Alfa Romeo 147 with bodykit

What do you get when you take an already gorgeous Alfa Romeo 147 2.0 Selespeed, and slap a nice bodykit and bigger wheels on? You get this little red rocket, now all it needs is to be an Alfa Romeo 147 GTA instead of a 2.0 Twinspark!

For my take on the Alfa Romeo 147 2.0 Twinspark Selespeed, click here. Two more photos with enlarged versions available after the jump.

I snapped these photos at Auto Italia’s Buka Puasa event this evening, it was a nice affair – good food, one of the best sambal sotong I’ve had, other than the one at the Nasi Lemak place in Kampung Baru – and lamb too.

alfabukapuasa1.jpg

alfabukapuasa2.jpg

alfabukapuasa3.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• asimo (Member) on Oct 12, 2006 at 6:41 am

cun……..

• wmzhaffran (Member) on Oct 12, 2006 at 6:44 am

walaweh! beautiful :p

• ilmondo (Member) on Oct 12, 2006 at 7:20 am

i dunno y but ther is sumtg extremely special bout alfa romeos. i love them! i wonder is it love.. lol.. i'm in love again.. i feel sumtg in me whenever i c an alfa romeo. wasnt sure whether do i blush or not! haih.. cant afford 1 yet.. gonna work hard 4 it.. alfa romeo.. my love!

• Celicazz (Member) on Oct 12, 2006 at 8:52 am

i will always b in luv with alfa's

bella bella~~~

• Celicazz (Member) on Oct 12, 2006 at 8:53 am

hey, it's my uncle's friend showroom in shah alam…rite?

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Oct 12, 2006 at 9:18 am

This is a good move actually…otherwise the Ah Bengs are gonna slap on some barmy bodykits that turn their cars into Batmobiles…haha… :D

• tbcheese (Member) on Oct 12, 2006 at 10:26 am

The first photo actually makes me think of the BMW 1-series. Of course we need to ignore the headlights and such but its the first thing I thought of when I first saw it.

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Oct 12, 2006 at 3:15 pm

I like this comment "I snapped these photos at Auto Italia’s Buka Puasa event this evening, it was a nice affair – good food, one of the best sambal sotong I’ve had, other than the one at the Nasi Lemak place in Kampung Baru – and lamb too."

Paul, Why you never inform us? I like sambal Sotong and Nasi Lemak too.

Next time we should go together. Cross FingerX okay. :P

• J (Member) on Oct 12, 2006 at 3:20 pm

Any Alfa owners out there can comment on Alfa car reliability, maintenance ? I heard that spare parts and services charge are crazy :)

Any idea why Alfa resale so bad ?

• honda_driver (Member) on Oct 12, 2006 at 3:57 pm

i think in general, the new alfas are well built and reliable. spare parts cost a lot for sure, but i believe its because all the parts are imported, and also due to the small number of cars on the road, they will cost more as only a smaller number of parts are ordered and kept in stock.

why bad 2nd hand value? boils down to the small number on the road again, plus the fact that the reputation of their cars being unreliable, and rust buckets is still clear and fresh in the mind of most malaysians.

i think any alfa will be quite affordable if you look for a 2-3 year old 2nd hand car, as the first owner will have suffered the max. depreciation of the car.

• drM (Member) on Oct 12, 2006 at 6:58 pm

you can never do that to an Alfa, you idiotic Malaysian nonsense! 147 is the best looking Alfa ever (beside the Brera) and you have ruined it by sticking bigger jaws and fat bellies, and bigger bum…i dont know..its like drawing a MonaLisa with a make up…its all gone wrong..!!

• dawgHause (Member) on Oct 12, 2006 at 8:46 pm

fantastically beautiful.

but they are just buying time. where is the 159 they promised? quickly bring in the 159 or i start murdering bunnies.

cheese – no way the 147 series reminds you of the 1-series, the grotesque 1-series reminds you of how beautiful the 147 really is.

the reputation of alfa romeo was tainted because long ago alfas sourced their materials from the southern (if im not mistaken) part of italy where the steel is inferior. but later years they sourced it from the northern part where the steel is superior and rust resistant. thats why most malaysians still have that thoughts in their heads. well their loss, makes alfa a much more exclusive brand, at least you won't be seen as a person with no imagination like BMW owners.

no way, ah bengs won't even touch an alfa, coz they don't have taste in style, and their idea of heritage is a sony playstation. at least alfa are 99% free from posers and wannabes. they are still an enthusiast-only brand, and thats is its greatest appeal.

