait a dodge but da engine so not dodge ler.

11. DAN said,

October 5, 2006 @ 6:47 pm

that my dodge.
    nice car.

Please do not submit your comment twice, the system has accepted your comment, it just needs to be moderated first. Once your first comment is approved, all subsequent comments will show automatically.

previous post: 2006 Paris Motor Show Gallery: Peugeot 207 RCup
next post: 2006 Paris Motor Show: SEAT Leon WTCC