• clutch_plate (Member) on Oct 12, 2006 at 9:49 pm

Hey guys! what do u think if our Waja facelift is built (not copy 100%) seems like this Alfa? It's cool right!? hehehe… ;)

• kambingspeed (Member) on Oct 12, 2006 at 10:43 pm

100% agree with drM… original one far more beautiful… the kits doesn't match overall 147 body art

• kambingspeed (Member) on Oct 12, 2006 at 10:56 pm

100% agree with drM… it's far more sexier without that bodykit… it's not matching with overall body art.. better installing performance suspension to make it a bit lower if you want sporty look

• honda_driver (Member) on Oct 13, 2006 at 1:32 am

dawgHause, i wouldnt go as far as to accuse people who own other brands(ie. BMW) as "poseur" enthusiasts and only alfa owners being 99% poseur free. Thats a very very brave claim, I believe there are "poseurs" among alfa owners also. There are also many iconic models in the BMW range, cars that are universally recognised as some of the best cars in the world. many of these cars are also not easy to live with, requiring constant and sometimes expensive care. If you're not an enthusiast, you will never survive long term ownership of these cars.. sounds just like an alfa enthusiasts right? everyones the same lah, and have equal right to love their cars regardless of the make. :)

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Oct 13, 2006 at 2:01 am

honda_driver,

I'm not so sure about that.

Stick a BMW propeller badge on a Pontiac Aztec and it would probably sell well……

There are poseurs in every brand. Just BMW and Benz got more of them partly because,

1) there are more BMW and Benz cars around

2) they are more visible "premium" brand.

You know buyers who buy BMWs for the brand more than the performance and heritage by looking at these things…

1) Automatic gearbox. BMW manuals are one of the best in the business, if not the BEST.

2) owners of the 4 cyc BMWs (ie 318). The Straight 6 is the only engine to power a BMW.

3)1 series , X3 and X5……

You can tell……….

These are a group of people that are like people who stick Type R badges on Hondas…..just a little richer…..

BMWs are always about passion of driving. Belting down a winding road at high rpm just to hear that manificent straight 6 singing with the car in perfect balance is the reason to own a BWM.

Non-driving enthusiates need not apply.

In a way Alfa is also the same. But being Italian, it has its own characteristics. Looks are important as well as how it sounds. That low rpm burble raising to that high rpm bark matches its handfullness (after all its still a torque steering FWD) at full tilt.

The BMW is the understated surgical scalpel. The Alfa, a red hair she-devil you wont want to bring home to Mom.

• tbcheese (Member) on Oct 13, 2006 at 2:11 am

no dawgHause I'm serious. It could be the reflection of the ground that makes the sides look like its got BMW's infamous flame styling.

• ilmondo (Member) on Oct 13, 2006 at 2:19 am

love alfas! but not owning 1 yet. just wana find out here are ther realiable compatible parts available??

• mystvearn (Member) on Oct 13, 2006 at 2:40 am

love the car, hate the bodykit, the rims ok la, but no body kit. Same like satria neo, the moment someone place a big spoiler at the rear it will rosak the design

• klazy pipel (Member) on Oct 13, 2006 at 3:49 am

nice..

• szw (Member) on Oct 13, 2006 at 4:28 am

small bodykit oni lar

• raybrig85 (Member) on Oct 13, 2006 at 5:24 am

nice ma…but not as nice as my 147 with cadamuro bodykit…dis one looks 'baik'…not ganas…btw…where is the 159 auto italia…ive been waiting for it 4 so long…intend to buy it…

ilmondo…

now got many alfa specialist out there..especially in area subang and p.jaya…theres no problem for me since i bought it at d end of year 2001…really luv dat car…really luv drive it than my murano…now..looking fwd to buy 159 to b bside my murano and 147…wanna let go my satria…gosh…x sampai 1 thn kn tkar absorber…

• raybrig85 (Member) on Oct 13, 2006 at 5:26 am

where's my comment???haiya

• raybrig85 (Member) on Oct 13, 2006 at 5:34 am

haiya…gt to write again…

very nice dis car…but not as nice as my 147 cadamuro bdykit…btw…where's d 159 auto italia???intend to buy one…

ilmondo..

now gt alot of alfa specialist…btw.. alot at area subang n p.jaya…me…still got no problem wit my 147…bought it at d end of d year 2001…still ok till now…only 60k mileage…really luv to drive it than my murano and satria…now…really want to replace my satria wit 159…4 my 2nd alfa…haiya…x sampai 1 thn absorber my satria out…giler la proton…

• raybrig85 (Member) on Oct 13, 2006 at 5:35 am

haiya…gt to write again…

very nice dis car…but not as nice as my 147 cadamuro bdykit…btw…where's d 159 auto italia???intend to buy one…

ilmondo..

now gt alot of alfa specialist…btw.. alot at area subang n p.jaya…me…still got no problem wit my 147…bought it at d end of d year 2001…still ok till now…only 60k mileage…really luv to drive it than my murano and satria…now…really want to replace my satria wit 159…4 my 2nd alfa…haiya…x sampai 1 thn absorber my satria out…giler la proton

• raybrig85 (Member) on Oct 13, 2006 at 5:35 am

go wit alfa ilmondo…alfa best…

• raybrig85 (Member) on Oct 13, 2006 at 5:36 am

haiya…gt to write again…

• raybrig85 (Member) on Oct 13, 2006 at 5:36 am

ilmondo..

now gt alot of alfa specialist…btw.. alot at area subang n p.jaya…me…still got no problem wit my 147…bought it at d end of d year 2001…still ok till now…only 60k mileage…really luv to drive it than my murano and satria…now…really want to replace my satria wit 159…4 my 2nd alfa…haiya…x sampai 1 thn absorber my satria out…giler la proton

• SoMeOnE (Member) on Oct 13, 2006 at 10:13 am

well 4G63T DSM commented on people buying bmw's wit straight 4's and their suv;s or auto gearboxes are people who just buy the brand..common dude…at least one kid out of 5 dreamsof a beemer of any form…the reason why they even do so is becos of its design and the stories of how its the ultimaite drivin experience…these things built the brand and made it desirable…so it doeesnt matter even if its a 1 seriesmy fren…people buy these cars knowin tat they drive a bmw…tha cannot be compared wit stickin an r sticker my fren and its not bcoed of the rich and poor…..a bmw is a bmw.even in suv form..its handles beter than most sedans…or even in a crammed up 1 series…its the propeller sign u know it delivers…but if u see a type r sticker on a regular honda..wel…err i think u know the rest of that sentence..as fer the alfa..well i just admire em..nothin more….

• jtshin (Member) on Oct 13, 2006 at 2:09 pm

the rear lights looks similar to SEAT Leon..? but it's nice… I wonder why Asians love bodykits… u seldom can see cars with bodykits on here in UK… 1 in a thousand I think… if it's not fitted originally, then nobody would install bodykits on their cars here in UK…

• honda_driver (Member) on Oct 13, 2006 at 4:05 pm

hahah.. only the maxpower crowd are hardcore bodykit fans i think.

i think the 159 isn't here yet is because they have not sold all their stock of 156.

• dawgHause (Member) on Oct 13, 2006 at 9:13 pm

yea probably in malaysia, coz i cannot seem to imagine posers who want to go after an unreliable, not too fast car, not too great car. alfas are bought by people who just want to go a different way, they want a car that looks subliminally beautiful, and sound like zeus electrocuting a twat. alfas are bought by people who appreciate the underdogs.

i love BMW too, i drive around in an E34 (my fav 5). but only the true M versions. because they are the epitome of BMW's mantra, and never made for the general public. but i'm afraid the normal BMWs are on the wishlist of every yuppie, every mistress, people who want more of the badge recognition, not the soul of the machine.

the bodykit doesn't look that bad, its sublime and yet nicely sporty. at least they didn't stick euro-disco rear lights, a giant stick on CF spoiler, loud exhaust pipes the size of subang, or gangster 18-inch bling rims. you can see they didn't try too hard, it blends in with the car.

jtshin –

the reason why it looks like the Seat Leon is because Walter deSilva the designer of the original 156-147 stopped by Seat to pen the Leon while on his way to Audi and Lamborghini.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Oct 13, 2006 at 9:57 pm

"With Bodykit"????? OMG…….

• intermilan (Member) on Oct 14, 2006 at 10:46 am

alfa deserve better than no residual value in 2nd car market.

all b'coz m'sian fascination with toyota and honda.

its not without reason, but overkill la..

european cars should open assembly lines in ASEAN.. then baru fight sikit.

• ilmondo (Member) on Oct 15, 2006 at 8:42 pm

thanks raybrig85. love alfa 4 its 'feel', passion. love it when i 1st saw 156 back in yr 2000. 146 tat time was juz fascination. really thanks a lot. brera and 159 r like work of art man! read lots of articles on them, kinda revolutionized! and 159's 2.4jdtm has massive amount of torque. sexy car. though 156 is bout 10 yrs now(was launched in italy in 1997 i think), its stil damn sexy lar. d hidden rear door handle is superb. hope they wil make their way ere n remain as enthusiast's favourite! forza italia, forza alfa romeo!

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Oct 16, 2006 at 5:48 pm

my wife will stop talking to me if one of this beauty pass by….I will get one honey…maybe with Ap(fake or cloned)Y'KNOW…the senator gave the advice to the whole nation how smart he is with AP's…

• Paul Stolk on Jul 11, 2011 at 4:53 pm

Dear Paul,

I realy love your alfa! Could you give me a idea where to buy this body kit and which size are the wheels?

Thanks a lot!!!!

Paul